DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11567028. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are narrower and meet the limitations of this application’s broader claims. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the patented claims to include a ZIF coupler since it would provide the predictable results of a conventional coupling mechanism to connect the electrodes to a measuring device. Note that the patented method claims provide the structure for this application’s device claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 4, “screen-printed on…” is vague and sounds more like a method step than a structural limitation. It is unclear what structural limitation this phrases imparts to the sensing device, the array of electrodes, and/or the adhesive film. Similarly, claim 12 uses this language and is vague.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
NOTE that for the rejections below, the claims contain a product-by-process limitation of “screen-printed on…” the film. The determination of patentability of the claims are based on the product itself. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). The structure implied by the process step in the claims was considered when assessing the patentability of the claims over the prior art, but it was unclear what structural limitations this imparted to the product besides appearing to provide a thin or flexible electrode.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 12, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by McPeck et al (2013/0172721). McPeck discloses the claimed limitations as follows:
--an adhesive film formed with a plurality of openings having a first side and second side (e.g. figure 3, elements 30, 32, 34, para. 42, etc.), where the first side is attachable to a skin (e.g. figure 7, etc.)
--an array of dry electrodes on the second side of the film (e.g. figures 2, 3, element 20 which is a dry electrode that is printed on the second side 30 of the film, para 37, etc. to provide a thin electrode), each having a sensing portion exposed by an opening of the plurality of openings (e.g. figure 3 at element 20, para. 42, etc.)./ Note that the electrodes are dry electrodes as the claims do not preclude putting additional elements/gels on the electrodes.
For claims: 3/14, double sided adhesive film (e.g. para. 42, elements 30, 32, 34, etc.) ; 5/6/16 ZIF electrical coupler (e.g. figure 2, element 22); 7 measuring device (e.g. paras. 27, 37, etc.); 9/18 EEG (paras. 27, 37, etc.).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-12, 14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Guillory et al (2008/0146958). Guillory discloses the claimed limitations as follows:
--an adhesive film formed with a plurality of openings having a first side and second side (e.g. figures 8, 9, element 51 with holes 54, para. 40, etc.), where the first side is attachable to a skin (e.g. figures 3, 6, etc.)
--an array of dry electrodes (e.g. paras. 42, 59, element 12, etc.) on the second side of the film (e.g. paras. 45, 59, element 61, figure 9, providing thin, flexible structure), each having a sensing portion exposed by an opening of the plurality of openings (e.g. figure 8, etc.).
For claims: 3/14, double sided adhesive film (e.g. para. 40, etc.); 5/16 electrical coupler (e.g. paras. 44, 47, wires leading from the electrodes to the monitor, figure 7, from element 12 to element 31, etc.); and 7-11, and 17-20 of EMG, EEG, ECG and EOG (e.g. paras. 43, 48, etc.).
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 12, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bennett et al (6233472). Bennett discloses the claimed limitations as follows:
--an adhesive film formed with a plurality of openings (e.g. element 32, with holes 38, figures 4, 5, 7, etc.) having a first side and second side, where the first side is attachable to a skin (e.g. figure 9, etc.)
--an array of dry electrodes on the second side of the film (e.g. element 12/30, screen printed, col. 6, lines 18-20; col. 10, lines 4-14, etc.), each having a sensing portion exposed by an opening of the plurality of openings (e.g. figure 7, etc.). Note that Bennett states the device does not require any wetting and/or that it can be packaged with any electrolytic medium (e.g. col. 11, lines 34-35).
For claims: 3/14, double sided adhesive film, the adhesive is for adhesion on both sides onto both the flexible layer 24/electrodes, and the detachable pad 42 (e.g. col. 10, lines 64-67, etc.); 5/6/16 ZIF (e.g. col. 9, lines 66, etc.); 7/8/17 measuring device being EMG (e.g. col. 11, line 55 to col. 12, line 39, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPeck, Guillory, or Bennett. McPeck, Guillory, and Bennett disclose the claimed invention except for the use of conductive carbon ink electrodes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by McPeck, Guillory, or Bennett, with the use of conductive carbon ink electrodes, as is well known and common knowledge in the art (MPEP 2144I, 2144.03) since it would provide the predictable results of flexible, conventional electrodes that are known to not easily corrode and still provide electrical conductivity when bent.
Claims 9-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett. Bennett discloses the claimed invention and that the device and method are meant to monitor differential electrical states in various parts of a living animal (e.g. col. 5, lines 35-40), but then goes on to discuss one example such as EMG monitoring. Bennett does not disclose the specifics of monitoring other areas and electrical states in the various parts of the body, such as EEG, ECG, or EOG. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/before it was effectively filed to have modified the system and method as taught by Bennett, with the use of monitoring other various electrical signals from the body, such as EEG, ECG, or EOG, as is well known and common knowledge in the art (MPEP 2144I, 2144.03), since it would provide the predictable results of allowing the physician to monitor multiple physiological parameters of the patient, such as the heart, brain, and eyeball, to better determine the patient’s condition during surgery or when in the hospital to know if the patient is in distress or not.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/George R Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792 9/4/26