DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not completely persuasive. With regards to the ”Rejection Under 103”, applicants remarks are considered, however, are not found convincing. Applicant argues the prior art of record does not teach two different contrast enhancement techniques being used and the combination is not proper. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites “a first contrast enhancement module…using a first contrast enhancement technique” and “a second contrast enhancement module… using a second contrast enhancement technique”, however, labeling the contrast enhancement techniques as “first” and “second” does not require them to be different and can thus be interpreted as being the same enhancement technique. Examiner recommends the recitation “wherein the first contrast enhancement technique is different from the second contrast enhancement technique” in the claim. Applicant further argues the substantial redesign of the system in order to combine the prior art documents. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The further acquisition of data, focal point array, provides a superior imaging to perform better than visible light and the analysis being done based upon the acquired data.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first contrast enhancement module configured to … perform contrast enhancement” introduced in claims 1, 13, and 20.
“a second contrast enhancement module configured to … perform contrast enhancement” introduced in claims 1, 13, and 20.
“at least one statistics module, the statistics module being configured to … set appropriate configuration parameters” introduced in claim 1.
“a selection module configured to combine the output” introduced in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St Romain II et al (US 2015/0287174 A1), in view of Högasten (US 2017/0078590).
Regarding claim 1, St Romain II teaches a system for image enhancement, the system comprising: an image pipeline, the image pipeline comprising:
a (St Romain II > [0011]: a video camera captures a series of image frames);
a first contrast enhancement module configured to receive image data from the (St Romain II > [0030] and [0032]: a prior improvement (i.e., contrast enhancement; see [0032]) is performed in a region of an image that has remained unchanged from a previous image frame (i.e., a first contrast-enhanced area); the prior improvement’s calculated histograms and transformation functions for contrast enhancement were previously determined and applied to unchanged region of an image);
a second contrast enhancement module configured to receive image data from the (St Romain II > [0030] and [0032]: a new improvement (i.e., contrast enhancement; see [0032]) is performed in a region of an image that has changed from a previous image frame (i.e., a second contrast-enhanced area); the new improvement’s calculated histograms and transformation functions for contrast enhancement are determined specifically for the changed region of an image);
at least one statistics module, the statistics module being configured to receive at least image data corresponding to a first region of interest and to use this data to set appropriate configuration parameters for use by the first contrast enhancement module in performing contrast enhancement using the first contrast enhancement technique and/or to receive image data corresponding to a second region of interest and to use this data to set appropriate configuration parameters for use by the second contrast enhancement module in performing contrast enhancement using the second contrast enhancement technique (St Romain II > [0031-0032]: new contrast enhancement histograms and transformation functions (i.e., configuration parameters) are calculated for the changed region in an image, and prior histograms and transformation functions were previously calculated for unchanged regions and applied to unchanged regions; See [0028], for example, for a prior improvement being calculated to be used for unchanged regions); and
a selection module configured to combine the output of the first contrast enhancement module and second contrast enhancement module, creating a unitary image (St Romain II > [0030] and [0032]: contrast enhancement is performed for both unchanged regions and changed regions for each image frame, thus resulting in an image with both contrast enhancement techniques combined).
However, St Romain II does not specifically teach where Högasten teaches wherein the image data is gathered from a focal point array (Högasten > [0250]: in a contrast enhancement scenario, input image frames are provided by a focal point array, a type of infrared detector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify St Romain II using Högasten’s teachings by incorporating using a focal point array to gather the image data of St Romain II, in order to extend the capability of contrast enhancement to nighttime or other low-light conditions, where infrared imaging performs better than visible-light imaging (see Högasten > [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first contrast-enhanced area comprises the second contrast-enhanced area (St Romain II > [0028]: an entire image is used to calculate an initial improvement used for future unchanged areas (i.e., first contrast-enhanced area); [0029-0030]: changed areas (i.e., second contras-enhanced area) are areas that change from the initial entire image, thus are comprised in the initial image).
Regarding claim 3, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 2, wherein contrast-enhanced image data generated by the second contrast enhancement module is substituted for data generated by the first contrast enhancement module where that contrast-enhanced image data corresponds to the second contrast-enhanced area (St Romain II > [0034-0035]: already contrast-enhanced pixels are used to replace pixels in unchanged areas of an image).
Regarding claim 4, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first contrast-enhanced area corresponds to the entire image (St Romain II > [0028]: an initial improvement (i.e., contrast enhancement) is determined from an entire image; [0030]: the initial improvement becomes a prior improvement which is applied to unchanged regions).
Regarding claim 5, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the second contrast-enhanced area corresponds to a predetermined portion of the entire image (St Romain II > [0018]: in some implementations, each region is in a predetermined area of a fixed size).
Regarding claim 6, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the image pipeline is a long-wavelength infrared image pipeline (Högasten > [0107]: infrared sensors can capture images from long wave infrared wave bands).
Regarding claim 8, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first region of interest or second region of interest is configured to be set by a user (Högasten > [0435] and [0438]: a user can determine imaging parameters that determine the image perspectives to be used in a combined contrast-enhanced image).
Regarding claim 9, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first region of interest or second region of interest is automatically selected (St Romain II > [0020]: a changed region in an image (i.e., second region of interest) is automatically determined based on if a region differs more than a threshold number of pixels between two image frames).
Regarding claim 10, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the statistics module is configured to read statistics and to write contrast enhancement configuration parameters to the first contrast enhancement module and/or second contrast enhancement module during an inter-frame gap time (St Romain II > [0017]: reducing computational demand by determining new improvements only for changed regions in an image allows the new improvement (i.e., enhancement configure parameters to the second contrast enhancement module) to be determined in a time between consecutive frames).
Regarding claim 11, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first contrast enhancement module and second contrast enhancement module are configured to apply different types of contrast enhancement (St Romain II > [0031-0032]: contrast enhancement is applied to both changed and unchanged regions; Högasten > [0479]: different image contrast enhancements are performed for two different regions of an image, such as histogram equalization and applying a high pass filter.).
Regarding claim 12, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first contrast enhancement module and second contrast enhancement module are configured to apply the same type of contrast enhancement using different configuration parameters (St Romain II > [0031-0032]: a contrast limited adaptive histogram equalization (“CLAHE”) is used for both changed and unchanged regions, but the calculated histograms and transformation functions are determined for each region separately, e.g., a “new transformation” and “prior transformation”).
Regarding claim(s) 13-16 and 18-20, the rationale provided in the rejection of claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, and 10-12 is incorporated herein. Further, the system of claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, and 10-12 corresponds to the method of claim(s) 13-16 and 18-19, as well as the computer program product of claim(s) 20 (see St Romain II > [0012]: processor executes instructions stored in a memory), and performs the steps disclosed herein.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, in view of Spitzer et al (US 2012/0257808 A1).
Regarding claim 7, St Romain II, as modified by Högasten, further teaches the system of claim 1, (St Romain II > [0031-0032]: contrast enhancement is applied to changed regions in an image; Högasten > [0479]: histogram equalization and linear scaling can be applied to image portions for adjusting dynamic range).
However, neither St Romain II nor Högasten specifically teach where Spitzer teaches wherein the first contrast enhancement module is configured to perform plateau equalization type contrast enhancement (St Romain II > [0031-0032]: contrast enhancement is applied to unchanged regions in an image; Spitzer > [0068-0069]: for contrast enhancement on an entire image, a plateau is used on a pixel intensity mapping function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify St Romain II (as modified by Högasten) using Spitzer’s teachings by incorporating plateau equalization type contrast enhancement for the first contrast enhancement module of St Romain II (as modified by Högasten), in order to enhance an image by ensuring that intensity values in an image remain above a threshold.
Regarding claim(s) 17, the rationale provided in the rejection of claim(s) 7 is incorporated herein. Further, the system of claim(s) 7 corresponds to the method of claim(s) 17, and performs the steps disclosed herein.
Conclusion
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662