DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 and 14-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyake et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0065950 A1, hereinafter “Miyake”).
With respect to claim 18, Miyake teaches a coil component 1 (FIGs. 1A-2) comprising:
a body 10 including a first surface (bottom surface as seen in FIG. 1A) and a second surface (upper surface) opposing each other in a first direction (Y axis direction) and a third surface (left end surface) and a fourth surface (right end surface) opposing each other in a second direction (X axis direction);
a first coil 21 and a second coil 22 disposed within the body and sharing a core 10a (annotated FIG. 1A) with each other, the first coil including a first winding portion (between curved portions) and the second coil including a second winding portion (between curved portions);
a first external electrode 41 and a second external electrode 42 disposed on the body and respectively connected to one end (left end) and the other end (right end) of the first coil; and
a third external electrode 43 and a fourth external electrode 44 disposed on the body and respectively connected to one end (left end) and the other end (right end) of the second coil,
wherein the entirety of the first coil extending between the first external electrode and the second external electrode forms less than one turn around the core,
wherein the entirety of the second coil extending between the third external electrode and the fourth external electrode forms less than one turn around the core,
wherein, among the first winding portion and the second winding portion, only the first winding portion disposed between the core and the first surface, and
wherein, among the first winding portion and the second winding portion, only the second winding portion is disposed between the core and the second surface (paras. [0035] and [0036]).
With respect to claim 19, Miyake teaches the coil component of claim 18, wherein
the first winding portion and the second winding portion are disposed between the core and the third surface and between the core and the fourth surface (para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 20, Miyake teaches the coil component of claim 18, further comprising:
a support member 61 disposed in the body,
wherein the first winding portion and the second winding portion are disposed on one side of the support member (para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 21, Miyake teaches the coil component of claim 20, wherein the first winding portion and the second winding portion are disposed on the same level with respect to one surface of the support member (para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 22, Miyake teaches the coil component of claim 18, wherein the first and second external electrodes are closer to the first surface than the second surface, and the third and fourth external electrodes are closer to the second surface than the first surface (para. [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Viala (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0371518 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Miyake teaches a coil component 1 (FIG. 1A-2) comprising:
a body 10;
a first coil 21 disposed within the body and including a first winding portion (portion between curves) having a turns number less than one turn;
a second coil 22 disposed within the body and including a second winding portion (portion between curves) having a turns number less than one turn;
a first external electrode 41 and a second external electrode 42, respectively connected to one end and the other end of the first coil; and
a third external electrode 43 and a fourth external electrode 44, respectively connected to one end and the other end of the second coil,
wherein the entirety of the first coil extending from the one end connected to the first external electrode to the other end connected to the second external electrode forms less than one turn, and wherein the entirety of the second coil extending from the one end connected to the third external electrode to the other end connected to the fourth external electrode forms less than one turn (paras. [0035] and [0036]).
Miyake does not expressly teach a portion of the first winding portion is disposed on an internal side of the second winding portion, and a portion of the second winding portion is disposed on an internal side of the first winding portion.
Viala teaches a coil component 200 (Fig. 21), wherein a portion of the first winding 40 portion 40a (annotated Fig. 21) is disposed on an internal side of the second winding portion 222, and a portion 222a of the second winding portion is disposed on an internal side of the first winding portion (para. [0094]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first portions as taught by Viala to the coil component of Miyake to improve magnetic coupling coefficient (para. [0094]).
With respect to claim 2, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein the first and second winding portions share a core (core inside the portion of the first winding portion or the portion of the second winding portion) with each other (Viala, para. [0094]).
With respect to claim 3, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 1,
wherein each of the first and second winding portions has a 3/4 turn (Miyake, para. [0035]).
With respect to claim 4, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 1, further comprising:
a support member 61 disposed in the body,
wherein the first and second winding portions are disposed on one surface (upper surface) of the support member (Miyake, para. [0037]).
With respect to claim 5, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 4, wherein the first and second winding portions are disposed on the same level with respect to the one surface of the support member (Miyake, paras. [0035] and [0037]).
With respect to claim 6, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 4, wherein one end (terminal) of the first coil is as one end of the first winding portion, and one end (terminal) of the second coil is as one end of the second winding portion.
With respect to claim 14, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 1, wherein the first and second coils are not connected to each other in the coil component (Miyake, para. [0035]).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Viala, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitamura (U.S. Patent No. 6,448,879 B1).
With respect to claim 7, Miyake in view of Viala teaches the coil component of claim 6. Miyake in view of Viala does not expressly teach the other end of the first coil and the other end of the second coil are disposed on the other surface opposing the one surface of the support member.
Kitamura teaches a coil component (FIG. 1), wherein the other end 2a of the first coil 4 is disposed on the other surface (lower surface) opposing the one surface (upper surface) of the support member 3 (col. 3, lines 20-25). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the other end as taught by Kitamura to the coil component of Miyake in view of Viala to improve insulation between the first and second coil.
With respect to claim 8, Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura teaches the coil component of claim 7, wherein the other end of the first coil and the other end of the second coil are disposed on the same level with respect to the other surface of the support member (Kitamura, col. 3, lines 20-25). The combination of the cited references would result in the claimed limitation.
With respect to claim 9, Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura teaches the coil component of claim 7, wherein in the first coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the first coil other than the first winding portion (Kitamura, col. 3, lines 20-25).
With respect to claim 10, Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura teaches the coil component of claim 9, wherein in the second coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the second coil other than the second winding portion (Kitamura, col. 3, lines 20-25). The combination of the cited references would result in the claimed limitation.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0343471 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
With respect to claim 11, Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura teaches the coil component of claim 7. Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura does not expressly teach the body has a first surface and a second surface opposing each other in a first direction,
the one end and the other end of the first coil are led out to the first surface, and
the one end and the other end of the second coil are led out to the second surface.
Wang teaches a coil component (FIG. 3), wherein the body 4 has a first surface (right surface in x axis direction, annotated FIG. 3 above) and a second surface (left surface in x axis direction, annotated FIG. 3 above) opposing each other in a first direction (x axis direction),
the one end 211 or 221 and the other end (the other of end 221 or 211) of the first coil 2 are led out to the first surface, and
the one end 311 or 321 and the other end (the other of end 311 or 321) of the second coil 3 are led out to the second surface (para. [0021]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ends of the coils as taught by Wang to the coil component of Miyake in view of Viala and Kitamura to improve ease of connectivity with other electronic elements on the circuit board to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 12, Miyake in view of Viala, Kitamura and Wang teaches the coil component of claim 11, wherein the first external electrode 23 is disposed in a position facing the fourth external electrode 33, and
the second external electrode 23a (see annotated FIG. 1 for illustration purpose) is disposed in a position facing the third external electrode 33a (Kitamura, paras. [0021] and [0022]).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kitamura.
With respect to claim 15, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Wang teaches a coil component (FIG. 4) comprising:
a body 4;
a support member 11 disposed within the body and having one surface (upper surface) and the other surface (lower surface) opposing each other;
a first coil 2 including a first winding portion 21 disposed on the one surface of the support member;
a second coil 3 including a second winding portion 31 disposed on the one surface of the support member;
a first external electrode 23 and a second external electrode 23a (annotated FIG. 1 above for illustration purpose), respectively connected to one end (end of end portion 211) and the other end (end of end portion 221) of the first coil; and
a third external electrode 33a and a fourth external electrode 33, respectively connected to one end (end of end portion 311) and the other end (end of end portion 321) of the second coil,
wherein the one end of the first coil is as one end of the first winding portion, and the one end of the second coil is as one end of the second winding portion,
wherein the other end of the first coil and the other end of the second coil are disposed on the other surface of the support member (paras. [0021], [0022], [0031] and [0032]). Wang does not expressly teach
wherein, in the first coil, the first winding portion and the other end of the first coil are connected to each other by a first conductive via penetrating through the support member, wherein, in the second coil, the second winding portion and the other end of the second coil are connected to each other by a second conductive via penetrating through the support,
in the first coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the first coil other than the first winding portion, and
in the second coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the second coil other than the second winding portion.
Kitamura teaches a coil component FIG. 1),
wherein, in the first coil 4, the first winding portion (spiral portion) and the other end 2a of the first coil are connected to each other by a first conductive via 3a penetrating through the support member 3, and
in the first coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the first coil other than the first winding portion (col. 3, lines 15-25). The via connection and the single coil layer combination of Kitamura to the coil component of Wang would result in
“wherein, in the first coil, the first winding portion and the other end of the first coil are connected to each other by a first conductive via penetrating through the support member, wherein, in the second coil, the second winding portion and the other end of the second coil are connected to each other by a second conductive via penetrating through the support,
in the first coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the first coil other than the first winding portion, and
in the second coil, an additional turn is not formed by the other end of the second coil other than the second winding portion” as claimed. Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the via connection and the coil layer as taught by Kitamura to the coil component of Wang to provide the desired inductance to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 16, Wang in view of Kitamura teaches the coil component of claim 15, wherein each of the first and second winding portion has a turns number less than one turn (Wang, para. [0031]). The examiner interprets “terminal end portion[s]” 211, 221, 311 and 321 are not part of the “winding portions” as claimed.
With respect to claim 17, Wang in view of Kitamura teaches the coil component of claim 15, wherein a portion 21a (annotated FIG. 3 above) of the first winding portion is disposed on an internal side (inner side) of the second winding portion, and a portion 31a of the second winding portion is disposed on an internal side (inner side) of the first winding portion (Wang, para. [0031]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837