Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaur et al., U.S. Pat. 10,497,200 B2 (“Gaur”) in view of Kumar et al (Kumar hereinafter, SG 10201704293S A1).
Re claim 1. Gaur discloses a “system for enabling cashless transactions over a self- service kiosk, the system comprising”: (Gaur, Abstract (“The system may enable the user to select a product from a product list displayed on the user device, wherein the product list is received either from a processing unit of the vending device or the system.”); Col. 10:39-45 (“if the vending device 104 is an online/cashless device with no provision to accept either a coin or notes (i.e. cash), the processing unit 108 may bypass MDB/VCCS/BDV protocol while performing the electronic/cashless transaction. Further, the processing unit 108 may be configured to control dispense of the products from the vending device 104.”). “a user device, configured for generating transaction data corresponding to a single transaction, based on inputs received from a user of the user device,” wherein the transaction data comprises type of transaction and one or more products selected by the user corresponding to the single transaction. Gaur, Abstract (“The system may identify a vending device within predefined range of a location of a user device. The system may enable auto pairing of the user device with the vending device. The system may enable the user to select a product from a product list displayed on the user device, wherein the product list is received either from a processing unit of the vending device or the system.”); Col. 2:21-26, 42-47 (“The processor may further execute programmed instructions for receiving information from the user device, wherein the user device may be configured to receive the information in response to transaction corresponding to one or more products selected from a product list displayed on the user device.” ); Col. 7:22- 26 (“In one embodiment, the user device may be configured to receive the information after successful transaction corresponding to one or more products selected from the product list displayed on user device.”); Col. 11:56-58 (“The system 101 may generate unique alphanumeric code after successful completion of transaction and send the unique alphanumeric code to the user device 103.”); Col. 13:40-44 (“In one embodiment, the unique code may be received from the user device 103 after completion of electronic transaction associated the product(s) selected from the vending device using user device 103.”); claims 1 & 4 (‘receiving a unique alphanumeric code from the user device, wherein the user device is configured to receive the unique alphanumeric code in response to transaction corresponding to one or more products selected from a product list displayed on the user device’). " “a self-service kiosk comprising a vending machine controller, a keypad and a multi-cashless device, wherein the multi-cashless device comprises a memory and a processor, a switch and a set of ports comprising a first port and a second port, wherein the multi-cashless device is communicatively coupled to a set of cashless payment modules through the first port, and wherein the set of cashless payment modules comprise a card reader and one or more cashless cashless payment modules other than the card reader, wherein the processor is configured to execute programmed instructions stored in the memory for:” Gaur, Abstract (‘vending device” is the self-service kiosk also because “a vending machine controller (VMC) of the vending device” is mentioned)). “receiving the transaction data from the user device”. Gaur, Col. 2:7-26 (“In one embodiment, a processing unit to enable controlling of dispensing products from the vending device is described. The processing unit may comprise a processor, a communication port/interface, a transceiver and a memory coupled with the processor. In one aspect, the communication port/interface may be configured to retrofit the processing unit to the Vending Machine Controller (VMC) in order to control dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device. The transceiver may be configured to communicate with the user device. The processor may be configured to execute programmed instructions stored in the memory. The processor may execute programmed instructions for enabling auto-pairing of the vending device with the user device. The vending device is within a predefined range of the location of the user device. The processor may further execute programmed instructions for receiving information from the user device, wherein the user device may be configured to receive the information in response to transaction corresponding to one or more products selected from a product list displayed on the user device.”); Col. 2:32-37 (“In another embodiment, a processing unit to enable controlling of dispensing of product(s) from the vending device is described. The processing unit may comprise a processor; a transceiver configured to communicate with the user device and a memory coupled with the processor. The processor may be configured to execute programmed instructions stored in the memory. The processor may execute programmed instructions for enabling auto-pairing of the vending device with the user device. The vending device may be within a predefined range of the location of the user device. The processor may be configured to execute programmed instructions for receiving information from the user device, wherein the user device is configured to receive the information in response to transaction corresponding to one or more products selected from a product list displayed on user device.”). " “processing the transaction data, wherein each cashless payment mode, from the set of cashless payment modes, corresponds to a cashless payment module from a set of cashless payment modules associated with the multi-cashless device”. Gaur, Col. 13:7-16 (“Now referring to FIG. 8, an example of dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device via cashless payment is illustrated. In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via keypad connector port-1 in order to receive vending data from the user. In one embodiment, the VMC 105 may freeze the keypad until the cashless payment is received. After receiving the cashless payment, the VMC 105 may release the keypad in order to enable user/consumer to select product from vending device 104.”); Col. 13:51-Col. 14:5 (“Now referring to FIG. 10, an example of dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device via the processing unit coupled with an existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit of the vending device is illustrated. In one exemplary embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled with the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 of the vending device through UART port-1 (Not shown in the figure). Further, the processing unit 108 may be connected to the VMC 105 through UART port-2 (Not shown in the figure). In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via keypad connector port in order to receive vending data from the user. The VMC 105 may be configured to freeze the keypad 107 until the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 receives the payment from the user. In one exemplary embodiment, information in response to transaction corresponding to one or more products selected from a product list displayed on user device.”). " “processing the transaction data to determine a target cashless payment mode, from a set of cashless payment modes, associated with the multi-cashless device, wherein each cashless payment mode, from the set of cashless payment modes, corresponds to a cashless payment module from a set of cashless payment modules associated with the multi-cashless device”. Gaur, Col. 13:7-16 (“Now referring to FIG. 8, an example of dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device via cashless payment is illustrated. In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via keypad connector port-1 in order to receive vending data from the user. In one embodiment, the VMC 105 may freeze the keypad until the cashless payment is received. After receiving the cashless payment, the VMC 105 may release the keypad in order to enable user/consumer to select product from vending device 104.”); Col. 13:51-Col. 14:5 (“Now referring to FIG. 10, an example of dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device via the processing unit coupled with an existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit of the vending device is illustrated. In one exemplary embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled with the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 of the vending device through UART port-1 (Not shown in the figure). Further, the processing unit 108 may be connected to the VMC 105 through UART port-2 (Not shown in the figure). In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via keypad connector port in order to receive vending data from the user. The VMC 105 may be configured to freeze the keypad 107 until the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 receives the payment from the user. In one exemplary embodiment, the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 may be a debit/credit card acceptor machine, a near field communication contactless payment machine and a like. After receiving the payment, the processing unit 108 may indicate the credit of the payment to the VMC 105 through the MDB protocol.”); Col. 14:15-31 (Still referring to FIG. 10, in a scenario wherein the VMC is not available in the vending device, then the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled with the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit of the vending device through UART port-1 (Not shown in the figure). In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the processing unit 108 via the keypad connector port in order to receive vending data from the user. The processing unit 108 may be configured to freeze the keypad 107 until the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit receives the payment from the user. In one exemplary embodiment, the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit may be a debit/credit card acceptor machine, a near field communication contactless payment machine and a like. After receiving the payment, the processing unit 108 may release the keypad in order to enable user/consumer to select product from vending device 104.”). " “activating a target cashless cashless payment module, from the set of cashless cashless payment modules, based on the target cashless cashless payment mode through the first port of the set of ports”. Gaur, Col. 13:51-Col. 14:5 (“Now referring to FIG. 10, an example of dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device via the processing unit coupled with an existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit of the vending device is illustrated. In one exemplary embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled with the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 of the vending device through UART port-1 (Not shown in the figure). Further, the processing unit 108 may be connected to the VMC 105 through UART port-2 (Not shown in the figure). In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via keypad connector port in order to receive vending data from the user. The VMC 105 may be configured to freeze the keypad 107 until the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 receives the payment from the user. In one exemplary embodiment, the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 may be a debit/credit card acceptor machine, a near field communication contactless payment machine and a like. After receiving the payment, the processing unit 108 may indicate the credit of the payment to the VMC 105 through the MDB protocol.”); Col. 14:15-31 (“Still referring to FIG. 10, in a scenario wherein the VMC is not available in the vending device, then the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled with the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit of the vending device through UART port-1 (Not shown in the figure). In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the processing unit 108 via the keypad connector port in order to receive vending data from the user. The processing unit 108 may be configured to freeze the keypad 107 until the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit receives the payment from the user. In one exemplary embodiment, the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit may be a debit/credit card acceptor machine, a near field communication contactless payment machine and a like. After receiving the payment, the processing unit 108 may release the keypad in order to enable user/consumer to select product from vending device 104.”). " “transmitting an activation signal to the vending machine controller upon completion of a payment through the target cashless payment module, wherein the vending machine controller is configured to unlock the keypad upon receipt of the activation signal; and”. Col. 12:60-66 (“In some embodiments, the VMC may not be configured to perform tapping of the signal received from the keypad 107. In such cases, the keypad 107 may comprise a thin film of silicone (Not shown in the FIG. 7) behind the keypad in order to provide signal for tapping. The processing unit 108 may be configured to tap the signal from thin film of silicone behind the keypad 107.”). " “activating a relay card to press one or more keys of the keypad based on the transaction data to dispense the one or more products.” Gaur, Col. 12:60-Col. 13:6 (“In some embodiments, the VMC may not be configured to perform tapping of the signal received from the keypad 107. In such cases, the keypad 107 may comprise a thin film of silicone (Not shown in the FIG. 7) behind the keypad in order to provide signal for tapping. The processing unit 108 may be configured to tap the signal from thin film of silicone behind the keypad 107. Further, the processing unit 108 may be configured to dispense product(s) from the vending device 104. In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 of the vending device 104 may update the details of the inventory information after completion of the dispensing. Such updated inventory information may be used by the system 101 to update its own inventory information through the user device 103 at the time of next cashless transaction.”). Gaur does not explicitly disclose toggling, through the switch, between a set of cashless payment modes, associated with the multi-cashless device, to determine a target cashless payment mode based on transaction data. However, Kumar makes this disclosure (see paras 0016, 0032-0033). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the shifting system as described by Kumar in the vending device of Gaur to give the user the option to switch between cashless payment modes.
Re claim 2. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the user device is configured to communicate with a server through a network, wherein the server is configured to provide a list of available products and a list of cashless payment modes when requested by the user device”. Gaur, Col. 4:10-24 (Although the present subject matter is explained considering that the system 101 is implemented as on a server, it may be understood that the system 101 may also be implemented in a variety of computing systems, such as a laptop computer, a desktop computer, a notebook, a workstation, a mainframe computer, a server, a network server, and the like. It will be understood that the system 101 may be accessed by multiple operator's through one or more operator devices 103-1, 103-2... 103-N, collectively referred to as user device 103 hereinafter, or applications residing on the user devices 103. Examples of the user devices 103 may include, but are not limited to, a portable computer, a personal digital assistant, a handheld device, and a workstation. The operator devices 103 are communicatively coupled to the system 101 through a network 102.”).
Re claim 4. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the self-service kiosk comprises a display, the relay card, a cash acceptor unit, and a card reader, wherein the multi-cashless device is retrofitted on the self-service kiosk”. Gaur, Col. 3:48-52 (“As shown in FIG. 1, a vending device 104 may be provided. The vending device may further comprise a vending machine controller (VMC) 105 (to be referred as VMC 105 hereinafter), a display 106, a keypad 107 and a processing unit 108.”); Col. 10:41-47 (“Now referring to FIG. 4, an example of cash acceptor vending device inventory management is illustrated. In one embodiment, a cash acceptor unit 401 may be connected to the VMC 105 through an MDB port-1. In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via a keypad connector port-1 to tap vending data received from the user.”); Col. 11:61-64, Col. 12:24-28 (“In one exemplary embodiment, the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 701 may be a debit/credit card acceptor machine, a near field communication (NFC) contactless payment machine and a like.”).
Re claim 5. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the vending machine controller is configured to control the cash acceptor, the display and keypad, wherein the relay card is retrofitted in the keypad to press the keys of the keypad”. Gaur, Col. 10:41-47 (“Now referring to FIG. 4, an example of cash acceptor vending device inventory management is illustrated. In one embodiment, a cash acceptor unit 401 may be connected to the VMC 105 through an MDB port-1. In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via a keypad connector port-1 to tap vending data received from the user.”).
Re claim 6. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the cash acceptor unit is configured to accept cash and the card reader configured to be linked with card cashless payment mode in order to accept the card payments”. Gaur, Col. 10:41-51 (“Now referring to FIG. 4, an example of cash acceptor vending device inventory management is illustrated. In one embodiment, a cash acceptor unit 401 may be connected to the VMC 105 through an MDB port-1. In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via a keypad connector port-1 to tap vending data received from the user. In one embodiment, the VMC 105 may freeze the keypad until the cash credit is received. After receiving the cash credit, the VMC 105 may release the keypad in order to enable the user/consumer to select product from vending device 104.”).
Re claim 7. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the multi-cashless device comprises a CPU Card, wherein the CPU card comprises the processor, the memory, and a set of ports”. Gaur, Col. 2:9-11, 32-36 (“The processing unit [CPU card] may comprise a processor, a communication port/interface, a transceiver and a memory coupled with the processor.”); Col. 5:30-34 (‘In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may comprise a processor 201, a memory 202, a Random-Access Memory (RAM) 203, a short-range transceiver 204, I/O pins 205,a UART port 206, a keypad connector port 207.”); Col. 6:26-30 (“The product list received from the processing unit 108 may be based upon inventory information associated with the vending device 104, wherein the inventory information is stored within the memory of the processing unit 108.”).
Re claim 8. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the set of ports enable the CPU card to establish communication between the VMC, the relay card, and the set of cashless payment modules”. Gaur, Col. 2:11-15 (“. In one aspect, the communication port/interface may be configured to retrofit the processing unit to the Vending Machine Controller (VMC) in order to control dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device.”); Col. 5:22-26 (“The VMC 105 may be electronically coupled with the display 106, the keypad 107, the processing unit 108 and a dispensing unit 109. The processing unit 108 may be coupled with ports of the keypad 107 and the VMC 105.”); Col. 5:42-59 (“In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 through the communication port/interface. In one exemplary embodiment, the communication port/interface is UART port 206. In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may comprise one or more UART ports. In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be electronically coupled to the VMC 105 in order to control dispensing of the product(s) from the vending device. In one embodiment, the VMC 105 may comprise one or more MDB ports for providing connection interface for cash acceptor unit of the vending device and the processing unit 108. Further, the VMC 105 may comprise one or more keypad connector ports for providing connection interface for the keypad of the vending device and the processing unit 108. In one embodiment, the short- range transceiver 204 may be configured to enable communication between the processing unit 108 and the user device 103 using a short-range communication protocol.” ); Col. 10:15-25 (“Specifically, the processing unit 108 may auto-press the digits in the keypad 107 that is indicative of the product being selected by the user and thereby instructing the VMC 105 to dispense the product to the user. In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may decode the vending information residing in the code. The processing unit 108 may transmit vending details to the VMC 105 in order to enable dispensing of the product from the vending device 104. In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may bypass the MDB/VCCS/BDV protocol and enable dispensing of the product from the vending device 104 through the VMC 105.”); Col. 11:34-39 (“In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be configured to transmit vending details to the VMC 105 in order to enable dispense from the vending device 104. In another embodiment, the processing unit 108 may be configured to enable dispense from the vending device 104 directly.”); Col. 13:18-28 (In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may tap the vending data through the keypad connector port-2 of the VMC 105. In one embodiment, VMC 105 may be configured to dispense product(s) from the vending device 104. In another embodiment, the processing unit 108 may tap the vending data from the keypad wherein, the keypad 107 may be connected to the processing unit 108 through the keypad connector port. Further, the processing unit 108 may transmit vending details to the VMC 105 in order to dispense product(s) from the vending device 104.”); Col. 13:58-Col. 14:14 (“Further, the processing unit 108 may be connected to the VMC 105 through UART port-2 (Not shown in the figure). In one embodiment, the keypad 107 may be electronically coupled with the VMC 105 via keypad connector port in order to receive vending data from the user. The VMC 105 may be configured to freeze the keypad 107 until the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 receives the payment from the user. In one exemplary embodiment, the existing and/or other cashless payment acceptor unit 1001 may be a debit/credit card acceptor machine, a near field communication contactless payment machine and a like. After receiving the payment, the processing unit 108 may indicate the credit of the payment to the VMC 105 through the MDB protocol. The VMC 105 may release the keypad in order to enable the user/consumer to select product from vending device 104. Further, the VMC 105 may be configured to tap the vending data entered by the user in order to dispense products from vending device 104. In some embodiments, if the VMC 105 is unable to tap the vending data, the processing unit 108 may tap the vending data and transmit the vending data to the VMC 105 in order to trigger the dispensing of the products from vending device 104 by the VMC 105.”); claims 1, 4, 9 & 15 (similar disclosures to the above).
Re claim 9. Gaur also discloses the limitations of “The system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive transaction data from the user device via short- range communication and activate a targeted cashless payment module from a set of cashless payment modules based on the cashless payment mode selected by the user, wherein the short-range communication protocol selected from a group comprising, Bluetooth communication protocol, Near Field Communication (NFC), Radio Frequency (RF) protocol, an infra-red (IR) protocol, and ZigBee protocol”. Gaur, Col. 4:36-42 (“In one embodiment, the processing unit 108 may communicate with the user device 103 through a short-range wireless communication protocol selected from a group comprising, but not limited to, Bluetooth communication protocol, Near Field Communication (NFC), Radio Frequency (RF) protocol, an infra-red (IR) protocol, ZigBee protocol and the like.”).
Re claim 10. Claim 10 recites similar limitations to claim 1 above and thus rejected using the same art and rationale as in claim 1, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/06/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument that the secondary art of reference, Kumar, does not recite “disclose toggling, through the switch, between a set of cashless payment modes, associated with the multi-cashless device, to determine a target cashless payment mode based on transaction data…” Contrary to applicant’s argument, Kumar discloses “The first payment instrument may be used in the form of a digital wallet configured on the electronic device 200, for online payment, or at a merchant billing machine POS terminal. First transaction data is communicated from the merchant 40 to the server 100. The first transaction data includes the first payment instrument identifier, the transaction amount, merchant location data, merchant category code, and time stamp data. However, due to reasons such as insufficient credit on the first payment instrument, the transaction is declined. A transaction code indicating a declined or failed transaction is communicated from the server 100 to the merchant 40….The customer then switches to use the second payment instrument to pay for the transaction. More specifically, the second payment instrument is used in a second transaction with the merchant 40 for the same purchase. Second transaction data is communicated from the merchant 40 to the server 100 and includes analogous data elements as the first transaction data. If the second payment instrument has sufficient credit, the second payment instrument is accepted and the transaction is processed in a standard manner. A transaction code indicating a successful transaction is communicated from the server 100 to the merchant (see paras 0032-0033). Kumar’s teachings above reads on the claimed limitation “toggling between a set of cashless payment modes.” Toggling simply means switching from one effect, feature, or state to another. As such, the automatic switching between the first payment instrument and the second payment instrument reads on the claimed limitation “toggling between a set of cashless payment modes.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OJO O OYEBISI whose telephone number is (571)272-8298. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 9am-7pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christine Behncke can be reached at 571-272-8103. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/OJO O OYEBISI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3695