DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 12/22/2025 for Application No. 18/103,000.
Claims 1 – 23 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Claims 22 – 23 are new.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the first payload interface module being configured” in claims 1 and 21.
“the second payload interface module being configured” in claims 1 and 21.
“expansion module configured to” in claim 7.
“the payload interface module being configured” in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prest et al. (US 20210058267 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Prest teaches a remotely piloted vehicle system, comprising: (Prest: Paragraph 0026: “The term unmanned vehicle (UV) is used herein and may include an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an unmanned aircraft (UA), an unmanned aquatic vessel, an unmanned ground vehicle (UGV), and any other vehicle or structure which maybe unmanned, operate autonomously or semi-autonomously, and/or controlled remotely.”; Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles.”,
Supplemental Note: both the UV/UAV and the loaded vehicle can be remotely controlled)
a ground station having a payload controller, a ground data terminal, and a first payload interface module, the first payload interface module having a first interface of a payload-specific type to the payload controller and a first network interface to the ground data terminal, the first payload interface module being configured and operative to convert between signals of the first interface and corresponding messages of the first network interface; and (Prest: Paragraph 0031: “In some embodiments, remote pilot (or operator) station 14 may comprise a ground station.”; Paragraph 0032: “Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 via air interface 50, which may include satellite communication 34 or other types of radio frequency communication 35 between station 160 and loaded vehicles 200. Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more client devices 105 through a number of communication links and network interfaces, such as a wired or wireless local area network 31, a cellular network 32 (such as Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Long-Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G), or any other cellular networks), or a proprietary or private radio link 33.”; Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0036: “A user, such as an owner or operator of an UV or UAV 125, may use client device 105 to communicate with and control one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. A client device 105 may have an application implemented for communicating with or controlling vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. Such an application may be launched as a stand-alone process in a standard operation system (e.g., Windows™ or Solaris™), or within a standard browser (e.g., Internet Explorer™ or Chrome™). The user may enter information through an user interface provided by the application. In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160,”: Paragraph 0040: “Either or both of ground station 160 and client device 105 may be configured to receive data from one or more of vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140. For example, payload 140 may transmit audio, video or photographs to ground station 160 or client device 105.”; Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188. The sensor subsystem 165 may be used to acquire environmental data if the ground station 160 is proximate or near the UV or UAV 125, where the environmental data may be used for controlling the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, or the loaded vehicle 200, such as location data, weather data, and so on. Payload control module 186 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 188 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 170 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via external RF interface 173.”: Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”,
Supplemental Note: the ground station is able to communication to a UV/UAV and the loaded vehicle relating to information about the payloads through its various modules)
a remotely piloted vehicle having a payload, a vehicle data terminal, and a second payload interface module, the second payload interface module having a second interface of the payload-specific type to the payload and a second network interface to the vehicle data terminal of the vehicle, the vehicle data terminal being communicatively coupled to the ground data terminal for transfer of messages therebetween, the second payload interface module being configured and operative to convert between messages of the second network interface and corresponding signals of the second interface, the payload interface modules forming respective endpoints of a ground-to-vehicle channel between the payload controller and the payload. (Prest: Paragraph 0007: “In accordance with another aspect, a process for receiving and transmitting data by an unmanned vehicle (UV) is provided. The UV comprises a first communication interface and a second communication interface for connecting to a payload device, and a third communication interface for communicating with a remote station. The first and second communication interfaces are of different types from each other. The process comprises receiving through the third communication interface one or more data packets from the remote station, transmitting the one or more data packets to the payload device through the first communication interface when the one or more data packets are designated for the first communication interface, and transmitting the one or more data packets to the payload device through the second communication interface when the one or more data packets are designated for the second communication interface.”’; Paragraph 0026: “The term unmanned vehicle (UV) is used herein and may include an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an unmanned aircraft (UA), an unmanned aquatic vessel, an unmanned ground vehicle (UGV), and any other vehicle or structure which maybe unmanned, operate autonomously or semi-autonomously, and/or controlled remotely. The UGV may be a remotely controlled, autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle system which is comprised of a main body and a drive system supported by the main body. In some examples, the drive system is comprised of a propulsion system, such as a motor or engine, and one or more tracks or wheels. Other arrangements, such as a rail or fixed-track ground vehicle, a tether or rope-pulled ground vehicle without a motor or engine, a ground vehicle using balls, sleds or rails, and a ground vehicle which hovers but navigates in proximity to terrain, are also contemplated herein.”; Paragraph 0033: “A loaded vehicle 200 may include an UV or UAV 125 and a payload 140. The payload 140 may include one or more of: a freight package, a camera, a measuring device, one or more sensors, and a storage device (e.g., Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive). A payload 140 can also include, for example, flame retardant for use in a forest fire. Generally speaking, a payload 140 may be any cargo or equipment an UV or UAV 125 carries that is not necessarily required for flight, control, movement, transportation and/or navigation of the UV or UAV itself. A payload 140 may be attached or coupled to UV or UAV 125 in a number of ways. For example, a payload 140 may be connected to UV or UAV 125 by one or more interfaces such as, but not limited to, Ethernet connection, Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus connection, serial connection, Inter-integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) connection, printed circuit board (PCB) interfaces, USB connection, a proprietary physical link, and so on. In some embodiments, the payload 140 may be connected to the UV or UAV 125 by a wireless connection such as, but not limited to, Bluetooth, WiFi, or any other wireless protocol.”; Paragraph 0036: “A user, such as an owner or operator of an UV or UAV 125, may use client device 105 to communicate with and control one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. A client device 105 may have an application implemented for communicating with or controlling vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. Such an application may be launched as a stand-alone process in a standard operation system (e.g., Windows™ or Solaris™), or within a standard browser (e.g., Internet Explorer™ or Chrome™). The user may enter information through an user interface provided by the application. In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160,”; Paragraph 0043 – 0044: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230. A central communications module 145 on payload 140 may communicate with each of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 to process data packets received from one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260. The central communications module 145 can, upon instruction from processor 147, prepare one or more data packets for transmission through one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260.”,
Supplemental Note: as cited above, the remotely piloted vehicle can be the loaded vehicle or the UV/UAV. The components of the loaded vehicle include different modules which communicate to the ground station. The loaded vehicle also consists of payloads that the ground station has access to information about the payload, interpreted as the payload type information. The payloads have a communication module for the communication interfaces which it utilizes to send data packets, these can also be used to send information to the UV/UAVs which can send information to the ground station)
wherein the first payload interface module and the second payload interface module have a common design, (Prest: Paragraph 0173: “The embodiments of the devices, systems and processes described herein may be implemented in a combination of both hardware and software. These embodiments may be implemented on programmable computers, each computer including at least one processor, a data storage system (including volatile memory or non-volatile memory or other data storage elements or a combination thereof), and at least one communication interface.”,
Supplemental Note: as further cited below, both the modules for the ground station and UV/UAV are both run on a programmable computer, each computer including a processor and a data storage. This is interpreted as a common design)
wherein the common design of the first payload interface module is customized to an environment of the ground station, and (Prest: Paragraph 0039: “Either or both of ground station 160 and client device 105 may be configured to control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140. Flight control, travel control, navigation control, movement, transportation, and other types of command signals may be transmitted to UV or UAV 125 for controlling or navigating one or more of vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140.”; Paragraph 0180: “The processor or controller 155, ground station 160, or client device 105 may be implemented as a computing device with at least one processor, a data storage device (including volatile memory or non-volatile memory or other data storage elements or a combination thereof), and at least one communication interface.”; Paragraph 0127: “The SDK may include one or more application programming interfaces (APIs) for utilized in developing software applications at a remote station (e.g., ground station 160 or client device 105). For example, in some embodiments, a first API can be configured to access the UV or UAV to obtain information regarding the payload; and a second API can be configured to access the payload to obtain information regarding the UV or UAV.”)
wherein the common design of the second payload interface module is customized to an environment of the vehicle (Prest: Paragraph 0009: “In accordance with another aspect, a software development kit (SDK) may be provided. The SDK may be stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium for developing software applications for controlling an unmanned vehicle (UV) and a payload device connected to the UV.”).
Regarding claim 2, Prest teaches wherein each of the first and second interfaces is one of plurality of interfaces of distinct payload-specific types of the respective payload interface modules (Prest: Paragraph 0007: “In accordance with another aspect, a process for receiving and transmitting data by an unmanned vehicle (UV) is provided. The UV comprises a first communication interface and a second communication interface for connecting to a payload device, and a third communication interface for communicating with a remote station. The first and second communication interfaces are of different types from each other. The process comprises receiving through the third communication interface one or more data packets from the remote station, transmitting the one or more data packets to the payload device through the first communication interface when the one or more data packets are designated for the first communication interface, and transmitting the one or more data packets to the payload device through the second communication interface when the one or more data packets are designated for the second communication interface.”; Paragraph 0032: “Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 via air interface 50, which may include satellite communication 34 or other types of radio frequency communication 35 between station 160 and loaded vehicles 200. Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more client devices 105 through a number of communication links and network interfaces, such as a wired or wireless local area network 31, a cellular network 32 (such as Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Long-Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G), or any other cellular networks), or a proprietary or private radio link 33.”; Paragraph 0033: “The payload 140 may include one or more of: a freight package, a camera, a measuring device, one or more sensors, and a storage device (e.g., Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive) … A payload 140 may be attached or coupled to UV or UAV 125 in a number of ways. For example, a payload 140 may be connected to UV or UAV 125 by one or more interfaces such as, but not limited to, Ethernet connection, Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus connection, serial connection, Inter-integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) connection, printed circuit board (PCB) interfaces, USB connection, a proprietary physical link, and so on. In some embodiments, the payload 140 may be connected to the UV or UAV 125 by a wireless connection such as, but not limited to, Bluetooth, WiFi, or any other wireless protocol.”; Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0036: “A user, such as an owner or operator of an UV or UAV 125, may use client device 105 to communicate with and control one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140… In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160,”; Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: the client devices which are connected to the ground station can both be a plurality that are connected to a plurality of payloads with their own interfaces)
Regarding claim 3, Preset teaches wherein the payload-specific types of the plurality of interfaces are serial bus, discrete digital I/O signal, and a second network interface (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0044: “A central communications module 145 on payload 140 may communicate with each of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 to process data packets received from one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260. The central communications module 145 can, upon instruction from processor 147, prepare one or more data packets for transmission through one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260.”,
Supplemental Note: each of the payloads are able to communicate with their own serial bus and send data packets from their communication interface modules).
Regarding claim 4, Prest teaches wherein each of the payload interface modules further includes power circuitry and payload-side connections, the payload-side connections of the second payload interface being connected to the payload to provide switched power thereto (Prest: Paragraph 0046: “In some embodiments, payload 140 may have a small micro controller functioning as a gas sensor, and may need to correlate detected sensor data with a geographical location. As payload 140 maybe a low-powered device, “; Paragraph 0123: “The PDK is a software development kit which enables simple and rapid third-party integrations and payload developments. For example, the PDK allows all or a substantial amount of software development required for a payload to communicate seamlessly with the ground station or client device to be on the ground station, which communicates with the UV or UAV through a network. The PDK interface provides power and secure communication (e.g., encrypted communication channel) to the payload over TCP/IP, and from the ground station software developer's perspective, any data transmitted from and to the payload may be through the TCP/IP interface of the PDK, regardless of how the data actually travels to the payload.”; Paragraph 0124: “In some embodiments, the PDK may provide a flexible hardware, software and electrical interface for end-users and systems integrators to quickly develop tightly integrated payloads for a UV or UAV. In addition, a Software Development Kit (SDK) may be provided to interface with other control applications across a set of secure APIs.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload is able to power itself to perform its function and for communicating. The PDK interface provides this power to the payload. Payload-side connections are interpreted as the payload being able to communicate with the UV/UAVS).
Regarding claim 5, Prest teaches wherein the ground station employs a ground network (Prest: Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may be configured to communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 (or simply “vehicles 200” hereinafter). Ground station 160 may also communicate with UVs or UAVs not carrying any payload. Ground station 160 may control one or more loaded vehicles 200, one or more UVs or UAVs 125, one or more payloads 140 concurrently in real time or near real time. Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0036: “The user may enter information through an user interface provided by the application. In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160, or in some embodiments, client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 directly without ground station 160.”)
and the vehicle employs a vehicle network, (Prest: Paragraph 0041: “FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example system of a loaded vehicle 200 including a payload 140 and an UV or UAV 125 according to some embodiments. Payload 140 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected by one or more communication interfaces 210, 220, 230, which may also be referred to as connection interfaces herein. The one or more communication interfaces may be different interfaces. For example, each of communication interfaces 210, 220, 230 may be one of: Ethernet interface, Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus interface, serial connection interface, Inter-integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) connection interface, printed circuit board (PCB) interface, USB connection interface, and a proprietary physical link. Communication interface 220 may be different from communication interface 210. Data packets can be transmitted bi-directionally via one or more of communication interfaces 210, 220, 230.”)
the ground network being connected to the second payload interface module and to functionally separate ground-control network elements (Prest: Paragraph 0041: “FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example system of a loaded vehicle 200 including a payload 140 and an UV or UAV 125 according to some embodiments. Payload 140 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected by one or more communication interfaces 210, 220, 230, which may also be referred to as connection interfaces herein. The one or more communication interfaces may be different interfaces. For example, each of communication interfaces 210, 220, 230 may be one of: Ethernet interface, Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus interface, serial connection interface, Inter-integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) connection interface, printed circuit board (PCB) interface, USB connection interface, and a proprietary physical link. Communication interface 220 may be different from communication interface 210. Data packets can be transmitted bi-directionally via one or more of communication interfaces 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0050: “In some embodiments, payload 140 is controlled by a remote station, such as a ground station 160 or a client device 105. The control signals may be transmitted by the remote station to UV or UAV 125 first, which can then process and transmit control signals to payload 140.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload’s communication module is able to communicate to the ground station through the UV/UAV. Figure A shows the communication devices of the payload and UV/UAV while Figure B show the different payload control modules of the ground station and client devices which are separate from the UV control module. Since the ground station and client device can both communicate with the payload, in this example the second payload module of the client device is interpreted as the second payload interface module),
Figure A - Prest - Fig. 3
Figure B - Prest - Fig. 4 and 5A
the vehicle network being connected to the first payload interface module and to functionally separate vehicle network elements (Prest: Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188.”; Paragraph 0056: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the client device 105 may comprise a communications subsystem 110, a processor or central computer system 115 and a display 120. The communications subsystem 110 allows for seamless communications between the client device 105 and UV or UAV 125, and seamless communications between the client device 105 and payload 140, and between the client device 105 and each ground station 160, when ground stations 160 are used. The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”,
Supplemental Note: the controlling of the loaded vehicle happens per the UV/UAV control module connected to the ground control and client device).
Regarding claim 6, Prest teaches wherein each of the payload interface modules includes a respective internal network, a respective port connected to the respective ground or vehicle network, and a respective Ethernet switch providing switched connections including to the respective payload or payload controller (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”).
Regarding claim 7, Prest teaches wherein the ground station and remotely piloted vehicle each contain a respective expansion module coupled to the respective payload interface module, each expansion module configured to provide an interface to a respective payload or payload controller respectively and form an endpoint of a second ground-to-vehicle channel between a second payload controller of the ground station and a second payload of the vehicle (Prest: Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may control one or more loaded vehicles 200, one or more UVs or UAVs 125, one or more payloads 140 concurrently in real time or near real time. Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”: Paragraph 0047: “UV or UAV 125 may include a processor or controller 155. Processor or controller 155 transmits control commands to other components within UV or UAV 125 to control operation of the UV or UAV 125. In some embodiments, processor 155 may also transmit control commands via one or more interfaces 210, 220, 230 to payload 140 for controlling operations of payload 140.”; Paragraph 0049: “In some embodiments, UV or UAV 125 is controlled by a remote station, such as a ground station 160 or a client device 105. UV or UAV 125 may also be configured for autonomous control without use of ground station 160. UV or UAV 125 is configured to generate vehicle status data from sensor subsystem 150, and to transmit the vehicle status data to the client device 105 or ground station 160. The vehicle status data may be transmitted to the control station client device 105 or ground station 160 in real-time, or near real-time. The vehicle status data may include vehicle location data from sensors 150, images, videos or other types of data from payload 140, and so on.”; Paragraph 0050: “In some embodiments, payload 140 is controlled by a remote station, such as a ground station 160 or a client device 105. The control signals may be transmitted by the remote station to UV or UAV 125 first, which can then process and transmit control signals to payload 140.”) ,
Supplemental Note: the various communication interfaces are interpreted as the expansion modules. Figure B shows the different payload control modules of the ground station and client devices which are separate from the UV control module. Since the ground station and client device can both communicate with the payload, in this example the second payload module of the client device is interpreted as the second payload interface module).
Regarding claim 8, Prest teaches wherein each of the payload interface modules is housed in a respective housing for placement in proximity to the respective, separately housed, payload or payload controller (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”: Paragraph 0047: “UV or UAV 125 may include a processor or controller 155. Processor or controller 155 transmits control commands to other components within UV or UAV 125 to control operation of the UV or UAV 125. In some embodiments, processor 155 may also transmit control commands via one or more interfaces 210, 220, 230 to payload 140 for controlling operations of payload 140.”; Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188. The sensor subsystem 165 may be used to acquire environmental data if the ground station 160 is proximate or near the UV or UAV 125, where the environmental data may be used for controlling the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, or the loaded vehicle 200, such as location data, weather data, and so on. Payload control module 186 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 188 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 170 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via external RF interface 173.”; Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”; Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload uses it communication devices to communicate with the payload controller of the ground station through the UV/UAV. These are separated as the payload controller is on the ground station while the payload and its communication module are housed on the loaded vehicle. Multiple ground stations and client devices with payload interfaces can be utilized for multiple payloads with their own payload interfaces).
Regarding claim 9, Prest teaches wherein the payload interface modules are configurable for distinct communications arrangements including one-to-one, one-to-many, and many- to-many, (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”: Paragraph 0047: “UV or UAV 125 may include a processor or controller 155. Processor or controller 155 transmits control commands to other components within UV or UAV 125 to control operation of the UV or UAV 125. In some embodiments, processor 155 may also transmit control commands via one or more interfaces 210, 220, 230 to payload 140 for controlling operations of payload 140.”; Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188. The sensor subsystem 165 may be used to acquire environmental data if the ground station 160 is proximate or near the UV or UAV 125, where the environmental data may be used for controlling the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, or the loaded vehicle 200, such as location data, weather data, and so on. Payload control module 186 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 188 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 170 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via external RF interface 173.”; Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”; Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload uses it communication devices to communicate with the payload controller of the ground station through the UV/UAV. Multiple ground stations and client devices with payload interfaces can be utilized for multiple payloads with their own payload interfaces)
the one-to-one arrangement being characterized by logical mapping of interface ports and sub-slots of corresponding payload interface modules of the ground station and vehicle in which data received on a given sub-slot of the first payload interface module is directed to a corresponding sub-slot of the second payload interface module (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0076: “Ground station 160 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected through a suitable wireless communication network or interface. For example, ground station 160 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected through a radio-based network 410, e.g., a radio frequency communication channel. Range, signal strength, type of antenna, and additional attributes of the radio system may vary. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may be associated with an IP address 83, for instance, 192.168.100.1. UV or UAV 125 may be associated with an IP address 85, for instance, 192.168.100.2. The IP addresses 83, 85 may be statically or dynamically assigned within the radio network 410. Data packets 400 may be transmitted bi-directionally via radio network 410.”; Paragraph 0103: “For example, data packet 400 may include, in a port number field 402 as part of a header 405, information representing a port number corresponding to a port number 91, 93, 95 assigned to a communication interface 210, 220, 230. That is, a data packet 400 prepared by remote station 160, 105 for transmission to UV or UAV 125 or payload 140 can include, in a header portion 405, information representative of the destination (e.g., UV or UAV 125 or payload 140) and a communication interface (e.g., 210) selected for routing the data packet to the destination. Where there is only one communication interface, the port number field 402 may be set to a default number or left empty.”; Paragraph 0105: “In some embodiments, a port number in data packet 400 may represent both a destination (e.g., payload 140) and a communication interface (e.g., interface 210). For example, data packet 400 may include a destination IP address for UV or UAV 125, which is the system connected to remote station via radio network 410. In this instance, data packet 400 will be sent to UV or UAV 125 first before reaching payload 140. The data packet may further include a port number 91 corresponding to communication interface 210, which indicates to UV or UAV 125 that the data payload 403 carried in data packet 400 is intended for payload 140 and should be transmitted to the payload via communication interface 210.”,
Supplemental Note: the payloads with their own communication model are able to be connected to their respective one communication interface of the remote station (i.e. ground station)).
Regarding claim 10, Prest teaches wherein the one-to-many arrangement is characterized by logical mapping of a plurality of payload interface modules of the vehicle to corresponding expansion modules connected to a single payload interface module of the ground station (Prest: Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may be configured to communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 (or simply “vehicles 200” hereinafter). Ground station 160 may also communicate with UVs or UAVs not carrying any payload. Ground station 160 may control one or more loaded vehicles 200, one or more UVs or UAVs 125, one or more payloads 140 concurrently in real time or near real time. Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”,
Supplemental Note: the plurality of the payload communication modules are able to communicate with a singular ground station).
Regarding claim 11, Prest teaches wherein the many-to-many arrangement is characterized by mapping of each of a plurality of payload interface modules of the ground station to corresponding ones of a plurality of payload interface modules of the vehicle (Prest: Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: a plurality of payloads can communicate to a plurality of ground stations).
Regarding claim 12, Prest teaches a payload interface module for use in a remotely piloted vehicle system, comprising a processor (Prest: Paragraph 0026: “The term unmanned vehicle (UV) is used herein and may include an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), an unmanned aircraft (UA), an unmanned aquatic vessel, an unmanned ground vehicle (UGV), and any other vehicle or structure which maybe unmanned, operate autonomously or semi-autonomously, and/or controlled remotely.”; Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles.”; Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0044: “A central communications module 145 on payload 140 may communicate with each of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 to process data packets received from one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260. The central communications module 145 can, upon instruction from processor 147, prepare one or more data packets for transmission through one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260.”,
Supplemental Note: both the UV/UAV and the loaded vehicle can be remotely controlled and have payloads with their own interface module)
, network circuitry, and external connectors for connection to a local data terminal and to a local payload element of a payload-specific type, the connection to the local data terminal providing for transfer of messages to the payload interface module from a paired opposite-end payload interface module via the data terminal, (Prest: Paragraph 0031: “In some embodiments, remote pilot (or operator) station 14 may comprise a ground station.”; Paragraph 0032: “Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 via air interface 50, which may include satellite communication 34 or other types of radio frequency communication 35 between station 160 and loaded vehicles 200. Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more client devices 105 through a number of communication links and network interfaces, such as a wired or wireless local area network 31, a cellular network 32 (such as Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Long-Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G), or any other cellular networks), or a proprietary or private radio link 33.”; Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0036: “A user, such as an owner or operator of an UV or UAV 125, may use client device 105 to communicate with and control one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. A client device 105 may have an application implemented for communicating with or controlling vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. Such an application may be launched as a stand-alone process in a standard operation system (e.g., Windows™ or Solaris™), or within a standard browser (e.g., Internet Explorer™ or Chrome™). The user may enter information through an user interface provided by the application. In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160,”: Paragraph 0040: “Either or both of ground station 160 and client device 105 may be configured to receive data from one or more of vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140. For example, payload 140 may transmit audio, video or photographs to ground station 160 or client device 105.”; Paragraph 0043 – 0044: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230. A central communications module 145 on payload 140 may communicate with each of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 to process data packets received from one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260. The central communications module 145 can, upon instruction from processor 147, prepare one or more data packets for transmission through one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260.”,
Supplemental Note: the various data packets from the payload are interpreted as a the claimed payload-specific type which can be communicated to a ground station)
the payload interface module being configured and operative to convert between the messages corresponding signals of the connection to the local payload element, the payload interface modules having a common design customized for use in their respective environments and forming respective endpoints of a ground- to-vehicle channel between the local payload element and a remote payload element connected to the opposite-end payload interface module (Prest: Paragraph 0092: “FIG. 9 shows an example data packet 400 including: a header portion 405 and a payload or message portion 403. The header portion 405 may include an IP address field 401 and a port number field 402. The IP address field 401 may include a destination IP address and optionally a source IP address. The destination IP address may be, for example, the IP address of UV or UAV 125 if the data packet 400 is sent from remote station to UV or UAV 125. In some embodiment, the destination IP address may be the IP address of payload 140, for example, in cases where data packets are sent directly to the payload 140, bypassing UV or UAV 125. The port number field 402 may include a destination port number and optionally a source port number. There may be one or more additional fields (not illustrated) such as MAC address, Ethernet header, protocol type, message type (e.g., control command or otherwise), checksum. Even though IP protocol is used as an example, other appropriate communication standards or protocol may be used.”; Paragraph 0093: “Referring back to FIG. 7, at step 706, remote station 160 can transmit the one or more data packets 400 to the UV or UAV 125 through the communication interface 193 for delivery to the payload device 140, where the payload 140 is connected to the UV or UAV 125 through at least two communication interfaces 210, 220, the two communication interfaces being of different types from each other.”; Paragraph 0127: “In some embodiments, the SDK may be stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium for developing software applications for controlling UV or UAV 125 and payload 140. The SDK may include one or more application programming interfaces (APIs) for utilized in developing software applications at a remote station (e.g., ground station 160 or client device 105). For example, in some embodiments, a first API can be configured to access the UV or UAV to obtain information regarding the payload; and a second API can be configured to access the payload to obtain information regarding the UV or UAV.”).
Regarding claim 13, Prest teaches wherein the connection to the local payload element includes first and second interfaces each being one of a plurality of interfaces of distinct payload-specific types (Prest: Paragraph 0007: “In accordance with another aspect, a process for receiving and transmitting data by an unmanned vehicle (UV) is provided. The UV comprises a first communication interface and a second communication interface for connecting to a payload device, and a third communication interface for communicating with a remote station. The first and second communication interfaces are of different types from each other. The process comprises receiving through the third communication interface one or more data packets from the remote station, transmitting the one or more data packets to the payload device through the first communication interface when the one or more data packets are designated for the first communication interface, and transmitting the one or more data packets to the payload device through the second communication interface when the one or more data packets are designated for the second communication interface.”; Paragraph 0032: “Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 via air interface 50, which may include satellite communication 34 or other types of radio frequency communication 35 between station 160 and loaded vehicles 200. Ground station 160 may communicate with one or more client devices 105 through a number of communication links and network interfaces, such as a wired or wireless local area network 31, a cellular network 32 (such as Global System for Mobile Communications (GSM), Long-Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G), or any other cellular networks), or a proprietary or private radio link 33.”; Paragraph 0033: “The payload 140 may include one or more of: a freight package, a camera, a measuring device, one or more sensors, and a storage device (e.g., Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive). A payload 140 can also include, for example, flame retardant for use in a forest fire. Generally speaking, a payload 140 may be any cargo or equipment an UV or UAV 125 carries that is not necessarily required for flight, control, movement, transportation and/or navigation of the UV or UAV itself. A payload 140 may be attached or coupled to UV or UAV 125 in a number of ways. For example, a payload 140 may be connected to UV or UAV 125 by one or more interfaces such as, but not limited to, Ethernet connection, Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus connection, serial connection, Inter-integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) connection, printed circuit board (PCB) interfaces, USB connection, a proprietary physical link, and so on. In some embodiments, the payload 140 may be connected to the UV or UAV 125 by a wireless connection such as, but not limited to, Bluetooth, WiFi, or any other wireless protocol.”; Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0036: “A user, such as an owner or operator of an UV or UAV 125, may use client device 105 to communicate with and control one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. A client device 105 may have an application implemented for communicating with or controlling vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. Such an application may be launched as a stand-alone process in a standard operation system (e.g., Windows™ or Solaris™), or within a standard browser (e.g., Internet Explorer™ or Chrome™). The user may enter information through an user interface provided by the application. In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160,”; Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: the client device which is connected to the ground station can be a plurality of client devices and ground stations that are connected to multiple payloads with their own interfaces).
Regarding claim 14, Prest teaches wherein the payload-specific types of the plurality of interfaces are serial bus, discrete digital I/O signal, and a second network interface (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0044: “A central communications module 145 on payload 140 may communicate with each of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 to process data packets received from one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260. The central communications module 145 can, upon instruction from processor 147, prepare one or more data packets for transmission through one or more of communication interface modules 240, 250, 260.”,
Supplemental Note: each of the payloads are able to communicate with their own serial bus and send data packets from their communication interface modules).
Regarding claim 15, Prest teaches wherein the payload interface module further includes power circuitry and payload-side power connections for connection to the payload element to provide switched power thereto (Prest: Paragraph 0046: “In some embodiments, payload 140 may have a small micro controller functioning as a gas sensor, and may need to correlate detected sensor data with a geographical location. As payload 140 maybe a low-powered device, “; Paragraph 0123: “The PDK is a software development kit which enables simple and rapid third-party integrations and payload developments. For example, the PDK allows all or a substantial amount of software development required for a payload to communicate seamlessly with the ground station or client device to be on the ground station, which communicates with the UV or UAV through a network. The PDK interface provides power and secure communication (e.g., encrypted communication channel) to the payload over TCP/IP, and from the ground station software developer's perspective, any data transmitted from and to the payload may be through the TCP/IP interface of the PDK, regardless of how the data actually travels to the payload.”; Paragraph 0124: “In some embodiments, the PDK may provide a flexible hardware, software and electrical interface for end-users and systems integrators to quickly develop tightly integrated payloads for a UV or UAV. In addition, a Software Development Kit (SDK) may be provided to interface with other control applications across a set of secure APIs.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload is able to power itself that it uses for its functionality and for communicating. The PDK interface provides this power to the payload. A payload-side connections are interpreted as the payload being able to communicate with the UV/UAVS).
Regarding claim 16, Prest teaches wherein the network circuitry includes an internal network, (Prest: Paragraph 0034: “Ground station 160 may be configured to communicate with one or more loaded vehicles 200 (or simply “vehicles 200” hereinafter). Ground station 160 may also communicate with UVs or UAVs not carrying any payload. Ground station 160 may control one or more loaded vehicles 200, one or more UVs or UAVs 125, one or more payloads 140 concurrently in real time or near real time. Ground station 160 may also receive commands and/or data from one or more client devices 105, process the commands or data, and transmit the processed commands or data to one or more vehicles 200, UVs or UAVs 125, or payloads 140. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may receive user input directly without client devices 105.”; Paragraph 0036: “The user may enter information through an user interface provided by the application. In addition, information relating to or from the vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 may be displayed by the application on a display of client device 105. Client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 through ground station 160, or in some embodiments, client device 105 may communicate with or control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140 directly without ground station 160.”)
a network port carried by one of the external connectors, (Prest: Paragraph 0041: “FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example system of a loaded vehicle 200 including a payload 140 and an UV or UAV 125 according to some embodiments. Payload 140 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected by one or more communication interfaces 210, 220, 230, which may also be referred to as connection interfaces herein. The one or more communication interfaces may be different interfaces. For example, each of communication interfaces 210, 220, 230 may be one of: Ethernet interface, Controller Area Network (CAN) Bus interface, serial connection interface, Inter-integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C) connection interface, printed circuit board (PCB) interface, USB connection interface, and a proprietary physical link. Communication interface 220 may be different from communication interface 210. Data packets can be transmitted bi-directionally via one or more of communication interfaces 210, 220, 230.”)
and a network switch providing switched connections including to the payload element (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0050: “In some embodiments, payload 140 is controlled by a remote station, such as a ground station 160 or a client device 105. The control signals may be transmitted by the remote station to UV or UAV 125 first, which can then process and transmit control signals to payload 140.”; Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188.”; Paragraph 0056: “As shown in FIG. 5A, the client device 105 may comprise a communications subsystem 110, a processor or central computer system 115 and a display 120. The communications subsystem 110 allows for seamless communications between the client device 105 and UV or UAV 125, and seamless communications between the client device 105 and payload 140, and between the client device 105 and each ground station 160, when ground stations 160 are used. The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload’s communication module is able to communicate to the ground station through the UV/UAV. The controlling of the loaded vehicle happens per the UV/UAV control module of the ground control and client device).
Regarding claim 17, Prest teaches wherein the external connectors include an expansion connector for connection to an expansion module, the expansion module being configurable to provide an interface to a respective second payload element and form an endpoint of a second ground-to-vehicle channel between the second payload element and a second remote payload element (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”: Paragraph 0047: “UV or UAV 125 may include a processor or controller 155. Processor or controller 155 transmits control commands to other components within UV or UAV 125 to control operation of the UV or UAV 125. In some embodiments, processor 155 may also transmit control commands via one or more interfaces 210, 220, 230 to payload 140 for controlling operations of payload 140.”; Paragraph 0049: “In some embodiments, UV or UAV 125 is controlled by a remote station, such as a ground station 160 or a client device 105. UV or UAV 125 may also be configured for autonomous control without use of ground station 160. UV or UAV 125 is configured to generate vehicle status data from sensor subsystem 150, and to transmit the vehicle status data to the client device 105 or ground station 160. The vehicle status data may be transmitted to the control station client device 105 or ground station 160 in real-time, or near real-time. The vehicle status data may include vehicle location data from sensors 150, images, videos or other types of data from payload 140, and so on.”) ,
Supplemental Note: the various communication interfaces are interpreted as the expansion modules).
Regarding claim 18, Prest teaches housed in a housing for placement in proximity to the separately housed payload element (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”: Paragraph 0047: “UV or UAV 125 may include a processor or controller 155. Processor or controller 155 transmits control commands to other components within UV or UAV 125 to control operation of the UV or UAV 125. In some embodiments, processor 155 may also transmit control commands via one or more interfaces 210, 220, 230 to payload 140 for controlling operations of payload 140.”; Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188. The sensor subsystem 165 may be used to acquire environmental data if the ground station 160 is proximate or near the UV or UAV 125, where the environmental data may be used for controlling the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, or the loaded vehicle 200, such as location data, weather data, and so on. Payload control module 186 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 188 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 170 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via external RF interface 173.”; Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”; Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload uses it communication devices to communicate with the payload controller of the ground station through the UV/UAV. These are separated as the payload controller is on the ground station while the payload and its communication module are housed on the loaded vehicle. Multiple ground stations and client devices with payload interfaces can be utilized for multiple payloads with their own payload interfaces).
Regarding claim 19, Prest teaches configurable for distinct communications arrangements including one-to-one, one-to-many, and many-to-many, (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”: Paragraph 0047: “UV or UAV 125 may include a processor or controller 155. Processor or controller 155 transmits control commands to other components within UV or UAV 125 to control operation of the UV or UAV 125. In some embodiments, processor 155 may also transmit control commands via one or more interfaces 210, 220, 230 to payload 140 for controlling operations of payload 140.”; Paragraph 0055: “Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188. The sensor subsystem 165 may be used to acquire environmental data if the ground station 160 is proximate or near the UV or UAV 125, where the environmental data may be used for controlling the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, or the loaded vehicle 200, such as location data, weather data, and so on. Payload control module 186 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 188 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 170 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via external RF interface 173.”; Paragraph 0056: “The User Interface (UI) 180 is generated by processor 115 for display on the display 120 of a client device 105, which remotely controls the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, and/or the loaded vehicle 200 or as part of a control system for one or more vehicles. Display 120 may be a touch-screen display, but a non-touch display may be used. In some embodiments, client device 105 may be on a single-unit computer (i.e., one with a built-in display), but a multi-unit computer (i.e., with a separate display) may be used instead. Payload control module 195 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 198 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 110 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via ground station 160.”; Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: the payload uses it communication devices to communicate with the payload controller of the ground station through the UV/UAV. Multiple ground stations and client devices with payload interfaces can be utilized for multiple payloads with their own payload interfaces)
the one-to-one arrangement being characterized by logical mapping of interface ports and sub-slots of corresponding payload interface modules of a ground station and a vehicle in which data received on a given sub-slot of the first payload interface module is directed to a corresponding sub-slot of the second payload interface module (Prest: Paragraph 0043: “Payload 140 may include a communication module for each of communication interface 210, 220, 230. For example, payload 140 may include an Ethernet interface communication module 240, a CAN Bus interface communication module 250 and a serial interface communication module 260. Each of the communication interface modules 240, 250, 260 may be implemented in software, hardware or a combination of software and hardware. Each module 240, 250, 260 is operable to process data packets received from the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230 and to prepare data packets for transmission through the physical layer of respective communication interface 210, 220, 230.”; Paragraph 0076: “Ground station 160 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected through a suitable wireless communication network or interface. For example, ground station 160 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected through a radio-based network 410, e.g., a radio frequency communication channel. Range, signal strength, type of antenna, and additional attributes of the radio system may vary. In some embodiments, ground station 160 may be associated with an IP address 83, for instance, 192.168.100.1. UV or UAV 125 may be associated with an IP address 85, for instance, 192.168.100.2. The IP addresses 83, 85 may be statically or dynamically assigned within the radio network 410. Data packets 400 may be transmitted bi-directionally via radio network 410.”; Paragraph 0103: “For example, data packet 400 may include, in a port number field 402 as part of a header 405, information representing a port number corresponding to a port number 91, 93, 95 assigned to a communication interface 210, 220, 230. That is, a data packet 400 prepared by remote station 160, 105 for transmission to UV or UAV 125 or payload 140 can include, in a header portion 405, information representative of the destination (e.g., UV or UAV 125 or payload 140) and a communication interface (e.g., 210) selected for routing the data packet to the destination. Where there is only one communication interface, the port number field 402 may be set to a default number or left empty.”; Paragraph 0105: “In some embodiments, a port number in data packet 400 may represent both a destination (e.g., payload 140) and a communication interface (e.g., interface 210). For example, data packet 400 may include a destination IP address for UV or UAV 125, which is the system connected to remote station via radio network 410. In this instance, data packet 400 will be sent to UV or UAV 125 first before reaching payload 140. The data packet may further include a port number 91 corresponding to communication interface 210, which indicates to UV or UAV 125 that the data payload 403 carried in data packet 400 is intended for payload 140 and should be transmitted to the payload via communication interface 210.”,
Supplemental Note: the payloads with their own communication model are able to be connected to their respective one communication interface of the remote station (i.e. ground station)).
Regarding claim 20, Prest teaches wherein the many-to-many arrangement is characterized by mapping of each of a plurality of payload interface modules of the ground station to corresponding ones of a plurality of payload interface modules of the vehicle (Prest: Paragraph 0074: “Referring now to FIG. 8, which illustrates a communication system 30 including a client device 105, a ground station 160, and a loaded vehicle 200. In some embodiments, a client device 105 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 300 from/ to a ground station 160. A ground station 160 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 400 from/ to UV or UAV 125. A UV or UAV 125 is configured to receive and transmit electronic signals representative of one or more data packets 500, 800, 900 from/ to payload 140. Even though only one client device is illustrated, there can be multiple client devices. Similarly, there can be multiple ground stations and multiple UVs or UAVs and payloads.”,
Supplemental Note: a plurality of payloads can communicate to a plurality of ground stations).
Regarding claim 21, Prest teaches the remotely piloted vehicle system of claim 1, employing a routed Ethernet channel between the ground station and the remotely piloted vehicle, along with an Ethernet internet protocol (IP) tunnel through the routed Ethernet channel, and (Prest: Paragraph 0055: “Referring now to FIG. 4, which shows a schematic diagram of an example ground station 160. Ground station 160 may include a sensor subsystem 165 (which may include a global positioning system (GPS) subsystem), a communications module 170 configured to process received data packets, and to prepare data packets for transmission through external RF interface 173, an external RF interface 173 configured to communicate with external RF interface 193 on UV or UAV 125, a processor or controller 175, a payload control module 186, and a UV or UAV control module 188. The sensor subsystem 165 may be used to acquire environmental data if the ground station 160 is proximate or near the UV or UAV 125, where the environmental data may be used for controlling the UV or UAV 125, the payload 140, or the loaded vehicle 200, such as location data, weather data, and so on. Payload control module 186 may generate command signals for controlling payload 140, and UV or UAV control module 188 may general command signals for controlling UV or UAV 125. Both types of control commands may be processed by communications module 170 and transmitted to UV or UAV 125 and payload 140 via external RF interface 173.”; Paragraph 0062: “Each communication interface 2300 enables client device 105 to communicate with other components, to exchange data with other components, to access and connect to network resources, to serve applications, and perform other computing applications by connecting to a network (or multiple networks) capable of carrying data including the Internet, Ethernet, plain old telephone service (POTS) line, public switch telephone network (PSTN), integrated services digital network (ISDN), digital subscriber line (DSL), coaxial cable, fiber optics, satellite, mobile, wireless (e.g., Wi-Fi, WiMAX), SS7 signaling network, fixed line, local area network, wide area network, and others, including any combination of these. For example communication interface 2300 may include an Ethernet connection to ground station 160, or a wireless communication interface operable to communicate with ground station 160. In some embodiments, communication interface 2300 may include a RF interface operable to communicate with UV or UAV 125.”; Paragraph 0111: “In some embodiments, ground station 160, client device 105, and UV or UAV 125 are all on the same network.”; Paragraph 0041: “FIG. 3 is a schematic block diagram of an example system of a loaded vehicle 200 including a payload 140 and an UV or UAV 125 according to some embodiments. Payload 140 and UV or UAV 125 may be connected by one or more communication interfaces 210, 220, 230, which may also be referred to as connection interfaces herein.”,
Supplemental Note: the loaded vehicle is able to communicate with the ground station utilizing an ethernet interface and the same is done for the client devices. Figure A shows the loaded vehicle 200 and Figure B shows the ground station 160 with communications module 170 that is used for communicating between the two)
the first and second payload interface modules are configured and operative using the Ethernet IP tunnel to make an ethernet port at the payload to appear as residing on a subnet of an ethernet port at the payload controller (Prest: Paragraph 0111: “In some embodiments, ground station 160, client device 105, and UV or UAV 125 are all on the same network. When payload 140 attaches to UV or UAV 125, the payload may be configured to connect to the UV or UAV on one or more connection interfaces (e.g., Ethernet 210 or CanBus 220). For example, as described herein, one or more specific ports can be configured to forward packets from the UV or UAV's external interface (e.g., a radio or Wi-Fi interface) to the Ethernet interface 210 that the payload is connect to. An IP address may be dedicated to the payload on the Ethernet interface 210. From ground station's perspective, UV or UAV 125 may act as the point of contact for payload 140. Ground station 160 or client device 105 therefore does not address the payload directly when transmitting data. For example, upon connecting to UV or UAV 125, payload 140 may request for port 4001 to be opened for forwarding between the UAV's external interface 193 and the Ethernet interface 210. An IP address for payload 140 may be assigned for port 4001. The routing rules can then be automatically configured on UV or UAV 125, which causes all packets for port 4001 to be forwarded to the payload's corresponding IP address on port 4001. The ground station may then attempt to send data packets to payload 140 by sending the data packets to port 4001 on the UV or UAV's IP address assigned to the UV or UAV's external interface 193, which may be radio or Wi-Fi.”,
Supplemental Note: the payloads can be connected to the ground interface utilizing the Ethernet Interface. An IP address can also be assigned for the payload which for directly communicating with the ground station and client device. All the devices can be on the same network).
Regarding claim 22, Prest teaches wherein the first payload interface module and the second payload interface module are interchangeable and are customized for their respective environments based at least in part on respective configuration files (Prest: Paragraph 0009: “In accordance with another aspect, a software development kit (SDK) may be provided. The SDK may be stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium for developing software applications for controlling an unmanned vehicle (UV) and a payload device connected to the UV.”; Paragraph 0039: “Either or both of ground station 160 and client device 105 may be configured to control vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140. Flight control, travel control, navigation control, movement, transportation, and other types of command signals may be transmitted to UV or UAV 125 for controlling or navigating one or more of vehicle 200, UV or UAV 125, or payload 140.”; Paragraph 0180: “The processor or controller 155, ground station 160, or client device 105 may be implemented as a computing device with at least one processor, a data storage device (including volatile memory or non-volatile memory or other data storage elements or a combination thereof), and at least one communication interface.”; Paragraph 0127: “The SDK may include one or more application programming interfaces (APIs) for utilized in developing software applications at a remote station (e.g., ground station 160 or client device 105). For example, in some embodiments, a first API can be configured to access the UV or UAV to obtain information regarding the payload; and a second API can be configured to access the payload to obtain information regarding the UV or UAV.”,
Supplemental Note: both the ground station and UV/UAV have their own computer which holds their own SDK able to be configured for their specific roles. For example, the ground station controlling the movement of the UV/UAV and the UV/UAV communicating payload information).
Regarding claim 23, Prest teaches wherein the first payload interface module is paired with the second payload interface module based at least in part on the respective configuration files (Prest: Paragraph0117: “one or more of payload 140, UV or UAV 125, client device 105 and ground station 160 may receive and authenticate an identity associated with a sender of the data packets 300, 400 prior to transmitting any data packet to UV or UAV 125 or payload 140.”; Paragraph 0118: “For example, a certain payload may only be accessible for use to a pilot of a certain rank (or higher) who has not logged more than a certain amount of travel (e.g., flight) time in the last 24 hours, and some functions on the payload may then only be accessible if authorized by a second person with a specific rank. Such authorization requirements, on a function-by-function or port-by-port basis, may be set up by payload 140 or UV or UAV 125 at the time of initial configuration, and subsequently communicated to the ground station and/or client device.”,
Supplemental Note: the communication between the ground station and the UV/UAV can be initially configured to only be sent by an authorized user).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the Summary of Rejection under 102 and/or 103 section of the REMARKS, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) prior art rejection of claims 1 – 21 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant states that Prest does not teach the amended limitation of claim 1, “wherein the first payload interface module and the second payload interface module have a common design, wherein the common design of the first payload interface module is customized to an environment of the ground station, and wherein the common design of the second payload interface module is customized to an environment of the vehicle.”. Applicant states Prest teaches a payload control for the ground station and payload control for a client device. Applicant states that the payload control features are independent of one another. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim in its current form states the first and second payload interface modules have a common design. A common design is taught to be a common design between the PIMs of the ground station and vehicle (Specification: Pages 4 – 5). A PIM is further stated as including computing hardware capable of supporting an operating system (Specification: Page 6). Without further claim limitations other than “common design”, the modules including computing hardware capable of supporting an operating system both on the ground station and the vehicle can be interpreted as such. Prest teaches these claim limitations by teaching a non-transitory computer readable medium with a software development kit on the aerial vehicles (Prest: Paragraph 0009) and the ground station also having a computing device with a processor, data storage and communication interface (Prest: Paragraph 0180). These both are interpreted as the claimed common design as they both are computing hardware capable of supporting an operating system.
Applicant further states that Prest does not teach the amended limitation of claim 12, “the payload interface modules having a common design customized for their use in their respective environments”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The modules are taught to be PIMs which are computing hardware capable of supporting an operating system. Prest teaches the ability of the computers of the UV/UAV and the ground station to have SDK stored. These are customized for their respective environments as, for example, one of the SDK applications stored on the UV/UAV and the ground station allows for communication between the two about payload information (Prest: Paragraph 0127).
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665