DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments made to claim 21 for example changed the scope of the claim. The limitation where the scope has changed is “transmitting, to the second node, a request acknowledge message related to the bearer comprising an indication indicating whether the bearer is accepted;”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 25-33, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Eklöf et al. (US 2023/0284058).
Regarding claim 21, Eklöf discloses a method performed by a first node in a communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a second node, a request message ([0144], “In operations 1, the MN initiates the SN change by invoking the SN Addition procedure, specifically by sending an SN Addition Request message requesting the target SN to allocate resources for the UE. The MN may include measurement results related to the target SN.”) related to a bearer for a measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”); transmitting, to the second node, a request acknowledge message ([0129], “The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”) related to the bearer comprising an indication whether the bearer is accepted ([0137], “In the SN-Addition Request Acknowledge message (operation 2), the SN can provide the list of the QoS flows/bearers that it has admitted (either as SCG bearers, SCG split bearers or MCG split bearers) in the PDU session resources admitted to be added List IE (shown below in Table 4), along with the PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info—SN terminated and PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info —MN terminated IES that are part of it (shown respectively in Tables 5-6 below).”); and receiving, from a user equipment (UE), the measurement report ([0249], “In other embodiments, the UE can be configured to autonomously select the MN, the SN, or both for receiving its QoE measurement reports. The UE may base this decision on the current radio link qualities to the respective nodes, the currently available data rate in the MCG and SCG, etc. The UE may make this selection for each QoE measurement report or for each application.”), based on a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted by the second node to the UE ([0164], “In operation 3, the MN initiates an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure, including sending the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the SN RRC configuration message received in operation 2.”), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises information related to the bearer for the measurement report ([0129], “For bearers requiring SCG radio resources the SN triggers UE Random Access so that synchronization of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”).
Regarding claim 22, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the request message related to the bearer ([0125], “An SN Addition procedure is initiated by the MN and is used to establish a UE context at the SN in order to provide radio resources from the SN to the UE.”) comprises information about signaling radio bearer (SRB) for receiving the measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”).
Regarding claim 23, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further comprises an identification of a measurement ([0203], “The message includes a service type (e.g., streaming), an area scope, a measurement configuration file for the QoE measurements to be performed, and a QoE reference identifier.”).
Regarding claim 25, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: transmitting, to a third node, the measurement report based on the bearer for the measurement report ([0288], “In block 2195, the first RNN can send the QoE measurement configuration to the third RNN. For example, the procedure can be an SN change, an MN change, or an SN addition.”).
Regarding claim 26, Eklöf discloses a method performed by a second node in a communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a first node, a request message ([0144], “In operations 1, the MN initiates the SN change by invoking the SN Addition procedure, specifically by sending an SN Addition Request message requesting the target SN to allocate resources for the UE. The MN may include measurement results related to the target SN.”) related to a bearer for a measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”); receiving, from the first node, a request acknowledge message ([0129], “The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”) related to the bearer comprising an indication indicating whether the bearer is accepted ([0137], “In the SN-Addition Request Acknowledge message (operation 2), the SN can provide the list of the QoS flows/bearers that it has admitted (either as SCG bearers, SCG split bearers or MCG split bearers) in the PDU session resources admitted to be added List IE (shown below in Table 4), along with the PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info—SN terminated and PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info —MN terminated IES that are part of it (shown respectively in Tables 5-6 below).”); and transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message based on the request acknowledge message ([0130], “In operation 3, the MN sends an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE including the SN RRC configuration message, preferably without modifying it.”), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises information related to the bearer for the measurement report ([0129], “For bearers requiring SCG radio resources the SN triggers UE Random Access so that synchronization of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”).
Regarding claim 27, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the request message related to the bearer ([0125], “An SN Addition procedure is initiated by the MN and is used to establish a UE context at the SN in order to provide radio resources from the SN to the UE.”) comprises information about signaling radio bearer (SRB) for receiving the measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”).
Regarding claim 28, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further comprises an identification of a measurement ([0203], “The message includes a service type (e.g., streaming), an area scope, a measurement configuration file for the QoE measurements to be performed, and a QoE reference identifier.”).
Regarding claim 29, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising: receiving, from the first node, the measurement report transmitted from the UE based on the RRC reconfiguration message ([0249], “In other embodiments, the UE can be configured to autonomously select the MN, the SN, or both for receiving its QoE measurement reports. The UE may base this decision on the current radio link qualities to the respective nodes, the currently available data rate in the MCG and SCG, etc. The UE may make this selection for each QoE measurement report or for each application.”); and transmitting, to a third node, the measurement report ([0288], “In block 2195, the first RNN can send the QoE measurement configuration to the third RNN. For example, the procedure can be an SN change, an MN change, or an SN addition.”).
Regarding claim 30, Eklöf discloses the method of claim 26, further comprising: transmitting, to the first node, RRC reconfiguration complete message comprising an identification indicating a node collecting the measurement report ([0147], “In operation 6, if the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure was successful, the MN informs the target SN via SN Reconfiguration Complete message that includes the encoded RRC response message for the target SN, if received from the UE in operation 5.”).
Regarding claim 31, Eklöf discloses a first node for performing communication in a communication system, the first node comprising: a transceiver; and at least one controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([0327], “In FIG. 24, network node 2460 includes processing circuitry 2470, device readable medium 2480, interface 2490, auxiliary equipment 2484, power source 2486, power circuitry 2487, and antenna 2462.”): receive, from a second node, a request message ([0144], “In operations 1, the MN initiates the SN change by invoking the SN Addition procedure, specifically by sending an SN Addition Request message requesting the target SN to allocate resources for the UE. The MN may include measurement results related to the target SN.”) related to a bearer for a measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”), transmit, to the second node, a request acknowledge message ([0129], “The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”) related to the bearer comprising an indication indicating whether the bearer is accepted ([0137], “In the SN-Addition Request Acknowledge message (operation 2), the SN can provide the list of the QoS flows/bearers that it has admitted (either as SCG bearers, SCG split bearers or MCG split bearers) in the PDU session resources admitted to be added List IE (shown below in Table 4), along with the PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info—SN terminated and PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info —MN terminated IES that are part of it (shown respectively in Tables 5-6 below).”), and receive, from a user equipment (UE), the measurement report ([0249], “In other embodiments, the UE can be configured to autonomously select the MN, the SN, or both for receiving its QoE measurement reports. The UE may base this decision on the current radio link qualities to the respective nodes, the currently available data rate in the MCG and SCG, etc. The UE may make this selection for each QoE measurement report or for each application.”), based on a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message transmitted by the second node to the UE ([0164], “In operation 3, the MN initiates an RRC connection reconfiguration procedure, including sending the UE an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message including the SN RRC configuration message received in operation 2.”), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises information related to the bearer for the measurement report ([0129], “For bearers requiring SCG radio resources the SN triggers UE Random Access so that synchronization of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”).
Regarding claim 32, Eklöf discloses the first node of claim 21, wherein the request message related to the bearer ([0125], “An SN Addition procedure is initiated by the MN and is used to establish a UE context at the SN in order to provide radio resources from the SN to the UE.”) comprises information about signaling radio bearer (SRB) for receiving the measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”).
Regarding claim 33, Eklöf discloses the first node of claim 21, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further comprises an identification of a measurement ([0203], “The message includes a service type (e.g., streaming), an area scope, a measurement configuration file for the QoE measurements to be performed, and a QoE reference identifier.”).
Regarding claim 35, Eklöf discloses the first node of claim 31, the at least one controller further configured to: transmit, to a third node, the measurement report based on the bearer for the measurement report ([0288], “In block 2195, the first RNN can send the QoE measurement configuration to the third RNN. For example, the procedure can be an SN change, an MN change, or an SN addition.”).
Regarding claim 36, Eklöf discloses a second node for performing communication in a communication system, the second node comprising: a transceiver; and at least one controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to ([0327], “In FIG. 24, network node 2460 includes processing circuitry 2470, device readable medium 2480, interface 2490, auxiliary equipment 2484, power source 2486, power circuitry 2487, and antenna 2462.”): transmit, to a first node, a request message ([0144], “In operations 1, the MN initiates the SN change by invoking the SN Addition procedure, specifically by sending an SN Addition Request message requesting the target SN to allocate resources for the UE. The MN may include measurement results related to the target SN.”) related to a bearer for a measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”), receive, from the first node, a request acknowledge message ([0129], “The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”) related to the bearer comprising an indication indicating whether the beater is accepted ([0137], “In the SN-Addition Request Acknowledge message (operation 2), the SN can provide the list of the QoS flows/bearers that it has admitted (either as SCG bearers, SCG split bearers or MCG split bearers) in the PDU session resources admitted to be added List IE (shown below in Table 4), along with the PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info—SN terminated and PDU Session Resource Setup Response Info —MN terminated IES that are part of it (shown respectively in Tables 5-6 below).”), and transmit, to a user equipment (UE), radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message ([0130], “In operation 3, the MN sends an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the UE including the SN RRC configuration message, preferably without modifying it.”), wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises information related to the bearer for the measurement report ([0129], “For bearers requiring SCG radio resources the SN triggers UE Random Access so that synchronization of the SN radio resource configuration can be performed. The SN decides the PScell and other SCG SCells and provides the new SCG radio resource configuration to the MN in a SN RRC configuration message contained in the SN Addition Request Acknowledge message.”).
Regarding claim 37, Eklöf discloses the second node of claim 36, wherein the request message related to the bearer ([0125], “An SN Addition procedure is initiated by the MN and is used to establish a UE context at the SN in order to provide radio resources from the SN to the UE.”) comprises information about signaling radio bearer (SRB) for receiving the measurement report ([0251], “As mentioned above, different types of bearer can be configured for DC, including MCG bearers, SCG bearers, split bearers, and duplicated bearers. This can be done for both SRBs (signaling radio bearers) and DRBs (data radio bearers). For QoE measurements, these types of bearers could potentially be reused for sending QoE measurement reports.”).
Regarding claim 38, Eklöf discloses the second node of claim 36, wherein the RRC reconfiguration message further comprises an identification of a measurement ([0203], “The message includes a service type (e.g., streaming), an area scope, a measurement configuration file for the QoE measurements to be performed, and a QoE reference identifier.”).
Regarding claim 39, Eklöf discloses the second node of claim 36, the at least one controller further configured to: receive, from the first node, the measurement report transmitted from the UE based on the RRC reconfiguration message ([0249], “In other embodiments, the UE can be configured to autonomously select the MN, the SN, or both for receiving its QoE measurement reports. The UE may base this decision on the current radio link qualities to the respective nodes, the currently available data rate in the MCG and SCG, etc. The UE may make this selection for each QoE measurement report or for each application.”); and transmit, to a third node, the measurement report ([0288], “In block 2195, the first RNN can send the QoE measurement configuration to the third RNN. For example, the procedure can be an SN change, an MN change, or an SN addition.”).
Regarding claim 40, Eklöf discloses the second node of claim 36, the at least one controller further configured to: transmit, to the first node, RRC reconfiguration complete message comprising an identification indicating a node collecting the measurement report ([0147], “In operation 6, if the RRC connection reconfiguration procedure was successful, the MN informs the target SN via SN Reconfiguration Complete message that includes the encoded RRC response message for the target SN, if received from the UE in operation 5.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eklöf et al. (US 2023/0284058) in view of Xue et al. (US 2024/0107348).
Regarding claim 24, Eklöf does not disclose the core network entity sending the configuration information comprising priority. Xue discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving, from a core network entity, configuration information for a measurement comprising priority of the measurement ([0053], “The method 600 may include step 610, sending, by the CN, a start message to a radio access network (RAN) node, the start message comprising the priority information, wherein: in response to receiving the start message, the RAN node sends a configuration message to the UE, the configuration message comprising the priority information, so that the UE performs at least one measurement task and reports at least one measurement result according to the priority information.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Eklöf in view of Xue to have the core network entity sending the configuration information comprising priority. The motivation would have been to improve efficiency and performance (e.g., Xue [0110]).
Regarding claim 34, Eklöf does not disclose the priority of the measurement from core network entity. Xue discloses the first node of claim 21, the at least one controller further configured to: receive, from a core network entity, configuration information for a measurement comprising priority of the measurement ([0053], “The method 600 may include step 610, sending, by the CN, a start message to a radio access network (RAN) node, the start message comprising the priority information, wherein: in response to receiving the start message, the RAN node sends a configuration message to the UE, the configuration message comprising the priority information, so that the UE performs at least one measurement task and reports at least one measurement result according to the priority information.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Eklöf in view of Xue to have the core network entity sending the configuration information comprising priority. The motivation would have been to improve efficiency and performance (e.g., Xue [0110]).
Conclusion
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479