DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on page 9, “ Allert does not disclose an inverter operation that provides the required load power without interruption at the claimed time. Rather, Allert requires detection, disconnection, and a subsequent operational-mode switch before grid-forming power is supplied.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Allert discloses a central control unit of the electrical unit is configured to determine a failure or loss of the AC-grid and to disconnect the AC-load from the AC-grid in case of a failure or loss of the AC-grid. This allows to provide backup electrical power to the load effectively and consistently without having to rely on an islanding detection mechanism in the inverters (paragraph [0017]). The claim 8 of Allert also shows the consistent power supply to the load even though the AC-grid is disconnected through the second port.
The applicant argument regarding amended claim 2 is persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments regrading claims 1, 9. And 18 are not persuasive, thus, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 depends from claim 14, which ultimately depends from claim 10 through claims 13 and 12. Claim 10 already recites the same limitation recited in claim 15. Accordingly, claim 15 unnecessarily repeat a limitation that is already incorporated into claim 15 by virtue of its dependency from claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Allert et al. (US 2022/0368154), herein after Allert.
Regarding claim 1, Allert discloses a method of maintaining electrical power to one or more designated loads connected to an electrical bus (abstract), the electrical bus being selectively connected to an electric power grid as a first source of power (see the annotated fig. I), the electrical bus being connected to an inverter for selectively providing power to the electrical bus from a second source of electrical power (the power source connected to the electrical bus through inverter 30, fig. 1), the method comprising:
Annotated fig. I
operating the inverter to be synchronized with the electric power grid (paragraph [0026]) and provide a selected amount of active and reactive electrical power from the second source of electrical power while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid (The first inverter may also be configured to operate in parallel with the AC-grid in a grid following mode, in which an AC-load connected to the second port is powered by the AC-grid and the first inverter in parallel, wherein the first inverter provides grid-following currents which may be fed-in to the AC-load and/or the AC-grid as far as the latter is available. The first inverter may comprise a first control unit, e. g. firmware, with a control strategy allowing the parallel operation of the first inverter with the AC-grid. The control strategy includes the first inverter and the first choke and is configured to control the power provided to the AC-load via the second port, paragraph [00006]Note: the inverters are autonomously sink with AC grid, paragraph [0026]);
monitoring connection of the electrical bus to the electric power grid (central control unit of the electrical unit is configured to determine a failure or loss of the AC-grid and to is connect the AC-load from the AC-grid in case of a failure or loss of the AC-grid, paragraph [0017]); and at the time the electrical bus is no longer receiving power from the electrical grid, operating the inverter to provide required power without interruption to the one or more designated loads of the electrical bus (paragraph [0025]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Allert further discloses wherein monitoring connection of the electrical bus to the electrical power grid comprises island detection (the central control unit 26 may communicate control signals to the inverters 30, 40 still operating in grid forming mode such that voltage, frequency, and/or phase vector of the electrical power supplied to the AC-load 24 is synchronized with the respective parameters of the AC-grid 22 in order to ensure a smooth transition between islanded operation and grid-connected operation, paragraph [0061] shows that the control unit consistently monitor island mode).
Regarding claim 4, Allert further discloses wherein monitoring connection of the electrical bus to the electrical power grid comprises monitoring status or operation of the connection of the electrical bus to the electric power grid (the central control unit 26 may communicate control signals to the inverters 30, 40 still operating in grid forming mode such that voltage, frequency, and/or phase vector of the electrical power supplied to the AC-load 24 is synchronized with the respective parameters of the AC-grid 22 in order to ensure a smooth transition between islanded operation and grid-connected operation, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Allert further discloses wherein a feeder switch (48, fig. 1) selectively electrically connects the electrical bus to the electric power grid (A first switch 48 is arranged between the first port 12 and the second port. The AC-grid 22 may be disconnected from and connected to the electrical unit 10 using this first switch 48, paragraph [0048]), and wherein monitoring status or operation of the connection of the electrical bus to the electric power grid comprises monitoring the status or operation of the feeder switch (The method further comprises detecting a failure of the AC-grid 22 based on the electrical parameters at S3, and in case of a failure of the AC-grid 22, disconnecting the backup power system from the AC-grid 22, e. g. by using the first switch 48 at S4, paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Allert further discloses wherein the electrical bus is connected to a second inverter for selectively providing power to the electrical bus from a third source of electrical power (48 is connected to the electrically connected to electrical bus through the inverter 40, fig. 1), the method further comprising:
operating the second inverter to be synchronized with the electric power grid and provide a second selected amount of active and reactive electrical power from the third source of electrical power while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid (The first inverter and/or second inverter may also be configured to operate in parallel with the AC-grid in a grid-following mode, in which a local grid connected to the second port is powered mainly by the AC-grid and supplemented by grid-following power provided by the first inverter and/or second inverter in parallel, paragraph [0010]);
and wherein at the time the electrical bus is no longer receiving power from the electrical grid, operating each of the inverter with the second inverter so that each provides electrical power and together the inverter and the second inverter provide the required power without interruption to the one or more designated loads of the electrical bus (The first inverter and/or second inverter may comprise a control unit, e. g. a dedicated firmware, with a control strategy allowing the parallel operation of the first inverter and/or the second inverter in grid-forming mode to supply the AC-load in case of a failure of the AC-grid, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 7, Allert further discloses wherein the selected amount of active and reactive power is zero (control parameters may be communicated via the communication channel 28 from the central control unit 26 to the inverters 30, 40, 50, wherein the control parameters may optionally comprise active power setpoints, reactive power setpoints, voltage reference values, frequency reference values, or slopes of droop functions used in the inverters 30, 40 to generated a balanced supply of the AC-load 24 with electrical power from the inverters 30, 40, in particular during a grid failure, paragraph [0063] where the active and reactive power set points could be zero to provide the stable balance power).
Regarding claim 8, Allert further discloses wherein the electrical bus is connected to a second inverter for selectively providing power to the electrical bus from a third source of electrical power (48 is connected to the electrically connected to electrical bus through the inverter 40, fig. 1), the method further comprising:
operating the second inverter to be synchronized with the electric power grid and provide a second selected amount of active and reactive electrical power from the third source of electrical power while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid (The first inverter and/or second inverter may also be configured to operate in parallel with the AC-grid in a grid-following mode, in which a local grid connected to the second port is powered mainly by the AC-grid and supplemented by grid-following power provided by the first inverter and/or second inverter in parallel, paragraph [0010]);
and wherein at the time the electrical bus is no longer receiving power from the electrical grid, operating each of the inverter with the second inverter so that each provides electrical power and together the inverter and the second inverter provide the required power without interruption to the one or more designated loads of the electrical bus (The first inverter and/or second inverter may comprise a control unit, e. g. a dedicated firmware, with a control strategy allowing the parallel operation of the first inverter and/or the second inverter in grid-forming mode to supply the AC-load in case of a failure of the AC-grid, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Allert discloses a system for maintaining electrical power to one or more designated loads connected to an electrical bus (Abstract), the electrical bus being selectively connected to an electric power grid as a first source of power (see the annotated fig. 1), the system comprising: a second source (battery 38, fig. 1) of electrical power; an inverter connected to the second source of electrical (inverter 30 connected to 38, fig. 1); and a controller (the central controller 26, fig. 2)receiving an input indicating if the electrical bus is connected to the electrical power grid (a power backup system comprises: monitoring electrical parameters of the AC-grid 22 using the central control unit 26, paragraph [0060]), the controller being configured to:
selectively provide a selected amount of active and reactive electrical power to the electrical bus from the second source of electrical power while being synchronized with the electric power grid and while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid (paragraph [0006], [0026]);
based on the input, monitor the connection of the electrical bus to the electric power grid(central control unit of the electrical unit is configured to determine a failure or loss of the AC-grid and to is connect the AC-load from the AC-grid in case of a failure or loss of the AC-grid, paragraph [0017]); and at the time the electrical bus is no longer receiving power from the electrical grid, operate the inverter to provide required power without interruption to the one or more designated loads of the electrical bus (paragraph [0025]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 16, Allert further discloses the system further comprising a third source of electrical power (48, fig. 2); a second inverter connected to the third source of electrical power (40 is connected to 48, fig. 2); configured to selectively provide a selected amount of power to the electrical bus from the third source of electrical power while being synchronized with the electric power grid and while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid(The first inverter and/or second inverter may also be configured to operate in parallel with the AC-grid in a grid-following mode, in which a local grid connected to the second port is powered mainly by the AC-grid and supplemented by grid-following power provided by the first inverter and/or second inverter in parallel, paragraph [0010]);
and wherein the controller is configured to: selectively provide a second selected amount of active and reactive electrical power to the electrical bus from the second source of electrical power while being synchronized with the electric power grid and while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid (paragraph [0010] both first and second convert are used to provide the balance amount of power); and at the time the electrical bus is no longer receiving power from the electrical grid, operate each of the inverter with the second inverter so that each provides electrical power and together the inverter and the second inverter provide the required power without interruption to the one or more designated loads of the electrical bus(The first inverter and/or second inverter may comprise a control unit, e. g. a dedicated firmware, with a control strategy allowing the parallel operation of the first inverter and/or the second inverter in grid-forming mode to supply the AC-load in case of a failure of the AC-grid, paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 17, Allert further discloses wherein the selected amount of active and reactive power is zero (control parameters may be communicated via the communication channel 28 from the central control unit 26 to the inverters 30, 40, 50, wherein the control parameters may optionally comprise active power setpoints, reactive power setpoints, voltage reference values, frequency reference values, or slopes of droop functions used in the inverters 30, 40 to generated a balanced supply of the AC-load 24 with electrical power from the inverters 30, 40, in particular during a grid failure, paragraph [0063] where the active and reactive power set points could be zero to provide the stable balance power).
Regarding claim 18, Allert discloses an apparatus configured to maintain electrical power to one or more designated loads connected to an electrical bus (fig. 2), the electrical bus being selectively connected to an electric power grid as a first source of power (see annotated fig I), the apparatus comprising: an inverter (30, fig. 2) configured to be connected to a second source of electrical (38, fig. 2); and
a controller (central control unit 26, fig. 2) connected to the inverter and receiving an input indicating if the electrical bus is connected to the electrical power grid (monitoring electrical parameters of the AC-grid 22 using the central control unit 26 at S1, and operating the inverters 30, 40, 50 in a grid following operation mode at S2, paragraph [0060]), the controller being configured to: selectively control the inverter to provide a selected amount of active and reactive electrical power to the electrical bus from the second source of electrical power while being synchronized with the electric power grid and while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid ((The first inverter may also be configured to operate in parallel with the AC-grid in a grid following mode, in which an AC-load connected to the second port is powered by the AC-grid and the first inverter in parallel, wherein the first inverter provides grid-following currents which may be fed-in to the AC-load and/or the AC-grid as far as the latter is available. The first inverter may comprise a first control unit, e. g. firmware, with a control strategy allowing the parallel operation of the first inverter with the AC-grid. The control strategy includes the first inverter and the first choke and is configured to control the power provided to the AC-load via the second port, paragraph [00006]Note: the inverters are autonomously sink with AC grid, paragraph [0026]);
based on the input, monitor the connection of the electrical bus to the electric power grid(central control unit of the electrical unit is configured to determine a failure or loss of the AC-grid and to is connect the AC-load from the AC-grid in case of a failure or loss of the AC-grid, paragraph [0017]); and at the time the electrical bus is no longer receiving power from the electrical grid, operate the inverter to provide required power without interruption to the one or more designated loads of the electrical bus (paragraph [0025]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 19, Allert further discloses wherein the second selected amount of active and reactive power is zero (control parameters may be communicated via the communication channel 28 from the central control unit 26 to the inverters 30, 40, 50, wherein the control parameters may optionally comprise active power setpoints, reactive power setpoints, voltage reference values, frequency reference values, or slopes of droop functions used in the inverters 30, 40 to generated a balanced supply of the AC-load 24 with electrical power from the inverters 30, 40, in particular during a grid failure, paragraph [0063] where the active and reactive power set points could be zero to provide the stable balance power).
Regarding claim 20, Allert further discloses wherein the input is based on island detection or comprises a status or operation of the connection of the electrical bus to the electric power grid(the central control unit 26 may communicate control signals to the inverters 30, 40 still operating in grid forming mode such that voltage, frequency, and/or phase vector of the electrical power supplied to the AC-load 24 is synchronized with the respective parameters of the AC-grid 22 in order to ensure a smooth transition between islanded operation and grid-connected operation, paragraph [0061] shows that the control unit consistently monitor island mode).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, none of the prior art alone or in combination discloses the method of maintaining electrical power to one or more designated load connected to electrical bus comprising, “ operating the inverter while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid comprises operating the inverter in a grid-forming mode while the inverter is synchronized with the electric power grid and regulated to supply no active and reactive electrical power from the second source of electrical power, and wherein the inverter is operated in the grid-forming mode irrespective of whether the electrical bus is receiving power from the electric power grid”, along with all the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 10, none of the prior art alone or in combination discloses a system having a controller to maintain the electrical power to one or mode designated load connected to a electrical bus where the controller is configured to, “ operate the inverter in a grid-forming mode while the inverter is synchronized with the electric power grid and regulated to supply no active and reactive electrical power from the second source of electrical power while the one or more designated loads receive electrical power from the electric power grid, and wherein the inverter is operated in the grid-forming mode irrespective of whether the electrical bus is receiving power from the electric power grid. the second selected amount of active and reactive power is zero”, along with all the other limitations of the claim.
Claims 11-15 depend on claim 10 and are allowed for the same reason.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859