DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 04/28/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-7 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “the distribution destination” in claim 1, line 29 is indefinite because the distribution destination has previously been positively recited as a plurality of distribution destinations so it is unclear if the applicant is attempting to designate a single distribution destination of the plurality or designate the plurality of distribution destinations. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “the plurality of distribution destinations”.
Regarding claim(s) 2-7, the claim(s) is/are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiese et al. (Pub. No. US 20230099486 A1) in view of Yao et al. (Pub. No. CN 112103593 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wiese teaches a battery temperature adjustment system (battery and all components required to cool the battery including 61, 14, 64, 63, 65, and 67 of Fig. 1, and 300 of Fig. 3, and although Fig. 3 appears to be a different embodiment, however the components overlap and as seen in [0044] and [0048] several component correspond to the more general components in Fig. 1 therefore the examiner is considering them the same embodiment/combined into a single embodiment): a battery (61, Fig. 1, see [0016]); battery temperature adjustment circuitry (308/65, Fig. 3, see [0044] where 308 includes 63 and 64 of Fig. 1, and as seen in Fig. 1 63 and 64 are connected to 65 and as disclosed in [0022] 65 is where coolant flows from, therefore it is part of the temperature adjustment circuitry) configured to adjust a temperature (see [0047] where coolant flow is increased or decreased in components of 308, therefore is configured to adjust temperature based on coolant flow) of the battery (61, Fig. 1, see [0016]); and a control device (14 and all input sources for 12, Fig. 1, see [0018]) configured to control the battery temperature adjustment circuitry (308/65, Fig. 3, see [0022] and [0044] where 308 receives signals from the controller 12 which is part of 14 as seen in Fig. 1), wherein: the control device (14, Fig. 1, see [0018]) includes: a scheduled travel plan acquisition unit (304/306, Fig. 3, see [0044] where these sensors are connected to 12, therefore part of input to 12) configured to acquire a scheduled travel plan (traffic/miles remaining on a trip/predicted vehicle speed and grade, see [0044] where 304 and 306 are used to acquire this information) of a vehicle (vehicle, see [0044], see [0048] where the data is input from the onboard vehicle sensors and information provided by other vehicles from the cloud network); a normal battery cooling control planning unit (310/312/314, Fig. 3, see [0048]) configured to derive a predicted battery temperature (battery cell temperature predictions, see [0050]) with a temperature adjustment capability (coolant flow, see [0049]) of the battery temperature adjustment circuitry (308/65, Fig. 3, see [0022] and [0044] as these components deal with the coolant, the coolant flow is an aspect of 308/65) in accordance with a state of the vehicle (vehicle, see [0044], see [0048] where the data is input from the onboard vehicle sensors and information provided by other vehicles from the cloud network, see [0047] where 12 adjust coolant flow required based on data from 322 which as shown by flow map in Fig. 3 acquires information from 316, therefore 314) in the scheduled travel plan (traffic/miles remaining on a trip/predicted vehicle speed and grade, see [0044] where 304 and 306 are used to acquire this information) in a normal battery cooling control (current cooling demand, see [0047]) to control the temperature of the battery (61, Fig. 1, see [0016]) within a target temperature (threshold, see [0052]); and a temperature adjustment plan creation unit (portion of controller 12 which determines temperature adjustments required to be made, see [0047]) configured to create a temperature adjustment plan (adjustments needed to be made, see [0047], although not explicitly stated as a plan, the need for adjustment is determined and therefore planned out) for the battery (61, Fig. 1, see [0016]); the temperature adjustment plan creation unit (portion of controller 12 which determines temperature adjustments required to be made, see [0047]) derives a battery temperature adjustment amount (amount of actuation/valve opening/pump actuation required to achieve proper increase in coolant flow, see [0047]), required for making the temperature of the battery (61, Fig. 1, see [0016]) equal to or lower (see [0052] where cooling demand and therefore operations of 308 are adjusted based on battery temperature predictions exceeding a threshold, therefore the object is to keep the battery temperature at or below the threshold) than a predetermined temperature (threshold, see [0052]) when an occurrence of overshoot (battery cell temperature prediction exceeds threshold, see [0052]), in which the predicted battery temperature (battery cell temperature predictions, see [0050]) exceeds the predetermined temperature (threshold, see [0052]), is predicted; the temperature adjustment plan creation unit (portion of controller 12 which determines temperature adjustments required to be made, see [0047]) performs a distribution control (sending signal to actuator/coolant pump/valve, see [0047]) to distribute the battery temperature adjustment amount (amount of actuation/valve opening/pump actuation required to achieve proper increase in coolant flow, see [0047]) based on the temperature adjustment capability (coolant flow, see [0049], see [0047] where increase in coolant flow is determined using cooling demand, see [0052] where cooling demand is determined using battery cell temperature predictions, see battery cell temperature predictions are determined using coolant flow) of the battery temperature adjustment circuitry (308/65, Fig. 3, see [0022] and [0044] as these components deal with the coolant, the coolant flow is an aspect of 308/65) before the overshoot occurs (battery cell temperature prediction exceeds threshold, see [0052], see [0047] where the actuation/signaling is performed before exceeding temperatures); and the control device (14 and all input sources for 12, Fig. 1, see [0018]), the scheduled travel plan acquisition unit (304/306, Fig. 3, see [0044] where these sensors are connected to 12, therefore part of input to 12), the normal battery cooling control planning unit (310/312/314, Fig. 3, see [0048]), and the temperature adjustment plan creation unit (portion of controller 12 which determines temperature adjustments required to be made, see [0047]) are each implemented via at least one processor (microprocessor unit, see [0019] where the controller includes a microprocessor unit, therefore it and each of the components being controlled by it are implemented via this processor); a distribution destination (varying times, see [0052]) to which the battery temperature adjustment amount (amount of actuation/valve opening/pump actuation required to achieve proper increase in coolant flow, see [0047]) is distributed and a non-cooling mode (fully closed position/no-flow, see [0022] where the pump/valve is actuated to perform zero flow) where a battery cooling amount (amount of coolant flowing to battery, see [0022]) is zero (see [0022], there is no-flow and the valve is shut therefore zero cooling) in the normal battery cooling control (current cooling demand, see [0047]), but in this embodiment Wiese fails to teach wherein the battery is configured to be charged with electric power from an external power source; the control device is configured to control the battery; the target temperature is a target temperature range; the predetermined temperature being equal to or higher than a high temperature-side target temperature of the target temperature range; and fails to teach distributing the battery temperature adjustment amount over a plurality of distribution destinations the distribution destination to which the battery temperature adjustment amount is distributed is within a region corresponding to the non-cooling mode where the battery cooling amount is zero in the normal battery cooling control. See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiese such that the times when the actuation of the pump/valve is changed to increased flow is distributed within a time region during the current cooling demand when the amount of coolant flowing to the battery is zero as Wiese teaches the time of distribution is a result effective variable of magnitude of assumed heat transfer and energy conservation (see [0052] of Wiese). Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
In a different embodiments Wiese teaches wherein the battery (250, Fig. 2, see [0028]) is configured to be charged with electric power from an external power source (280, Fig. 2, see [0036]); the control device (290, Fig. 2, see [0034]) is configured to control the battery (250, Fig. 2, see [0028], see [0034] where 290 sends control signals to 250); the target temperature (threshold, see [0071]) is a target temperature range (range, see [0071] where the threshold is a range).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment of Figs. 1 and 3 to configure the battery to be charged from an external source, configure 14 to control 61, and make the threshold a range of temperatures as taught by embodiments of Fig. 2 and paragraph [0071] of Wiese. Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art. Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
Therefore, Wiese teaches the predetermined temperature (threshold, see [0052], see [0071] where the threshold is a range) being equal to (the targe temperature range and the predetermined temperature are the same, therefore the predetermined temperature is equal to any value in the range of the threshold as they are one in the same) or higher than a high temperature-side target temperature (highest value of the threshold, see [0052], see [0071] and modifications above for the threshold being a range of values therefore having a high end value) of the target temperature range (threshold, see [0052], see [0071] and modifications above where the threshold is a range).
Weise fails to teach distributing the battery temperature adjustment amount over a plurality of distribution destinations. However, Weise teaches adjustments to distribution destinations (adjust operations to accommodate preemptive cooling adjustments at varying times, see [0052]) but does teach continuously adjusting distributing the battery temperature adjustment amount, however one of ordinary skill in the art would understand continuously adjusting the temperature and therefore continuously adjusting the distribution of the battery temperature adjustment amount as further evidenced and taught by Yao (see [0044] of Yao, continuously adjusting and controlling the parameters of the equipment in the cooling system can realize sustainable adjustment and control of thermal management).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiese such that the time to distribute the amount of actuation/valve opening/pump actuation required to achieve proper increase in coolant flow is continuously adjusted as taught by Yao to provide sustainable thermal management and improve thermal management effect (see [0044] of Yao). Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
Regarding claim 2, Wiese in view of Yao teaches wherein in the distribution control (sending signal to actuator/coolant pump/valve, see [0047]), the temperature adjustment plan creation unit (portion of controller 12 which determines temperature adjustments required to be made, see [0047]) distributes the battery temperature adjustment amount (amount of actuation/valve opening/pump actuation required to achieve proper increase in coolant flow, see [0047]) at varying times (varying times, see [0052]); varying times include an overshoot occurrence time (time when the battery cell temperature prediction exceeds threshold, see [0052]) to a start time (time when the scheduled travel plan begins being acquired, see [0044]) of the scheduled travel plan (traffic/miles remaining on a trip/predicted vehicle speed and grade, see [0044] where 304 and 306 are used to acquire this information) in the region corresponding to the non-cooling mode (fully closed position/no-flow, see [0022] where the pump/valve is actuated to perform zero flow, see modifications above) so as not to exceed the temperature adjustment capability (coolant flow, see [0049]) of the battery temperature adjustment circuitry (308/65, Fig. 3, see [0022] and [0044] as these components deal with the coolant, the coolant flow is an aspect of 308/65, see [0092] which shows an example where the battery temperature exceeds the threshold even when the coolant flow is high and this would be a case when the coolant flow was exceeded, therefore as it is the goal to prevent the battery from exceeding the threshold, it is also necessary to prevent going beyond the ability of the coolant flow to cool the battery properly) but fails to teach wherein the distribution control preferentially distributes the battery temperature adjustment amount in order from an overshoot occurrence time to a start time of the scheduled travel plan.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiese such that the actuation of the pump/valve is preferentially done from a time when the battery temperature prediction is expected to exceed the threshold to a time when the scheduled travel time acquisition begins as Wiese teaches the time of distribution is a result effective variable of magnitude of assumed heat transfer and energy conservation (see [0052] of Wiese). Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
7. Claim(s) 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiese et al. (Pub. No. US 20230099486 A1) in view of Yao et al. (Pub. No. CN 112103593 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ofuna et al. (Pub. No. JP 2021027797 A).
Regarding claim 3, Wiese teaches an air conditioner (67, Fig. 1, see [0022]) configured to adjust a temperature in a vehicle cabin (cool the passenger cabin, see [0022]); but fails to teach and heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between a refrigerant of the battery temperature adjustment circuitry and a refrigerant of the air conditioner.
However, Ofuna teaches an air conditioner (41, Fig. 1, see [0028]) configured to adjust a temperature in a vehicle cabin (living room space, see [0029] where 41 is configured to adjust the temperature by heating and cooling); and a heat exchanger (chiller, see [0031]) configured to exchange heat between a refrigerant (cooling filled in the piping of the cooling circuit, see [0031]) of the battery temperature adjustment circuitry (42, Fig. 1, see [0030]) and a refrigerant (refrigerant of 41, see [0031]) of the air conditioner (41, Fig. 1, see [0031] where heat is exchanged between coolant of 42 and refrigerant of 41 by the chiller).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiese to add a chiller to exchange coolant from pump 63 to 67 as taught by Ofuna to reduce excess or deficiency of battery temperature adjustment (see [0005] of Ofuna). Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
Regarding claim 4, Wiese in view of Ofuna teaches wherein the region corresponding to the non-cooling mode (fully closed position/no-flow, see [0022] where the pump/valve is actuated to perform zero flow) is a region in which the heat exchanger (chiller, see [0031]) is not operated under the normal battery cooling control (current cooling demand, see [0047], as the no-flow position of the pump means no coolant is being transferred to the heat exchanger therefore it is not operating under the current cooling demand, see [0098] where relatively low cooling demand is equal to zero).
Regarding claim 5, Wiese in view of Ofuna teaches wherein the temperature adjustment capability (coolant flow, see [0049]) of the battery temperature adjustment circuitry (308/65, Fig. 3, see [0022] and [0044] where 308 receives signals from the controller 12 which is part of 14 as seen in Fig. 1) is determined based on a state of the vehicle (predicted vehicle speed and grade, see [0044]) and a state of the air conditioner (67, Fig. 1, see [0023] where cooling and therefore coolant flow is determined based on cooling demand of 67).
Regarding claim 6, Wiese fails to teach wherein: the control device further includes a target battery temperature setting unit configured to set a target battery temperature which is the predetermined temperature; the target battery temperature setting unit calculates a state-of-charge transition of the battery and a required battery output based on the scheduled travel plan, and sets the target battery temperature during traveling of the vehicle based on the state-of-charge transition of the battery and the required battery output; and the target battery temperature setting unit is implemented via at least one processor.
However, Ofuna teaches a control device (100, Fig. 1, see [0017]) further includes a target battery temperature setting unit (look-ahead control process, see [0058], although called a process and not a unit, the “unit” would just be the portion of hardware/software of 100 which performs the process) configured to set a target battery temperature (Tb-TM, see [0073]) which is the predetermined temperature (Tb-TM, see [0073]); and the target battery temperature setting unit (look-ahead control process, see [0058]) calculates a state-of-charge transition (state of main battery, see [0088]) of the battery (22, Fig. 1, see [0017]) and a required battery output (total power consumption, see [0087]) based on the scheduled travel plan (navigation information, see [0043], see [0087] the calculation is based on vehicle usage information, see [0085] where navigation information is part of vehicle usage information), and sets the target battery temperature (Tb-TM, see [0073]) during traveling (see [0083], this portion of the process takes place during running/driving) of the vehicle (vehicle A, see [0043]) based on the state-of-charge transition (state of main battery, see [0088]) of the battery and the required battery output (total power consumption, see [0087]); and the target battery temperature setting unit (look-ahead control process, see [0058], although called a process and not a unit, the “unit” would just be the portion of hardware/software of 100 which performs the process) is implemented via at least one processor (processing unit, see [0039] where 100 is run using a processing unit, therefore the components of 100 are also run by the processing unit).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiese to add a look-ahead control process to the controller 14 using the microprocessor of 12 to calculate the threshold range using state-of-charge transition of the battery and required battery output as taught by Ofuna to reduce excess or deficiency of battery temperature adjustment (see [0005] of Ofuna). Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
Regarding claim 7, Wiese fails to teach wherein: the control device further includes a target battery temperature setting unit configured to set a target battery temperature which is the predetermined temperature; the target battery temperature setting unit acquires information regarding a charging facility from the scheduled travel plan and sets the target battery temperature during charging of the vehicle based on the information regarding the charging facility; and the target battery temperature setting unit is implemented via at least one processor.
However, Wiese teaches wherein: the control device (100, Fig. 1, see [0017]) further includes a target battery temperature setting unit (look-ahead control process, see [0058], although called a process and not a unit, the “unit” would just be the portion of hardware/software of 100 which performs the process) configured to set a target battery temperature (Tb-TM, see [0073]) which is the predetermined temperature (Tb-TM, see [0073]); the target battery temperature setting unit (look-ahead control process, see [0058]) acquires information regarding a charging facility (charging station CS, see [0102]) from the scheduled travel plan (navigation information, see [0043], see [0102]) and sets the target battery temperature (Tb-TM, see [0073]) during charging (temperature during charging, see [0108]) of the vehicle (vehicle A, see [0043]) based on the information regarding the charging facility (charging station CS, see [0102], although not explicitly stated in [0108], looking at [0085] the vehicle usage information, which is used for all following calculations including TM (see [0091]) includes charging station information as seen in [0042] therefore it is the examiners position that the TM or target battery temperature is set based on information regarding the charging facility); and the target battery temperature setting unit (look-ahead control process, see [0058]) is implemented via a least one processor (processing unit, see [0039] where 100 is run using a processing unit, therefore the components of 100 are also run by the processing unit).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wiese to add a look-ahead control process to the controller 14 using the microprocessor of 12 to calculate the threshold range using information regarding a charging facility as taught by Ofuna to reduce excess or deficiency of battery temperature adjustment (see [0005] of Ofuna). Further, Wiese teaches that modifications can be made (see [0123] of Wiese).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Wiese fails to teach distributing the battery temperature adjustment amount over a plurality of distribution destinations, this argument is moot as the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references previously applied.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Wiese fails to teach the distribution destination is within a region corresponding to a non-cooling mode as Wiese only adjusts the starting time and does not adjust the end time. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as first, the claims do not present a limitation requiring the distribution region to have an end time, and instead that it must be distributed within a region corresponding to a non-cooling mode, therefore if any portion of the preemptive cooling actuation amount is distributed or takes place at a time of a non-cooling mode, it would be distributed within that region. Further, as Wiese teaches the time of distribution is a result effective variable of magnitude of assumed heat transfer and energy conservation (see [0052] of Wiese), and the battery does have regions of time when the battery cooling can be zero, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the times of distributing the amount of actuation/valve opening/pump actuation required to achieve proper increase in coolant flow to be a time when the amount of cooling to the battery is zero.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723