DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/31/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to at least independent claims 1, 5 and 10 have been considered, but are not persuasive. The new ground of rejection cites Saito US 2023/0114901 or Yonezawa US 2023/0112183 as teaching the amended claim limitations in claims 1, 5 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 11, 14, 15, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonezawa US 2023/0112183 in view of Saito US 2023/0114901.
Regarding claim 1, Yonezawa discloses an optical system, in at least figs.1-8, 15, and 25, wherein an object-side lens group GF (G1 with GA) and an image-side lens group GR (GB and GC) are arranged in order from an object side, the object-side lens group GF has negative refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), and the image-side lens group GR has positive refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), and
at least either one of the object-side lens group GF or the image-side lens group GR includes a lens LA (L24) that satisfies a following conditional expression (1); and
in a case where power of the optical system varies, at least a spacing between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR changes when the power varies, and
any one of the lens LA (L24) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), and
wherein the conditional expression (1) is:
100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00
where VD_A: an Abbe number of the lens LA based on a d line (see para.258 and 273, abbe number (vA2n) of the lens L22 with range of 43 to 57, average abbe number (vAwnave) of two negative lenses L22 and L24 in GAw with range of 55 to 102, so that VD_A of the lens L23 with range of 110-43=67 to 204-57=147, so that discloses 67<VD_A<147 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 for the purpose of having clearer vision with less color distortion), and
any one of a lens (L31 or L33) is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power (para.536 and claim 55 disclose an average value of Abbe numbers of all positive lenses (L31 and L33) of the middle group (GB/G3) based on a d line is vBpave, 60<vBpave<85).
Yonezawa does not explicitly disclose any one of the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00.
Saito discloses an optical system, in figs.1-13, any one (AP) of the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR (RG) and has positive refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3) is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 (para.63 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00) for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors (para.9 and 62).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have any one of the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 as taught by Saito in the optical system of Yonezawa for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 2, Yonezawa discloses the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (2):
(2) ΔθgF_A>0.057
where ΔθgF_A: a mean value of a deviation ΔθgF of a partial dispersion ratio of the lens LA with respect to a g line, wherein the deviation ΔθgF of the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is calculated for each lens by
ΔθgF=θgF−(0.648285−0.00180123×VD) in a case where the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is taken as θgF, and an Abbe number for the d line is taken as VD (see para.258 and 273 and table 1, discloses 67<VD_A<147, θgF_A=0.56829, so that 0.041<ΔθgF_A<0.185 which includes ΔθgF_A>0.057).
Yonezawa does not explicitly disclose the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057.
Saito discloses the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 (para.63 and 107 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and θgF_A=0.5375, so that 0.0162<ΔθgF_A<1.0057) for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors (para.9 and 62).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 as taught by Saito in the optical system of Yonezawa for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 5, Yonezawa discloses an optical system, in at least figs.1-8, 15, and 25, wherein an object-side lens group GF (G1 with GA) and an image-side lens group GR (GB and GC) are arranged in order from an object side, the object-side lens group GF has negative refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), and the image-side lens group GR has positive refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), and
at least either one of the object-side lens group GF or the image-side lens group GR includes a lens LA (L24) that satisfies a following conditional expression (1); and
with focus being at infinity in a maximum wide angle state in a case where power of the optical system varies, or with focus being at infinity in a case where no power of the optical system varies, a largest spacing of air spacings each formed between lenses of the optical system that are adjacent to each other is a spacing between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), and
any one of the lens LA (L24) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), and
wherein the conditional expression (1) is:
100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00
where VD_A: an Abbe number of the lens LA based on a d line (see para.258 and 273, abbe number (vA2n) of the lens L22 with range of 43 to 57, average abbe number (vAwnave) of two negative lenses L22 and L24 in GAw with range of 55 to 102, so that VD_A of the lens L23 with range of 110-43=67 to 204-57=147, so that discloses 67<VD_A<147 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 for the purpose of having clearer vision with less color distortion), and
any one of a lens (L31 or L33) is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power (para.536 and claim 55 disclose an average value of Abbe numbers of all positive lenses (L31 and L33) of the middle group (GB/G3) based on a d line is vBpave, 60<vBpave<85).
Yonezawa does not explicitly disclose any one of the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00.
Saito discloses an optical system, in figs.1-13, any one (AP) of the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR (RG) and has positive refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3) is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 (para.63 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00) for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors (para.9 and 62).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have any one of the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 as taught by Saito in the optical system of Yonezawa for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 7, Yonezawa discloses the optical system includes a lens group GFA (GA) that includes the lens LA and that has negative refractive power (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), in a case where power of the optical system varies, in dividing the object-side lens group GF into lens groups by using, as boundaries, all air spacings that change when the power varies, the lens group GFA is disposed at a position closest to an image-side in the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), and the lens group GFA includes four or more lenses (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25).
Regarding claim 10, Yonezawa discloses an optical system, in at least figs.1-8, 15, and 25, wherein an object-side lens group GF (G1 with GA) and an image-side lens group GR (GB and GC) are arranged in order from an object side (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), an aperture stop (St) is disposed between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), the object-side lens group GF has negative refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), and the image-side lens group GR has positive refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1, 15 and 25), and at least either one of the object-side lens group GF or the image-side lens group GR includes a lens LA (L24) that satisfies a following conditional expression (1), and
in a case where power of the optical system varies, at least a spacing between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR changes when the power varies, and
the lens LA (L24) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), and
(1) VD_A>96.00
where VD_A: an Abbe number of the lens LA based on a d line (see para.258 and 273, abbe number (vA2n) of the lens L22 with range of 43 to 57, average abbe number (vAwnave) of two negative lenses L22 and L24 in GAw with range of 55 to 102, so that VD_A of the lens L23 with range of 110-43=67 to 204-57=147, so that discloses 67<VD_A<147 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have VD_A>96.00 for the purpose of having clearer vision with less color distortion), and
a lens (L31 or L33) is disposed the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power (para.536 and claim 55 disclose an average value of Abbe numbers of all positive lenses (L31 and L33) of the middle group (GB/G3) based on a d line is vBpave, 60<vBpave<85).
Yonezawa does not explicitly disclose the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00.
Saito discloses an optical system, in figs.1-13, the lens (AP) is disposed in the image-side lens group GR (RG) and has positive refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3) is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 (para.63 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00) for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors (para.9 and 62).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 as taught by Saito in the optical system of Yonezawa for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 11, Yonezawa discloses the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (2):
(2) ΔθgF_A>0.057
where ΔθgF_A: a mean value of a deviation ΔθgF of a partial dispersion ratio of the lens LA with respect to a g line, wherein the deviation ΔθgF of the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is calculated for each lens by
ΔθgF=θgF−(0.648285−0.00180123×VD) in a case where the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is taken as θgF, and an Abbe number for the d line is taken as VD (see para.258 and 273 and table 1, discloses 67<VD_A<147, θgF_A=0.56829, so that 0.041<ΔθgF_A<0.185 which includes ΔθgF_A>0.057).
Yonezawa does not explicitly disclose the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057.
Saito discloses the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 (para.63 and 107 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and θgF_A=0.5375, so that 0.0162<ΔθgF_A<1.0057) for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors (para.9 and 62).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 as taught by Saito in the optical system of Yonezawa for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 14, Yonezawa discloses with focus being at infinity in a maximum wide angle state in a case where power of the optical system varies, a height, from an optical axis, of an axial marginal ray that passes through the aperture stop is greater than a height, from the optical axis, of an axial marginal ray that passes through an optical surface of the optical system that is disposed at a position closest to the object side (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 15, Yonezawa discloses the optical system includes a lens group GFA (G2) that includes the lens LA and that has negative refractive power, in a case where power of the optical system varies, in dividing the object-side lens group GF into the lens group GFA and the other lens groups (G1) by using, as boundaries, all air spacings that change when the power varies, the lens group GFA is disposed at a position closest to an image side among lens groups included by the object-side lens group GF and having negative refractive power (see fig.2), and
the lens group GFA includes four or more lenses (see fig.2).
Regarding claim 32, Yonezawa discloses the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (2):
(2) ΔθgF_A>0.057
where ΔθgF_A: a mean value of a deviation ΔθgF of a partial dispersion ratio of the lens LA with respect to a g line, wherein the deviation ΔθgF of the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is calculated for each lens by
ΔθgF=θgF−(0.648285−0.00180123×VD) in a case where the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is taken as θgF, and an Abbe number for the d line is taken as VD (see para.258 and 273 and table 1, discloses 67<VD_A<147, θgF_A=0.56829, so that 0.041<ΔθgF_A<0.185 which includes ΔθgF_A>0.057).
Yonezawa does not explicitly disclose the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057.
Saito discloses the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 (para.63 and 107 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and θgF_A=0.5375, so that 0.0162<ΔθgF_A<1.0057) for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors (para.9 and 62).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power satisfies a following conditional expression (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 as taught by Saito in the optical system of Yonezawa for the purpose of having high optical performance while being robust against manufacturing errors.
Regarding claim 33, Yonezawa discloses the optical system includes a lens group GFA (GA, or GA with G1) that includes the lens LA and that has negative refractive power (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), in a case where power of the optical system varies, in dividing the object-side lens group GF into lens groups by using, as boundaries, all air spacings that change when the power varies, the lens group GFA is disposed at a position closest to an image-side in the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25), or the lens group GFA is identical with the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1 and 2),
in a case where no power of the optical system varies, the lens group GFA is identical with the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1 and 2), and
the lens group GFA includes four or more lenses (see figs.1, 2, 15 and 25).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 11, 14, 15, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito US 2023/0114901 in view of Yonezawa US 2023/0112183.
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses an optical system, in figs.1-13, wherein an object-side lens group GF (L1 and L2) and an image-side lens group GR (RG) are arranged in order from an object side, the object-side lens group GF has negative refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1 and 3), and the image-side lens group GR has positive refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1 and 3), and at least either one of the object-side lens group GF or the image-side lens group GR includes a lens LA (AP) that satisfies a following conditional expression (1); and
in a case where power of the optical system varies, at least a spacing between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR changes when the power varies, and
any one of the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3),
wherein the conditional expression (1) is:
100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00
where VD_A: an Abbe number of the lens LA based on a d line (para.63 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have VD_A>96.00 for the purpose of having clearer vision with less color distortion),
any one of a lens (the last lens in L2) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power (see fig.1).
Saito does not explicitly disclose any one of the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00.
Yonezawa discloses an optical system, in figs.1-8,15 and 25, any one (L24) of the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF (G1 with GA) and has negative refractive power (see at least figs. 1, 2, 15 and 25) is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 (see para.258 and 273, abbe number (vA2n) of the lens L22 with range of 43 to 57, average abbe number (vAwnave) of two negative lenses L22 and L24 in GAw with range of 55 to 102, so that VD_A of the lens L23 with range of 110-43=67 to 204-57=147, so that discloses 67<VD_A<147 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have any one of the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 as taught by Yonezawa in the optical system of Saito for the purpose of having high performance.
Regarding claim 2, Saito discloses the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (2):
(2) ΔθgF_A>0.057
where ΔθgF_A: a mean value of a deviation ΔθgF of a partial dispersion ratio of the lens LA with respect to a g line, wherein the deviation ΔθgF of the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is calculated for each lens by
ΔθgF=θgF−(0.648285−0.00180123×VD) in a case where the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is taken as θgF, and an Abbe number for the d line is taken as VD (para.63 and 107 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and θgF_A=0.5375, so that 0.0162<ΔθgF_A<1.0057).
Saito does not explicitly disclose the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057.
Yonezawa discloses an optical system, the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 (see para.258 and 273 and table 1, discloses 67<VD_A<147, θgF_A=0.56829, so that 0.041<ΔθgF_A<0.185 which includes ΔθgF_A>0.057) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 as taught by Yonezawa in the optical system of Saito for the purpose of having high performance.
Regarding claim 5, Saito discloses an optical system, in figs.1-13, wherein an object-side lens group GF (L1 and L2) and an image-side lens group GR (RG) are arranged in order from an object side, the object-side lens group GF has negative refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1 and 3), and the image-side lens group GR has positive refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1 and 3), and at least either one of the object-side lens group GF or the image-side lens group GR includes a lens LA (AP) that satisfies a following conditional expression (1); and
with focus being at infinity in a maximum wide angle state in a case where power of the optical system varies, or with focus being at infinity in a case where no power of the optical system varies, a largest spacing of air spacings each formed between lenses of the optical system that are adjacent to each other is a spacing between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR (see at least figs.1 and 3), and
any one of the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3),
wherein the conditional expression (1) is:
100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00
where VD_A: an Abbe number of the lens LA based on a d line (para.63 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have VD_A>96.00 for the purpose of having clearer vision with less color distortion),
any one of a lens (the last lens in L2) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power (see fig.1).
Saito does not explicitly disclose any one of the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00.
Yonezawa discloses an optical system, in figs.1-8,15 and 25, any one (L24) of the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF (G1 with GA) and has negative refractive power (see at least figs. 1, 2, 15 and 25) is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 (see para.258 and 273, abbe number (vA2n) of the lens L22 with range of 43 to 57, average abbe number (vAwnave) of two negative lenses L22 and L24 in GAw with range of 55 to 102, so that VD_A of the lens L23 with range of 110-43=67 to 204-57=147, so that discloses 67<VD_A<147 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have any one of the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 as taught by Yonezawa in the optical system of Saito for the purpose of having high performance.
Regarding claim 7, Saito in view of Yonezawa discloses the optical system includes a lens group GFA (L2) that includes the lens LA (last lens in L2 is the lens LA as taught by Yonezawa in claim 1) and that has negative refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3),
in a case where power of the optical system varies, in dividing the object-side lens group GF into lens groups by using, as boundaries, all air spacings that change when the power varies, the lens group GFA is disposed at a position closest to an image-side in the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1 and 3), and
the lens group GFA includes four or more lenses (see figs.1 and 3) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273). The reason for combining is the same claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Saito discloses an optical system, in figs.1-13, wherein an object-side lens group GF (L1 and L2) and an image-side lens group GR (RG) are arranged in order from an object side, an aperture stop (SP) is disposed between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR (see at least figs.1 and 3), the object-side lens group GF has negative refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1 and 3), and the image-side lens group GR has positive refractive power as a whole (see at least figs.1 and 3), and at least either one of the object-side lens group GF or the image-side lens group GR includes a lens LA (AP) that satisfies a following conditional expression (1), and
in a case where power of the optical system varies, at least a spacing between the object-side lens group GF and the image-side lens group GR changes when the power varies, and
the lens LA is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3),
wherein the conditional expression (1) is:
100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00
where VD_A: an Abbe number of the lens LA based on a d line (para.63 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have VD_A>96.00 for the purpose of having clearer vision with less color distortion),
a lens (the last lens in L2) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power (see fig.1).
Saito does not explicitly disclose the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00.
Yonezawa discloses an optical system, in figs.1-8,15 and 25, the lens (L24) is disposed in the object-side lens group GF (G1 with GA) and has negative refractive power (see at least figs. 1, 2, 15 and 25) is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 (see para.258 and 273, abbe number (vA2n) of the lens L22 with range of 43 to 57, average abbe number (vAwnave) of two negative lenses L22 and L24 in GAw with range of 55 to 102, so that VD_A of the lens L23 with range of 110-43=67 to 204-57=147, so that discloses 67<VD_A<147 and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power is the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (1) 100.82 >= VD_A > 96.00 as taught by Yonezawa in the optical system of Saito for the purpose of having high performance.
Regarding claim 11, Saito discloses the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (2):
(2) ΔθgF_A>0.057
where ΔθgF_A: a mean value of a deviation ΔθgF of a partial dispersion ratio of the lens LA with respect to a g line, wherein the deviation ΔθgF of the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is calculated for each lens by
ΔθgF=θgF−(0.648285−0.00180123×VD) in a case where the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is taken as θgF, and an Abbe number for the d line is taken as VD (para.63 and 107 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and θgF_A=0.5375, so that 0.0162<ΔθgF_A<1.0057).
Saito does not explicitly disclose the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057.
Yonezawa discloses an optical system, the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 (see para.258 and 273 and table 1, discloses 67<VD_A<147, θgF_A=0.56829, so that 0.041<ΔθgF_A<0.185 which includes ΔθgF_A>0.057) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 as taught by Yonezawa in the optical system of Saito for the purpose of having high performance.
Regarding claim 14, Saito discloses with focus being at infinity in a maximum wide angle state in a case where power of the optical system varies, a height, from an optical axis, of an axial marginal ray that passes through the aperture stop is greater than a height, from the optical axis, of an axial marginal ray that passes through an optical surface of the optical system that is disposed at a position closest to the object side (see at least figs.1 and 3).
Regarding claim 15, Saito in view of Yonezawa discloses the optical system includes a lens group GFA (L2) that includes the lens LA (last lens in L2 is the lens LA as taught by Yonezawa in claim 10) and that has negative refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3), in a case where power of the optical system varies, in dividing the object-side lens group GF into the lens group GFA and the other lens groups (L1) by using, as boundaries, all air spacings that change when the power varies, the lens group GFA is disposed at a position closest to an image side among lens groups included by the object-side lens group GF and having negative refractive power (see figs.1 and 3), and
the lens group GFA includes four or more lenses (see figs.1 and 3) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273). The reason for combining is the same claim 10.
Regarding claim 32, Saito discloses the lens LA satisfies a following conditional expression (2):
(2) ΔθgF_A>0.057
where ΔθgF_A: a mean value of a deviation ΔθgF of a partial dispersion ratio of the lens LA with respect to a g line, wherein the deviation ΔθgF of the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is calculated for each lens by
ΔθgF=θgF−(0.648285−0.00180123×VD) in a case where the partial dispersion ratio with respect to the g line is taken as θgF, and an Abbe number for the d line is taken as VD (para.63 and 107 discloses 70.5<VD_A<100 and θgF_A=0.5375, so that 0.0162<ΔθgF_A<1.0057).
Saito does not explicitly disclose the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057.
Yonezawa discloses an optical system, the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 (see para.258 and 273 and table 1, discloses 67<VD_A<147, θgF_A=0.56829, so that 0.041<ΔθgF_A<0.185 which includes ΔθgF_A>0.057) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens LA is disposed in the object-side lens group GF and has negative refractive power satisfies (2) ΔθgF_A>0.057 as taught by Yonezawa in the optical system of Saito for the purpose of having high performance.
Regarding claim 33, Saito in view of Yonezawa discloses the optical system includes a lens group GFA (L2, or L1 with L2) that includes the lens LA (last lens in L2 is the lens LA as taught by Yonezawa in claim 5) and that has negative refractive power (see at least figs.1 and 3),
in a case where power of the optical system varies, in dividing the object-side lens group GF into lens groups by using, as boundaries, all air spacings that change when the power varies, the lens group GFA is disposed at a position closest to an image-side in the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1 and 3), or the lens group GFA is identical with the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1 and 3),
in a case where no power of the optical system varies, the lens group GFA is identical with the object-side lens group GF (see figs.1 and 3), and
the lens group GFA includes four or more lenses (see figs.1 and 3) for the purpose of having high performance (para.273). The reason for combining is the same claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saori US 2010/0195215, can be a secondary reference for Yonezawa US 2023/0112183, discloses the lens LA (positive lens in group 50) is disposed in the image-side lens group GR and has positive refractive power 100.82>=VD_A>96.00 and θgF_A>0.535 (para.92, 93 and 116 discloses VD_A>80, θgF_A>0.535 and ΔθgF_A>0.031).
Noda US 2019/0187409 (at least figs.1 and 2, para.12 and 68 discloses positive L35 has 57<VD_A<97 as well) can be secondary reference for Yonezawa US 2023/0112183.
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871