DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/30/2026, are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as necessitated by the applicant’s claim amendments. The examiner is now citing Weiss et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0236202 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Weiss”, to teach the limitations added to independent claims 1, 9, and 15 as follows:
“Boyle discloses a central electrode and one electrode on each side (e.g. see [0019], [0156], [0175]. Note: The central electrode will be “on the midline of the occipitoparietal cortex” as it will be centered on the patient) but is silent as to at least two right electrodes positioned right of the midline of the occipitoparietal cortex; and at least two left electrodes positioned left of the midline of the occipitoparietal cortex. Weiss teaches it is known to use at least two right electrodes and at least two left electrodes as set forth in figures 11 and 12, element 14, [0077]-[0079] in a transcranial alternating current stimulation (tACS) device (e.g. see [0057]-[0058]) to enable improved effectiveness and specificity of stimulation via the electrodes (e.g. see [0057]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use two right electrodes and two left electrodes in a tACS device as taught by Weiss in the system/method of Boyle, since said modification would provide the predictable results of improved effectiveness and specificity of stimulation via the electrodes”.
Note that Boyle already teaches the central electrode and a left and right electrode. Weiss is being cited only to illustrate that it is known in tACS stimulation devices to use two electrodes on each side of the central electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 11-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyle et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0256105 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Boyle”, in view of Weiss et al. (Pub. No.: US 2018/0236202 A1); hereinafter referred to as “Weiss”.
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, Boyle discloses a method of treating disorders associated with default mode network (DMN) dysfunction in a patient in need thereof (e.g. see [0097]), the method comprising: administering alpha-frequency transcranial alternating current stimulation (α-tACS) to the brain of the patient via at least one electrode (e.g. see [0019]-[0021]. Note: The applicant defines the alpha range as 8-12 Hz. 10 Hz is within that range. Also, the stimulation is transcranial alternating current), wherein the α-tACS (e.g. see [0019]-[0021]) targets a primary rhythm of neural synchrony in the brain (e.g. see [0057], [0041]. Note: [0057] discloses “oscillations in the alpha frequency band (8-13 Hz)” may be used, and that the stimulation may “increase the synchronization of cortical oscillations within a first brain region of a subject's brain, to increase the synchronization of cortical oscillations in a first region of a subject's brain with cortical oscillations in a second region of the subject's brain”) associated with DMN functioning (e.g. see [0097]) to enhance neural synchrony (e.g. see [0057], [0041]), which is effective to regulate DMN dysfunction and treat disorders associated therewith (e.g. see [0097], which teaches treating disorders associated with DMN dysfunction).
Boyle discloses a central electrode and one electrode on each side (e.g. see [0019], [0156], [0175], figure 6C. Note: The central electrode will be “on the midline of the occipitoparietal cortex” as it will be centered on the patient) but is silent as to at least two right electrodes positioned right of the midline of the occipitoparietal cortex; and at least two left electrodes positioned left of the midline of the occipitoparietal cortex. Weiss teaches it is known to use at least two right electrodes and at least two left electrodes as set forth in figures 11 and 12, element 14, [0077]-[0079] in a transcranial alternating current stimulation (tACS) device (e.g. see [0057]-[0058]) to enable improved effectiveness and specificity of stimulation via the electrodes (e.g. see [0057]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use two right electrodes and two left electrodes in a tACS device as taught by Weiss in the system/method of Boyle, since said modification would provide the predictable results of improved effectiveness and specificity of stimulation via the electrodes.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Boyle discloses the disorder associated with DMN dysfunction is selected from normal or abnormal aging, cognitive impairment, or neuropsychiatric disorders such as Alzheimer's disease, schizophrenia, autism, or posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) (e.g. see [0097]).
Regarding claim 6, Boyle discloses the plurality of electrodes form a closed-loop circuit (e.g. see [0147]).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Boyle discloses the α-tACS is administered to the patient's brain for a period at least 10 minutes or least 20 minutes (e.g. see [0171]).
Regarding claims 8, 12, and 18-19, Boyle discloses the α-tACS comprises sinusoidal current up to 3 mA, oscillating at 8 Hz to 12 Hz (e.g. see [0175]).
Regarding claim 11, Boyle discloses the primary rhythm of neural synchrony is the alpha-frequency in the brain (e.g. see [0019]-[0021]).
Regarding claim 20, Boyle discloses the α-tACS comprises a sinusoidal current at 2 mA, oscillating at 10 Hz (e.g. see [0175], “2 mA peak-to-peak 10 Hz sine wave”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Javitt et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0107777 A1), Hermosillo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0115330 A1), Aboud et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0166109 A1), Lee et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0211159 A1), and Koch et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0381512 A1).
/P.C.E/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792