DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 02/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/23/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by any structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a positioning mechanism operatively coupling the impact wrench to the support arm, the positioning mechanism configured to lower and raise the impact wrench to and from the spacers thereby enabling the socket to engage the at least one clamping bolt” (claim 6, lines 6-8); as well as “a side movement mechanism operatively coupling the impact wrench to the positioning mechanism thereby enabling side to side movement of the impact wrench within the positioning mechanism as the impact wrench and the socket tightens the at least one clamping bolt” (claim 7, lines 2-5).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The claim limitation(s) has/have been presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it/they meet(s) the following 3-prong analysis:
(A) The claim limitation(s) use the phrase “means for” or “step for” or a generic replacement therefore: The word “mechanism” is a generic nonce term which imparts no structure to the words which it purportedly modifies. The claims would have no more or less weight and meaning if they instead disclosed “a positioning means for operatively coupling the impact wrench to the support arm, the positioning means for lower[ing] and rais[ing] the impact wrench to and from the spacers thereby enabling the socket to engage the at least one clamping bolt” (claim 6), or “a side movement means for operatively coupling the impact wrench to the positioning mechanism thereby enabling side to side movement of the impact wrench within the positioning mechanism as the impact wrench and the socket tightens the at least one clamping bolt” (claim 7).
(B) The “means for” or “step for” is modified by functional language: “operatively coupling the impact wrench to the support arm, the positioning mechanism configured to lower and raise the impact wrench to and from the spacers thereby enabling the socket to engage the at least one clamping bolt” (claim 6) and “operatively coupling the impact wrench to the positioning mechanism thereby enabling side to side movement of the impact wrench within the positioning mechanism as the impact wrench and the socket tightens the at least one clamping bolt” (claim 7).
(C) The phrase “means for” or “step for” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for achieving the specified function. In this instance, the terms “positioning”, “side movement” and “mechanism” are not at all structural, nor do they carry implicit structure. The remaining cited language is entirely functional in nature and contains no structural descriptions at all. Accordingly, the reader must refer to the original specification in order to determine what structure(s) and/or their equivalents were intended in these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 discloses “The apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured for installing a plurality of the spacers on at least three wires configured as the span of the wires” (lines 1-2; emphasis added). While it is not inherently indefinite to define the structure of a product in part by the capability or functionality of the product, it must be clear how the claimed functionality would define the structure. Otherwise, as is the case in this claim, the reader is left to guess how the claim is intended to further limit the apparatus and therefore the scope or metes and bounds of the claim cannot be ascertained. There is no way to guess what structures would be included in order for the apparatus to be capable of performing the intended function and thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim 10 is also rejected as indefinite, so rendered by virtue of its dependency upon the indefinite subject matter of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (CN 110165599; translation concurrently provided by the Examiner and relied upon for the citations below).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses an apparatus for installing spacers on at least two wires configured as a span of the wires, each of the spacers comprising at least one clamping bolt for clamping the spacers to the span of the wires (Title; Abstract; fig. 1), the apparatus comprising: a) a rolling chassis (2, 3, 4, 5) configured to move along the span of the wires; b) a magazine assembly (8, 10) operatively disposed on the rolling chassis, the magazine assembly configured to hold at least one of the spacers, the magazine assembly further configured to position one of the spacers on the span of the wires; and c) a bolt tightening assembly (7, 9, 11) disposed on the rolling chassis, the bolt tightening assembly configured to fasten the spacers onto the span of the wires (figs. 1 and 3-6; pg. 2, lines 24-32; pg. 4, lines 12-20 and 22-42).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 1, wherein the rolling chassis comprises a plurality of wheel truck assemblies (4, 5) that are configured to contact the span of wires and to move the rolling chassis along the span of the wires (figs. 1-2; pg. 4, lines 12-20).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang discloses the apparatus as set forth in claim 2, wherein the rolling chassis comprises at least two front wheels (fig. 1: either the two left-most wheels or the two right-most wheels) configured to stabilize the rolling chassis on the span of the wires (figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, in view of Su et al. (CN 113851996 A; translation concurrently provided by the Examiner and relied upon for the citations below).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2. Jiang further discloses the plurality of wheel truck assemblies comprises one or more wheels (one or two wheels each) further comprising an electric motor (5) disposed therein (fig. 1; pg. 4, lines 12-20). Jiang, however, does not explicitly disclose that the electric motor is powered by a battery disposed on the apparatus.
Su teaches that it is well known to provide a similar overhead line traveling apparatus (fig. 1: all), the apparatus comprising: a) a rolling chassis (1) configured to move along the span of the wires (fig. 1; pg. 5, lines 2-6 and 29-42); wherein the electric motor is powered by a battery (41) disposed on the apparatus (fig. 1; pg. 6, lines 19-25).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Jiang to incorporate the battery of Su. POSITA would have realized that batteries can be easily and readily used on vehicles to achieve the desired portability, remote operation capability, autonomy, mobility as is well understood. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special battery was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old apparatus of Jiang with the well-known battery of Su. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, in view of Gibel et al. (US 2020/0335959 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jiang further discloses that the bolt tightening assembly comprises: a) a support arm operatively coupled to the rolling chassis; b) an impact wrench (bolt fastening mechanism, 9) comprising a socket configured for tightening the at least one clamping bolt (figs. 1-5; pg. 4, lines 34-42); and c) a positioning mechanism (6 and/or 7) operatively coupling the impact wrench to the support arm, the positioning mechanism configured to lower and raise the impact wrench to and from the spacers thereby enabling the socket to engage the at least one clamping bolt (figs. 1-5; pg. 4, lines 12-20 and 22-38). Jiang, however, does not explicitly disclose the wrench is an impact wrench.
Gibel teaches that it is well known to provide an apparatus for working on wires (Title; Abstract) wherein the wrench is an impact wrench (pars. 0061-0065).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Jiang to incorporate the impact wrench of Gibel. POSITA would have realized that the rotary bolt driver of Jiang can be easily and readily replaced with an impact driver to achieve the desired enhanced torque and speed of bolt installation well understood in the use of impact drivers. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special impact driver was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old apparatus of Jiang with the well-known impact wrench of Gibel. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 7, Jiang in view of Gibel teaches the apparatus of claim # as detailed above, and Jiang further discloses that the positioning mechanism further comprises a side movement mechanism operatively coupling the impact wrench to the positioning mechanism thereby enabling side to side movement (annotated fig. 3, below; and/or movement shown in figs. 5-6) of the impact wrench within the positioning mechanism as the impact wrench and the socket tightens the at least one clamping bolt (figs. 1-6; pg. 4, lines 12-20 and 22-38).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang in view of Gibel teaches the apparatus of claim # as detailed above, and Jiang further discloses that the side movement mechanism comprises slide rods slidably coupled to slide tubes (annotated fig. 3; below).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, in view of Jean et al. (US 2013/0214223 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jiang, however, does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus is configured for installing a plurality of the spacers on at least three wires configured as the span of the wires.
Jean teaches that it is well known to provide an apparatus (100) (Title; Abstract; fig. 4) which is configured for installing a plurality of the spacers on at least three wires configured as the span of the wires (figs. 2, 8, 14; pars. 0033-0037).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the current invention of Jiang to incorporate the capability of installing spacers on three wires of Jean. POSITA would have realized that any reasonable number of wires can be easily and readily accommodated by an appropriate spacer (which is not a part of the claimed apparatus) to achieve the desired safe minimum distance between a plurality of wires. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special structure(s) was/were devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old apparatus of Jiang with the well-known capability of carrying and installing a 3-plus wire spacer of Jean. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 10, Jiang in view of Jean teaches the apparatus of claim # as detailed above, and Jean further teaches that it is well known that the magazine assembly further comprises a retention pin assembly (124 including 132) configured to engage and retain at least one of the spacers whereby the at least one of the spacers moves along the span of the wires as the rolling chassis moves along the span of the wires (pars. 0041-0043).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Su and Groninga (EP 3 858 730 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang discloses all of the elements of the current invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Jiang, however, does not explicitly disclose that the apparatus further comprises a computer, a radio modem operatively coupled to the computer, and at least one antenna operatively coupled to the radio modem disposed thereon, the radio modem configured to receive wireless commands from a ground station via the at least one antenna and to relay the wireless commands to the computer, wherein the computer is configured to control operation of one or more of the rolling chassis, the magazine assembly and the bolt tightening assembly in response to the wireless commands. Su teaches that it is well known to provide a related apparatus (see claim 3, above), including a radio modem (33), and at least one antenna (34) operatively coupled to the radio modem disposed thereon, the radio modem configured to receive wireless commands from a ground station via the at least one antenna and to relay the wireless commands (fig. 1; pg. 6, lines 19-25). Additionally, Groninga teaches that it is well known to provide a related apparatus (Title; Abstract; fig. 1) including a radio modem (20) configured to receive wireless commands from a ground station and to relay the wireless commands to the computer (24), wherein the computer is configured to control operation of one or more of the rolling chassis, the magazine assembly and the bolt tightening assembly in response to the wireless commands. (fig. 1; par. 0010).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the invention of Jiang to incorporate the antenna, radio and computer of Su and Groninga. Given that there is no operator in the apparatus of Jiang, POSITA would realize that it is highly probable that the apparatus of Jiang would have such devices in order to be able to function as intended, but is simply silent on the matter. POSITA would have realized that basic radio connectivity and control can be easily and readily incorporated in such apparatuses to achieve the desired autonomy, controllability and ability to be operated remotely to predictably increase the safety of the operators in the field. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant disclosure that any special antenna, radio or computer was devised or that any surprising results were derived from simply using the old apparatus of Jiang with the well-known antenna, radio and computer of Su and Groninga. This combination would have been easily performed with knowledge of the commonly understood advantages and with reasonable expectations of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the concurrently mailed PTO-892, as all of those cited references are considered to be pertinent to the claimed invention. For example, Shan (CN-111193220-A) is held to be of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
/JEFFREY T CARLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729