Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Da Silva (US20210073912A1).
Regarding claim 1, Da Silva teaches a system for selecting an action to be taken by a reinforcement learning agent in an environment (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1), comprising a memory (Claim 1) and a hardware processor coupled to the memory and configured to at least (Claim 1):
determine a first variance for a first state of the environment (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1, line 4) wherein the first variance is based on a state of the environment before the first state (Figure 3A, when t ≥3, let the first state be the state when t≥3, then any variance determined in line 4 implicitly relies upon variances determined before it because “a” leads to s’ which becomes the new “s” in a subsequent iteration);
determine that the first variance meets a threshold (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1, line 5);
in response to determining that the first variance meets the threshold: request an identification of a first action to be taken by the agent from a human (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1, line 6, see ¶31 and ¶41, “A demonstrator 30 may also be a human”); and
receive the identification of the first action (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1, line 6); and
cause the first action to be taken by the agent (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1, line 10).
Regarding claim 2, Da Silva teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein
the hardware processor is also configured to:
determine a second variance for a second state of the environment, wherein the second variance is based wherein the second variance is based on a state of the environment before the first state (Figure 3A, when t ≥3, let the first state be the state when t≥3, then any variance determined in line 4 implicitly relies upon variances determined before it because “a” leads to s’ which becomes the new “s” in a subsequent iteration. Under the same analysis, the second variance can be when t is one less than that for the first variance);
determine that the second variance does not meet the threshold (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, line 7);
in response to determining that the second variance does not meet the threshold: select a second action to be taken by the agent based on a reinforcement learning policy; and cause the second action to be taken by the agent (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, lines 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 3, Da Silva teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein the agent is an autonomous vehicle (¶29).
Regarding claim 4, Da Silva teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, wherein the agent is a robot (¶29).
Regarding claim 5, Da Silva teaches system for selecting an action to be taken by a reinforcement learning agent in an environment (Fig. 3A, Algorithm 1), comprising a memory (Claim 1) and a hardware processor coupled to the memory and configured to at least (Claim 1):
select a first action to be taken by the agent based on a reinforcement learning policy (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, Line 6);
determine that the first action is to request an action selection from a human (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, Line 6);
in response to determining that the first action is to request an action selection from a human: request an identification of a new first action to be taken by the agent from a human (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, Line 6) based on a first variance for a first state of the environment, wherein the first variance is based on a state of the environment before the first state (Figure 3A, when t ≥3, let the first state be the state when t≥3, then any variance determined in line 4 implicitly relies upon variances determined before it because “a” leads to s’ which becomes the new “s” in a subsequent iteration); and
receive the identification of the new first action; and cause the new first action to be taken by the agent (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, Line 10).
Regarding claim 6, Da Silva teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, wherein the hardware processor is also configured to:
select a second action to be taken by the agent based on the reinforcement learning policy (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, line 8);
determine that the second action is not to request an action selection from a human (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, line 8);
in response to determining that the second action is not to request an action selection from a human: cause the second action to be taken by the agent (Figure 3A, Algorithm 1, lines 8 and 10).
Regarding claim 7, Da Silva teaches all of the limitations of claim 5, wherein
the agent is one of an autonomous vehicle and a robot (¶29).
Regarding claims 8-11, the system of Da Silva according to claims 1-4 performs the method of claims 8-11 under normal operation.
Regarding claims 12-14, the system of Da Silva according to claims 5-7 performs the method of claims 12-14 under normal operation.
Regarding claims 15-18, Da Silva according to claims 1-4 covers the instructions of claims 15-18.
Regarding claims 19-21, Da Silva according to claims 5-7 covers the instructions of claims 19-21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered.
As shown herein, Da Silva can be interpreted to cover the newly amended limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129