DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/09/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 01/30/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it begins with the phrase “The present invention relates to…”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the hinge connecting one single motor housing must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the self-propelling movement" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase "similar to" renders the claim indefinite because the claim include elements not actually disclosed, thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the one or more secondary massage elements". Secondary massage elements are previously functionally claimed. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stoll DE 3801953.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Stoll discloses a self-propelling massaging device comprising a massage element (1”) having ends, wherein the ends are attached to one or more rotational connectors (21) forming a limb opening, wherein the limb opening is at least partially surrounded by the massage element (Stoll, Figure 5), wherein a user inserts a body part into the limb opening for contact with and massaging by the massage element (Stoll translation: “The handle only serves to hold the device and around the massage patches to the part of the body to be massaged hold.”); the rotational connectors being connected to a motor (7’), and wherein when the one or more rotational connectors are rotated by the motor the one or more rotational connectors cause a rotation of the ends (Stoll translation: abstract). Stoll is capable of performing the functional limitations of claims 2, 3, and 5.
Regarding claim 4, Stoll further discloses the massage element is made of an elastic material (Stoll translation: “stocking is formed carrier 1 '' from a wire body made of metal or plastic.”.
Regarding claim 7, Stoll further discloses the massage element consisting of coils (Stoll, Figure 5).
Regarding claim 8, Stoll further discloses the massage element is structurally similar to a spiral hair tie or coiled phone cord (Stoll, Figure 5).
Regarding claims 9-11, Stoll further discloses the one or more rotational connectors causes a rotation of the ends, the massage element is also caused to rotate, with the rotation of the massage element causes the massaging device to move along the body part inserted into the limb opening, thereby providing a self-propelling massage to the body part. (Stoll translation: “This motor rotates at high speed, and in order to obtain the lower massage speed of the bearing axis 6 '' required for the massage process, between these and the drive motor 7 '' a transmission gear 24 is switched on; the power flow is schematically indicated by dashed lines at 25.”). Stoll is capable of performing the functional and conditional limitations of the claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose either alone or in combination the claimed invention wherein the massage element being attached to the one or more rotational connectors through an attaching structure comprising a circular channel holder; the motors being housed as claimed; or a control unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2019/0183723.
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642