DETAILED ACTION
The previous non-final office action has been withdrawn. A new non-final office action as follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stowers et al. (US 2015/0087175) in view of Wu (US 8,052,430).
Regarding claim 1, Stowers et al. disclose a high-speed data contact set comprising:
a housing (100) comprising:
a hollow body (110) having a top, a bottom, a front, a rear, and first side and a second side;
a plurality of protective arms (120a, 120b, 120c, 120d) extending from the front of said hollow body for protecting contact beams of a termination subassembly inserted into said insert shroud (100);
a termination subassembly (200) in said insert shroud, said termination assembly comprising:
a plurality of pairs of contact beams (242, 244), the contact beams in each pair being of the same orientation and the pairs of contact beams having alternating orientations;
a termination subassembly body (230) molded on and around a central portion of the plurality of pairs of contacts, the termination subassembly body having a support member for supporting one end of each of said plurality of pairs of contacts, said support member having a plurality of alignment bosses (140).
Stowers et al. substantially disclosed the claimed invention except the alignment bosses align to holes on a printed circuit board and said one end of each of plurality of pairs of contacts is soldered to said printed circuit board and a plurality of wires each having a stripped end covered by a shield strap and soldered to said printed circuit board.
Wu teaches a printed circuit board and said one end of each of plurality of pairs of contacts (13) is soldered to said printed circuit board and a plurality of wires (40) each having a stripped end soldered to said printed circuit board (see Fig. 11).
Wu also teaches alignment boss (164) aligning to holes (224) on circuit board (2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to substitute the printed circuit board with holes and wire assembly into Stower’s data contact set, as taught by Wu for reducing human errors when assemble the data contact set.
Wu also teach a shielding strap (6) cover strip end of wires (40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the shield strap into Stower’s data contact set, as taught by Wu for reducing magnetic interference.
Regarding claim 2, in the modified high-speed data contact set, Stowers et al. disclose said termination subassembly body has a latch feature (130) for securing said termination subassembly body to said housing.
Conclusion
/TRUC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834