DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group III in the reply filed on 1/19/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 20-22, 24, 26-28, 30-33 and 36-40 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/21/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language (specifically DE 10156790, DE 69839294 and “Office Action mailed on 4_15_25”. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 48, 49, 51 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2018/0291364, hereinafter Liberti in view of United States Application Publication No. 2008/0185057, hereinafter Prakash.
Regarding claim 48, Liberti teaches a method for suspending magnetically responsive particles in a fluid disposed in a chamber having an opening fluidically connected to a source for the fluid through a fluid channel (abstract), the method comprising: (a) orienting the chamber so that the opening is gravitationally below the fluid and the particles in the chamber (paragraph [0038] and figure 2); (c) providing a first movable magnetic field to which the particles are magnetically responsive (paragraph [0037]); and (d) selectively moving the first movable magnetic field through the chamber to effect a magnetic response in the particles (paragraph [0048]).
Liberti fails to teach the valve is a gas bubble valve and the gas bubble valve comprising a bubble containing gas.
Prakash teaches a system in which bubble valves which utilizes air (Prakash, paragraph [0093]) are utilized in that a bubble in generated and pushed into the device because they perfectly seal the channel with no leakage (Prakash, paragraph [0140]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have deployed an air bubble in the opening (within the device) because it would perfectly seal the channel with no leakage (Prakash, paragraph [0140]).
Regarding claim 49, modified Liberti teaches including positioning the bubble at the opening to fill the opening (see supra).
Regarding claim 51, modified Liberti teaches removing the gas bubble valve to selectively fluidically connect the chamber to the fluid channel (paragraph [0036] and Prakash, paragraph [0140]); (ii) filling the chamber with a fluid volume through the opening while the gas bubble is removed (paragraph [0067]); and (iii) re-deploying the gas bubble valve subsequent to filling the chamber with the fluid volume (paragraph [0036] and Prakash, paragraph [0140]).
Regarding claim 54, modified Liberti teaches wherein the bubble contains air (see supra).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796