DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to applicant’s 09/15/2025 amendment(s) /response(s) in the Application 18/103,618 by LU for “WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD AND DEVICE”, filed on 01/31/2023. The amendment/response to the claims has been entered:
Claims 1, 8 and 14 are currently amended.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending.
This rejection is FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 09/15/2025, hereinafter “Remarks”, have been fully considered and they are persuasive in part, as described below:
Applicants have amended the title to be: “WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD AND DEVICE COMBINING DRX WITH D2D COMMUNICATION”. Therefore, the objection to the title has been withdrawn.
With respect to the Section 102 Rejection, Applicant’s Remarks” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicants assert, on page 7 of the Remarks, that “It can be seen that the SL DRX configuration in DI GIROLAMO et al is selected based on selection parameters including service type, device class and the like, but the DRX configuration in the present invention corresponds to the message to be received before establishing the connection between terminals.
Thus, DI GIROLAMO et al at most recites that the SL communication is carried out based on the SL DRX configuration, and the discovery messages are monitored based on the DRX configuration, but is silent about the above-identified features, which require receiving, based on the DRX configuration corresponding to the message, the message that is to be received before establishing the connection between terminals.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described in the rejections below, DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices)). As such, the DRX configuration message is received prior to establishing the SL DRX connection, which based on the configuration message.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DI GIROLAMO et al. (US20230014303A1), hereinafter DI GIROLAMO.
Regarding claim 1, DI GIROLAMO teaches A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving a first message based on a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the first message, (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach receiving one or more discovery messages comprising one or more DRX configurations (i.e. first message based on a first DRX configuration corresponding to the first message).)
wherein the first message is a message that is to be received before establishing a connection between terminal devices. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices)).)
Regarding claim 2, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a device discovery message. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach the first message as a discovery message (i.e. device discovery message).)
Regarding claim 5, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: determining a time resource corresponding to the first DRX configuration based on at least one synchronization source. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 23A, step 304, paragraphs 118, 406, teach a time resource (e.g. start time) corresponding the first DRX configuration based on a synchronization source (timing reference).)
Regarding claim 7, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the method is applied in device-to-device (D2D) communication. (DI GIROLAMO, paragraph 433 teaches LTE and LTE-A technology may include LTE D2D and V2X technologies and interfaces (such as Sidelink communications, etc.)
Regarding claim 8, DI GIROLAMO teaches A wireless communication method, characterized in comprising: sending a first message based on a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the first message, (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach sending one or more discovery messages comprising one or more DRX configurations (i.e. first message based on a first DRX configuration corresponding to the first message).)
wherein the first message is a message that is to be received before establishing a connection between terminal devices. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices)).)
Regarding claim 9, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the first message comprises a device discovery message. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach the first message as a discovery message (i.e. device discovery message).)
Regarding claim 12, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising: determining a time resource corresponding to the first DRX configuration based on at least one synchronization source. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 23A, step 304, paragraphs 118, 406, teach a time resource (e.g. start time) corresponding the first DRX configuration based on a synchronization source (timing reference).)
Regarding claim 14, DI GIROLAMO teaches A terminal device, characterized in comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to: (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 26F, paragraph 496 teach that any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, such as processors 118 or 91, cause the processor to perform or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein.)
receive, through the transceiver, a first message based on a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the first message, (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach receiving one or more discovery messages comprising one or more DRX configurations (i.e. first message based on a first DRX configuration corresponding to the first message).)
wherein the first message is a message that is to be received before establishing a connection between terminal devices. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices)).)
Regarding claim 15, DI GIROLAMO teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first message comprises a device discovery message. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach the first message as a discovery message (i.e. device discovery message).)
Regarding claim 18, DI GIROLAMO teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time resource corresponding to the first DRX configuration based on at least one synchronization source. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 23A, step 304, paragraphs 118, 406, teach a time resource (e.g. start time) corresponding the first DRX configuration based on a synchronization source (timing reference).)
Regarding claim 20, DI GIROLAMO teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the method is applied in device-to-device (D2D) communication. (DI GIROLAMO, paragraph 433 teaches LTE and LTE-A technology may include LTE D2D and V2X technologies and interfaces (such as Sidelink communications, etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DI GIROLAMO et al. (US20230014303A1), hereinafter DI GIROLAMO, in view of Zhang et al. (US20230284332A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 3, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration. (ZHANG, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID (i.e., identifier).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure a first identifier as corresponding to a first DRX configuration. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 4, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG teaches the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first identifier is a layer-2 address. (ZHANG, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID as a layer 2 address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 10, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 8 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration. (ZHANG, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID (i.e., identifier).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure a first identifier as corresponding to a first DRX configuration. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 11, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG teaches the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the first identifier is a layer-2 address. (ZHANG, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID as a layer 2 address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 16, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 14 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration. (ZHANG, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID (i.e., identifier).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure a first identifier as corresponding to a first DRX configuration. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 17, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 16, wherein the first identifier is a layer-2 address. (ZHANG, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID as a layer 2 address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DI GIROLAMO et al. (US20230014303A1), hereinafter DI GIROLAMO, in view of Hahn et al. (US20230164873A1), hereinafter HAHN.
Regarding claim 6, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe further comprising: receiving indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data.
HAHN teaches further comprising: receiving indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. (HAHN, Fig. 7, steps 720, 730, paragraph 102, teach receiving a SCI comprising DRX configuration information which is included in to-be-transmitted data via sidelink communications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure indication information, and the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 13, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 8 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe sending indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data.
HAHN teaches sending indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. (HAHN, Fig. 7, steps 720, 730, paragraph 102, teach sending a SCI comprising DRX configuration information which is included in to-be-transmitted data via sidelink communications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure indication information, and the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 19, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 14 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the processor is further configured to: receive indication information through the transceiver, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data.
HAHN teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive indication information through the transceiver, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. (HAHN, Fig. 7, steps 720, 730, paragraph 102, teach receiving a SCI comprising DRX configuration information which is included in to-be-transmitted data via sidelink communications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG, paragraph 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WALLI Z. BUTT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/WALLI Z BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 2412