DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to applicant’s request for reconsideration filed June 11, 2026, following non-final rejection in response to applicant’s 02/17/2026 Request for Continuing Examination (RCE) in the Application 18/103,618 by LU for “WIRELESS COMMUNICATION METHOD AND DEVICE”, filed on 01/31/2023. The amendment/response to the claims has been entered:
Therefore, claims 1-6, 8-19, 21 and 22 are now pending.
This rejection is FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 14 filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zhang does not teach “receiving a message based on the DRX configuration, the message is to be received before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end”. Further applicant argues that Zhang, before steps 802-804 that some kind of “connection with the third communication device” was already established, arguing that “in some implementation, there may be a plurality of communication apparatuses that establish sidelinks” is the same as a device to device connection. However, Fig. 8 teaches as follows:
As shown, the “perform data communication” is not until step 804. As such, at step 804 a connection between a receiving end and a transmitting end via D2D is established. Furthermore, as suggested by the arrow, the steps 801-802 are performed independently.
Zhang specifically teaches in para. [0082] for example, that “in a D2D scenario, a transmit end user (transmit UE, Tx UE) and a receive end user (receive UE, Rx UE) are directly connected for data transmission”. As shown in Fig. 8, data communication/transmission does not happen until AFTER step 804. As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, Zhang teaches sending a message “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection” which requires a direct connection for data transmission.
For at least these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-9, 12, 14-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DI GIROLAMO et al. (US20230014303A1), hereinafter DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG et al. (US20230034294A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 1, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG teach A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a receiving end from a transmitting end during an activation period, (DI GIROLAMO teaches in para. [0502]-[0503] receiving a configuration message during an ACTIVE period of a DRX) a first message based on a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the first message, (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach receiving one or more discovery messages comprising one or more DRX configurations (i.e. first message based on a first DRX configuration corresponding to the first message).)
wherein the first message is a message that is to be received [[before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end]]. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices. DI GIROLAMO, paragraph 433 teaches LTE and LTE-A technology may include LTE D2D and V2X technologies and interfaces (such as Sidelink communications, etc.)
DI GIROLAMO does NOT explicitly teach the first message is to be received “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, ZHANG teaches the first message is to be received “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end.” (ZHANG in paras. [0234]-[0241] and Fig. 8 teach establishing a D2D communication between a UE and a third device using a sidelink control information (SCI) AFTER establishing that the third communication apparatus is in “active time” as shown in step 802:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined DI GIROLAMO with ZHANG to teach a message before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end. Each of DI GIROLAMO and ZHANG are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine DI GIROLAMO with ZHANG in order to prolong battery service life of a terminal device by stopping the terminal from listening to the PDCCH as taught in para. [0003].
Regarding claim 2, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first message comprises a device discovery message. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach the first message as a discovery message (i.e. device discovery message).)
Regarding claim 5, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: determining a time resource corresponding to the first DRX configuration based on at least one synchronization source. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 23A, step 304, paragraphs 118, 406, teach a time resource (e.g. start time) corresponding the first DRX configuration based on a synchronization source (timing reference).)
Regarding claim 8, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG teach A wireless communication method, characterized in comprising:
sending, by a transmitting end to a receiving end during an activation period, (DI GIROLAMO teaches in para. [0502]-[0503] receiving a configuration message during an ACTIVE period of a DRX) a first message based on a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the first message, (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach sending one or more discovery messages comprising one or more DRX configurations (i.e. first message based on a first DRX configuration corresponding to the first message).)
wherein the first message is a message that is to be received [[before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end]]. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices. DI GIROLAMO, paragraph 433 teaches LTE and LTE-A technology may include LTE D2D and V2X technologies and interfaces (such as Sidelink communications, etc.)
DI GIROLAMO does NOT explicitly teach the first message is to be received “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, ZHANG teaches the first message is to be received “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end.” (ZHANG in paras. [0234]-[0241] and Fig. 8 teach establishing a D2D communication between a UE and a third device using a sidelink control information (SCI) AFTER establishing that the third communication apparatus is in “active time” as shown in step 802:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined DI GIROLAMO with ZHANG to teach a message before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end. Each of DI GIROLAMO and ZHANG are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine DI GIROLAMO with ZHANG in order to prolong battery service life of a terminal device by stopping the terminal from listening to the PDCCH as taught in para. [0003].
Regarding claim 9, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the first message comprises a device discovery message. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach the first message as a discovery message (i.e. device discovery message).)
Regarding claim 12, DI GIROLAMO teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, further comprising: determining a time resource corresponding to the first DRX configuration based on at least one synchronization source. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 23A, step 304, paragraphs 118, 406, teach a time resource (e.g. start time) corresponding the first DRX configuration based on a synchronization source (timing reference).)
Regarding claim 14, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG teaches A terminal device, characterized in comprising:
a processor, a memory and a transceiver, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to: (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 26F, paragraph 496 teach that any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, such as processors 118 or 91, cause the processor to perform or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein.)
receive, through the transceiver, from a transmitting end during an activation period, (DI GIROLAMO teaches in para. [0502]-[0503] receiving a configuration message during an ACTIVE period of a DRX) a first message based on a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration corresponding to the first message, (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach receiving one or more discovery messages comprising one or more DRX configurations (i.e. first message based on a first DRX configuration corresponding to the first message).)
wherein the first message is a message that is to be received [[before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end]]. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 343, 344, paragraphs 417, 500, teach that in response to the configuration (i.e. the DRX configuration parameters received in step 341), communicating over a plurality of SL communications using the configuration for the SL DRX (i.e. establishing a connection (e.g. SL DRX connection) between terminal devices. DI GIROLAMO, paragraph 433 teaches LTE and LTE-A technology may include LTE D2D and V2X technologies and interfaces (such as Sidelink communications, etc.)
DI GIROLAMO does NOT explicitly teach the first message is to be received “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end.”
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, ZHANG teaches the first message is to be received “before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end.” (ZHANG in paras. [0234]-[0241] and Fig. 8 teach establishing a D2D communication between a UE and a third device using a sidelink control information (SCI) AFTER establishing that the third communication apparatus is in “active time” as shown in step 802:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined DI GIROLAMO with ZHANG to teach a message before establishing a device to device (D2D) connection between the receiving end and the transmitting end. Each of DI GIROLAMO and ZHANG are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine DI GIROLAMO with ZHANG in order to prolong battery service life of a terminal device by stopping the terminal from listening to the PDCCH as taught in para. [0003].
Regarding claim 15, DI GIROLAMO teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first message comprises a device discovery message. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 24, steps 341, 342, paragraphs 417, 500, teach the first message as a discovery message (i.e. device discovery message).)
Regarding claim 18, DI GIROLAMO teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a time resource corresponding to the first DRX configuration based on at least one synchronization source. (DI GIROLAMO, Fig. 23A, step 304, paragraphs 118, 406, teach a time resource (e.g. start time) corresponding the first DRX configuration based on a synchronization source (timing reference).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DI GIROLAMO et al. (US20230014303A1), hereinafter DI GIROLAMO, in view of Zhang et al. (US20230284332A1), hereinafter ZHANG II.
Regarding claim 3, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration.
ZHANG II in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration. (ZHANG II, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID (i.e., identifier).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG II with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure a first identifier as corresponding to a first DRX configuration. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG II, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 4, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG II teaches the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first identifier is a layer-2 address. (ZHANG II, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID as a layer 2 address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG II with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG II, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 10, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 8 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration.
ZHANG II in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration. (ZHANG II, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID (i.e., identifier).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG II with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure a first identifier as corresponding to a first DRX configuration. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG II, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG II teaches the method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the first identifier is a layer-2 address. (ZHANG II, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID as a layer 2 address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG II with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG II, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 16, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 14 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the first message corresponds to a first identifier, and the first identifier corresponds to the first DRX configuration. (ZHANG II, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID (i.e., identifier).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG II with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure a first identifier as corresponding to a first DRX configuration. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG II, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, DI GIROLAMO in view of ZHANG II teaches the terminal device as claimed in claim 16, wherein the first identifier is a layer-2 address. (ZHANG II, paragraph 53 teaches DRX configuration comprising information such as a layer 2 ID as a layer 2 address.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG II with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. The motivation would be to allow for efficiently implementing DRX for sidelink transmissions and other types of D2D transmissions (ZHANG II, para. [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DI GIROLAMO et al. (US20230014303A1), hereinafter DI GIROLAMO, in view of Hahn et al. (US20230164873A1), hereinafter HAHN.
Regarding claim 6, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe further comprising: receiving indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data.
HAHN teaches further comprising: receiving indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. (HAHN, Fig. 7, steps 720, 730, paragraph 102, teach receiving a SCI comprising DRX configuration information which is included in to-be-transmitted data via sidelink communications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure indication information, and the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO in order to improve performance of sidelink communication by being based on physical (PHY) DRX operations as taught in HAHN para. [0027].
Regarding claim 13, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 8 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe sending indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data.
HAHN teaches sending indication information, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. (HAHN, Fig. 7, steps 720, 730, paragraph 102, teach sending a SCI comprising DRX configuration information which is included in to-be-transmitted data via sidelink communications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure indication information, and the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO in order to improve performance of sidelink communication by being based on physical (PHY) DRX operations as taught in HAHN para. [0027].
Regarding claim 19, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 14 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe wherein the processor is further configured to: receive indication information through the transceiver, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data.
HAHN teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive indication information through the transceiver, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the first message is not included or is included in to-be-transmitted data. (HAHN, Fig. 7, steps 720, 730, paragraph 102, teach receiving a SCI comprising DRX configuration information which is included in to-be-transmitted data via sidelink communications.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO in order to improve performance of sidelink communication by being based on physical (PHY) DRX operations as taught in HAHN para. [0027].
Regarding claim 21, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, DI GIROLAMO does not describe The method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the indication information indicates, through a first format of sideline control information (SCI) that the first message is not included in the to-be-transmitted data, and the indication information indicates, through a second format of the SCI, that the first message is included in the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the first format is different from the second format.
In the same field of endeavor, HAHN teaches wherein the indication information indicates, through a first format of sideline control information (SCI) that the first message is not included in the to-be-transmitted data, and the indication information indicates, through a second format of the SCI, that the first message is included in the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the first format is different from the second format. (HAHN teaches in para. [0094] a multi-SCI scheme including a 1st-stage SCI and a 2nd-stage SCI. HAHN para. [0102] teaches that “The transmitting terminal may transmit SCI (e.g., first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) including the PHY DRX configuration information to the receiving terminal (S730).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO in order to improve performance of sidelink communication by being based on physical (PHY) DRX operations as taught in HAHN para. [0027].
Regarding claim 22, although DI GIROLAMO teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 14 DI GIROLAMO does not describe the terminal device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the indication information indicates, through a first format of sideline control information (SCI) that the first message is not included in the to-be-transmitted data, and the indication information indicates, through a second format of the SCI, that the first message is included in the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the first format is different from the second format.
In the same field of endeavor, HAHN teaches wherein the indication information indicates, through a first format of sideline control information (SCI) that the first message is not included in the to-be-transmitted data, and the indication information indicates, through a second format of the SCI, that the first message is included in the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the first format is different from the second format. (HAHN teaches in para. [0094] a multi-SCI scheme including a 1st-stage SCI and a 2nd-stage SCI. HAHN para. [0102] teaches that “The transmitting terminal may transmit SCI (e.g., first-stage SCI and/or second-stage SCI) including the PHY DRX configuration information to the receiving terminal (S730).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO to configure the first identifier is a layer-2 address. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine HAHN with the teachings of DI GIROLAMO in order to improve performance of sidelink communication by being based on physical (PHY) DRX operations as taught in HAHN para. [0027].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412