DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 03/25/2026 amendment/response in the application of CHUNG et al. for “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PERFORMING TRANSMISSION AND RECEPTION BASED ON SPATIAL PARAMETER IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM” filed 01/31/2023. The amendments/response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 13, 16-17, 20-23 are now pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim lacks any physical device or apparatus in either the preamble or in the body of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 16, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUAN et al. (US 2025/0337537 A1), hereinafter GUAN in view of LI (US 2025/0260543 A1).
Regarding claim 13, GUAN discloses a method comprising:
receiving configuration information related to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for uplink transmission (the terminal device 120 may receive 324 at least one DCI messages. Next, the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2), see ¶ 0135);
receiving information indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state based on configuration information (the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2) see ¶ 0135); and
transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by applying at least one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs a PUSCH transmission based on the indicated first TCI state and/or the second TCI state, see ¶ 0136);
receiving downlink control information for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (the terminal device receives, or the network device transmits DCI for granting the PUSCH transmissions see ¶ 0006, 0009, 0326, 0357, 0386); and
wherein, based on an value of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set-related field included in downlink control information, i) either the first TCI state or the second TCI state is applied for transmission of the PUSCH (the first TCI state is applied to the first PUSCH transmission occasion associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource identified by a first SRS resource indicator in downlink control information (DCI), and the second TCI state is applied to the second PUSCH transmission occasion associated with a second SRS resource identified by a second SRS resource indicator in the DCI, see claim 62) or
ii) both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied for transmission of the PUSCH (optional limitation).
Although GUAN discloses the wireless terminal receiving downlink control information for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see ¶ 0006, 0009, 0326, 0357, 0386), GUAN fails to explicitly disclose the DCI includes a value of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set related field.
In the same field of endeavor, LI discloses when the configuration of the PUSCH is S-TRP, the additional indication information may reuse the codepoint value in the indication field in DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 that is used to indicate the SRS resource set index. The set of TCI states indicated by the codepoint value is used for the PUSCH transmission. For example, the codepoint value indicates that the SRS resource indicator field and precoding information and number of layers field is associated with the first SRS resource set, it means that the first set of TCI states is used. If the codepoint value indicates that the SRS resource indicator field and precoding information and number of layers field is associated with the second SRS resource set, it means that the second set of TCI states is used, or vice versa (see ¶ 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LI’s teaching in the network taught by GUAN for codepoint in the DCI provides fast adaptation where dynamic codepoint triggering allows the network to request channel state updates instantly during sudden changes in user traffic or mobility.
Regarding claim 16, GUAN discloses based on a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) with different CORESET pool index values configured to a user equipment (UE), the first TCI state and the second TCI state are related to the different CORESET pool index values, respectively (the at least one TCI state comprising at least one of the following: a first TCI state to be applied to the first control resource set pool, or a second TCI state to be applied to the second control resource set pool; and performing, based on the at least one TCI state, a transmission with a network, see ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 20, GUAN discloses the at least one the first TCI state or the second TCI state is determined based on a CORESET pool index value of downlink control information scheduling the PUSCH transmission (the at least one TCI state comprising at least one of the following: a first TCI state to be applied to the first control resource set pool, or a second TCI state to be applied to the second control resource set pool; and performing, based on the at least one TCI state, a transmission with a network, see ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 21, GUAN discloses the at least one of the first TCI state or second TCI state is determined based on whether multiple information for a SRS resource are configured (performing the PUSCH transmission based on precoding information determined by a latest sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission transmitted with the at least one indicated TCI states; or applying the at least one indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission if the latest SRS transmission is transmitted based on the at least one indicated TCI state, see ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 22, GUAN discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive configuration information related to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for uplink transmission (the terminal device 120 may receive 324 at least one DCI messages. Next, the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2), see ¶ 0135);
receive information indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state based on configuration information (the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2) see ¶ 0135); and
transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by applying at least one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs a PUSCH transmission based on the indicated first TCI state and/or the second TCI state, see ¶ 0136);
wherein, based on an value of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set-related field included in downlink control information, i) either the first TCI state or the second TCI state is applied for transmission of the PUSCH (the first TCI state is applied to the first PUSCH transmission occasion associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource identified by a first SRS resource indicator in downlink control information (DCI), and the second TCI state is applied to the second PUSCH transmission occasion associated with a second SRS resource identified by a second SRS resource indicator in the DCI, see claim 62) or
ii) both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied for transmission of the PUSCH (optional limitation).
Although GUAN discloses the wireless terminal receiving downlink control information for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see ¶ 0006, 0009, 0326, 0357, 0386), GUAN fails to explicitly disclose the DCI includes a value of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set related field.
In the same field of endeavor, LI discloses when the configuration of the PUSCH is S-TRP, the additional indication information may reuse the codepoint value in the indication field in DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 that is used to indicate the SRS resource set index. The set of TCI states indicated by the codepoint value is used for the PUSCH transmission. For example, the codepoint value indicates that the SRS resource indicator field and precoding information and number of layers field is associated with the first SRS resource set, it means that the first set of TCI states is used. If the codepoint value indicates that the SRS resource indicator field and precoding information and number of layers field is associated with the second SRS resource set, it means that the second set of TCI states is used, or vice versa (see ¶ 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LI’s teaching in the network taught by GUAN for codepoint in the DCI provides fast adaptation where dynamic codepoint triggering allows the network to request channel state updates instantly during sudden changes in user traffic or mobility.
Regarding claim 23, GUAN discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit configuration information related to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for uplink transmission (the terminal device 120 may receive 324 at least one DCI messages. Next, the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2), see ¶ 0135);
transmit information indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state based on configuration information (the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2) see ¶ 0135); and
receive a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by applying at least one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs a PUSCH transmission based on the indicated first TCI state and/or the second TCI state, see ¶ 0136);
wherein, based on an value of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set-related field included in downlink control information, i) either the first TCI state or the second TCI state is applied for transmission of the PUSCH (the first TCI state is applied to the first PUSCH transmission occasion associated with a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource identified by a first SRS resource indicator in downlink control information (DCI), and the second TCI state is applied to the second PUSCH transmission occasion associated with a second SRS resource identified by a second SRS resource indicator in the DCI, see claim 62) or
ii) both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are applied for transmission of the PUSCH (optional limitation).
Although GUAN discloses the wireless terminal receiving downlink control information for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see ¶ 0006, 0009, 0326, 0357, 0386), GUAN fails to explicitly disclose the DCI includes a value of sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set related field.
In the same field of endeavor, LI discloses when the configuration of the PUSCH is S-TRP, the additional indication information may reuse the codepoint value in the indication field in DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2 that is used to indicate the SRS resource set index. The set of TCI states indicated by the codepoint value is used for the PUSCH transmission. For example, the codepoint value indicates that the SRS resource indicator field and precoding information and number of layers field is associated with the first SRS resource set, it means that the first set of TCI states is used. If the codepoint value indicates that the SRS resource indicator field and precoding information and number of layers field is associated with the second SRS resource set, it means that the second set of TCI states is used, or vice versa (see ¶ 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LI’s teaching in the network taught by GUAN for codepoint in the DCI provides fast adaptation where dynamic codepoint triggering allows the network to request channel state updates instantly during sudden changes in user traffic or mobility.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of the combination of GUAN-LI in view of YUAN ‘584 et al. (US 2024/0040584 A1), hereinafter YUAN ‘584.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of the combination of GUAN-LI fails to disclose based on the uplink transmission being configured in a single frequency network (SFN)-based scheme, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are respectively mapped to a plurality of TCI states pre-configured for the SFN-based scheme.
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN 584 discloses in the context of a single-frequency network (SFN), SFN PDCCH transmissions (e.g., PDCCH DMRS) may be associated with two TCI states. In particular, for SFN PDCCH transmissions, one CORESET may be activated at UE 115 with two active TCI states. In such cases, each control channel candidate (e.g., PDCCH candidate) of a search space set associated with the CORESET may be associated with the two active TCI states of the CORESET, see ¶ 0151.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN ‘584’s teaching in the network taught by the combination of the combination of GUAN-LI for using TCI state in an SFN provides reduced interference: TCI states allow the network to manage "self-interference" that occurs when a receiver gets signals from multiple SFN transmitters. By precisely controlling the transmission beam, TCI ensures that signals from different sources constructively interfere, effectively becoming a single, stronger signal rather than a source of distortion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13, 16-17, 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412