DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 03/25/2026 amendment/response in the application of CHUNG et al. for “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR PERFORMING TRANSMISSION AND RECEPTION BASED ON SPATIAL PARAMETER IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM” filed 01/31/2023. The amendments/response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 13, 16-17, 20-23 are now pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claimed subject matter “transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)” appeared to be a typo. For examination purpose, examiner regard the claimed subject matter as –receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 16, 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GUAN et al. (US 2025/0337537 A1), hereinafter GUAN.
Regarding claim 13, GUAN discloses a method comprising:
receiving configuration information related to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for uplink transmission (the terminal device 120 may receive 324 at least one DCI messages. Next, the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2), see ¶ 0135);
receiving information indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state based on configuration information (the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2) see ¶ 0135); and
transmitting a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by applying at least one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs a PUSCH transmission based on the indicated first TCI state and/or the second TCI state, see ¶ 0136);
wherein, based on an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set-related field included in downlink control information, the PUSCH is transmitted by applying i) either the first TCI state or the second TCI state or ii) both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs the PUSCH transmission based on precoding information determined by a latest SRS transmission transmitted with the at least one TCI states. Alternatively, in another specific example embodiment, the terminal device 120 performs a first PUSCH transmission based on first precoding information determined by a latest first SRS transmission transmitted with the indicated first TCI states. Alternatively, in a further specific example embodiment, the terminal device 120 performs a second PUSCH transmission based on second precoding information determined by a latest SRS transmission transmitted with the indicated second TCI states, see ¶ 0136).
Regarding claim 16, GUAN discloses based on a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs) with different CORESET pool index values configured to a user equipment (UE), the first TCI state and the second TCI state are related to the different CORESET pool index values, respectively (the at least one TCI state comprising at least one of the following: a first TCI state to be applied to the first control resource set pool, or a second TCI state to be applied to the second control resource set pool; and performing, based on the at least one TCI state, a transmission with a network, see ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 20, GUAN discloses the at least one the first TCI state or the second TCI state is determined based on a CORESET pool index value of downlink control information scheduling the PUSCH transmission (the at least one TCI state comprising at least one of the following: a first TCI state to be applied to the first control resource set pool, or a second TCI state to be applied to the second control resource set pool; and performing, based on the at least one TCI state, a transmission with a network, see ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 21, GUAN discloses the at least one of the first TCI state or second TCI state is determined based on whether multiple information for a SRS resource are configured (performing the PUSCH transmission based on precoding information determined by a latest sounding reference signal (SRS) transmission transmitted with the at least one indicated TCI states; or applying the at least one indicated TCI state to the PUSCH transmission if the latest SRS transmission is transmitted based on the at least one indicated TCI state, see ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 22, GUAN discloses a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive configuration information related to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for uplink transmission (the terminal device 120 may receive 324 at least one DCI messages. Next, the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2), see ¶ 0135);
receive information indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state based on configuration information (the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2) see ¶ 0135); and
transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by applying at least one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs a PUSCH transmission based on the indicated first TCI state and/or the second TCI state, see ¶ 0136);
wherein, based on an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set-related field included in downlink control information, the PUSCH is transmitted by applying i) either the first TCI state or the second TCI state or ii) both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs the PUSCH transmission based on precoding information determined by a latest SRS transmission transmitted with the at least one TCI states. Alternatively, in another specific example embodiment, the terminal device 120 performs a first PUSCH transmission based on first precoding information determined by a latest first SRS transmission transmitted with the indicated first TCI states. Alternatively, in a further specific example embodiment, the terminal device 120 performs a second PUSCH transmission based on second precoding information determined by a latest SRS transmission transmitted with the indicated second TCI states, see ¶ 0136).
Regarding claim 23, GUAN discloses a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit configuration information related to a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for uplink transmission (the terminal device 120 may receive 324 at least one DCI messages. Next, the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2), see ¶ 0135);
transmit information indicating a first TCI state and a second TCI state based on configuration information (the terminal device 120 may determine 326 a first TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the first TCI state is to be applied to the first control resource set pool (i.e, the first TRP 130-1). Alternatively, or in addition, the terminal device 120 also may determine a second TCI state based on the at least one DCI message, where the second TCI state is to be applied to the second control resource set pool (i.e, the second TRP 130-2) see ¶ 0135); and
receive a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by applying at least one of the first TCI state or the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs a PUSCH transmission based on the indicated first TCI state and/or the second TCI state, see ¶ 0136);
wherein, based on an indication of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set-related field included in downlink control information, the PUSCH is transmitted by applying i) either the first TCI state or the second TCI state or ii) both the first TCI state and the second TCI state (the terminal device 120 performs the PUSCH transmission based on precoding information determined by a latest SRS transmission transmitted with the at least one TCI states. Alternatively, in another specific example embodiment, the terminal device 120 performs a first PUSCH transmission based on first precoding information determined by a latest first SRS transmission transmitted with the indicated first TCI states. Alternatively, in a further specific example embodiment, the terminal device 120 performs a second PUSCH transmission based on second precoding information determined by a latest SRS transmission transmitted with the indicated second TCI states, see ¶ 0136).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of GUAN in view of YUAN ‘584 et al. (US 2024/0040584 A1), hereinafter YUAN ‘584.
Regarding claim 17, GUAN fails to disclose based on the uplink transmission being configured in a single frequency network (SFN)-based scheme, the first TCI state and the second TCI state are respectively mapped to a plurality of TCI states pre-configured for the SFN-based scheme.
In the same field of endeavor, YUAN 584 discloses in the context of a single-frequency network (SFN), SFN PDCCH transmissions (e.g., PDCCH DMRS) may be associated with two TCI states. In particular, for SFN PDCCH transmissions, one CORESET may be activated at UE 115 with two active TCI states. In such cases, each control channel candidate (e.g., PDCCH candidate) of a search space set associated with the CORESET may be associated with the two active TCI states of the CORESET, see ¶ 0151.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement YUAN ‘584’s teaching in the network taught by GUAN for using TCI state in an SFN provides reduced interference: TCI states allow the network to manage "self-interference" that occurs when a receiver gets signals from multiple SFN transmitters. By precisely controlling the transmission beam, TCI ensures that signals from different sources constructively interfere, effectively becoming a single, stronger signal rather than a source of distortion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13, 16-17, 20-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412