DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-10, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Reitmeier (2025/0075551).
For claim 1, Reitmeier discloses a door opening system (12) for a vehicle (2), comprising:
a motorized door (6; the door having a drive (30) that may have a motor, [0029], for partially automatic or fully automatic pivoting thereof);
a sensor (16) configured to detect obstacles ([0004]) within a travel path of the motorized door; and
one or more processors (‘control device’, [0011]) configured to:
receive a door control signal (which can be a recognizable gesture or ‘force pulse’, [0041], or ‘opening request’);
in response to the door control signal, determine ([0035]) whether an obstacle had been detected within the travel path of the motorized door; and
in response to determining that an obstacle has been detected, block activation ([0003], [0036]) of the motorized door.
For claim 11, Reitmeier inherently discloses the recited method.
For claims 2 and 12, in response to the door control signal ([0042]) activate the sensor and the one or more processors.
For claims 3 and 13, in response to determining that an obstacle has not been detected, allow activation ([0029], [0033], [0039]) of the door.
For claims 4 and 14, the system comprises monitoring, via the sensor, the travel path ([0066]) of the motorized door while the motorized door is in motion.
For claims 5 and 14, in response to determining that an obstacle has been detected while the door is moving, the door opening system can activate the motorized door to move in a reverse direction (‘counter measures’, [0011], [0018]).
For claim 8, Reitmeier discloses the motorized door being a hatch ([0003]) and a PHOSITA understands that this can be a rear hatch as recited.
For claim 9, Reitmeier discloses the sensor being an optical sensor or camera.
For claim 10, the sensor is a parking sensor ([0038]).
For claim 16, Reitmeier discloses data memory ([0005]) (a storage device that holds data) for use with the system disclosed above. A PHOSITA understands that Reitmeier necessarily includes a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for performing the functions set forth above. That PHOSITA likewise understands that Reitmeier implicitly includes a NTCRM for allowing the obstacle identification system to be used again and again (in each instance) when the vehicle (and consequently the control device) is turned/powered on after being turned/powered off while, for example, parked for a prolonged period of time. Providing physical storage of the process steps above allows the steps (Instructions) to be held and remembered (not lost) when the power to the control device is not present.
As such, Reitmeier discloses claims 16-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reitmeier, as applied above, and in view of Sugiura et al. (2015/0025751).
Reitmeier discloses activating “warning signals” but does not specify the type of signal and is therefore is silent on the warning signals being lights or sounds as recited.
Sugiura et al. teach using lights or sounds as warning devices to send an alarm to a user ([0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided as the warning signals of Reitmeier either of lights or sounds as taught by Sugiura et al. as obvious alternatives in order to alert a user to danger.
The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR, 550 US at 82 USPQ2d at 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR) supports this rationale of a simple substitution.
Courts have recognized that it would have been obvious to substitute one known element for another that performs the same function, where the results of the substitution would have been predictable. See, e.g., Agrizap, Inc. v. Woodstream Corp., 520 F.3d 1337, 1344 (Fed. Circ. 2008) (concluding that the claims were obvious, noting that “[t]he asserted claims simply substitute a resistive electrical switch for the mechanical pressure switch").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugiura et al. (2015/0025751) discloses limitations for at least claims 1-3, 6-9, and 11-13.
For claim 1, Sugiura et al. disclose a door opening system (100) for a vehicle (1), comprising:
a motorized door (BD; back door having a drive device (108a), [0047]);
a sensor (105) configured to detect obstacles (701, [0091]) within a travel path of the motorized door; and
one or more processors (‘control device’ 107, [0112]) configured to:
receive a door control signal ([0112]);
in response to the door control signal, determine whether an obstacle had been detected within the travel path of the motorized door; and
in response to determining that an obstacle has been detected, block activation ([0103]) of the motorized door.
For claim 11, Sugiura et al. inherently disclose the recited method.
For claims 2 and 12, in response to the door control signal (input such as a foot portion) activate the sensor and the one or more processors.
For claims 3 and 13, in response to determining that an obstacle has not been detected, allow activation ([0093]) of the door.
For claims 6 and 7, in response to determining that an obstacle has been detected, activate one or more lights or sound generator ([0047]).
For claim 8, Sugiura et al. disclose the motorized door being a rear hatch (BD) configured to provide access to a storage compartment of the vehicle.
For claim 9, the sensor is a camera.
Cheringal et al. (12215531) discloses at least all of the limitations of claims 1, 11, and 16 including a memory (718) computing device (704) and the memory (748) are examples of NTCRM as recited.
For claims 2 and 12, in response to the door control signal (102) activate the sensor and the one or more processors (114).
For claims 3 and 13, in response to determining that an obstacle has not been detected, allow activation (Col 6, line 64-Col 7, line 56) of the door.
For claims 5 and 14, in response to determining that an obstacle has been detected while the door is moving, the door opening system can activate the motorized door to move in a reverse direction (Col 2, lines 36-39).
For claim 9, the sensor being a camera.
For claim 16, Cheringal et al. disclose a NTCRM (748) for the computing device (704).
As such, Cheringal et al. disclose at least claims 16-18.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614