DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s)/amendment(s) with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “TS 24.301 V. 17.1.0",hereinafter TS in view of Huang-Fu (US 20200329397 A1) herein after Huang-Fu in view of Chang (US 20160212795 A1) , hereinafter Chang.
Regarding to claim 1,
TS teaches performing an inter-system change from A/Gb or lu mode to S1 mode by a User Equipment (UE) in a mobile communication network, wherein the UE maintains ... Packet Data Network (PDN) connection in S1 mode; ( (page 173 , section 5.5.3.1)The tracking area updating procedure is always initiated by the UE and is used for the following purposes …. in various cases of inter-system change from Iu mode to S1 mode or from A/Gb mode to S1 mode; ) performing a tracking area update (TAU) procedure with the network for deactivating all the EPS bearer contexts associated with the one or more ... PDN connections (( (page 173 , section 5.5.3.1) The tracking area updating procedure is always initiated by the UE and is used for the following purposes ... to indicate to the network that the UE has locally released EPS bearer context(s).)
TS does not explicitly teaches UE maintains multiple Packet Data Network (PDN) connections in S1 mode;... identifying one or more PDN connections that do not support interworking with 5GS; ...locally releasing the one or more identified PDN connections that do not support interworking with 5GS and deactivating evolved packet system (EPS) bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections; .... initiating one or more UE-requested PDN connectivity procedures to establish PDN connections that support interworking with 5GS.
Huang-Fu teaches a method, comprising: wherein the UE maintains multiple Packet Data Network (PDN) connections in S1 mode ([0073] The UE 101 can operate in S1 mode, and single registration mode. The PDN connection can be established in the EPS 151 or can be transferred from a PDU session as a result of an inter-system change from the 5GS 152. ... more than one PDN connections can be established and maintained between the UE 101 and the EPC 110); identifying one or more PDN connections that do not support interworking with 5GS ([0035] In an example, interworking (transferring) to the 5GS 152 is supported for a PDN connection if a default EPS bearer context corresponding to the PDN connection is allowed to be transferred to the 5GS 152); and initiating one or more UE-requested PDN connectivity procedures to establish PDN connections that support interworking with 5GS ([0034-0035] the UE101 operating in single-registration mode performs an inter-system change from S1 mode to N1 mode. Before the inter-system change, while operating in S1 mode and being served by the EPS 151, the UE101 can locally deactivate one or more EPS bearer contexts (for which interworking to the 5GS152 is supported) without notifying the network (the EPC 110 or the 5GC 120). Accordingly, upon the intersystem change from the EPS151 to the 5GS152, the UE102 can include an EPS bearer context status information element (IE) in a registration request message, and transmits the registration message to the 5GC 120 to indicate which EPS bearer contexts are previously active in the UE101 before the inter-system change. In this way, EPS bearer context status can be synchronized between the UE102 and the network of the EPC 110 and the 5GC 120. In an example, interworking (transferring) to the 5GS152 is supported for a PDN connection if a default EPS bearer context corresponding to the PDN connection is allowed to be transferred to the 5GS152).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Huang-Fu to the teaching of TS . The motivation for such an addition would be to have wide-area mobility. ([0004] and [0026] Huang-Fu).
TS and Huang-Fu does not explicitly teach locally releasing the one or more identified PDN ...and deactivating evolved packet system (EPS) bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections;
Chang teaches locally releasing the one or more identified PDN ...and deactivating evolved packet system (EPS) bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections; ([0009] method for handling a PDN disconnection request, performed by a communications device communicating with a network device, comprises: ... transmitting a PDN disconnect request ... to the network device to request to disconnect a predetermined PDN connection; ...and locally deactivating all other PDN connection(s) other than the predetermined PDN connection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Chang to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu . The motivation for such an addition would be to provide more efficient communications services ([0007] Chang)
Regarding Claim 2,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang teaches the method of Claim 1,
TS and Chang does not explicitly teaches wherein the identified one or more PDN connections do not have a PDU session ID (PSI) association
Huang-Fu further teaches wherein the identified one or more PDN connections do not have a PDU session ID (PSI) association ([0035] In an example, interworking (transferring) to the 5GS152 is supported for a PDN connection if a default EPS bearer context corresponding to the PDN connection is allowed to be transferred to the 5GS152. The corresponding default EPS bearer is supported for interworking to the 5GS152 if the corresponding default EPS bearer context ... (2) has an association with 5G QoS parameter.... The 5G QoS parameters can include a PDU session identity, ... or the like).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Huang-Fu to the teaching of TS and Chang. The motivation for such an addition would be to have wide-area mobility. ([0004] and [0026] Huang-Fu).
Regarding Claim 9,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang teaches the method of Claim 1,
TS further teaches wherein the UE performs the TAU procedure after the inter-system change from first mode to second mode is completed . ( page 173 , section 5.5.3.1)The tracking area updating procedure is always initiated by the UE and is used for the following purposes …. in various cases of inter-system change from Iu mode to S1 mode or from A/Gb mode to S1 mode;
Claims 10, 11 and 18 “apparatus” are rejected under the same reasoning as Claims 1, 2 and 9 “method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Park (US 20200389830 A1) hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 3,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang teaches the method of Claim 1,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang does not explicitly teach wherein each of the one or more identified PDN connections is associated to a corresponding EPS bearer having an EPS bearer ID (EBI).
Park teaches wherein each of the one or more identified PDN connections is associated to a corresponding EPS bearer having an EPS bearer ID (EBI) ([0311] When movement of the PDU session requested by the UE is completed by the CN, the MME transfers, to the UE, information including an EPS bearer ID and an IP address of the corresponding PDN connection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Park to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu and Chang. The motivation for such an addition would be to minimizes transmission delay with a more improved data transmission capability (Park [0003]).
Claim 12 “apparatus” is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 3 “method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Song (US 20220272652 A1) hereinafter Song.
Regarding Claim 4,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang teaches the method of Claim 1,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the UE sends a TAU request message that comprises EPS bearer IDs (EBIs) of all the EPS bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections.
Song teaches wherein the UE sends a TAU request message that comprises EPS bearer IDs (EBIs) of all the EPS bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections ([0076] ...UE301 (e.g., the electronic device 101) ..." and [0122] "...the electronic device 101 may transmit a tracking area update (TAU) request through a second network 800 corresponding to an EPS, ... The TAU request may include, for example, an EBI (e.g., EBI=5) of a PDN connection…).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Song to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu and Chang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform a PDN connection modification procedure (Song [0120]).
Claims 13 “apparatus” are rejected under the same reasoning as Claims 4“method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and Song further in view of Keller (US 20210352552 A1),hereinafter Keller .
Regarding Claim 5,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and Song teaches the method of Claim 4,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and Song does not explicitly teach wherein the UE releases the one or more PDN connections without sending individual PDN dis-connectivity request for each of the one or more PDN connections.
Keller teaches wherein the UE releases the one or more PDN connections without sending individual PDN dis- connectivity request for each of the one or more PDN connections ([0015] when all PDN connections of the UE are to be released, triggering terminating the one or more PDN connections may comprise initiating a detach procedure for the UE).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Keller to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and Song. The motivation for such an addition would be to reestablish connectivity with the 4G network prior to moving from the 4G network to the 5G network (Keller [0007]).
Claims 14 “apparatus” are rejected under the same reasoning as Claims 5 “method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of JIN (WO 2019033532 A1) hereinafter Jin.
Regarding Claim 6,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang teaches the method of Claim 1,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang does not explicitly teach wherein no EPS bearer exists after the UE locally deactivated the EPS bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections.
Jin teaches wherein no EPS bearer exists after the UE locally deactivated the EPS bearer contexts associated with the one or more PDN connections (Page 26, Step 303: The UE moves from the first communication system to the second communication system. Specifically, when the UE moves from the first communications system to the second communications system, the UE may send a Tracking Area Update (TAU) message to the core network device of the second communications system, where the tracking area update message includes EPS bearer status, in which the default EPS bearer of the PDU session corresponding to the second communication system is marked as active, and the dedicated EPS bearer corresponding to the second communication system of the PDU session is marked as deactivated. Activation means that the EPS bearer exists on the UE, and deactivation means that the EPS bearer does not exist on the UE. For example, if there is only one PDU session in the UE, and the EBI (EPS Bearer Identity) of the default bearer of the PDN connection corresponding to the PDU session is 5, the EPS bearer status is as shown in Table 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jin to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu and Chang. The motivation for such an addition would be to saving transmission resources (Jin, page 2).
Claim 15 “apparatus” is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 6 “method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Jin and further in view of Huang-Fu (US 11246064 B2) hereinafter Huang-Fu64.
Regarding Claim 7,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Jin teaches the method of Claim 6,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Jin does not explicitly teach wherein the UE initiates a re-attach procedure to establish a first PDN connection that supports interworking with 5GS.
Huang-Fu64 teaches wherein the UE initiates a re-attach procedure to establish a first PDN connection that supports interworking with 5GS (col. 7, row 30-50, FIG. 7 illustrates a first embodiment of providing mapped 5GSM parameters for PDN connection using bearer resource modification procedure in EPS for supporting interworking to 5GS. In the embodiment of FIG. 7, a PDN connection 1 in EPS is transferred from PDP contexts (with NSAPI=1 and NSAPI=2) in 2G/3G system after inter-system change. Initially, PDN connection 1 does not support interworking to 5GS, since the PDN connection is not provided with a PSI, and has no mapped 5GSM parameters of a corresponding PDU session. In one novel aspect, UE provides PSI=1 of a corresponding PDU session using a bearer resource modification procedure for the PDN connection, then 5GSM parameters of the PDU session with PSI=1 can be provided by the network in EPS. As a result, the PDN connection now supports interworking to 5GS. When inter-system change occurs from EPS to 5GS, the PDN connection 1 can be mapped to PDU session 1 with the PSI and the mapped 5GSM parameters. In this example, PDN connection 1 is mapped to PDU session 1, and has two EPS bearers. EBI=1 is associated to QoS flow 1 and flow2, and EBI=2 is associated to QoS flow 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Huang-Fu64 to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Jin. The motivation for such an addition would be to supporting interworking to 5GS for a PDN connection after inter-system change from EPS to 2G/3G (Huang-Fu64, col. 2 row 23).
Claim 16 “apparatus” is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 7 “method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Claims 8 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TS and Huang-Fu and Chang and further in view of Ryu (US 11496880 B2) hereinafter Ryu.
Regarding Claim 8,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang teaches the method of Claim 1,
TS and Huang-Fu and Chang does not explicitly teach wherein the UE performs the TAU procedure upon the inter-system change from first mode to second mode.
Ryu teaches wherein the UE performs the TAU procedure upon the inter-system change from first mode to second mode (Col. 32, row 26-28, Referring to FIG. 17, the UE in the EMM-REGISTERED state initiates the TAU procedure by transmitting a TRACKING AREA UPDATE REQUEST message to the MME in the following cases and Col. 33, row 19-20, q) when the UE performs the intersystem change from an A/Gb mode to the S1 mode and the TIN indicates the "RAT-related TMSI", but when the UE is required to perform the TAU for the IMS voice termination).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ryu to the teaching of TS and Huang-Fu and Chang. The motivation for such an addition would be to efficiently transmit user data after a tracking area update is completed (Ryu, col. 3 row 15 – 16).
Claim 17 “apparatus” is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 8 “method”, where Huang-Fu teaches [0008] method and apparatus.
Conclusion
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465