DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20160323428) in view of Jang (US 20220224167).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device capable of wireless charging (shown in figure 1 item 100 defined in paragraph [0039] wherein an electronic device is interpreted as a mobile terminal) ,
comprising: a first circuit board(shown in figure 7 item 460 defined as a Printed Circuit Board (PCB));
a second circuit board (shown in figures 4-7 item 430 defined in paragraph [0082] as a display panel);
a battery (shown in figure 7 item 480 defined in paragraph [0088] as a battery);
a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) configured to electrically connect the first circuit board and the second circuit board to each other (shown in figure 7 item 440 defined in paragraph [0088] as an FPCB. Figure 7 shows wherein the FPCB 440 is electrically connected to first circuit item 460 and second circuit item 430); and
a wireless charging antenna disposed in a stacked layered arrangement on the FPBC (figures 5 -7, show a wireless antenna item 300 in a stacked layered arrangement with the FPBC item 440), and
wherein at least a part of the FPBC is arranged to at least partially overlap a width range of a conductive pattern of the wireless charging antenna (figures 5 – 7 shows wherein the FPCB overlaps a width range of pattern of item 300. Paragraphs [0085] – [0085] discloses wherein the antenna 30 may be positioned on the FPCB. The antenna may be integrally formed with FPCB. This includes partially overlapping the conductive pattern), and
wherein at least one conductor of the FPCB extends in a direction parallel to and/or perpendicular to the conductive pattern of the wireless charging antenna (figures 4, 5, and 6 show wherein the FPCB extends in a parallel and/or perpendicular to the conductive pattern of the wireless charging antenna).
Kim teaches a flexible circuit board, but does not explicitly teach a shielding member comprising an electromagnetic shielding material stacked between the FPCB and the wireless charging antenna.
Jang teaches a shielding member comprising an electromagnetic shielding material stacked between the FPCB and the wireless charging antenna (paragraphs [0075]-[0077] and figure 5 show a shielding sheet 100 is stacked between a circuit board 340 and a wireless antenna 210. Additionally, a battery 350 is on top of the circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Kim reference with the charging system of the Jang reference so that wireless charging efficiency is enhanced while satisfying the properties required for Qi certification.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found Jang reference in paragraph [0010] wherein enhancing wireless charging efficiency and satisfying the properties required for Qi certification is taught.
Kim figure 7 shows an exploded view of electronic device item 100 with a first and second circuit, battery and an FPCB
Jang figure 5 shows wherein a shielding sheet 100 is stacked between a circuit board 340 and a wireless antenna item 210.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising wherein the shielding member is configured to substantially block noise caused by an electromagnetic force and/or an operating frequency of the wireless charging antenna and corresponds to the pattern of the wireless charging antenna (paragraph [0081] teaches wherein the shielding layer substantially blocks noise).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the wireless charging antenna comprises a coil having a circular pattern, and wherein the circular pattern has a width of a first length (shown in figure 3 wherein the antenna item 310 is a coil with a circular pattern, with a width of a first length).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the FPCB has a rectangular shape and a width of a second length less than or equal to the first length (figures 5 – 7 show the FPCB with a rectangular shape and a width of a second length less than or equal to the first length).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein the FPCB comprises a partial area included in the width range of the circular pattern and is stacked on and at least partially overlaps the wireless charging antenna (figures 3–7 show wherein the connection area is included in a width range of wireless antenna item 300. Figures 3–7 show wherein the wireless antenna item 300 is form directly on the Flexible Printed Circuit Board shown in figure 3 item 312 as a flexible board, thus the FPCB overlaps the coil as it is disposed directly on the coil).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the FPCB comprises:
a first terminal area (shown in figure 6 item 452 defined in paragraph [0087] as a connector);
a second terminal area (shown in figure 6 item 454 defined in paragraph [0087] as a connector); and
a connection area configured to connect the first terminal area and the second terminal area (paragraph [0087] teaches wherein the connectors items 454 and 454 are connected), and wherein the connection area has a width of a third length less than or equal to the first length and a curved shape corresponding to the circular pattern (shown in figure 6 wherein the connection area has a width of a third length less than or equal to the first length and a curved shape corresponding to the circular pattern) .
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the connection area is included in the width range of the circular pattern and is stacked on and at least partially overlaps the wireless charging antenna (figures 3–7 show wherein the connection area is included in a width range of wireless antenna item 300. Figures 3–7 show wherein the wireless antenna item 300 is form directly on the Flexible Printed Circuit Board shown in figure 3 item 312 as a flexible board, thus the FPCB overlaps the coil as it is disposed directly on the coil).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first terminal area and the second terminal area have a quadrangular shape and are stacked on and at least partially overlap the wireless charging antenna (shown in in figure 6 wherein the termina area has a quadrangular shape and is stacked at least partially on the wireless antenna).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the wireless charging antenna comprises a coil having a quadrangular pattern, and wherein the quadrangular pattern has a width of a fourth length (shown in figure 3 wherein the antenna coil item 310 has a quadrangular pattern with a width of a fourth length).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the FPCB has a rectangular shape and a width of a fifth length less than or equal to the fourth length (shown in figures 4-7 show wherein the FPCB has a rectangular shape and a width of a fifth length less than the fourth length).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the FPCB comprises a partial area included in the width range of the quadrangular pattern and is stacked on and at least partially overlaps the wireless charging antenna (shown in figure 7 wherein the FPCB has a partial area included in the width range, as length portion partially covers the coil. Figure 7 shows wherein FPCB at least partially overlaps the antenna, as it is at covering the antenna coil).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 9, wherein the FPCB comprises:
a first terminal area (shown in figure 6 item 452 defined in paragraph [0087] as a connector);
a second terminal area (shown in figure 6 item 454 defined in paragraph [0087] as a connector); and
a connection area configured to connect the first terminal area and the second terminal area (paragraph [0087] teaches wherein the connectors items 454 and 454 are connected), and wherein the connection area has a width of a sixth length less than or equal to the fourth length and a shape corresponding to the quadrangular pattern (shown in figures 5 and 6 wherein the connection area, items 452 and 454 has a sixth length).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the connection area is included in the width range of the quadrangular pattern and is stacked on and at least partially overlaps the wireless charging antenna (figures 5 and 6 show wherein the connection area items 450, 452 and 454 are included in the width range of the quadrangular pattern of the antenna. Figures 5 and 6 show wherein the connection area partially overlaps the coil).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the first terminal area and the second terminal area have a quadrangular shape and are stacked on and at least partially overlap the wireless charging antenna (figures 5 and 6 shows wherein the first and second terminals items 450, 452 and 454 have a quadrangular shape and are stacked on at least partially overlap the antenna).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the first circuit board is a main board (shown in figure 7 item 460 defined in paragraphs [0088] – [0089] as a PCB with at least electronic element),
wherein the second circuit board is a display printed circuit board (PCB) (shown in figure 7 item 430 defined in paragraph [0082] as a display panel),
wherein in the FPCB, electric connection is made in direction from the first circuit board to the second circuit board and/or from the second circuit board to the first circuit board (shown in figure 7 wherein the FPCB item 440 connects from the first circuit board item 460 and the second circuit board item 430) , and
wherein the wireless charging antenna is configured to: transmit and/or receive power in a frequency band corresponding to the wireless power consortium (WPC) standard, wirelessly receive power from the outside, and transmit power to the battery (paragraph [0066] teaches wherein the battery may be wirelessly charge by magnetic induction of electromagnetic resonance which is known in the art to be provided by an antenna).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the Kim reference does not disclose the feature in which the FPCB can be disposed on at least a portion of the coil pattern. The Kim reference discloses wherein the antenna coils is integrally formed on a portion of the flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). Because the coil pattern is formed on the FPCB, the FPCB necessarily occupies the same region as the coil pattern. Thus, the FPCB is disposed on at least a portion of the coil pattern as recited in claim 1.
The applicant’s argument that Kim fails to disclose a first and second circuit board. Specifically, the applicant argues that “the “display panel” is not a circuit board that is capable of performing signal processing and power distribution.” The claims simply state, “a first circuit board; a second circuit board…” and do not require the capabilities of “performing signal processing and power distribution. A display panel, as Kim discloses in [0080] may be an LCD or OLED display panel which is known in the art to include a circuit. Paragraph [0049] discloses wherein the display unit includes a touchscreen and a controller, which clearly indicates a circuit board. The applicant’s specification states in its USPGPUB US 20230179020, [0135], “the second circuit board 820 may be a display PCB.”
The applicant argues that Kim does not disclose, “a wireless charging antenna disposed in a stacked layer arrangement on an FPCB.” Kim figures 4, 7, 9 and 16 show wherein the wireless charging antenna is in a stacked layered arrangement wherein the FPCB is overlapping the antenna.
The applicant argues that Kim reference does not describe antenna pattern geometry in terms of width range. Figures 7, 13, and 14 show different pattern geometries for the antenna. The claims do not require different pattern geometries, merely that the FPCB is in a parallel or perpendicular pattern to the conductive pattern. Figures 7, 13, and 14 show different pattern geometries wherein the circuit board or FPCB may be disposed on the antenna.
Applicant’s arguments, regarding, “a shielding member comprising an electromagnetic shielding material disposed between the FPCB and the wireless charging antenna,” have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20080164840 A1 Noncontact Power-Transmission Coil Kato; Hiroshi Et Al.
Us 20130249302 A1 Wireless Power Receiver An; Jeong Wook Et Al.
Us 20150077296 A1 Antenna Assembly An; Jeong Wook Et Al.
Us 10629366 B2 Magnetic Shielding Unit Lee; Dong Hoon Et Al.
Us 20180090975 A1 Wireless Power Transmission Lee; Hee Dong Et Al.
Us 20200343745 A1 Wearable Charging Device For Smartwatch Choi; Teakjin
Us 20210050742 A1 Two-Sided Inductive Charging Coil Callan; Casey Sean Et Al.
Us 20200251929 A1 System And Method For Infrastructure Partovi; Afshin
Us 12456880 B1 Wireless Power Transfer Li; Ye Et Al.
Us 20230179020 A1 Electronic Device Wireless Charging Kim; Younghwa Et Al.
Us 20230275467 A1 Wireless Charging System And Method Farkas; Alexander T.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859