DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 1,5-11 and 15-19 been renumbered as 1-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification [0007] and [0042] and prior art cited in the IDS appear to teach that the antiferroelectric composition is an oxide. The composition listed in the claim does not include the oxygen. There is no teaching as to how to produce an antiferrolelectric composition without the oxygen. Note, e.g. claim 10 which teaches the precursors are all oxides.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The specification [0007] and [0042] and prior art cited in the IDS appear to teach that the antiferroelectric composition is an oxide. The composition listed in the claim does not include the oxygen. It is unclear as to what the compostion should be. Note, e.g. claim 10 which teaches the precursors are all oxides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112062578 A .
CN 112062578 A teaches a material having the composition
PbxLa(1-x) (ZrySnzTi (1-y-z)) O3,
wherein 0 <x<1, 0 <y <1, 0 <z <1.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05 I. Since the claimed composition lies within the composition disclosed by the reference it is prima facie obvious.
Since the composition of the reference includes the same as that claimed, it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112062578 A as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of DE 102012106425 A1.
DE 102012106425 A1 discloses a capacitor made from an antiferromagnetic perovskite material with copper electrodes. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the material of ‘578 in this type of capacitor in view of the teachings in ‘425.
Claim(s) 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112062578 A in view of CN 108929112 A .
CN 112062578 A does not disclose a method of making the antiferroelectric by a calcining/sintering process.
CN 108929112 A discloses a method of manufacturing a ceramic by:
Preparing a precursor mixture of PbO/La2O3/ZrO2/TiO2/SnO2;
calcining the precursor mixture;
manufacturing a molded product by pressing the calcined material; and
sintering the molded product to obtain a sintered body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to prepare the material of CN 112062578 A by the process of CN 108929112 A as simple substitution of one known process for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (KSR).
Since the composition of the reference is the same as those claimed herein it follows that the material discussed above would inherently possess the properties recited in the claims. See MPEP 2112.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Products of identical composition may not have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Circ. 1990).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A FIORILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731