Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on September 9, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Since the restriction requirement properly made, the restriction requirement is now made final.
Priority
The claim to priority to IT 102022000001979, filed on February 4, 2022 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on January 31, 2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “anchor element” and “support elements” (claims 8 and 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said” should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “first openings” recited in line 9 should be changed to “first opening”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a device for inflating the walls …”; and “actuators for moving the blades …: in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 11-12, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 11 recites “a clamping tool”, a fruit” and “a first opening” in lines 2-3 renders the claim indefinite and unclear whether they are the same “a clamping tool”, a fruit” and “a first opening” in claim 1 or not. Clarification is requested. NOTE: for purpose of examination, it is presumed it is the same clamping tool, fruit and first opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomelleri (US Pat. 3,835,765) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Tomelleri discloses an apparatus for destoning and halving fruit having a clamping tool for clamping a fruit (8), in particular peaches (Abstract), in a given position in a processing station of a pitting machine, the clamping tool (38) having a tubular shape and extending about a given axis and being provided with: a first opening (bottom of 38) configured to allow the clamping tool (38) to be arranged over and around the fruit (8); a second opening (top of 38) smaller than the first opening and arranged on the opposite side of the first opening to allow the insertion of cutting tools (two blades 26) inside the clamping tool (38) in a direction parallel to the axis; two through channel (38a) substantially parallel to the axis extending from the first opening to the second opening; and two walls (Fig. 2, two walls of 38) facing each other and separated by the channel (38a) and conveying towards the axis between the first and second openings (Fig. 1-2; Col. 1, Lines 53-59; Col. 2, Line 59 to Col. 3, Line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomelleri (US Pat. 3,835,765) in view of Crescenzo (US Pub. 2019/0069592) (new cited).
Regarding claim 2, Tomelleri discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the walls (Fig. 2, two walls of 38) except the walls are made of deformable material, in particular rubber. Crescenzo discloses the walls are made of deformable material (Fig. 5-6; Par. 41 and 51; Claim 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Tomelleri, the walls are made of deformable material, in particular rubber, as taught by Crescenzo, for the purpose of clamping/holding the fruit securely.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomelleri (US Pat. 3,835,765) in view of Berry et al. (US Pat. 2,852,053) (new cited).
Regarding claim 3, Tomelleri discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including a tubular body (38) configured to support the wall, the tubular body extending about the axis except two through grooves parallel to the axis; and two faces separated by the grooves and converging toward the axis. Barry et al. discloses the tubular body (10) provided with a through groove (12) parallel to the axis (vertical axis); face separate by the groove (2) and converging toward the axis (Fig. 1 and 4; Col. 1, Lines 47-57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Tomelleri, two through grooves parallel to the axis; and two faces separated by the grooves and converging toward the axis, as taught by Barry et al., for the purpose of providing projecting lug and slot for guiding the plunger.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomelleri (US Pat. 3,835,765) in view of Berry et al. (US Pat. 2,852,053) and further view of Crescenzo (US Pub. 2019/0069592).
Regarding claim 2, Tomelleri/Berry disclose substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the walls (Fig. 2, two walls of 38) except the walls adhere to the faces. Crescenzo discloses the walls (29) adhere to the faces (39) (Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Tomelleri/Berry, the walls adhere to the faces, as taught by Crescenzo, for the purpose of supporting the deformable wall.
Regarding claim 5, Crescenzo discloses the tubular body (28) is coated along its inner surface (27) with a tubular membrane of deformable material, which follows the shape of the inner surface (Fig. 5-6; Par. 41 and 51; Claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, Crescenzo discloses the tubular membrane (27 or 69, 70) is made integral with the tubular body (28 or 58, 59) at the first and second openings (Fig. 5-6 and 17).
Regarding claim 7, Crescenzo discloses the tubular body (28) comprises a through hole (54) at each face for feeding a compressible fluid between each face and the respective wall (Fig. 6 and 17; Par. 51 and 54).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761