DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 80 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 80 includes a copy of claim 81. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 75-83, 85, 87-95, 97 and 105-107 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beall et al. (US 2016/0102010).
Regarding claim 75, Beall teaches a microcrystalline glass-ceramic comprising SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, ZrO2 and P2O5, see abstract, Table 1 and [0010 & 0170].
Regarding claim 76, Beall teaches examples of the glass-ceramic with components that fall within the claimed percentages, see Table 1. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, P2O5, K2O, ZnO, Na2O and B2O3 all within the claimed ranges. Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 77, the reference teaches examples that satisfy the one or more of the 12 claimed situations. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has an P2O5 + ZrO2 value of 6, which satisfies situation 3; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 78, the reference teaches examples that satisfy one or more of the 12 claimed situations. For example, Table 1 Composition 3 has an Li2O / (ZrO2 + P2O5) value of 1.77, which satisfies situation 10; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 79, the reference teaches examples that satisfy the one or more of the 12 claimed situations. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has an (MgO + ZnO) / ZrO2 value of 0, which satisfies situation 8; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 80, Beall teaches examples of the glass-ceramic with components that fall within the claimed percentages, see Table 1. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has Li2O, P2O5, K2O, ZnO, Na2O and B2O3 all within the claimed ranges; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claims 81-83, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic contains a lithium silicate crystalline phase of lithium disilicate or lithium metasilicate, which corresponds to lithium monosilicate, in range amounts that are the same as the claimed ranges and with examples within the claimed ranges [0149 & 0151]; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 85, Beall teaches examples of the glass-ceramic with properties that fall within the claimed ranges, see Table 1. For example, Table 1 Composition 2 has a fracture toughness of 1.13 MPa·m1/2, which is within the claimed range [0201]; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 87, Beall teaches a microcrystalline glass-ceramic comprising SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, ZrO2 and P2O5, see abstract, Table 1 and [0010 & 0170].
Regarding claim 88, Beall teaches examples of the glass-ceramic with components that fall within the claimed percentages, see Table 1. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has SiO2, Al2O3, Li2O, P2O5, K2O, ZnO, Na2O and B2O3 all within the claimed ranges. Note that a specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 89, the reference teaches examples that satisfy the one or more of the 12 claimed situations. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has an P2O5 + ZrO2 value of 6, which satisfies situation 3; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 90, the reference teaches examples that satisfy one or more of the 12 claimed situations. For example, Table 1 Composition 3 has an Li2O / (ZrO2 + P2O5) value of 1.77, which satisfies situation 10; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 91, the reference teaches examples that satisfy the one or more of the 12 claimed situations. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has an (MgO + ZnO) / ZrO2 value of 0, which satisfies situation 8; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 92, Beall teaches examples of the glass-ceramic with components that fall within the claimed percentages, see Table 1. For example, Table 1 Composition 1 has Li2O, P2O5, K2O, ZnO, Na2O and B2O3 all within the claimed ranges; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claims 93-95, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic contains a lithium silicate crystalline phase of lithium disilicate or lithium metasilicate, which corresponds to lithium monosilicate, in range amounts that are the same as the claimed ranges and with examples within the claimed ranges [0149 & 0151]; see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claim 97, the reference teaches examples of glass-ceramics with crystallinity amount that is within the claimed range [0150-0151] see MPEP 2131.03 I.
Regarding claims 105-107, the reference discloses the glass-ceramic as useful for display applications and hand-held, desk-top and wall-mounted consumer device coverings [0007 & 0149].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 84, 86, 96 and 98-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beall et al. (US 2016/0102010).
Regarding claim 84, the reference discloses the glass ceramic contains petalite in about 20%, which is considered to overlap the claimed range [0150]; see MPEP 2144.05 I: a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.
Regarding claim 86, the reference discloses Cu2O as from 0 to about 3%, which overlaps the claimed [0173]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 96, the reference discloses the glass ceramic contains petalite in about 20%, which is considered to overlap the claimed range [0150]; see MPEP 2144.05 I: a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close.
Regarding claim 98, the reference discloses Cu2O as from 0 to about 3%, which overlaps the claimed [0173]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 99, the reference discloses a glass composition comprising, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; ZnO: 0-10%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; and ZrO2: 0.2 2-15%, which overlap the claimed ranges [0063-0071]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 100, the reference discloses the glass composition comprising, in wt%: Na2O: 0-5% and ZnO: 0-10%, which overlap the claimed range [0068 & 0069]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 101-103, the reference renders obvious a glass composition that satisfies situation 8 with a value of 0 when MgO and ZnO are 0, see above discussion.
Regarding claim 104, the reference discloses a glass composition comprising, in wt %: SiO2: 55-80%; Al2O3: 2-20%; Li2O: 5-20%; B2O3: 0-10%; Na2O: 0-5%; ZnO: 0-10%; P2O5: 0.5-6%; and ZrO2: 0.2 2-15%, which overlap the claimed ranges [0063-0071]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Double Patenting
Claims 75-83, 85-95, 97, 98 and 105-107 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 75-84, 86-96 and 98-103 of copending Application No. 18/019,053 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claims a microcrystalline glass with similar compositions and crystalline phases.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783