DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 7, 9, and 11-13 have been cancelled. Claims 21-27 are newly added. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 15-16, and 18-19 have been amended. Claims 1-7, and 15-27 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Amendments and remarks filed with an RCE have been fully considered but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The amended claims recite a “receiving” limitation that recites “… and the dedicated PUSCH resource is used for directly sending small data to the network side device un a case of an idle state or an inactive state.” From the amended claim language, it is unclear which device is in the idle or inactive state. Is it referring to the network side device or to a terminal? For purposes of examination, it is understood that it refers to the terminal device, and the claims are interpreted as such. Proper clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lei et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0195546; hereinafter Lei).
Regarding claim 1 Lei discloses an uplink timing advance (TA) value processing method, applied to a terminal and comprising:
receiving a first TA value configured by a network side device, wherein the first TA value is an uplink timing advance value corresponding to a first uplink resource (paragraphs 0123, 0145, 0147; wherein during initial access to the network, the terminal receives a first TA value from the base station), and the first uplink resource is a dedicated physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configured by the network side device (paragraphs 0109, 0111; wherein the terminal receives an uplink grant for transmission of a PUSCH), and the dedicated PUSCH resource is used for directly sending small data to the network side device in a case of an idle state or an inactive state (paragraph 0177, wherein the timing advance value is applied to the transmission of the random access message or a transmission of uplink small data);
triggering a random access procedure and receiving a second TA value in the random access procedure, wherein the random access procedure is triggered after the first TA is received and the second TA value is an uplink timing advance value (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein after entering idle/inactive state, the terminal may trigger a random access procedure and receives an updated TA value);
after receiving the second TA value, if the random access procedure fails, using the first TA value to send the uplink signal on the first uplink resource; or (note that because of the “or” only one of these limitations is required to be met)
when the second TA value is received and the random access procedure is finished successfully, applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the terminal can update the TA value);
wherein the applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource comprises: using the second TA value to update the first TA value, and applying the second TA value to sending an uplink signal on the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the updated value is used by the terminal for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 2 Lei discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal after the random access procedure is triggered or after the random access procedure is finished or after the second TA value is received (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein an updated TA value can be used after the value is received).
Regarding claim 4 Lei discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises using the second TA value to send an uplink signal after the random access procedure is finished (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the updated TA value is used after the random access is completed).
Regarding claim 5 Lei discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises not using the second TA value to send an uplink signal when the second TA value is received and the first TA value is still valid (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the TA value may be maintained from the initial value received).
Regarding claim 6 Lei discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the not using the second TA value to send an uplink signal comprises any one of the following:
ignoring or discarding the second TA value; and not using the second TA value to send an uplink signal that is in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the terminal may make a determination to maintain the initial TA value and uses it for the upcoming UL transmission); wherein in a case of ignoring or discarding the second TA value, the method further comprises: using the first TA value to send an uplink signal that is in the random access procedure or after the random access procedure (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the terminal may make a determination to maintain the initial TA value and uses it for the upcoming UL transmission); or
the not using the second TA value to send an uplink signal that is in the random access procedure comprises at least one of the following: using the first TA value to send an uplink signal that is in the random access procedure or after the random access procedure; and saving the second TA value (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the terminal may make a determination to maintain the initial TA value and uses it for the upcoming UL transmission), and using the second TA value to send an uplink signal that is after the random access procedure.
Regarding claim 7 Lei discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises using the second TA value to send the uplink signal that is in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein an updated TA value can be used after the value is received), wherein a timer corresponding to the second TA value is different from a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the timing advance information is updated, which would require a new timer since the initial one is disabled).
Regarding claim 15 Lei discloses a terminal (fig. 6), comprising a processor (processor 604), a memory (memory 605), and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor (paragraph 0209), wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, steps of the uplink timing advance (TA) value processing method are implemented, wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first TA value configured by a network side device, wherein the first TA value is an uplink timing advance value corresponding to a first uplink resource (paragraphs 0123, 0145, 0147; wherein during initial access to the network, the terminal receives a first TA value from the base station), and the first uplink resource is a dedicated physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configured by the network side device (paragraphs 0109, 0111; wherein the terminal receives an uplink grant for transmission of a PUSCH), and the dedicated PUSCH resource is used for directly sending small data to the network side device in a case of an idle state or an inactive state (paragraph 0177, wherein the timing advance value is applied to the transmission of the random access message or a transmission of uplink small data);
triggering a random access procedure and receiving a second TA value in the random access procedure, wherein the random access procedure is triggered after the first TA is received and the second TA value is an uplink timing advance value (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein after entering idle/inactive state, the terminal may trigger a random access procedure and receives an updated TA value);
after receiving the second TA value, if the random access procedure fails, using the first TA value to send the uplink signal on the first uplink resource; or (note that because of the “or” only one of these limitations is required to be met)
when the second TA value is received and the random access procedure is finished successfully, applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the terminal can update the TA value);
wherein the applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource comprises: using the second TA value to update the first TA value, and applying the second TA value to sending an uplink signal on the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the updated value is used by the terminal for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 16 Lei discloses the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the method further comprises stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal after the random access procedure is triggered or after the random access procedure is finished or after the second TA value is received (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein an updated TA value can be used after the value is received).
Regarding claim 18 Lei discloses a chip (figure 6), comprising a processor and a communications interface (figure 6), wherein the communications interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction of a network side device to implement the uplink timing advance (TA) value processing method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving a first TA value configured by a network side device, wherein the first TA value is an uplink timing advance value corresponding to a first uplink resource (paragraphs 0123, 0145, 0147; wherein during initial access to the network, the terminal receives a first TA value from the base station), and the first uplink resource is a dedicated physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource configured by the network side device (paragraphs 0109, 0111; wherein the terminal receives an uplink grant for transmission of a PUSCH), and the dedicated PUSCH resource is used for directly sending small data to the network side device in a case of an idle state or an inactive state (paragraph 0177, wherein the timing advance value is applied to the transmission of the random access message or a transmission of uplink small data);
triggering a random access procedure and receiving a second TA value in the random access procedure, wherein the random access procedure is triggered after the first TA is received and the second TA value is an uplink timing advance value (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein after entering idle/inactive state, the terminal may trigger a random access procedure and receives an updated TA value);
after receiving the second TA value, if the random access procedure fails, using the first TA value to send the uplink signal on the first uplink resource; or (note that because of the “or” only one of these limitations is required to be met)
when the second TA value is received and the random access procedure is finished successfully, applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the terminal can update the TA value);
wherein the applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource comprises: using the second TA value to update the first TA value, and applying the second TA value to sending an uplink signal on the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein the updated value is used by the terminal for uplink transmission).
Regarding claim 19 Lei discloses the chip according to claim 18, wherein the method further comprises stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal after the random access procedure is triggered or after the random access procedure is finished or after the second TA value is received (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein an updated TA value can be used after the value is received).
Regarding claim 21 Lei discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource further comprises: restarting a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0134-0135, 0151; applying an offset delta value to the timing stored at the terminal).
Regarding claim 22 Lei discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource comprises any one of the following: restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource by using a timer value that is configured when the first TA value is configured; and restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource by using a timer value that is configured in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0134-0135, 0151; applying an offset delta value to the timing stored at the terminal).
Regarding claim 23 Lei discloses the terminal according to claim 15, wherein the applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource further comprises: restarting a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0134-0135, 0151; applying an offset delta value to the timing stored at the terminal).
Regarding claim 24 Lei discloses the terminal according to claim 23, wherein the restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource comprises any one of the following: restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource by using a timer value that is configured when the first TA value is configured; and restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource by using a timer value that is configured in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0134-0135, 0151; applying an offset delta value to the timing stored at the terminal).
Regarding claim 25 Lei discloses the terminal according to claim 15, the method further comprises: stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal after the random access procedure is triggered or after the random access procedure is finished or after the second TA value is received (paragraphs 0126-0129, 0140-0142, 0153-0154, 0179-0180; wherein an updated TA value can be used after the value is received).
Regarding claim 26 Lei discloses the chip according to claim 18, wherein the applying the second TA value to the first uplink resource further comprises: restarting a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource (paragraphs 0134-0135, 0151; applying an offset delta value to the timing stored at the terminal).
Regarding claim 27 Lei discloses the chip according to claim 26, wherein the restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource comprises any one of the following: restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource by using a timer value that is configured when the first TA value is configured; and restarting the timer corresponding to the first uplink resource by using a timer value that is configured in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0134-0135, 0151; applying an offset delta value to the timing stored at the terminal).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Höglund et al. US Patent Application Publication 2022/0007391 (hereinafter Höglund).
Regarding claim 3 Lei discloses the method according to claim 2. Lei fails to explicitly disclose but Höglund, in the same field of endeavor related to timing advance updates, discloses wherein the stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal comprises at least one of the following: releasing the first uplink resource; and determining that a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource expires (paragraphs 0323-0332; determining whether a timer has expired). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Höglund, in order to increase efficiency (Höglund: paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 17 Lei discloses the terminal according to claim 16. Lei fails to explicitly disclose but Höglund, in the same field of endeavor related to timing advance updates, discloses wherein the stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal comprises at least one of the following: releasing the first uplink resource; and determining that a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource expires (paragraphs 0323-0332; determining whether a timer has expired). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Höglund, in order to increase efficiency (Höglund: paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 20 Lei discloses the chip according to claim 19. Lei fails to explicitly disclose but Höglund, in the same field of endeavor related to timing advance updates, discloses wherein the stopping using the first TA value to send an uplink signal comprises at least one of the following: releasing the first uplink resource; and determining that a timer corresponding to the first uplink resource expires (paragraphs 0323-0332; determining whether a timer has expired). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lei with the teachings of Höglund, in order to increase efficiency (Höglund: paragraph 0013).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPGPUB 2022/0141810 to Takeda et al. – which discloses method can be considered such that, under an assumption that only the user equipment 10 maintaining a valid TA can transmit data using a PUR, if the user equipment 10 does not maintain a valid TA, the user equipment 10 falls back to a Random Access Channel (RACH) procedure or an Early Data Transmission (EDT) procedure to obtain a valid TA again.
USPN 12,004,204 to Shin et al. – that discloses performing a random access procedure for updating the TA when the TA is not valid as a result of determining the validity of the TA.
Conclusion
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466