Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 1:
a tilting platform;
a cantilevered platform;
a configuration where the base platform only surrounds one or two sides the collapsing frame (note that the only depicted configuration requires at least three sides to include the access platform and the extension tracks it moves on).
Claim 4:
a kick plate;
a harness tie-in
Claim 6:
a motorized drive, a pneumatic drive, a manual crank, a gear drive, a chain drive and/or a manual slide to extend and/or retract the access platform
Claim 7: a controller
Claims 8 and 15: service platform support
Claims 9, 16 and 20: service platform support that may be raised and/or lowered, tilted, inclined and/or cantilevered to allow access to different portions of the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus.
Claims 10 and 17: an interlock with the blown film extrusion apparatus to prevent operation of the blown film extrusion apparatus when the access platform is not in the home position.
Claim 11: a configuration where the base platform only surrounds one or two sides the collapsing frame (note that the only depicted configuration requires at least three sides to include the access platform and the extension tracks it moves on).
Claim 14 and 19: a motorized drive with a controller
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears the word “service” in line 7 should be “access”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 11, the disclosure does not appear to include a clear written description of the claimed configuration where the base platform only surrounds one or two sides the collapsing frame (as claimed by the limitation “at least one, and up to four sides”). Currently, the only disclosed configuration requires at least three sides to include the access platform and the extension tracks it moves on. It appears the configuration where the base platform only surrounds one or two sides the collapsing frame would require a significantly different construction than what is currently disclosed. As noted in the above Drawing Objections, the configuration is also absent from the figures.
With respect to claims 10 and 17, the limitation that does not appear to be comply with the written description requirement is as follows: “further comprising an interlock with the blown film extrusion apparatus to prevent operation of the blown film extrusion apparatus when the access platform is not in the home position”. It appears the interlock is only mentioned in the specification as an option, but no details are provided as to what exactly it comprises, where it resides on the apparatus, or how it operates. As noted in the above Drawing Objections, the interlock is also absent from the figures.
With respect to claims 9, 16 and 20 there are no structural details as to the service platform support that may be raised and/or lowered, tilted, inclined and/or cantilevered to allow access to different portions of the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus. Similar to the interlock in claims 10 and 17, these service platform support options are only mentioned in the specification, but not depicted in the drawings and no details are provided that would allow one to know what exactly the service platform support comprises, where it resides on the apparatus, or how it operates.
With respect to claim 19, the examiner does not see anywhere in the disclosure where there is explanation of a system on the access or base platform for extending or retracting the service platform, or a controller for such drive.
No new matter should be added.
Claims 1-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is currently unclear if applicant intends independent claims 1 and 11 to be directed to the platform in combination with the blown film apparatus, or just the platform. While claim 18 clearly discloses the apparatus in combination with platform, each of independent claims 1 and 11 are initially directed only to a service platform for use with a blown film extrusion apparatus, and do not require or claim the blown film extrusion apparatus; at least in the preamble. However, limitations of claims 1 and 11, such as “a base platform substantially surrounding a collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus” appear to be directed to the combination. If applicant intends claims 1 and 11 to be directed to the service platform only, the above noted limitation should be amended to clarify that (i.e. a base platform for substantially surrounding a collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus). Additionally, both claims 10 and 17 appear to transition to claiming the platform in combination with the apparatus, rendering the claims generally indefinite and unclear as to what is or it not included in the claims. Appropriate correction and clarification are required.
With respect to claims 10 and 17, it is unclear as to what exactly the interlock comprises, where it resides on the apparatus, or how it operates ((see also 112(a) rejection and Drawing Objections), rendering the claim generally indefinite and unclear.
With respect to claim 20, it is unclear if the service platform support that may be raised or lowered is the same as or in addition to the motorized drive that extends and/or retracts the service platform in in claim 19.
Dependent claims not directly claimed are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hokanson et al. (US pub 2020/0270107) in view of Ricci (US pub 2011/0073409), best understood in light of the above rejections.
Hokanson et al. disclose:
A service platform (10, figure 1) for (capable of use with a blown film extrusion apparatus, the service platform having:
a base platform (14; figure 2) [for] substantially surrounding a collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus on at least one, and up to four side(s) (figure 3; note gap 84 for positioning the platform around a vertical structure; see also figures 14 and 15 with vertical structure 114 positioned within the gap) of the blown film extrusion apparatus, the base platform comprising a frame (80, figure 2), decking (82), and extension tracks (within 80, for sliding of 86) or a tilting and/or cantilevered platform;
an access platform (86, figure 3) extending from the base platform (figure 3), the access platform comprising decking (86, figure 3), wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks (slid within 80) of the base platform between a home position distal from the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus (when 86 is positioned within 80), and a range of service positions (extending out from 80), the service positions being more proximate the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus (figure 3).
Hokanson et al. do not clearly disclose the access platform comprising a frame, and wheels, wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks of the base platform on the wheels between a home position and a range of service positions.
However, Ricci teaches: the access platform (PDN) comprising a frame (9B-9G) and wheels (WLs), wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks (13, figure 8B) of the base platform (9A) on the wheels between a home position (figure 8A) and a range of service positions (figure 9A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with a frame and wheels as taught by Ricci, so as to smoothly and easily transition the access platform with respect to the base platform.
Re: claim 2, Ricci teaches: wherein the extension tracks of the base platform are v-shaped, linear bearing (figure 8B), tube- or flat-bars (figure 8B), and/or pipes.
Re: claim 3, Ricci teaches: wherein the wheels of the access platform are v-grooved, flat rollers (WLs.), linear bearing (WLs), and/or sliding tube configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with a tracks and wheels as taught by Ricci, so as to smoothly and easily transition the access platform with respect to the base platform.
Re: claim 4: Hokanson et al. disclose: wherein the base platform (14) further includes a handrail (16, figure 2) and/or a kick plate (88, 90, 92; figure 3) and/or a harness tie-in.
Re: claim 5: Ricci teaches: wherein the access platform (PDN) further includes a handrail (4, figure 6C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with a handrail as taught by Ricci, so as to provide additional user safety for users on the extended access platforms.
Re: claim 6, Ricci teaches wherein one of the base platform or the access platform includes a motorized drive, a pneumatic drive ([0036],[0048]), a manual crank, a gear drive, a chain drive and/or a manual slide (figure 9A) to extend and/or retract the access platform.
7. The service platform for a blown film extrusion apparatus of claim 6, further including a controller (Ricci, [0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with a controlled drive system as taught by Ricci, so as to provide users with precise positionings means, for safety purposes, and for preventing damage to the structure the platform is surrounding.
Re: claim 8, Hokanson et al. disclose: a service platform support (22; figure 2).
Re: claim 9, Hokanson et al. disclose wherein the service platform support may be raised and/or lowered (via 26), tilted, inclined and/or cantilevered to allow access to different portions of the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus ([0038]).
Re: claim 11, Hokanson et al. disclose: a service platform (10, figure 1) for a blown film extrusion apparatus (capable of use with), the service platform having:
a base platform (14, figure 2) substantially surrounding (capable of) a collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus on at least one and up to four sides (figure 3; note gap 84 for positioning the platform around a vertical structure; see also figures 14 and 15 with vertical structure 114 positioned within the gap) of the collapsing frame of the blown film extrusion apparatus, the base platform (14) comprising a frame (80), decking (82), and extension tracks (within 80 for sliding 86 in/out; figure 11);
at least one access platform (86, figure 3) extending from the base platform (figure 3), the access platform (82) comprising decking (figure 3);
wherein the access platform (86) may be moved along the extension tracks of the base platform (figure 11) between a home position (within frame 80/ under decking 82) distal from the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus, and a range of service positions (extended out from under decking 82), the service positions being more proximate the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus (figure 14).
Hokanson et al. do not disclose the base platform to have v-shaped tracks, or
the access platform comprising a frame and v-grooved wheels, the wheels being enclosed in a shaft, and wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks of the base platform.
However, Ricci, teaches: the base platform to have shaped tracks (figure 8B), the access platform (PDN) comprising a frame (9B-9G) and wheels (WLs, which coincide with the profile of the track), the wheels being enclosed in a shaft (figure 8B), and wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks of the base platform (figure 9A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with a frame and wheels as taught by Ricci, so as to smoothly and easily transition the access platform with respect to the base platform. While Ricci does not specifically disclose v-shaped tracked and v-grooved wheels, they do teach the track members cab be alternate profiles, and those skilled in the art would understand that wheels are selected to match the profile they are traveling along.
Re: claim 12, Hokanson et al. disclose wherein the base platform further includes a handrail (figure 2).
Re: claim 13, Ricci teaches: wherein the access platform (PDN) further includes a handrail (4, figure 6C). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with a handrail as taught by Ricci, so as to provide additional user safety for users on the extended access platforms.
Re: claim 14, Ricci teaches: wherein one of the base platform or the access platform includes a motorized drive to extend and/or retract the access platform, and a controller to control the motorized drive ([0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Hokanson et al. with motorized control, as taught by Ricci, so as to provide users with precise positionings means, for safety purposes, and for preventing damage to the structure the platform is surrounding.
Re: claim 15, Hokanson et al. disclose: a service platform support (22; figure 2).
Re: claim 16, Hokanson et al. disclose wherein the service platform support may be raised and/or lowered (via 26), tilted, inclined and/or cantilevered to allow access to different portions of the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus ([0038]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Planeta (US 4,479,766) in view of Hokanson et al. (US pub 2020/0270107) and Ricci (US pub 2011/0073409).
Planeta discloses:
18. A blown film extrusion system (figure 1, see below), the system comprising:
a collapsing frame portion (28); and
at least one service platform (22, 24), the service platform including a base platform (22) substantially surrounding the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus (figure 1), the base platform comprising a frame (frame members of 22, 24), and decking (disclosed “operators platform”).
Planeta does not disclose the base platform substantially surrounding the collapsing frame on at least three sides comprising v-shaped extension tracks; and an access platform extending from the base platform, the service platform comprising a frame, decking and v-grooved wheels, the wheels being enclosed in a shaft; wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks of the base platform on the wheels between a home position distal from the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus, and a range of service positions, the service positions being more proximate the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus.
However, Hokanson et al. teaches, a base platform (14, figure 1) substantially surrounding a vertical structure (114, figure 14) on at least three sides (figure 14); and an access (86) platform that may be moved along the extension tracks (inside of 80 where 86 slides in and out of) of the base platform (14) between a home position (positioned within 80) distal from the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus (figure 14 depicts how the service platform can surround a vertical structure), and a range of service positions (figure 10), the service positions being more proximate the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus (figure 14; platforms vary in proximity to 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of Planeta, with a base platform capable of substantially surrounding the collapsing frame on at least three sides, and an access platform movable to a range of service positions, the service positions being more proximate the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus, as taught by Hokanson et al., so as to provide a more versatile system, allowing operators greater access to the extrusion system and frame portion for servicing when needed.
Additionally, Ricci, teaches: the base platform to have shaped tracks (figure 8B), the access platform (PDN) comprising a frame (9B-9G) and wheels (WLs, which coincide with the profile of the track), the wheels being enclosed in a shaft (figure 8B), and wherein the access platform may be moved along the extension tracks of the base platform (figure 9A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Planeta as modified by Hokanson et al. with a frame and wheels as taught by Ricci, so as to smoothly and easily transition the access platform with respect to the base platform. While Ricci does not specifically disclose v-shaped tracked and v-grooved wheels, they do teach the track members cab be alternate profiles, and those skilled in the art would understand that wheels are selected to match the profile they are traveling along.
Re: claim 19, Ricci teaches: wherein one of the base platform or the access platform includes a motorized drive to extend and/or retract the access platform, and a controller to control the motorized drive ([0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the access platform of Planeta as modified by Hokanson et al. with motorized control, as taught by Ricci, so as to provide users with precise positionings means, for safety purposes, and for preventing damage to the structure the platform is surrounding.
Re: claim 20, Hokanson et al. teach further comprising a service platform support (22, figure 2) which may be raised and/or lowered (via 26) to allow access to different portions of the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of Planeta, with a service platform support which may be raised and/or lowered to allow access to different portions of the collapsing frame portion of the blown film extrusion apparatus, so as to provide a more versatile system, as taught by Hokanson et al. allowing operators greater access to the extrusion system and frame portion for servicing when needed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634