DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the “and” at the end of line 12 should be moved to the end of line 15. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and are objected to for the same reason.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “and” should be inserted at the end of line 14. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 18-20 depend from claim 17 and are objected to for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 7, 9-11, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a battery module 100 (Abstract; Fig. 2). The battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells 110 arranged adjacent one another in a row extending from a first cell in the row to a last cell in the row defining a front face of the row (Fig. 2; [0050]).
The battery module further comprises a first busbar frame 130 (“first spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the first cell of the plurality of battery cells and a second busbar frame 130 (“second spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the last cell of the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 2, 6; [0046], [0059]).
The battery module further comprises a housing enclosing the plurality of battery cells, the housing including: a first side surface portion 300b (“first sidewall”) positioned adjacent the first busbar frame 130; a second side surface portion 300b (“second sidewall”) positioned adjacent the second busbar frame 130 such that the plurality of battery cells is positioned between the first side surface portions 300b and the second side surface portions 300b (Figs. 2, 9, 10; [0053]-[0055], [0071]); first and second end plates 150 (“first and second lateral walls”) that extend between first and second side surface portions 300b, wherein the first end plate 150 is parallel to the front face of the row of battery cells (Figs. 2, 11; [0046], [0071]); and an upper plate 400 (“cover”) positioned across the row of battery cells and extending from the first side surface portion 300b to the second side surface portion 300b and from the first end plate 150 to the second end plate 150 (Figs. 2, 10; [0046], [0048]-[0049]).
The battery module further comprises a structural adhesive layer 330 (“layer of adhesive”) disposed across a portion of the row of battery cells and positioned between the row of battery cells and the upper plate 400, wherein the structural adhesive layer 330 is recessed from the front face of the row defining a void in the layer of adhesive (Figs. 2, 7, 10; [0049], [0063]). See, for example, the annotated Figs. 7 and 10 below.
Fig. 7 Fig. 10
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1. As shown in Fig. 10, the structural adhesive layer 330 is disposed across the row of battery cells, except where the void is defined.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1. Park further discloses the housing includes a bottom portion 300a (“base”) positioned opposite the upper plate 400 (Figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses a battery module 100 (Abstract; Fig. 2). The battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells 110 arranged adjacent one another in a row extending from a first cell in the row to a last cell in the row defining a front face of the row (Fig. 2; [0050]).
The battery module further comprises a housing enclosing the plurality of battery cells, the housing including: a first side surface portion 300b (“first sidewall”) positioned opposite a second side surface portion 300b (“second sidewall”) (Figs. 2, 9, 10; [0053]-[0055], [0071]); first and second end plates 150 (“first and second lateral walls”) that extend between first and second side surface portions 300b (Figs. 2, 11; [0046], [0071]); and an upper plate 400 (“cover”) positioned across the row of battery cells and extending from the first side surface portion 300b to the second side surface portion 300b and from the first end plate 150 to the second end plate 150 (Figs. 2, 10; [0046], [0048]-[0049]).
The battery module further comprises a structural adhesive layer 330 (“layer of adhesive”) disposed between the row of battery cells and the upper plate 400, wherein the structural adhesive layer 330 is recessed from the front face of the row defining a void (Figs. 2, 7, 10; [0049], [0063]). See, for example, the annotated Figs. 7 and 10 below.
Fig. 7 Fig. 10
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 9. As shown in Fig. 10, the structural adhesive layer 330 is disposed across the row of battery cells, except where the void is defined.
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 9. Park further discloses the battery module comprises a first busbar frame 130 (“first spacer plate”) positioned adjacent the first cell and a second busbar frame 130 (“second spacer plate”) positioned adjacent the last cell of the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 2, 6; [0046], [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 9. Park further discloses the housing includes a bottom portion 300a (“base”) positioned opposite the upper plate 400 (Figs. 2, 5).
Regarding claim 17, Park discloses a battery module 100 and method of forming the battery pack (Abstract; Fig. 2). The method comprises arranging a plurality of battery cells 110 adjacent one another in a row extending from a first cell in the row to a last cell in the row to define a front face of the row (Fig. 2; [0050]).
The method further comprises positioning a first busbar frame 130 (“first spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the first cell of the plurality of battery cells and positioning a second busbar frame 130 (“second spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the last cell of the plurality of battery cells (Figs. 2, 6; [0046], [0059]).
The method further comprises enclosing the plurality of battery cells in a housing, the housing including: a first end plate 150 (“first sidewall”) positioned adjacent the first busbar frame 130; a second end plate 150 (“second sidewall”) positioned adjacent the second busbar frame 130 such that the plurality of battery cells is positioned between the first end plate 150 and the second end plate 150 (Figs. 2, 11; [0046], [0071]); first and second side surface portions 300b (“first and second lateral walls”) that extend between first and second end plates 150 (Figs. 2, 9, 10; [0053]-[0055], [0071]); and an upper plate 400 (“cover”) positioned across the row of battery cells and extending from the first end plate 150 to the second end plate 150 (Figs. 2, 10; [0046], [0048]-[0049]).
The method further comprises disposing a structural adhesive layer 330 (“layer of adhesive”) between the row of battery cells and the upper plate 400, wherein the structural adhesive layer 330 is recessed from the front face of the row defining a void (Figs. 2, 7, 10; [0049], [0063]). See, for example, the annotated Figs. 7 and 10 below.
Fig. 7 Fig. 10
Regarding claim 19, Park discloses the method of claim 17. As shown in Figs. 7 and 10, the void is positioned adjacent and along at least a portion of the first side surface portion 300b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1. Park does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of battery cells include an enclosure having a cell wall attached to a cell lid. However, Park discloses the plurality of battery cells 110 are pouch cells ([0050]) and teaches it is known in the art to manufacture middle- or large-sized battery modules utilizing prismatic batteries or pouch-shaped batteries, which can be stacked with high integration and has a small weight to capacity ratio ([0005]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use prismatic batteries instead of pouch-shaped batteries as they are an equivalent battery form known in the art and Kim recognizes the shape as able to be stacked with high integration and have a small weight to capacity ratio. Prismatic battery cells inherently have an enclosure having a cell wall attached to a cell lid.
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”) in view of US 2022/0077521 A1 (“Jin”).
Regarding claims 4-5, 12-13, and 18, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1. Park does not expressly disclose the cover is a portion of a heat exchanger that transfers thermal energy from the plurality of battery cells [claims 4 and 12] and is silent regarding the adhesive comprises a thermally conductive adhesive [claims 5, 13, and 18].
Jin discloses a battery pack including cooling plates 3 (including an upper cooling plate) disposed inside a battery box (Fig. 5). The cooling plate 3 is closely affixed onto the plurality of battery modules 2 by a thermally conductive structural adhesive. This improves the cooling and heat dissipation area and the cooling efficiency of the battery modules ([0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cover as a portion of a heat exchanger and to use a thermally conductive structural adhesive to improve the cooling and heat dissipation area and the cooling efficiency of the battery cells as taught by Jin.
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”) in view of US 2020/0212388 A1 (“Chen”).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, Park discloses the battery pack of claim 1. Park does not expressly disclose a bond line limiter disposed between the cover and at least a portion of the plurality of battery cells.
Chen discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules 2 and a strap 22 (“bond line limiter”) surrounding the periphery of battery cell array 20 and including two long sides 221 and two short sides 222 (Figs. 4, 9; [0069]). The battery cell array 20 is fixed with strap 22, which has the benefit of light weight ([0069]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the strap of Chen as a lightweight means of fixing the battery cells.
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0238940 A1 (“Wang”) in view of US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a power battery pack 100 comprising a plurality of cells 150 arranged adjacent one another in a row extending from a first cell in the row to a last cell in the row defining a front face of the row (Abstract; Figs. 4-6).
The battery pack further comprises a first end plate 180 (“first spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the first cell of the plurality of cells 150 and a second end plate 180 (“second spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the last cell of the plurality of cells 150 (Fig. 5; [0030]).
The battery pack further comprises a housing enclosing the plurality of battery cells, the housing including: a first sidewall positioned adjacent the first end plate 180; a second sidewall positioned adjacent the second end plate 180 such that the plurality of battery cells are positioned between the first sidewall and the second sidewall; first and second lateral walls that extend between first and second sidewalls, wherein the first lateral wall is parallel to the front face of the row of battery cells (Figs. 4, 6; [0023], [0025], [0039], [0052]); and an upper cover 120 (“cover”) positioned across the row of battery cells and extending from the first sidewall to the second sidewall and from the first lateral wall to the second lateral wall (Fig. 4; [0024]-[0026], [0028]-[0029], [0032]-[0035], [0052], [0056]-[0057]).
The battery pack further comprises a structural adhesive 161 (“layer of adhesive”) disposed across a portion of the row of battery cells and positioned between the row of battery cells and the upper cover 120.
Wang does not expressly disclose the layer of adhesive is recessed from the front face of the row defining a void in the layer of adhesive.
Park discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells 110, an upper plate 400, and a structural adhesive layer 330 disposed between the battery cells 110 and the upper plate (Figs, 2, 7, 10). The structural adhesive layer 330 is applied to optimize a shape and an amount of the adhesive ([0063]) and is applied only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved ([0064]). As shown in Figs. 7 and 10, this results in a void in the adhesive at the front face of the row of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the void as claimed because Park teaches optimizing a shape and an amount of the adhesive and applying the adhesive only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 1. As shown in Fig. 10 of Park, the structural adhesive layer 330 is disposed across the row of battery cells, except where the void is defined.
Regarding claim 3, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 1. As shown in Fig. 5 of Wang, each of the cells 150 includes an enclosure having a cell wall attached to a cell lid.
Regarding claim 7, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 1. Wang further discloses the housing includes a bottom plate 112 positioned opposite the upper cover 120 (Fig. 3; [0029], [0031]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 7. Wang further discloses the structural adhesive 161 is a first layer and the bottom plate 112 is bonded to the plurality of cells 150 with a thermally conductive structural adhesive 160 (“second layer of adhesive”) (Figs. 3, 4; [0026], [0029], [0031], [0035]-[0036], [0052], [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses a power battery pack 100 comprising a plurality of cells 150 arranged adjacent one another in a row extending from a first cell in the row to a last cell in the row defining a front face of the row (Abstract; Figs. 4-6).
The battery pack further comprises a housing enclosing the plurality of battery cells, the housing including: a first sidewall positioned opposite a second sidewall; first and second lateral walls extending between first and second sidewalls (Figs. 4, 6; [0023], [0025], [0039], [0052]); and an upper cover 120 (“cover”) positioned across the row of battery cells and extending from the first sidewall to the second sidewall and from the first lateral wall to the second lateral wall (Fig. 4; [0024]-[0026], [0028]-[0029], [0032]-[0035], [0052], [0056]-[0057]).
The battery pack further comprises a structural adhesive 161 (“layer of adhesive”) disposed between the plurality of battery cells and the upper cover 120.
Wang does not expressly disclose the layer of adhesive is recessed from the front face of the row defining a void.
Park discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells 110, an upper plate 400, and a structural adhesive layer 330 disposed between the battery cells 110 and the upper plate (Figs, 2, 7, 10). The structural adhesive layer 330 is applied to optimize a shape and an amount of the adhesive ([0063]) and is applied only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved ([0064]). As shown in Figs. 7 and 10, this results in a void in the adhesive at the front face of the row of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the void as claimed because Park teaches optimizing a shape and an amount of the adhesive and applying the adhesive only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved.
Regarding claim 10, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 9. As shown in Fig. 10 of Park, the structural adhesive layer 330 is disposed across the row of battery cells, except where the void is defined.
Regarding claim 11, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 9. Wang further discloses the battery pack comprises a first end plate 180 (“first spacer plate”) positioned adjacent the first cell 150 and a second end plate 180 (“second spacer plate”) positioned adjacent the last cell 150 (Fig. 5; [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 9. Wang further discloses the housing includes a bottom plate 112 positioned opposite the upper cover 120 (Fig. 3; [0029], [0031]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claim 9. Wang further discloses the structural adhesive 161 is a first layer and a bottom plate 112 (“base”) is bonded to the plurality of cells 150 with a thermally conductive structural adhesive 160 (“second layer of adhesive”) (Figs. 3, 4; [0026], [0029], [0031], [0035]-[0036], [0052], [0056]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses a power battery pack 100 and method for forming the battery pack, the method comprising arranging a plurality of cells 150 adjacent one another in a row extending from a first cell in the row to a last cell in the row defining a front face of the row (Abstract; Figs. 4-6).
The method further comprises positioning a first end plate 180 (“first spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the first cell of the plurality of cells 150 and a second end plate 180 (“second spacer plate”) aligned with and positioned adjacent the last cell of the plurality of cells 150 (Fig. 5; [0030]).
The method further comprises enclosing the plurality of battery cells in a housing, the housing including: a first sidewall positioned adjacent the first end plate 180; a second sidewall positioned adjacent the second end plate 180 such that the plurality of battery cells are positioned between the first sidewall and the second sidewall; first and second lateral walls that extend between first and second sidewalls, wherein the first lateral wall is parallel to the front face of the row of battery cells (Figs. 4, 6; [0023], [0025], [0039], [0052]); and an upper cover 120 (“cover”) positioned across the row of battery cells and extending from the first sidewall to the second sidewall (Fig. 4; [0024]-[0026], [0028]-[0029], [0032]-[0035], [0052], [0056]-[0057]).
The method further comprises disposing a structural adhesive 161 (“layer of adhesive”) between the row of battery cells and the upper cover 120.
Wang does not expressly disclose the layer of adhesive is recessed from the front face of the row defining a void in the layer of adhesive.
Park discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells 110, an upper plate 400, and a structural adhesive layer 330 disposed between the battery cells 110 and the upper plate (Figs, 2, 7, 10). The structural adhesive layer 330 is applied to optimize a shape and an amount of the adhesive ([0063]) and is applied only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved ([0064]). As shown in Figs. 7 and 10, this results in a void in the adhesive at the front face of the row of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the void as claimed because Park teaches optimizing a shape and an amount of the adhesive and applying the adhesive only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved.
Regarding claim 19, modified Wang discloses the method of claim 17. As can be seen from Figs. 7 and 10 of Park, in the combination the void is positioned adjacent and along at least a portion of the first lateral wall.
Claim 4-5, 12-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0238940 A1 (“Wang”) in view of US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and further in view of US 2022/0077521 A1 (“Jin”).
Regarding claims 4-5, 12-13, and 18, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claims 1 and 9 and the method of claim 17. Wang does not expressly disclose the cover is a portion of a heat exchanger that transfers thermal energy from the plurality of battery cells [claims 4 and 12] and is silent regarding the adhesive comprises a thermally conductive adhesive [claims 5, 13, and 18].
Jin discloses a battery pack including cooling plates 3 (including an upper cooling plate) disposed inside a battery box (Fig. 5). The cooling plate 3 is closely affixed onto the plurality of battery modules 2 by a thermally conductive structural adhesive. This improves the cooling and heat dissipation area and the cooling efficiency of the battery modules ([0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a cover as a portion of a heat exchanger and to use a thermally conductive structural adhesive to improve the cooling and heat dissipation area and the cooling efficiency of the battery cells as taught by Jin.
Claims 6, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0238940 A1 (“Wang”) in view of US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”) as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and further in view of US 2020/0212388 A1 (“Chen”).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 20, modified Wang discloses the battery pack of claims 1 and 9 and the method of claim 17. Wang does not expressly disclose a bond line limiter disposed between the cover and at least a portion of the plurality of battery cells.
Chen discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules 2 and a strap 22 (“bond line limiter”) surrounding the periphery of battery cell array 20 and including two long sides 221 and two short sides 222 (Figs. 4, 9; [0069]). The battery cell array 20 is fixed with strap 22, which has the benefit of light weight ([0069]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the strap of Chen as a lightweight means of fixing the battery cells.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/104,285 in view of US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”). The instant claims differ from the claims of the reference application in the recitation of the void. This feature would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Park. Park discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells 110, an upper plate 400, and a structural adhesive layer 330 disposed between the battery cells 110 and the upper plate (Figs, 2, 7, 10). The structural adhesive layer 330 is applied to optimize a shape and an amount of the adhesive ([0063]) and is applied only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved ([0064]). As shown in Figs. 7 and 10, this results in a void in the adhesive at the front face of the row of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the void as claimed because Park teaches optimizing a shape and an amount of the adhesive and applying the adhesive only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/104,290 in view of US 2022/0166084 A1 (“Park”). The instant claims differ from the claims of the reference application in the recitation of the void. This feature would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Park. Park discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery cells 110, an upper plate 400, and a structural adhesive layer 330 disposed between the battery cells 110 and the upper plate (Figs, 2, 7, 10). The structural adhesive layer 330 is applied to optimize a shape and an amount of the adhesive ([0063]) and is applied only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved ([0064]). As shown in Figs. 7 and 10, this results in a void in the adhesive at the front face of the row of battery cells. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the void as claimed because Park teaches optimizing a shape and an amount of the adhesive and applying the adhesive only to a region of a minimum area or more in the portion that requires the adhesive strength, so that the high productivity and the high quality control can be achieved.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Contact Information
Robert Scott Carrico
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1727
/Robert S Carrico/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727