DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed 10/13/2025 in which Claims 1-5, 7, 9-13, 15, 20, 21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, on page 11, with respect to Claim 1, that the combination of Knarr and Lee would make the system of Lee inoperable for its intended purpose. Examiner disagrees and notes that Knarr is relied upon to teach communication circuitry; processing circuitry configured to: extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using the communication circuitry, receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data. Examiner disagrees and points to Knarr’s teaching the processor 125 transmits personal article image data and/or personal article information data [extracted image information] to a processor 150 of a remote computing device (see ¶ 0059); the processor 150 [external device] may execute the personal articles data receiving module 310 [communication circuitry] and object recognition/optical character recognition module 315 to extract personal articles information data from the digital image of the photograph [information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data] and/or the digital image of the supporting documentation (block 545) (see ¶ 0051). Examiner construes that Knarr extracts data from an external device and based on the data received, determines the type of image. Lee teaches the host system 1150 is more effective when classifying image sources to be produced. For example, when the host system 1150 is applied to still images or a movie (see ¶ 0129).
Applicant further argues, with respect to Claim 1, that Kim fails to teach based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency, and based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency. Examiner disagrees and points to Kim’s teaching that The video output of the present invention is shown in Fig. c shows a process of outputting a moving image at 120 Hz. Specifically, when an input image generated at 120 Hz is directly output, one image frame is updated and output every 8.33 ms on the display panel 2. [That is, all the gate lines GL of the display panel 2 are sequentially selected for 8.33 ms, and the data voltages are applied every time the gate lines GL are selected to display an image on a line-by-line basis (see pg. 9, 1st para). Thus, the output image of 120 Hz is updated every 8.33 ms, but in the present invention, the image is updated every 16.67 ms (see pg. 9, 3rd para).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-12, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0169871 to Suzuki et al (“Suzuki”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0264524 to Knarr et al (“Knarr”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0145901 to Lee et al (“Lee”) and in further view of Korean Patent Publication 20150080103 to Kim et al (“Kim”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 1, Suzuki teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a panel driving unit comprising driving circuitry (The image display device also includes a source driver 41 connected to a plurality of source lines of the display panel 40, and a gate driver 42 connected to a plurality of gate lines of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0044; Fig. 1);
a display panel including a plurality of pixels connected to a plurality of gate lines and a plurality of data lines through a plurality of switching elements, each switching element comprising switch circuitry (a typical drive (first drive mode) which will be described later is performed. On the pixel electrode substrate of the display panel 40, a plurality of gate lines G1, G2, G3 . . . for scanning which extend in the horizontal direction, a plurality of source lines S1, S2, S3 . . . to which a drive signal in response to an input image signal is input, see ¶ 0046, Fig. 2; Switching elements T of thin film transistors are connected to the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes, respectively, and the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes may be independently controlled and driven, respectively, see ¶ 0047, Fig. 2; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2, see ¶ 0049); and
a processing circuitry configured to control the panel driving unit to output a gate signal through the plurality of gate lines, and to control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate signal is output, through the plurality of data lines (On the pixel electrode substrate of the display panel 40, a plurality of gate lines G1, G2, G3 . . . for scanning which extend in the horizontal direction, a plurality of source lines S1, S2, S3 . . . to which a drive signal in response to an input image signal is input, and a plurality of sub-pixel electrodes are provided, see ¶ 0046; The timing controller 10 [processor] drives the display panel 40 by controlling the source driver 41 and the gate driver 42 based on the input image signal [control the panel driving unit to output a gate signal through the plurality of gate lines], see ¶ 0052; The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The timing generator circuit section 17 converts the image signal from the overdrive circuit 15 into the signal for driving the display panel 40, and supplies the signal to the source driver 41 and the gate driver 42…The control signal generating section 18 supplies the control signal to the source driver 41 and the gate driver 42…The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049),
Suzuki does not expressly disclose communication circuitry; processing circuitry configured to: extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using the communication circuitry, receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data.
Knarr teaches communication circuitry; extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using the communication circuitry (processor 125 may execute a personal article data receiving module 310 to cause the processor 125 to receive digital image data associated with one or more personal articles…Processor 125 may execute an object recognition/optical character recognition module 315 to cause the processor 125 to identify a personal article type or characteristic of one or more personal articles based upon the digital image data using object recognition of optical character recognition [extract image information from image data], see ¶ 0059; in circumstances when the processor 125 transmits personal article image data and/or personal article information data [extracted image information] to a processor 150 of a remote computing device, the processor 150 may execute the personal articles insurance quote generation module 320 to generate a personal articles insurance quote based, for example, on at least one digital image of a photograph of the personal article and/or at least one digital image of supporting documentation associated with the personal article, and may transmit personal articles insurance quote data to the user, see ¶ 0048; the processor 125 may execute the personal articles data transmission module 235 [communication circuitry] to transmit personal articles image data to a processor of a remote computing device (e.g., processor 150) [external device], see ¶ 0051),
receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data (the processor 150 [external device] may execute the personal articles data receiving module 310 [communication circuitry] and object recognition/optical character recognition module 315 to extract personal articles information data from the digital image of the photograph [information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data] and/or the digital image of the supporting documentation (block 545), see ¶ 0051).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki with Knarr to teach communication circuitry; extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using the communication circuitry, receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for personal articles insurance quotes, policies, premiums, discounts, etc. may then be generated, such as via a remote insurance provider server, and transmitted and/or presented to a customer for review, such as via wireless communication or data transmission from the remote insurance provider server (see Abstract).
Suzuki and Knarr do not expressly disclose wherein the received information on the type of the image data identifies the image data as at least one of a broadcasting image, a game image, or a sports image, identify a mode of the display apparatus based on the received information on the type of the image data, wherein a first mode is identified based on the received information on the type of the image data identifying the image data as the broadcast image and a second mode is identified based on the received information on the type of image data as the game image or the sports image.
Lee teaches wherein the received information on the type of the image data identifies the image data as at least one of a broadcasting image, a game image, or a sports image (The host system 1150 is more effective when classifying image sources to be produced. For example, when the host system 1150 is applied to still images or a movie (the image sources of the movie are typically 24 fps), it is possible to remove breaks and quality distortion during transition that would otherwise occur in the low speed driving. In the case of source images requiring fast screen transition, such as game or sports images, breaks occur when data multiplying is applied, see ¶ 0129);
identify a mode of the display apparatus based on the received information on the type of the image data, wherein a first mode is identified based on the received information on the type of the image data identifying the image data as the broadcast image and a second mode is identified based on the received information on the type of image data as the game image or the sports image (a driving mode changing section 113 which analyzes the image signals and changes the driving mode depending on the image signals, see ¶ 0072; For moving images having a significant variation in image signals, a drive frequency of 60 Hz or higher is required in order to express a smooth motion. Considering some aspects such as motion blur, it is not preferable to reduce the drive frequency. However, the drive frequency can be reduced in the case of moving images, in which variation in an image signal is insignificant, or still images, since there are no significant movements. Since flickering may occur when the drive frequency is reduced excessively, the driving mode changing section 113 can analyze the image signals or images and adjust the drive frequency according to the analysis, see ¶ 0073; The host system 1150 is more effective when classifying image sources to be produced. For example, when the host system 1150 is applied to still images or a movie (the image sources of the movie are typically 24 fps), it is possible to remove breaks and quality distortion during transition that would otherwise occur in the low speed driving. In the case of source images requiring fast screen transition, such as game or sports images, breaks occur when data multiplying is applied, see ¶ 0129. Examiner construes that the driving mode changing section identifies the type of image data and adjusts the mode of driving to low speed if the image is determined to be a movie, otherwise, if the image is determined to be a sports image, the driving mode is set at an ordinary driving mode).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki and Knarr with Lee to teach communication circuitry; processing circuitry configured to: extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using the communication circuitry, receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data, wherein the received information on the type of the image data identifies the image data as at least one of a broadcasting image, a game image, or a sports image, identify a mode of the display apparatus based on the received information on the type of the image data, wherein a first mode is identified based on the received information on the type of the image data identifying the image data as the broadcast image and a second mode is identified based on the received information on the type of image data as the game image or the sports image.
The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for personal articles insurance quotes, policies, premiums, discounts, etc. may then be generated, such as via a remote insurance provider server, and transmitted and/or presented to a customer for review, such as via wireless communication or data transmission from the remote insurance provider server (see Abstract).
Suzuki, Knarr and Lee do not expressly disclose based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency, and based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency.
Kim teaches based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency (The timing controller 8 controls the data driver 6 and the gate driver 4 by controlling the frame rate of the output image to be lower than that of the input image through the display panel 2 For example, 90 Hz, 60 Hz, and 30 Hz, see pg. 7, 6th para; outputting a moving image at 120 Hz. Specifically, when an input image generated at 120 Hz is directly output, one image frame is updated and output every 8.33 ms on the display panel 2. That is, all the gate lines GL of the display panel 2 are sequentially selected for 8.33 ms, and the data voltages are applied every time the gate lines GL are selected to display an image on a line-by-line basis, see pg. 9, 1st para), and
based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency (when an image having a high frequency (120 Hz, 240 Hz) is input, the timing controller 8 determines whether the image is a still image or a moving image by comparing the image with the threshold value. In the case of a moving image, the frame rate is maintained at a high frequency without changing the input frequency, see pg. 7, 6th para; in order to convert the input image of 120 Hz into the output image of 60 Hz, the timing controller 8 determines that the input image is a still image, One frame is output to express the image. That is, the data voltage is supplied so that the image output once is maintained for two frame periods. Thus, the output image of 120 Hz is updated every 8.33 ms, but in the present invention, the image is updated every 16.67 ms, see pg. 9, 3rd para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki, Knarr and Lee with Kim to teach based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency, and based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order perform image determination, frequency variable determination and output control accordingly (see pg. 7, 7th para).
As to Claim 2, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 1, Suzuki teaches wherein while operating in the first mode, the processing circuitry is configured to control the panel driving unit to apply the data voltage to the plurality of pixels based on a timing at which the gate signals are sequentially output by every one gate line to the plurality of switching elements (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; In the first drive mode, as illustrated in Part C to Part I of FIG. 8, each gate line is scanned by one line, see ¶ 0062; in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, see ¶ 0067), and
while operating in the second mode, the processing circuitry is configured to control the panel driving unit to apply the data voltage to the plurality of pixels based on a timing at which the gate signals are sequentially output by at least every two gate lines to the plurality of switching elements (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; in the second drive mode, since the plurality of gate lines are sequentially selected by two lines at the same time to scan the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes by two horizontal lines, it may be possible to obtain the drive speed twice the drive speed of the first drive mode. Therefore, for example, in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, the quasi drive [second mode] at the frame frequency of 240 Hz may be performed, see ¶ 0067; Fig. 9 illustrates sequentially outputting gate signals by at least every two gate lines).
As to Claim 3, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 1, Suzuki teaches wherein the gate line includes a first gate line and a second gate line, and while operating in the first mode, the processing circuitry is configured to control a gate driving unit to output a first gate signal to the plurality of switching elements connected to the first gate line through the first gate line at a first timing, and to control the panel driving unit to output a second gate signal to the plurality of switching elements connected to the second gate line through the second gate line at a second timing (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; In the first drive mode, as illustrated in Part C to Part I of FIG. 8, each gate line is scanned by one line, see ¶ 0062; in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, see ¶ 0067).
As to Claim 4, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 3, Suzuki teaches wherein while operating in the second mode, the processing circuitry is configured to control the panel driving unit to output the gate signal to the plurality of switching elements connected to the first gate line and the plurality of switching elements connected to the second gate line through the first and second gate lines at a same timing (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; in the second drive mode, since the plurality of gate lines are sequentially selected by two lines at the same time to scan the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes by two horizontal lines, it may be possible to obtain the drive speed twice the drive speed of the first drive mode. Therefore, for example, in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, the quasi drive [second mode] at the frame frequency of 240 Hz may be performed, see ¶ 0067; Fig. 9 illustrates sequentially outputting gate signals by at least every two gate lines).
As to Claim 9, Suzuki teaches a method of controlling a display apparatus, the method comprising: outputting a gate signal through a plurality of gate lines (The image display device also includes a source driver 41 connected to a plurality of source lines of the display panel 40, and a gate driver 42 connected to a plurality of gate lines of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0044; Fig. 1);
and applying a data voltage to a plurality of pixels connected to a plurality of switching elements to which the gate signal is output, through a plurality of data lines (a typical drive (first drive mode) which will be described later is performed. On the pixel electrode substrate of the display panel 40, a plurality of gate lines G1, G2, G3 . . . for scanning which extend in the horizontal direction, a plurality of source lines S1, S2, S3 . . . to which a drive signal in response to an input image signal is input, see ¶ 0046, Fig. 2; Switching elements T of thin film transistors are connected to the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes, respectively, and the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes may be independently controlled and driven, respectively, see ¶ 0047, Fig. 2; The timing controller 10 [processor] drives the display panel 40 by controlling the source driver 41 and the gate driver 42 based on the input image signal [control the panel driving unit to output a gate signal through the plurality of gate lines], see ¶ 0052; The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The timing generator circuit section 17 converts the image signal from the overdrive circuit 15 into the signal for driving the display panel 40, and supplies the signal to the source driver 41 and the gate driver 42…The control signal generating section 18 supplies the control signal to the source driver 41 and the gate driver 42…The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049),
Suzuki does not expressly disclose extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using communication circuitry of the display apparatus, receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry of the display apparatus, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data.
Knarr teaches extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using communication circuitry of the display apparatus (processor 125 may execute a personal article data receiving module 310 to cause the processor 125 to receive digital image data associated with one or more personal articles…Processor 125 may execute an object recognition/optical character recognition module 315 to cause the processor 125 to identify a personal article type or characteristic of one or more personal articles based upon the digital image data using object recognition of optical character recognition [extract image information from image data], see ¶ 0059; in circumstances when the processor 125 transmits personal article image data and/or personal article information data [extracted image information] to a processor 150 of a remote computing device, the processor 150 may execute the personal articles insurance quote generation module 320 to generate a personal articles insurance quote based, for example, on at least one digital image of a photograph of the personal article and/or at least one digital image of supporting documentation associated with the personal article, and may transmit personal articles insurance quote data to the user, see ¶ 0048; the processor 125 may execute the personal articles data transmission module 235 [communication circuitry] to transmit personal articles image data to a processor of a remote computing device (e.g., processor 150) [external device], see ¶ 0051),
receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry of the display apparatus, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data (the processor 150 [external device] may execute the personal articles data receiving module 310 [communication circuitry] and object recognition/optical character recognition module 315 to extract personal articles information data from the digital image of the photograph [information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data] and/or the digital image of the supporting documentation (block 545), see ¶ 0051).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki with Knarr to teach extract image information from image data, transmit the extracted image information to an external device using communication circuitry of the display apparatus, receive, from the external device using the communication circuitry of the display apparatus, information on a type of the image data determined based on content included for display in the image data. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for personal articles insurance quotes, policies, premiums, discounts, etc. may then be generated, such as via a remote insurance provider server, and transmitted and/or presented to a customer for review, such as via wireless communication or data transmission from the remote insurance provider server (see Abstract).
Suzuki and Knarr do not expressly disclose wherein the received information on the type of the image data identifies the image data as at least one of a broadcasting image, a game image, or a sports image, identify a mode of the display apparatus based on the received information on the type of the image data, wherein a first mode is identified based on the received information on the type of the image data identifying the image data as the broadcast image and a second mode is identified based on the received information on the type of image data as the game image or the sports image.
Lee teaches identify a mode of the display apparatus based on the received information on the type of the image data, wherein a first mode is identified based on the received information on the type of the image data identifying the image data as the broadcast image and a second mode is identified based on the received information on the type of image data as the game image or the sports image (a driving mode changing section 113 which analyzes the image signals and changes the driving mode depending on the image signals, see ¶ 0072; For moving images having a significant variation in image signals, a drive frequency of 60 Hz or higher is required in order to express a smooth motion. Considering some aspects such as motion blur, it is not preferable to reduce the drive frequency. However, the drive frequency can be reduced in the case of moving images, in which variation in an image signal is insignificant, or still images, since there are no significant movements. Since flickering may occur when the drive frequency is reduced excessively, the driving mode changing section 113 can analyze the image signals or images and adjust the drive frequency according to the analysis, see ¶ 0073; The host system 1150 is more effective when classifying image sources to be produced. For example, when the host system 1150 is applied to still images or a movie (the image sources of the movie are typically 24 fps), it is possible to remove breaks and quality distortion during transition that would otherwise occur in the low speed driving. In the case of source images requiring fast screen transition, such as game or sports images, breaks occur when data multiplying is applied, see ¶ 0129. Examiner construes that the driving mode changing section identifies the type of image data and adjusts the mode of driving to low speed if the image is determined to be a movie, otherwise, if the image is determined to be a sports image, the driving mode is set at an ordinary driving mode).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki and Knarr with Lee to teach identify a mode of the display apparatus based on the received information on the type of the image data, wherein a first mode is identified based on the received information on the type of the image data identifying the image data as the broadcast image and a second mode is identified based on the received information on the type of image data as the game image or the sports image.
The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for personal articles insurance quotes, policies, premiums, discounts, etc. may then be generated, such as via a remote insurance provider server, and transmitted and/or presented to a customer for review, such as via wireless communication or data transmission from the remote insurance provider server (see Abstract).
Suzuki, Knarr and Lee do not expressly disclose based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency, and based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency.
Kim teaches based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency (The timing controller 8 controls the data driver 6 and the gate driver 4 by controlling the frame rate of the output image to be lower than that of the input image through the display panel 2 For example, 90 Hz, 60 Hz, and 30 Hz, see pg. 7, 6th para; outputting a moving image at 120 Hz. Specifically, when an input image generated at 120 Hz is directly output, one image frame is updated and output every 8.33 ms on the display panel 2. That is, all the gate lines GL of the display panel 2 are sequentially selected for 8.33 ms, and the data voltages are applied every time the gate lines GL are selected to display an image on a line-by-line basis, see pg. 9, 1st para), and
based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency (when an image having a high frequency (120 Hz, 240 Hz) is input, the timing controller 8 determines whether the image is a still image or a moving image by comparing the image with the threshold value. In the case of a moving image, the frame rate is maintained at a high frequency without changing the input frequency, see pg. 7, 6th para; in order to convert the input image of 120 Hz into the output image of 60 Hz, the timing controller 8 determines that the input image is a still image, One frame is output to express the image. That is, the data voltage is supplied so that the image output once is maintained for two frame periods. Thus, the output image of 120 Hz is updated every 8.33 ms, but in the present invention, the image is updated every 16.67 ms, see pg. 9, 3rd para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki, Knarr and Lee with Kim to teach based on the mode of the display apparatus being the first mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to one gate line at a time, to process image the data at a first driving frequency, and based on the mode of the display apparatus being the second mode, control the panel driving unit to output the gate signals to the plurality of gate lines by sequentially outputting the gate signals to two gate lines at a time, to process the image data at a second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order perform image determination, frequency variable determination and output control accordingly (see pg. 7, 7th para).
As to Claim 10, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 9, Suzuki teaches wherein applying the data voltage comprises: while operating in the first mode, applying the data voltage to the plurality of pixels based on a timing at which the gate signals are sequentially output by every one gate line to the plurality of switching elements (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; In the first drive mode, as illustrated in Part C to Part I of FIG. 8, each gate line is scanned by one line, see ¶ 0062; in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, see ¶ 0067), and
while operating in the second mode, applying the data voltage to the plurality of pixels based on a timing at which the gate signals are sequentially output by at least every two gate lines to the plurality of switching elements (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; in the second drive mode, since the plurality of gate lines are sequentially selected by two lines at the same time to scan the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes by two horizontal lines, it may be possible to obtain the drive speed twice the drive speed of the first drive mode. Therefore, for example, in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, the quasi drive [second mode] at the frame frequency of 240 Hz may be performed, see ¶ 0067; Fig. 9 illustrates sequentially outputting gate signals by at least every two gate lines).
As to Claim 11, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 9, Suzuki teaches wherein the gate line includes a first gate line and a second gate line, and the outputting the gate signal comprises: while operating in the first mode, outputting a first gate signal to the plurality of switching elements connected to the first gate line through the first gate line at a first timing, and outputting a second gate signal to the plurality of switching elements connected to the second gate line through the second gate line at a second timing (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; In the first drive mode, as illustrated in Part C to Part I of FIG. 8, each gate line is scanned by one line, see ¶ 0062; in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, see ¶ 0067).
As to Claim 12, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 11, Suzuki teaches wherein the outputting the gate signal comprises: while operating in the second mode, outputting the gate signal to the plurality of switching elements connected to the first gate line and the plurality of switching elements connected to the second gate line through the first and second gate lines at a same timing (The source driver 41 supplies a potential corresponding to display data to pixels of the horizontal line selected by the gate driver 42 [control the panel driving unit to apply a data voltage to the plurality of pixels through the data lines], see ¶ 0054; The source driver control signal is a signal controlling the polarity and the level conversion of the potential [data voltage] with which the writing is performed on each pixel of the display panel 40, see ¶ 0059; The first sub-pixel electrode 1A and the second sub-pixel electrode 1B are connected in common to the first gate line G1 through switching elements TA1 and TB1. The other first sub-pixel electrode 2A, and the other second sub-pixel electrode 2B are connected in common to the second gate line G2 through other switching elements TA2 and TB2 [pixels connected to the plurality of switching elements to which the gate line is output], see ¶ 0049; in the second drive mode, since the plurality of gate lines are sequentially selected by two lines at the same time to scan the plurality of sub-pixel electrodes by two horizontal lines, it may be possible to obtain the drive speed twice the drive speed of the first drive mode. Therefore, for example, in the case where the display panel 40 has the drive performance at a frame frequency of 120 Hz, the quasi drive [second mode] at the frame frequency of 240 Hz may be performed, see ¶ 0067; Fig. 9 illustrates sequentially outputting gate signals by at least every two gate lines).
As to Claim 20, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the second driving frequency is 120 Hz or higher (when the stored first drive frequency f1 is 60 Hz, the second drive frequency f3 may be 120 Hz, see ¶ 0130).
As to Claim 21, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 9, Lee teaches wherein the first driving frequency is less than the second driving frequency is 120 Hz or higher (when the stored first drive frequency f1 is 60 Hz, the second drive frequency f3 may be 120 Hz, see ¶ 0130).
Claim(s) 5, 7, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0169871 to Suzuki et al (“Suzuki”) in view U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0264524 to Knarr et al (“Knarr”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0145901 to Lee et al (“Lee”) in further view of Korean Patent Publication 20150080103 to Kim et al (“Kim”) (relied upon English Translation) and in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2006/0146040 to Shen.
As to Claim 5, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 1, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim do not expressly disclose an input unit comprising input circuitry, wherein the processor is configured to operate in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on receiving a command for setting a mode of the display apparatus to the first mode through the input unit, and to operate in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on receiving a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the second mode through the input unit. Shen teaches an input unit comprising input circuitry, wherein the processor is configured to operate in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on receiving a command for setting a mode of the display apparatus to the first mode through the input unit, and to operate in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on receiving a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the second mode through the input unit (a display device is provided that has multiple fixed predetermined display scan modes with corresponding frame display rates that are independent of the average frame input rate and selectable at least between: a first scan mode and a second scan mode that is substantially different than the first scan mode, see ¶ 0015; The display scan modes of those devices are commonly manually selected, see ¶ 0016; the display device may receive a command from the source of the video frames to change the display scan mode depending on the selected input frame rate. Another possibility is that a user input device may be provided, and the input of a command to select operation at a display scan mode, see ¶ 0020; the first display scan mode at a 25 Hz or 30 Hz [first driving frequency] progressive scan mode and the second display scan mode at 50 Hz or 60 Hz [second driving frequency] progressive scan mode, see ¶ 0026).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim with Shen to teach an input unit comprising input circuitry, wherein the processor is configured to operate in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on receiving a command for setting a mode of the display apparatus to the first mode through the input unit, and to operate in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on receiving a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the second mode through the input unit. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the video program source to automatically switch to a higher display rate when frames at a higher input rate are provided (see ¶ 0041).
As to Claim 7, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 1, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim do not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to determine frames per second (fps) of the image data based on receiving the image data from the outside, to operate in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a first value, and to operate in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a second value. Shen teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine frames per second (fps) of the image data based on receiving the image data from the outside, to operate in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a first value, and to operate in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a second value (The video program source 122 provide frames to a display device 130. The display device includes a multi-mode display 132 that receives the frames through buffer 134. A processor 136 detects the input frame rate of the buffer 134, and automatically selects the display scan mode of the multi-mode display depending on the input frame rate. The multi-mode display may be a CRT which is capable, for example, of displaying frames at a rate of either 30 frames or 60 frames per second, see ¶ 0031-0032).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim with Shen to teach wherein the processor is configured to determine frames per second (fps) of the image data based on receiving the image data from the outside, to operate in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a first value, and to operate in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a second value. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the video program source to automatically switch to a higher display rate when frames at a higher input rate are provided (see ¶ 0041).
As to Claim 13, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 9, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim do not expressly disclose receiving a command for setting a mode of the display apparatus; and operating in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the first mode being received, and operating in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the second mode being received. Shen teaches receiving a command for setting a mode of the display apparatus; and operating in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the first mode being received, and operating in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the second mode being received (a display device is provided that has multiple fixed predetermined display scan modes with corresponding frame display rates that are independent of the average frame input rate and selectable at least between: a first scan mode and a second scan mode that is substantially different than the first scan mode, see ¶ 0015; The display scan modes of those devices are commonly manually selected, see ¶ 0016; the display device may receive a command from the source of the video frames to change the display scan mode depending on the selected input frame rate. Another possibility is that a user input device may be provided, and the input of a command to select operation at a display scan mode, see ¶ 0020; the first display scan mode at a 25 Hz or 30 Hz [first driving frequency] progressive scan mode and the second display scan mode at 50 Hz or 60 Hz [second driving frequency] progressive scan mode, see ¶ 0026).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim with Shen to teach receiving a command for setting a mode of the display apparatus; and operating in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the first mode being received, and operating in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on a command for setting the mode of the display apparatus to the second mode being received. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the video program source to automatically switch to a higher display rate when frames at a higher input rate are provided (see ¶ 0041).
As to Claim 15, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim depending on Claim 9, Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim do not expressly disclose determining frames per second (fps) of the image data being received from the outside; and operating in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a first value, and to operating in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a second value. Shen teaches determining frames per second (fps) of the image data being received from the outside; and operating in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a first value, and to operating in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a second value (The video program source 122 provide frames to a display device 130. The display device includes a multi-mode display 132 that receives the frames through buffer 134. A processor 136 detects the input frame rate of the buffer 134, and automatically selects the display scan mode of the multi-mode display depending on the input frame rate. The multi-mode display may be a CRT which is capable, for example, of displaying frames at a rate of either 30 frames or 60 frames per second, see ¶ 0031-0032).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki, Knarr, Lee and Kim with Shen to teach disclose determining frames per second (fps) of the image data being received from the outside; and operating in the first mode to process the image data at the first driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a first value, and to operating in the second mode to process the image data at the second driving frequency based on the frames per second of the image data having a second value. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order for the video program source to automatically switch to a higher display rate when frames at a higher input rate are provided (see ¶ 0041).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONI N GILES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622