DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 8 and 10 have been amended, and claims 13-16 and 18 have been cancelled. No claim has been newly added. The status of claims 1-3 and 5-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on Jan 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant alleged that the combination of Fang et al (US20230009307A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 05, 2020) and CHIEN et al (US20220377798A1, PCT Pro 63061223 Priority Date: Aug 05, 2020) failed to disclose:
“transmit a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and the terminal, wherein a first random access configuration used for the reduced capability terminal is included in the third initial uplink BWP configuration, wherein the third initial uplink BWP configuration includes:
uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal, and
common RACH configuration or two-step random access common RACH configuration for performing random access by the reduced capability terminal” in claim 1.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because the Examiner has made a
new ground of rejection to address the newly added claim limitations. The Examiner respectfully
submits that MU et al (US20230292364A1, Priority Date: Jul 31, 2020) discloses the amended claim limitations of claim 1. And the same conclusion applies to claim 8.
The Applicant alleged that the combination of Fang et al (US20230009307A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 05, 2020) and CHIEN et al (US20220377798A1, PCT Pro 63061223 Priority Date: Aug 05, 2020) failed to disclose: “wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration” in claim 1.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because CHIEN’798 discloses: “The extended device type UE comprises a reduced capability user equipment (RedCap UE). The device type related information may explicitly comprise a UE identity, a device type, or a UE capability of the extended device type UE. The device type related information may comprise a predefined preamble, predefined physical random access channel (PRACH) resources, a predefined initial DL or UL BWP for the extended device type UE, so that the extended device type UE can implicitly signal the device type or UE capability to the network, and the network can identify the device type or UE capability of the extended device type UE based on the device type related information. The device type may be determined based on a newly defined UE type or UE category different from a legacy UE. The device type may be determined based on at least one of newly defined UE capability different from a legacy UE. The device type may be determined based on a set of UE capability parameters used for a legacy UE” (par 0043).
Therefore CHIEN’798 discloses: network can identify (the device type or UE capability of) the extended device type UE (RedCap UE) based on the device type related information (comprise predefined physical random access channel (PRACH) resources), and thus CHIEN’798 teaches: “wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration” in claim 1. Here predefined PRACH resources can be equated to resource indicated by the first random access configuration.
Therefore, the cited references teach the claimed limitations in question with adequate reasons and suggestions of combining the teachings. The same conclusion applies to claim 8.
As complementary information to speed up the application processing, MU et al (US20230292364A1, Priority Date: Jul 31, 2020) also discloses: Since at least two types of UEs multiplex the PRACH resources and/or the initial UL BWPs indicated by the resource configuration parameter, in order to facilitate the base station to distinguish which type of UE is currently accessed from the multiplexed PRACH resource, different random access preamble sets will be allocated to different types of UE (par 0058); the second type of UE may be a normal UE, and the first type of UE may be a reduced capability UE (par 0040). Therefore it’s also considered as straightforward to teach: “wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations that recite “transmit a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and the terminal” and “uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal” in line 8 and 12 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what type of the terminal is. According to “The third uplink initial bandwidth part is a BWP shared by the unconventional terminal and the conventional terminal” (paragraph 0133 of instant specification) and “the terminal equipments supported by Rel-15 and Rel-16 communication systems are also referred to as conventional terminals, and the above terminal equipments with medium and low capabilities are also referred to as unconventional terminals” (par 0009 of instant specification), the terminal should be conventional terminal. The claim limitation below considered all “the terminal” as “conventional terminal”, “legacy terminal” or “normal capability terminal” in rejection.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations that recite “receive a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and a terminal” and “uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal” in line 7 and 11 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear what type of the terminal is. The same argument of claim 1 above applied to claim 8. The claim limitation below considered all “the terminal” as “conventional terminal”, “legacy terminal” or “normal capability terminal” in rejection.
Claims 2-3 and 5-7 are rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 1.
Claims 9-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 8.
Claims 1, 3, 5 recites the limitations “the terminal”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the corresponding claim.
Claims 2-3 and 5-7 are rejected by virtue of their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al (US20230009307A1, PCT Priority Date: Aug 05, 2020) in view of MU et al (US20230292364A1, Priority Date: Jul 31, 2020), and further in view of CHIEN et al (US20220377798A1, PCT Pro 63061223 Priority Date: Aug 05, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Fang’307 discloses an apparatus for transmission and reception of a signal, applicable to a network device (see, Fig. 1, BS communicates with UE through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020), the apparatus comprising:
a transmitter (see, Fig. 2, BS transceiver module, par 0023) configured to:
transmit a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and the terminal (see, Fig. 3 and 5D, BS transmits PRACH configuration including starting position of initial UL bandwidth parts and PRACH transmission occasions, PRACH transmission occasion for reduced capability UEs in the same UL bandwidth part as legacy UEs and overlapped, par 0038, 0044, 0069. Noted, factor of association pattern in response to different PRACH transmission occasions for reduced capability UEs compared to legacy UEs can be configured the same by factor = 1, par 0018, 0075-0076);
a receiver (see, Fig. 2, BS transceiver module, par 0023) configured to receive a message transmitted by the reduced capability terminal according to the first random access configuration (see, BS receives RAR message from reduced capability UE configured with dedicated PRACH configuration for reduced capability UE, par 0036-0037); and
a processor (see, Fig. 2, BS processor module, par 0023) configured to,
wherein the processor circuitry (see, Fig. 2, BS processor module, par 0023) is further configured to.
Fang’307 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
transmit a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and the terminal, wherein a first random access configuration used for the reduced capability terminal is included in the third initial uplink BWP configuration, wherein the third initial uplink BWP configuration includes:
uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal, and
common RACH configuration or two-step random access common RACH configuration for performing random access by the reduced capability terminal;
perform data transmission with the reduced capability terminal by using a reduced capability transmission mode,
identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration.
However MU’364 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig.1, telecommunication system comprises UEs, BSs and CN entities, par 0038) discloses:
transmit a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared (bandwidth resource multiplexing of a first type of UE and a second type of UE (third set of configuration parameters) can be equated to BWP configuration shared, par 0034, 0075) by the reduced capability terminal and the terminal (see, Fig. 2, BS transmits resource configuration parameter (third set of configuration parameters for bandwidth resource multiplexing of a first type of UE and a second type of UE) indicating initial UL BWPs of the first type of UE (reduced capability UE) and the second type of UE (normal UE) partially or fully overlapping, par 0034, 0040, 0078), wherein a first random access configuration used for the reduced capability terminal is included in the third initial uplink BWP configuration (see, resource parameters for the initial UL BWPs may indicate resources for the corresponding UE to perform initial access, par 0064), wherein the third initial uplink BWP configuration includes:
uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal (see, bandwidth resource multiplexing in resource configuration parameter indicates initial uplink BWPs to all UEs in a cell (and thus uplink BWP configuration common to UEs in a cell), par 0034, 0056), and
common RACH configuration (PRACH resources configured to all UEs in a cell (and thus RACH configuration common to UEs in a cell), par 0034, 0056) or two-step random access common RACH configuration for performing random access by the reduced capability terminal (see, bandwidth resource multiplexing in resource configuration parameter indicates PRACH resources configuration to all UEs in a cell (and thus RACH configuration common to UEs in a cell), par 0034, 0056. Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by MU’364 into that of Fang’307. The motivation would have been to reduce unnecessary waste of resources and reduce communication capacity (par 0004).
The combination of Fang’307 and MU’364 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
perform data transmission with the reduced capability terminal by using a reduced capability transmission mode,
identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration.
However CHIEN’798 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig.1, telecommunication system comprises UEs, BSs and CN entities, par 0038) discloses:
perform data transmission (see, DL/UL data transmission, par 0320) with the reduced capability terminal (see, RedCap UE, par 0320) by using an reduced capability transmission mode (see, network performs relaxed scheduling and DL/UL data transmission during random-access procedure for RedCap UE by avoiding unnecessary network access attempt of the RedCap UEs, reducing UE power consumption and balancing network load, par 0320. Noted, scheduled DL/UL data transmission with RedCap UE can be equated to reduced capability transmission mode),
identify the reduced capability terminal (see, RedCap UE, par 0043) according to a resource (see, predefined preamble, predefined PRACH resources, a predefined initial DL or UL BWP, par 0043) indicated by the first random access configuration (see, network identifies the extended device type UE (RedCap UE) implicitly based on the device type related information (comprises predefined preamble, predefined PRACH resources), par 0043. Noted, predefined preamble and predefined PRACH resources can be equated to first random access configuration).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by CHIEN’798 into that of Fang’307 modified by MU’364. The motivation would have been to provide advantageous effects of maintaining coexistence performance for NR RedCap UEs and NR legacy UEs (par 0025).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Fang’307 discloses the apparatus according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 1, BS communicates with UE through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020), wherein,
the first random access configuration (see, PRACH configuration, par 0038) comprises at least one of the following configurations:
random access channel (RACH) configuration of a first message (msg 1) (see, PRACH configuration considers starting position of PRACH transmission occasion, the starting position of initial UL bandwidth parts, the number of PRACH transmission occasions, the PRACH transmission occasions in time domain, the PRACH configuration index, par 0038);
physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) configuration of a third message (msg 3);
random access channel (RACH) configuration of a second message (Msg A) of two-step random access; PUSCH configuration of the second message (Msg A);
physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration performing HARQ feedback on a fourth message (msg 4); and
physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration performing HARQ feedback on a fifth message (Msg B) (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Fang’307 discloses the apparatus according to claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, BS communicates with UE through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020),
wherein the reduced capability transmission mode comprises at least one of the following:
being lower than a bandwidth supported by the terminal (see, a reduction of the minimum required device bandwidth, par 0004), being less than the number of antennas supported by the terminal (see, reduced number of transmission and/or reception antennas, par 0004), being less than the number of HARQ processes supported by the terminal, being lower than a modulation and coding scheme supported by the terminal, a half-duplex frequency-division duplex mode (see, Fig. 5A, half-duplex frequency-division, par 0004, 0040), being smaller than a transport block size supported by the terminal (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Fang’307 discloses the apparatus according to claim 2 (see, Fig. 1, BS communicates with UE through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020),
wherein a second random access configuration (see, legacy PRACH configuration, par 0035) for the terminal (see, legacy UE, par 0035) is included in the third initial uplink BWP (see, PRACH configuration information for legacy UE included starting position legacy UE UL initial bandwidth part with offset from reduced capability UE UL initial bandwidth part, par 0040-0042. Noted, reduced capability UE UL initial bandwidth part can be equated to third initial uplink BWP).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Fang’307 discloses the apparatus according to claim 5 (see, Fig. 1, BS communicates with UE through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020), wherein,
the first random access and the second random access share a random access opportunity (RO); or
a random access opportunity (RO) of the first random access is independent of a random access opportunity (RO) of the second random access (see, PRACH transmission occasions of first random access and RO second random access respectively in FR1 and FR2 are independent due to different frequency range, par 0003, 0030-0033, 0041. Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Fang’307 discloses the apparatus according to claim 6 (see, Fig. 1, BS communicates with UE through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020), wherein, the first random access configuration (see, PRACH configuration, par 0061) further includes the number of preambles (see, number of PRACH preambles sent from the reduced capability UE, par 0060) that are able to be used by the reduced capability terminal in the random access opportunity (RO) (see, BS determines repetition requirement indicating number of PRACH preambles sent from the reduced capability UE in consecutive PRACH transmission occasions associated with the same SSB block(s) to the BS, par 0060).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Fang’307 discloses an apparatus for transmission and reception of a signal, applicable to a reduced capability terminal equipment (see, Fig. 1, UE communicates with BS through cells in wireless communication network, par 0020), the apparatus comprising:
a receiver (see, Fig. 2, UE transceiver module, par 0023) configured to:
receive a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and a terminal (see, Fig. 3 and 5D, UE receives PRACH configuration including starting position of initial UL bandwidth parts and PRACH transmission occasions, PRACH transmission occasion for reduced capability UEs in the same UL bandwidth part as legacy UEs and overlapped, par 0038, 0044, 0069. Noted, factor of association pattern in response to different PRACH transmission occasions for reduced capability UEs compared to legacy UEs can be configured the same by factor = 1, par 0018, 0075-0076);
a transmitter (see, Fig. 2, UE transceiver module, par 0023) configured to message a message to the network device according to the first random access configuration information (see, reduced capability UE configured with dedicated PRACH configuration for reduced capability UE transmits PRACH preamble using RACH occasion, par 0035); and
a processor circuitry (see, Fig. 2, UE processor module, par 0023) configured to,
wherein the processor circuitry (see, Fig. 2, UE processor module, par 0023) is further configured to.
Fang’307 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
receive a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared by the reduced capability terminal and a terminal, wherein a first random access configuration used for the reduced capability terminal is included in the third initial uplink BWP configuration, wherein the third initial uplink BWP configuration includes:
uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal, and
common RACH configuration or two-step random access common RACH configuration for performing random access by the reduced capability terminal;
perform data transmission with the network device by using a reduced capability transmission mode,
identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration.
However MU’364 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig.1, telecommunication system comprises UEs, BSs and CN entities, par 0038) discloses:
receive a third initial uplink BWP configuration shared (bandwidth resource multiplexing of a first type of UE and a second type of UE (third set of configuration parameters) can be equated to BWP configuration shared, par 0034, 0075) by the reduced capability terminal and a terminal (see, Fig. 2, reduced capability UE receives resource configuration parameter (third set of configuration parameters for bandwidth resource multiplexing of a first type of UE and a second type of UE) indicating initial UL BWPs of the first type of UE (reduced capability UE) and the second type of UE (normal UE) partially or fully overlapping, par 0034, 0040, 0078), wherein a first random access configuration used for the reduced capability terminal is included in the third initial uplink BWP configuration (see, resource parameters for the initial UL BWPs may indicate resources for the corresponding UE to perform initial access, par 0064), wherein the third initial uplink BWP configuration includes:
uplink common BWP configuration of the terminal (see, bandwidth resource multiplexing in resource configuration parameter indicates initial uplink BWPs to all UEs in a cell (and thus uplink BWP configuration common to UEs in a cell), par 0034, 0056), and
common RACH configuration (PRACH resources configured to all UEs in a cell (and thus RACH configuration common to UEs in a cell), par 0034, 0056) or two-step random access common RACH configuration for performing random access by the reduced capability terminal (see, bandwidth resource multiplexing in resource configuration parameter indicates PRACH resources configuration to all UEs in a cell (and thus RACH configuration common to UEs in a cell), par 0034, 0056. Noted, the examiner picks an option to reject).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by MU’364 into that of Fang’307. The motivation would have been to reduce unnecessary waste of resources and reduce communication capacity (par 0004).
The combination of Fang’307 and MU’364 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
perform data transmission with the network device by using a reduced capability transmission mode,
identify the reduced capability terminal according to a resource indicated by the first random access configuration.
However CHIEN’798 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig.1, telecommunication system comprises UEs, BSs and CN entities, par 0038) discloses:
perform data transmission (see, DL/UL data transmission, par 0320) with the network device by using a reduced capability transmission mode (see, network performs relaxed scheduling and DL/UL data transmission during random-access procedure for RedCap UE by avoiding unnecessary network access attempt of the RedCap UEs, reducing UE power consumption and balancing network load, par 0320. Noted, scheduled DL/UL data transmission with RedCap UE can be equated to reduced capability transmission mode),
identify the reduced capability terminal (see, RedCap UE, par 0043) according to a resource (see, predefined preamble, predefined PRACH resources, a predefined initial DL or UL BWP, par 0043) indicated by the first random access configuration (see, network identifies the extended device type UE (RedCap UE) implicitly based on the device type related information (comprises predefined preamble, predefined PRACH resources), par 0043. Noted, predefined preamble and predefined PRACH resources can be equated to first random access configuration).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the apparatus as taught by CHIEN’798 into that of Fang’307 modified by MU’364. The motivation would have been to provide advantageous effects of maintaining coexistence performance for NR RedCap UEs and NR legacy UEs (par 0025).
Regarding claim 9 (Original), Claim 9 recites an apparatus for transmission and reception of a signal, applicable to a reduced capability terminal equipment performing the steps recited in claim 2 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Claim 10 recites an apparatus for transmission and reception of a signal, applicable to a reduced capability terminal equipment performing the steps recited in claim 5 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Claim 11 recites an apparatus for transmission and reception of a signal, applicable to a reduced capability terminal equipment performing the steps recited in claim 6 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Claim 12 recites an apparatus for transmission and reception of a signal, applicable to a reduced capability terminal equipment performing the steps recited in claim 7 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al (US20240008050A1, PCT Priority Date: ) discloses: the first SIB1 may indicate a first initial BWP (e.g., a first initial downlink and/or uplink BWP), for the capability-reduced wireless device, of the cell. The second SIB1 may indicate a second initial BWP (e.g., a second initial downlink and/or uplink BWP), for the normal capability wireless device, of the cell. The first initial BWP may be same as or different than the second initial BWP. … In response to the first initial BWP being same as the second initial BWP, the first SIB1 and the second SIB1 may indicate different RACH configuration(s) and/or different PDCCH configurations etc. (par 0362); The UE may initiate the two-step random access procedure in FIG. 13C for licensed spectrum and/or unlicensed spectrum. The UE may determine, based on one or more factors, whether to initiate the two-step random access procedure (par 0199). This applies to claims 1 and 8.
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473