DETAILED ACTION
Introductory Notes
Any paragraph citation of the instant is in reference to the U.S. published patent application.
Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE (US 20050084765 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LEE discloses a lithium secondary battery (Abstract), comprising: a cathode comprising a cathode active material that includes lithium metal oxide particles (“positive active material” [0037] including chemical formula 7); an anode facing the cathode and comprising an anode active material (“negative active material” [0040]); and an electrolyte solution comprising a lithium salt and an organic solvent (Abstract), wherein the lithium metal oxide particles contain at least 80 mol% of nickel and less than 10 mol% of manganese among all elements excluding lithium and oxygen (claim 37 as well as chemical formula 7; as well as examples with NCM 811 such as example 11 [0070]), and the organic solvent comprises a mononitrile-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 1; wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 represents a C1-C12 alkyl group (claim 1 as well as claim 6 which notably lists propionitrile, butyronitrile, valeronitrile which are preferred C1-C12 alkyl group nitriles per instant Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, LEE discloses the lithium metal oxide particles contain 0.5 mol% to 6 mol% of manganese among all elements excluding lithium and oxygen (claim 37 as well as chemical formula 7 [0038] as well as example 35 with Mn0.05 [0113]).
Regarding claim 4, LEE discloses a content of the mononitrile-based compound in the organic solvent is in a range from 1 vol% to 9 vol% (“a nitrile-based solvent represented by formula 1 of 5 to 30 volume %” [0011]; as well as example 26 with 5% valeronitrile) .
Regarding claim 5, LEE discloses in Chemical Formula 1, R1 is a C2-C4 linear alkyl group (claim 6 which notably lists propionitrile, butyronitrile, valeronitrile which are preferred C2-C4 alkyl group nitriles per instant Table 1).
Regarding claim 6, LEE discloses the organic solvent further comprises a cyclic carbonate-based solvent and a linear carbonate-based solvent (claim 7 as well as example 26 with a 30:65:5 mixture of cyclic ethylene carbonate, linear diethyl carbonate, and mononitrile valeronitrile).
Regarding claim 7, LEE discloses a content of the linear carbonate-based solvent is greater than a content of the cyclic carbonate-based solvent in the organic solvent (“10 to 40 volume % of ethylene carbonate” [0021], where the balance is the linear carbonate and the nitrile; as well as example 26 with a 30:65:5 mixture of cyclic ethylene carbonate, linear diethyl carbonate, and mononitrile valeronitrile).
Regarding claim 8, LEE discloses a volume ratio of the cyclic carbonate-based solvent to the mononitrile-based compound in the organic solvent is in a range from 5 to 25 ( “a nitrile-based solvent represented by formula 1 of 5 to 30 volume %” [0011] as well as “10 to 40 volume % of ethylene carbonate” [0021], which provides ratios reading on the claim; as well as example 26 with a 30:65:5 mixture of cyclic ethylene carbonate, linear diethyl carbonate, and mononitrile valeronitrile which has a ratio of 6 for cyclic carbonate to mononitrile).
Regarding claim 10, LEE discloses the electrolyte solution further comprises an additive comprising at least one of a fluorine-containing cyclic carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 and a sultone- based compound represented by Chemical Formula 3;
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R2 and R3 are independently hydrogen, halogen, or a Ci-C3 alkyl group, and at least one of R2 and R3 is F, wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, R4 is a C2-C5 alkylene group or a C3-C5 alkenylene group (“fluoroethylene carbonate”[0025] which reads on fluorine-containing cyclic carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 and matches the preference for FEC in instant [0062])
Regarding claim 11, LEE discloses a content of the additive is in a range from 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte solution (“the carbonate-based additive is from 0.01 to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the total weight of the electrolyte, and preferably from 0.01 to 5 parts by weight” [0026]; as well as example 33 with 3% FEC [0106]).
Regarding claim 14, LEE discloses the electrolyte solution does not comprise a compound containing two or more nitrile groups (claim 6 which notably lists propionitrile, butyronitrile, valeronitrile which are preferred C1-C12 alkyl group nitriles per instant Table 1; as well as example 26 with a 30:65:5 mixture of cyclic ethylene carbonate, linear diethyl carbonate, and mononitrile valeronitrile where the example does not contain a dinitrile).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE.
Regarding claim 2, LEE discloses the lithium metal oxide particles contain 88 mol% to 98 mol% of nickel among all elements excluding lithium and oxygen (claim 37 as well as chemical formula 7 [0038] where y, which pertains to the amount of nickel, is 0.1≤y≤0.9; furthermore LEE teaches “swelling phenomenon especially occurs because of the nickel-based compound, so the effect of using the electrolyte of the present invention can be maximized when a nickel-based compound is used” [0038]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05, I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portion of the claimed nickel range to maximize the effect of the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 9, LEE discloses the linear carbonate- based solvent comprises a first dialkyl carbonate-based solvent having a C2-C4 alkyl group at both terminal ends thereof, and a second dialkyl carbonate-based solvent in which at least one terminal group is a methyl group (“dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dipropyl carbonate, dibutyl carbonate, … and mixtures thereof” [0024]; the list notably includes DMC and EMC which have a methyl group as well as DEC, dipropyl carbonate, and dibutyl carbonate which have a C2-C4 alkyl group at both terminal ends thereof; furthermore the list states “and mixtures thereof”). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have found it obvious to combine the two of the listed carbonates from the small number of choices as well as knowing the mixture of EMC or DMC with DEC is routinely used in electrolytes.
Regarding claim 12, LEE discloses a content of the fluorine-containing cyclic carbonate-based compound is in a range from 0.1 wt% to 2 wt% based on a total weight of the electrolyte solution (“preferably from 0.01 to 5 parts by weight” [0026]; wherein too low “cannot effectively suppress gas generation” [0026] and too high “deteriorates high-temperature cycle life characteristics and causes swelling to occur” [0026]). Overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious (see MPEP § 2144.05, I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portion of the claimed range to arrive at a desired optimization of effective gas suppression and high-temperature cycle life.
Regarding the content of the sultone-based compound, this limitation further limits the optional sultone of claim 10. LEE teaches FEC, therefore it is not required that LEE meet further limitations of the non-selected group via subsequent dependent claims.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of KIM (US 20190198924 A1).
Regarding claim 13, LEE discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, however LEE does not expressly teach the additive further comprises at least one of a fluorine-containing phosphate-based compound, a sulfate- based compound and a borate-based compound.
KIM is directed to an electrolyte additive including a nitrile in lithium secondary battery with a NMC cathode active material and LiPF6 in a mixture of cyclic and linear carbonates, like LEE. KIM discloses inclusion of a “lithium compound for forming a coating film is capable of forming a coating film on the cathode and the anode” [0025] where the compound is “selected from the group consisting of LiPO2F2, … and LiDFOB” [0025] each of which read on the claimed fluorine-containing compound. KIM further discloses example 1 with LiPO2F2 as an additive.
KIM teaches inclusion of the compound for forming a coating film allows the for “achieving more uniform formation of the film by being included in the electrolyte” [0025].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the compound for forming a coating film of KIM to the electrolyte of LEE in order to achieve uniform film formation.
Therefore, modified LEE discloses the additive further comprises at least one of a fluorine-containing phosphate-based compound, a sulfate- based compound and a borate-based compound (as taught by KIM).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim, Young Soo et al. (US 20090047582 A1) directed to when a fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) compound is used as an electrolyte solvent, and an aliphatic mono- or di-nitrile compound is used as an electrolyte additive. See example 3 for FEC with butyronitrile [0054].
/T.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/KOURTNEY R S CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721