DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishtiaq et al (US 2015/0082349) in view of Hegde et al (10,798,341).
Consider claims 1, 12-13, 21. Ishtiaq et al teaches a display system comprising: circuitry
configured to generate a record of a teleconference (abstract and Paragraphs: 0083, 0114: stored records such as audio/video content generated and communicates with client device upon query by a user); display, on a display, the record of the teleconference (e.g. video content); display text data with the record of the teleconference, the text data being generated by speech recognition of audio data of the record of the teleconference (para 3, 6, 34, 57 and 0119: Ishtiaq discusses how text generated by applying speech recognition to the audio; and the video data can include constituent visual data, audio data, and, in some instances, textual data (e.g., closed captioning data). As users experience other video technologies, they expect more functionality and experiences from their TV content providers. More specifically, users expect the ability of searching for content, watching content in a non-linear manner, or watching only the content that interests them); and in a case where one of the text data generated by the speech recognition of the audio data of the record of the record of the teleconference is selected (Paragraphs: 0119, 0021, 0064 and 0067: Ishtiaq discusses how text generated by applying speech recognition to the audio track of a program, and the like; and how the user selects the desired segment or a short audio/video clip playback from the segment to watch), display a scene of the record of the teleconference corresponding to a time associated with the selected one of the text data (para 62-63, para 90: At 510, continuing in the above example, user interface engine 121 may display a listing of the video programs (e.g., visual, audio, and textual features of the video content) matching the returned identifiers. At 512, user interface engine 121 may permit the user to select a video program or user interface engine 121 may automatically choose a video program. Upon selection of a video program, at 514, segment searcher 137 searches the text records for the chosen video program. In other embodiments, the listing of video programs may not be displayed and the following process is performed for all video programs).
Ishtiag does not explicitly teach the record of the teleconference including screen
information having been displayed during the teleconference, surrounding image information
having been acquired during the teleconference and representing an image of surroundings, and
talker image information cut out from the surrounding image information and representing a
person speaking during the teleconference.
Hegde teaches the record of the teleconference including screen information having been
displayed during the teleconference, surrounding image information having been acquired during
the teleconference and representing an image of surroundings, and talker image information cut
out from the surrounding image information and representing a person speaking during the
teleconference (see fig 6A, 6C, current speaker 604, the background images behind each
conferees; col. 8, line 44 to col. 9, line 3; col. 9, line 62 to col. 10, line 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Hegde into the teachings of Ishtiag in
order to provide user interfaces that allow meeting participants to capture highlights and to
display those highlights, either during an active video conference or a replay or summary
thereof.
Consider claim 2. Hedge further teaches the screen information is obtained as an image
of a window displayed by an application (see fig. 6A-C, F, G, 8A-C).
Consider claim 4. Hedge further teaches the surrounding image information is
transmitted from a device installed at a site corresponding to the teleconference (e.g., The user
interface may also include an on-screen display of aggregated highlights of previously recorded video conferences in which the aggregated highlights of the previously recorded video conferences are grouped by meeting in a timeline fashion; col. 2, lines 1-22).
Consider claim 7. Ishtiag further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to scroll the
text data so as to display the text data in association with a display time of the record (para 62-
63, para 90: At 510, continuing in the above example, user interface engine 121 may display a
listing of the video programs (e.g., visual, audio, and textual features of the video content)
matching the returned identifiers. At 512, user interface engine 121 may permit the user to select
a video program or user interface engine 121 may automatically choose a video program.
Upon selection of a video program, at 514, segment searcher 137 searches the text records for the
chosen video program. In other embodiments, the listing of video programs may not be displayed
and the following process is performed for all video programs).
Consider claim 9. Hedge further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: receive
an operation by a user; and switch a content to be displayed to a switched content selected from
a) the surrounding image information and the talker image information, b) the screen
information, and c) the talker image information and the screen information in accordance with a
switching operation of a user (see fig. 6A-C, F, G, 8A-C; e.g., switching between screen 602, fig
6A to screen information in fig 6B; switching to display all text in fig. 6E).
Consider claim 10. Hedge further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: acquire
a display time of the record at a reception of the switching operation (see fig. 6A, multiple times
were displayed; fig. 6C, multiple times were displayed in other viewed mode); and after
switching the content in accordance with the switching operation (see fig. 6A, multiple times
were displayed; fig. 6C, multiple times were displayed), display the switched content from a
scene corresponding to the display time acquired at the reception of the switching operation (see
fig. 6A, multiple times were displayed; fig. 6C, multiple times were displayed in other viewed
mode).
Consider claim 15. Hedge further teaches the record of the teleconference includes a
video (see fig 6A, 6C, current speaker 604, the background images behind each conferees; col. 8,
line 44 to col. 9, line 3; col. 9, line 62 to col. 10, line 25).
Consider claim 16. Ishtiaq further teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: play the
video corresponding to the text data; and in a case where the one of the text data is selected,
play the video corresponding to the time associated with the selected one of the text data
(para 62-63, para 90: At 510, continuing in the above example, user interface engine 121 may
display a listing of the video programs (e.g., visual, audio, and textual features of the video
content) matching the returned identifiers. At 512, user interface engine 121 may permit the user
to select a video program or user interface engine 121 may automatically choose a video
program. Upon selection of a video program, at 514, segment searcher 137 searches
the text records for the chosen video program. In other embodiments, the listing of video
programs may not be displayed and the following process is performed for all video programs).
Consider claim 17. Hedge further teaches wherein the record of the teleconference
includes audio (e.g., The recorded audio-video content from that meeting; col. 9, line 62 to col.
10, line 25).
Consider claim 18. Hedge further teaches wherein the screen information includes:
information for displaying the record of the teleconference in a first display field, and
information for displaying the text data in a second display field that does not overlap the
first display field (see fig. 6A-C, F, G, 8A-C; the video is placed on the left of the screen. The
text is placed on the right of the screen).
Consider claim 19. Hedge further teaches wherein the screen information includes
information for scrolling the text data in the second display field (see the bottom of the
screen for "scroll down to View more").
Consider claim 20. Hedge further teaches wherein the one of the text data is selected
when a character string of the text data displayed in the second display field is selected
(see the below image, multiple texts were selected at the top (826)).
Considering claim 22, Ishtiaq further teaches the system according to claim 13, wherein the circuitry is configured to, in response to the selection of the one of the text data, play the audio data of the record replayed from a timing of an utterance of the selected one of the text data, the timing being represented as a time elapsed from a start of the recording (Paragraphs: 0034, 0062-0064 and 0067: Ishtiaq teaches how textual representations of the segments can include one or more user interface elements through which a user can enter user input to select the playback of specific segments to watch; and how a text record comprises at least a start time and a representation of the text itself, where the start time indicates the point in time within the video content at which the text occurs, i.e. obvious to select one of the text data represented as a time elapsed from a start of the recording).
5. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishtiaq et al (US2015/0082349) in view of Hegde et al (10,798,341) as applied to claim 1 above, and further
in view of Ishikawa et al (US2022/0253198).
Consider claim 3. Ishtiaq in view of Hegde does not explicitly teach wherein the
surrounding image information represents an image of a 360-degree area.
Ishikawa teaches wherein the surrounding image information represents an image of a
360-degree area (e.g., display three-dimensional virtual space, para 10, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ishikawa into the teachings of Ishtiaq in
view of Hegde in order to provide a technique for generating a virtual three-dimensional space,
setting a viewpoint (virtual camera position) in the three-dimensional space, and displaying the
three-dimensional space, which is viewed from the virtual camera position, as a 3D image.
6. Claim(s) 6, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishtiaq et al (US2015/0082349) in view of Hegde et al (10,798,341) as applied to claims 1, 13 above, and further in view of Dagtas (6,973,256).
Considering claim 6, Hedge further teaches the display system according to claim 1, wherein the audio data of the record of the teleconference includes audio data recorded by a device installed at a site corresponding to the teleconference and audio data output by a communication terminal participating in the teleconference (e.g., conference system in fig.1, col. 4, line 48 to col. 5, line 18; e.g., recorded video conference, col. 2, lines 48-60). However, Ishtiaq in view of Hegde does not explicitly teach the text data is obtained by speech recognition of the combined data teleconference.
Dagtas teaches the text data is obtained by speech recognition of the combined data teleconference (col. 8, lines 54-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Dagtas into the teachings of Ishtiaq in
view of Hegde in order to provide a video playback device capable of identifying the highlights
in a recorded video program and selectively playing back the highlights in response to a
subsequent viewer request.
Consider claims 8, 14. Ishtiaq in view of Hegde does not explicitly teach wherein the
circuitry is configured to: search the text data for a keyword; and display a matched text
retrieved, as a match with the keyword from the text data, for selection.
Dagtas teaches wherein the circuitry is configured to: search text data for a keyword; and display a matched text retrieved, as a match with the keyword from the text data, for selection (col. 8, lines 54-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Dagtas into the teachings of Ishtiaq in
view of Hegde in order to provide a video playback device capable of identifying the highlights
in a recorded video program and selectively playing back the highlights in response to a
subsequent viewer request.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants argued neither reference of the record disclose generating text via speech recognition of the audio of the record of the teleconference where that generated text is selected to display a scene or play audio.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior arts of the record disclose how text generated by applying speech recognition to the audio track of a program, and the like; and how the user selects the desired segment or a short audio/video clip playback from the segment to watch; and displayed along with controls for playing the segments from beginning to end (Ishtiaq: Paragraphs: 0119, 0021, 0064 and 0067). Therefore, the prior arts of the record disclosed the argued claims limitations.
Conclusion
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691 02/02/2026