DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
This final office action is in response to the applicant’s response received on 06/22/2026, for the non-final office action mailed on 03/26/2026.
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraph numbers, or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground(s) rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNamara Jr. (US-PAT-NO: 11,716,312 B1) hereinafter McNamara, in further view of Peddada et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0246845 A1) hereinafter Peddada and Roche et al. (US-PAT-NO: 10,284,670 B1) hereinafter de Roche.
As per claim 1, McNamara teaches a method for a secured deployment of plurality of containers in one or more edge servers, the method comprising: retrieving, by the secure element manager, a secret identifier from a secure element, the secure element manager encrypting the secret identifier with the second version of the ephemeral key to generate an encrypted secret identifier (see McNamara [column 37 lines 1-6], showing the Session Manager encrypting a session invitation session to the resource sidecar), retrieving, by the container, the encrypted secret identifier from the secure element manager (see McNamara [column 37, lines 1-6], showing the sidecar (i.e., container), receiving an encrypted invitation message), the container decrypting the encrypted secret identifier with the first version of the ephemeral key to generate a decrypted secret identifier(see McNamara [column 37, lines 8-11, showing the Sidecar using their ephemeral symmetric secret to decrypt the invitation message), accessing, by the container, the secure element using the decrypted secret identifier (see McNamara [column 37, lines 11-16], showing access being granted via permissions), retrieving, by the container, credentials generated by the secure element in order to connect with a message broker (see McNamara [column 37, lines 23-26], showing the sidecar responding with new alias ID to the session manager).
McNamara does not explicitly teach deploying a container of the plurality of containers in the edge server of the one or more edge servers; negotiating, by the container, with a secure element to agree on an ephemeral key, by exchanging messages containing values derived from a shared secret that was established by each of the secure element manager and the container and storing a first version of the ephemeral key in the container and a second version of the ephemeral key in the secured element manager. However, Peddada teaches deploying a container of the plurality of containers (see Peddada paragraph [0053], “To sum up, a software automation or CI/CD pipeline can compile, build, test, and deploy the source code into an environment such as production server 150”) in the edge server of the one or more edge servers (see Peddada paragraph [0099], “In current environments, data exists and is connected across multiple data centers, the edge, and public and private clouds. A data center can frequently communicate across these multiple sites, both on-premises and in the cloud”); negotiating, by the container (see Peddada paragraph [0037], “In the depicted embodiment, container 209 includes various software modules, including an ephemeral encryption key generator 222, key agreement module 224”), with a secure element to agree on an ephemeral key, by exchanging messages containing values derived from a shared secret that was established by each of the secure element manager and the container (see Peddada paragraph [0037], “Upon receiving secret 212, ephemeral encryption key generator 222 generates an ephemeral key pair composed of an ephemeral public key 225 and an ephemeral private key 223. The key pair is “ephemeral” in that it is generated specifically for secret 212 and may be used for a single execution of the establishment process for symmetric key 227. In other embodiments, keys may be reused when creating symmetric keys.”) and storing a first version of the ephemeral key in the container and a second version of the ephemeral key in the secured element manager (see Peddada paragraph [0038], “Key agreement module 224 utilizes ephemeral private key 223 and a data center public key 235 to generate symmetric key 227”).
McNamara and Peddada are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McNamara’s teaching a platform for optimizing secure communication with Peddada’s teaching of a secret protection during software development life cycle to incorporate generating a third value based on a first and second key in order to create stronger security amongst communication between entities and apply the teaching of McNamara for deployment of container onto an edge server to provide a more secure communication between the container and server.
McNamara modified with Peddada do not explicitly teach connecting, by the container using credentials, with a message broker, such that the container provides first data and allows access via the message broker to the first data by any of the plurality of containers having respective credentials for connecting with the message broker, and such that the message broker allows access by the container to second data provided by any of the plurality of containers having the respective credentials. However, Roche teaches connecting, by the container using credentials (see Roche [column 10, lines 5-19], “In the environment 300, the messaging broker 304 of the network-connected device service 302 may receive a request from a user of a controlling device to provision a container instance 312 that can be used to establish a communications session with a particular network-connected device 318. The controlling device may have previously configured a set of rules for provisioning of the container instance 312, as described above in connection with FIG. 2. However, the set of rules may further specify one or more domain credentials that may be utilized to access a network gateway 316 within the customer private network. The set of rules may also specify an identifier of a customer virtual network 310 within the service provider network through which the container instance 312 may access the network gateway 316 within the customer private network.”), with a message broker, such that the container provides first data and allows access via the message broker to the first data by any of the plurality of containers having respective credentials for connecting with the message broker (see Roche [column 7, lines 40-49], “Further, the network-connected device service 204 may include a messaging broker 206 that may receive requests from the controlling device 202 to establish a communications session with the network-connected device 216. The messaging broker 206 may comprise one or more computer systems that interact with the rules engine 208 to provide the received requests and that maintain one or more message topics for each network-connected device 216 to enable communication between the container instance 212 and the controlling device 202”, and such that the message broker allows access by the container to second data provided by any of the plurality of containers having the respective credentials (see Roche [column 13, lines 55-67 and column 14, lines 1-9], “Each of the container instances 518 may be configured to contain one or more agents, such as the agent 522. The container service 500 may be comprised of a set of services, including a template service 506, one or more schedulers 508, a router service 510, a telemetry service 512, a container migration service, and a denial of service mitigation service 526. Because the container service 500 may be configured as a multitenant service (i.e., the resources of the container service 500 may serve multiple customers concurrently), and because the services provided by the container service 500 exist outside and separate from the container instances 518, the network-connected device service 502 need not install individual software applications within its respective container instances 518 to provide the functionality afforded by the services. The network-connected device service 502 may utilize the functionality provided by these services by making web service application programming interface function calls through the front-end service 504, which may be configured to receive requests from the network-connected device service 502 and forward the requests to the appropriate service, such as the appropriate container manager backend service 514.”).
McNamara, Peddada and Roche are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McNamara’s teaching a platform for optimizing secure communication and Peddada’s teaching of a secret protection during software development life cycle with Roche’s teaching of network controlled device management session to incorporate the use of credentials to gain access to a network gateway thru which the container instance may communicate and use a token to grant container access in the cloud system in order to secure personal data from misuse, hacking and other situations that may damage end-user trust, see Roche [column 10, lines 51-67, “In response to receiving the domain credentials from the virtual network interface 314, the network gateway 316 may access a user account data store to determine whether the domain credentials are authentic and, if so, determine whether the user is authorized to access the network-connected device 318. If the network gateway 316 is able to authenticate the user and determine that the user has access to the network-connected device 318, the network gateway 316 may provide an acknowledgment to the container instance 312 that the user has been authenticated and is authorized to access the customer private network and the network-connected device 318 to perform one or more actions. The container instance 312 may utilize the acknowledgment from the network gateway 316 to generate a token, which may specify one or more user identifiers and a protocol address of the network gateway 316. This token may enable the container instance 312 to access the network gateway 316, establish a communications session with the network gateway 316, and provide the received token to enable the network gateway 316 to verify the container instance 312. If the network gateway 316 is able to verify the container instance 312 through use of the token, the network gateway 316 may direct the container instance 312 to the network-connected device 318.”
As per claim 2, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the container provides a policy identifier to the secure element manager that interrogates the secure element with the policy identifier, wherein the secure element generates the secret identifier based on a policy identified by the policy identifier (see McNamara [column 37, lines 8-22], showing session parameter, permissions and constraints being used on each session).
As per claim 3, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein said policy specifies operation rules that define conditions to perform operations on the secure element (see McNamara [column 37, lines 8-22], showing session parameter, permissions and constraints being used on each session).
As per claim 4, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein said policy further specifies a set of access rules that defines conditions to access the secure element (see McNamara [column 37, lines 8-22], showing session parameter, permissions and constraints being used on each session) and the secret identifier is not generated by the secure element if at least one access rule is not satisfied by the secure element (see McNamara [column 37, lines 37-41], showing the client sidecar rejecting session conditions and closing the session (i.e., not generating a secret identifier).
As per claim 5, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the policy is associated with metadata and the secret identifier is not generated by the secure element if the metadata do not satisfy at least one metadata rule of a set of metadata rules that defines conditions to access the secure element and that is implemented by the secure element (see McNamara [column 21, lines 4-12], showing the use of metadata in order to do identity proofing and reinforcing the initial identity, using pattern analysis to reveal anomalous session transaction. Pattern mismatches produces security alerts to operators).
As per claim 6, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the secure element manager further generates a role identifier associated with the secret identifier that is retrieved by the container and used by the container with the decrypted secret identifier for accessing the secure element (see McNamara [column 39, lines 37-49], showing a Machine ID used which includes role and successful decryption of the session).
As per claim 7, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the role identifier is not encrypted (see McNamara [column 34, lines 42-55], showing the Machine ID and Machine Alias ID are not encrypted but correlate to encrypted correlated IDs for the Machine ID and the Machine Alias ID).
As per claim 8, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the secure element sends the generated role identifier and secret identifier to the secure element manager via a secured session (see McNamara [column 34-55], showing the correlated IDs and Machine ID are obtained during a limited time session).
As per claim 9, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches use of random number generators (see McNamara [column 16, lines 44-50], showing use of random number generator as a key for the encryption). McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the negotiation between the container and the secure element manager includes the following steps: the container sending a first message containing a first value derived from a first random secret to the secure element manager, receiving a second message containing a second value derived from a second random secret from the secure element manager, and computing the ephemeral key as a function of a third value derived from the second value and the first random secret (see Peddada paragraph [0041], “Package generator 228 encapsulates information such as encrypted secret 229, metadata 215, and ephemeral public key 225 in a package, and then generates a cryptographic hash of the bytes in the package to produce cryptographic hash 238, which is then sent to the signature generator 237. Signature generator 237 uses signing private key 234 to sign cryptographic hash 238, thus creating package signature 239. Package signature 239 is sent back to package generator 228, which appends the signature to the package that was hashed, and returns the result as signed package 214. (References to “signing a package” herein should be understood to referring to signing a hash of the contents of such a package.)”).
As per claim 10, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche teaches wherein the secure element manager encrypts the secret identifier with the ephemeral key based on a symmetric encryption algorithm (see McNamara [column 21, lines 27-36], showing the use of Symmetric Endpoint Encryption).
As per claim 11, this is the system claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
As per claim 12, this is the non-transitory claim to method claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McNamara (US-PAT-NO: 11,716,312 B1), Peddada (US-PGPUB-NO: 2023/0246845 A1) and Roche (US-PAT-NO: 10,284,670 B1), in further view of Le Saint et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 20210258162 A1) hereinafter Le Saint.
As per claim 13, McNamara modified with Peddada and Roche do not explicitly teach wherein the shared secret was established by: each of the secure element manager and the container independently selecting respective information; each of the secure element manager and the container modifying the respective selected information using a negotiated process; each of the secure element manager and the container exchanging the respective information that it modified over a secure channel; and each of the secure element manager and the container using the respective information that it modified and the information that it received by the exchange over the secure channel. However, Le Saint teaches wherein the shared secret was established by: each of the secure element manager and the container independently selecting respective information (see Le Saint paragraph [0176], “User device 1002 may provide the ephemeral mobile public key (ePubM) to a server computer 1004. The server computer may use the ephemeral mobile public key (ePubM) and a server private key (PrivS) to generate a shared secret (Z.sup.0) using an elliptic curve Diffie-Hellman function (ECDH)”); each of the secure element manager and the container modifying the respective selected information using a negotiated process (see Le Saint paragraph [0176], “The shared secret may be known by both the user device and the server computer at both ends of the secure channel. The shared secret can be based on server negotiated parameters, algorithm, and/or server certificate choices. In some embodiments, the shared secret (Z.sup.0) can include the the second (response) shared secret discussed herein. The shared secret be used to produce a new recurring shared secret (Z.sup.n or Next Z) for each subsequent transaction. In some embodiments, the next shared secret can be derived using a negotiated key derivation function (e.g., AES) with static known but randomized, obfuscated, or white-box crypto protected parameters.”); each of the secure element manager and the container exchanging the respective information that it modified over a secure channel (see Le Saint paragraph [0176], “User device 1002 may provide the ephemeral mobile public key (ePubM) to a server computer 1004”) and (see Le Saint [0178], “For example, the encrypted response data can include the encrypted server certificate (CertS*) and encrypted data (Data*). The data (e.g., key derivation parameters) may be obfuscated using the random configuration before being encrypted”); and each of the secure element manager and the container using the respective information that it modified and the information that it received by the exchange over the secure channel (see Le Saint FIG. 10, Server Computer 1004 using the ePubM data exchanged from the User Device 1002 and the User Device 1002 using the DataCertS exchanged from the Server Computer 1004).
McNamara, Peddada, Roche and Le Saint are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor of software development. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McNamara’s teaching a platform for optimizing secure communication, Peddada’s teaching of a secret protection during software development life cycle and Roche’s teaching network controlled device management session with Le Saint’s teaching of efficient method for securely generating a cryptogram to incorporate exchanging information using a negotiated algorithm so both ends are using secure channels to exchange information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Le Saint et al. (US-PAT-NO: 10,389,533 B2) teaches a method for secure cryptogram generation.
Todd et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2022/0138325 A1) teaches secure enclave pathing configuration for data confidence fabrics.
Agrawal et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2012/0036362 A1) teaches secret-key exchange for wireless and sensor networks.
Akiona et al. (US-PGPUB-NO: 2022/0206772 A1) teaches scalable, robust, and secure multi-tenant edge architecture for mission-critical applications.
Nix (US-PGPUB-NO: 2022/0209944 A1) teaches secure server digital signature generation for post-quantum cryptography key encapsulation.
Oliveira (US-PGPUB-NO: 2017/0169249 A1) teaches end user control of personal data in the cloud.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LENIN PAULINO/Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197