DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 4/27/2026 for application number 18/104,946.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. For independent claims 1, 10, and 15, claim 1 (representative of independent claims 10 and 15) recites:
A method comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a request to incorporate a set of code defining functionality for an application into a set of existing code defining existing functionality of the application; receiving, by the processing device responsive to the receiving of the request, code data describing information associated with the set of; processing, by the processing device, the code data using a machine learning model trained on training data to generate incorporation metric classifications; outputting, by the processing device, a classification of an incorporation metric for the set of code using the machine learning model based on processing the code data; generating, by the processing device, an indication of the classification of the incorporation metric for the set of code for display in a user interface, the indication including an actionable change usable to modify the set of code to modify the classification for the incorporation metric
(2A, prong 1) The underlined portions of the claim recite an abstract idea, specifically a mental process. A human can mentally make a judgement about a likelihood that a portion of code will be incorporated into an existing codebase, and suggest a change for improving the chance of incorporation. (That is to say, humans manually perform code reviews and suggest changes).
(2A, prong 2) This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the additional limitations of (1) generic computing elements like a processor, memory, etc., (2) receiving new code, (3) processing using a ML model and outputting the classification; and (4) displaying the classification and suggestion. Additional elements (1) and (3) are mere instruction to apply the exception because they invoke generic computer components to perform the abstract idea, and they only recite the outcome of the ML model classifying incorporation metrics of a new code without explaining how the solution works. Additional elements (2) and (4) are insignificant extra-solution activity because they amount to mere necessary data gathering and outputting for the abstract idea. Even when all of the additional elements are considered together with the abstract idea, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they merely add mere instructions to apply and insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea.
(2B) The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As explained above, additional elements (1) and (3) are mere instruction to apply the exception. Also, additional elements (2) and (4) are well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, analogous to storing and retrieving information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(d) citing Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (for element 2) and presenting offers and gathering statistics, see MPEP 2106.05(d) citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (for element 4). Even when all of the additional elements are considered together with the abstract idea, they do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself because they merely add mere instructions to apply and insignificant extra-solution activity that is well-understood, routine, and conventional to the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2, 10, and 19 recite the machine learning model includes a histogram-based gradient boosting classifier. This adds a mathematical calculation to additional element (3): using a histogram-based gradient boosting classifier as the ML model to produce the classification explicitly requires using particular mathematical calculations (see, e.g. Ke et al., LightGBM: A Highly Efficient Gradient Boosting Decision Tree, attached NPL, which outlines the calculations required to implement a histogram-based gradient boosting classifier).
Dependent claims 3 and 13 specify the classification is binary. This adds to the mental process: a human can make a mental judgment of a binary classification.
Dependent claims 4, 12, and 20 specify the metric is one of: a metric specifying that the set of new code is not incorporated into the set of existing code within a first threshold number of days, a metric specifying that the set of new code does not receive a first approval within a second threshold number of days, a metric specifying that the set of new code is not incorporated into the set of existing code, or a metric specifying that the set of new code receives more than a threshold number of comments in a review. This adds to the mental process: a human can make a mental judgment of the likelihood of rejecting the new code, how many comments the new code will need, how long the code will take to review, etc.
Dependent claims 5-7, 11, and 16-18 recite the information associated with the new code is particular types of data. These limitations add particular data types to additional element (2). However, limitation (2) still amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity as it is mere data gathering for the abstract idea, and is well-understood, routine, and conventional, analogous to storing and retrieving information in memory, see MPEP 2106.05(d) citing Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Dependent claims 8-9 recite the generated indication for display includes an actionable change to modify the classification based on a derivative of the classification. This is a further mental step: a human can make a mental judgment about what changes to new code would make it more likely to be accepted based on their judgment about the classification of the new code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al., Early Prediction for Merged vs Abandoned Code Changes in Modern Code Reviews (see NPL cited 1/27/2026) in view of Obando Chacon et al. (US 2023/0385042 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Islam teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a processing device, a request to incorporate a set of code defining functionality for an application into a set of existing code defining existing functionality of the application; receiving, by the processing device responsive to the receiving of the request, code data describing information associated with the set of code (developer submits code for merging into larger project, pages 2-3); processing, by the processing device, the code data using a machine learning model trained on training data to generate incorporation metric classifications (classification model is trained to generate a likelihood of either merged or abandoned states, page 4, page 26); outputting, by the processing device, a classification of an incorporation metric for the set of code using the machine learning model based on processing the code data (model outputs prediction of merged or abandoned, page 4, 26, 46).
However, Islam does not explicitly teach generating, by the processing device, an indication of the classification of the incorporation metric for the set of code for display in a user interface, the indication including an actionable change usable to modify the set of code to modify the classification for the incorporation metric.
Obando Chacon teaches generating, by the processing device, an indication of the classification of the incorporation metric for the set of new code for display in a user interface, the indication including an actionable change usable to modify the set of code to modify the classification for the incorporation metric (AI analyzes code and displays a code improvement option, para. 0055-57, including an edit to the code, para. 0085 and fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Islam and Obando Chacon before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the prediction as disclosed by Islam to include the UI display as taught by Obando Chacon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the prediction of Islam to include the UI display of Obando Chacon because it helps better implement AI-suggested improvements for developers (Obando Chacon, para. 0019-33, 0056-57).
In reference to claim 2, Islam teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the machine learning model includes a histogram-based gradient boosting classifier (LightGBM may be used as the classifier, page 21-22, page 5 at top; LightGBM is a gradient boosting decision tree for binary classification that builds feature histograms, see Ke et al., LightGBM: A Highly Efficient Gradient Boosting Decision Tree, attached NPL at pages 1-6).
In reference to claim 3, Islam teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the classification is a binary classification (binary classification of either of merged or abandoned, page 4, 26, 46).
In reference to claim 4, Islam teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the incorporation metric is at least one of a metric specifying that the set of new code is not incorporated into the set of existing code within a first threshold number of days, a metric specifying that the set of new code does not receive a first approval within a second threshold number of days, a metric specifying that the set of new code is not incorporated into the set of existing code, or a metric specifying that the set of new code receives more than a threshold number of comments in a review (classification of either of merged or abandoned, page 4, 26, 46, which is a metric if the new code is not incorporated into the existing set).
In reference to claim 5, Islam teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the information associated with the set of new code includes at least one of code coverage for the set of new code, a number of lines to be added to the set of existing code, or a number of lines to be removed from the set of existing code (lines added or removed, table 4 on page 15).
In reference to claim 8, Islam does not explicitly teach the method as described in claim 1, wherein the indication of the classification includes an indication of an actionable change to modify the classification.
Obando Chacon teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the indication of the classification includes an indication of an actionable change to modify the classification (specific changes are displayed in UI, see fig. 9, para. 0085).
It It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Islam and Obando Chacon before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the prediction as disclosed by Islam to include the UI display as taught by Obando Chacon.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the prediction of Islam to include the UI display of Obando Chacon because it helps better implement AI-suggested improvements for developers (Obando Chacon, para. 0019-33, 0056-57).
In reference to claim 9, Ivankovic further teaches the method as described in claim 8, wherein the actionable change is determined based on a derivative of the classification with respect to the code data (predicted classification from ML model is used to generate message, para. 0049).
In reference to claim 10, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 12, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 4 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 13, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 3 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 14, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 15, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 1 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 17, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 5 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 19, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 2 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 20, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 4 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al., Early Prediction for Merged vs Abandoned Code Changes in Modern Code Reviews (see NPL cited 1/27/2026) in view of Obando Chacon et al. (US 2023/0385042 A1) as applied to claims 1, 10, and 15 above, and in further view of Chopra et al. (US 10,324,822 B1).
In reference to claim 6, Islam and Obando Chacon do not explicitly teach the method as described in claim 1, wherein the information associated with the set of new code includes at least one of a number of non- comment lines, a number of comment lines, or a timestamp of a request to incorporate the set of new code into the set of existing code.
Chopra teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the information associated with the set of new code includes at least one of a number of non- comment lines, a number of comment lines, or a timestamp of a request to incorporate the set of new code into the set of existing code (number of comment lines, col. 5, lines 55-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Islam, Obando Chacon, and Chopra before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the features as disclosed by Islam to include the lines of comments as taught by Chopra.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the features of Islam to include the lines of comments of Chopra because those features can help predict code quality, and therefore the feature would be relevant to predicting if new code will be accepted into the existing codebase (Chopra, col. 1, lines 13-50).
In reference to claim 11, this claim is directed to a system associated with the method claimed in claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
In reference to claim 16, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 6 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al., Early Prediction for Merged vs Abandoned Code Changes in Modern Code Reviews (see NPL cited 1/27/2026) in view of Obando Chacon et al. (US 2023/0385042 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and in further view of Gousios et al., An Exploratory Study of the Pull-Based Software Development Model (see NPL cited 1/27/2026).
In reference to claim 7, Islam and Obando Chacon do not explicitly teach the method as described in claim 1, wherein the information associated with the set of new code includes at least one of code coverage for the set of existing code or a number of lines included in the set of existing code.
Gousios teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein the information associated with the set of new code includes at least one of code coverage for the set of existing code or a number of lines included in the set of existing code (total executable lines of code in project and test coverage, see table 1, page 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, having the teachings of Islam, Obando Chacon, and Gousios before the earliest effective filing date, to modify the features as disclosed by Islam to include the lines / code coverage as taught by Gousios.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the features of Islam to include the lines / code coverage of Gousios because those features can help predict if code merge requests will be accepted (Gousios, page 349-50).
In reference to claim 18, this claim is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium associated with the method claimed in claim 7 and is therefore rejected under a similar rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the claims recite patent-eligible subject matter because the additional limitation of displaying an actionable change to improve the incorporation metric integrates the claim into a practical application by providing a technical improvement over conventional systems that must first attempt to incorporate the code before failing. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(a) states that when Examiners are considering patent subject matter eligibility in relation to claims that purport to improve the functioning of a computer, “An important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome … It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements.” In this case, these two factors weigh against the claims being patent-eligible subject matter.
First, the claim as a whole generally covers the idea of a solution (that automated code review is performed, and an improvement suggestion is generated) and not a particular way to achieve the outcome (i.e. how the ML model is trained or operates to make the predictions). Therefore, the claims are covering essentially any ML solution to automated code review.
Second, the disclosed technical improvement cited by Applicant is provided by the judicial exception alone. That is to say, the advantage of determining if code will be accepted or rejected without actually incorporating the code, and displaying a way of improving the code, flows from the mental process of determining a metric for the code and a change in the code to improve the metric. The additional elements of using a trained ML model and displaying the suggestion in a user interface, even in combination with the abstract idea, are not enough to provide a technical improvement as explained in the 101 rejection above.
With respect to the 103 rejection, please see new reference Obando Chacon above, which teaches displaying, “an actionable change usable to modify the set of code.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T CHIUSANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144