DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 11, 15, 17 and 19 have been amended. Claims 10 and 13-14 have been cancelled. Claims 1-9, 11-12 and 15-19 remain pending.
The previously raised objections for Claims 1-2, and 17 are withdrawn because the issues have been properly corrected.
The previous rejections for Claims 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) are withdrawn because of the proper amendment made to Claim 17.
The previous rejections for Claims 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn because the claims have been properly amended.
Response to Arguments
On Pages 6-7 of Remarks, regarding amended Claims 1 and 17, Applicant argues that none of references Gotez, Loike or Tyler does not disclose apply low intensity pressure of less than 10 PSI. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Reference Loike discloses in Para 0045, “the acoustic intensity of the device administering SAW can range from about 0.07 W/cm2 to about 0.4 W/cm2 …”. For sound that transmits in air of room temperature and pressure, sound intensity (unit of W/m2) equals square of sound pressure (unit of Pascal) divided by air’s acoustic impedance (a constant of about 410 Pascal s/m2). Based on the relationship, the disclosed range of acoustic intensity in Loike corresponds to a range of acoustic intensity of 0.08-0.19 psi. As discussed in Claim 17, reference Tyler also discloses an acoustic intensity corresponding to acoustic pressure of less than 6 psi.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17, Lines 4-5, recites “configured to safely delivering pulsed pressure wave to a subject less than 10 psi”, which should be changed to “configured to safely deliver pulsed pressure wave to a subject at less than 10 psi”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, Lines 2 and 4, recite “… subject at risk and in early stage of Alzheimer’s disease …”. A subject cannot be “at risk” and “in early stage” of Alzheimer’s disease at the same time. For present purposes of Examination, the recited phrase is interpreted as “… subject at risk or in early stage of Alzheimer’s disease …”.
Claim 1, Lines 4-6, recites “… subject at risk and in early stage of Alzheimer’s disease or other neurodegenerative diseases, respectively, caused by abnormal accumulation of proteins in the brain”. While Alzheimer’s disease is characterized by abnormal accumulation of proteins in brain (Para 0060), it is not equivalent to state that the disease is caused by such accumulation. For present purposes of examination, the phrase “caused by abnormal accumulation of proteins in the brain” is not taken into consideration.
Claims 2-9 and 11-12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because they inherit the indefiniteness of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loike et al (US 20180126191 A1; hereafter Loike).
Regarding Claim 15, Loike discloses a method to improve brain inflammation in patients at risk for Alzheimer's disease or other neurodegenerative diseases, comprising
a) Identifying a patient at risk of developing Alzheimer's disease or other neurodegenerative diseases caused by abnormal accumulation of proteins in the brain (Loike, Abstract; “Disclosed herein is a method of reducing inflammation in a patient with a chronic condition, such as Parkinson's disease or Alzheimer's disease.”); and
b) Exposing said subject to repetitive low intensity blast overpressure less than 10 psi (Loike, Para 0035; “Surface Acoustic Waves (SAW) are low-energy elastic ultrasound waves that are non-thermal.”) (Loike, Para 0044; “The time period of SAW application … can be further broken up into periods separated by a rest period without SAW application.”) (Loike, Para 0045; “the acoustic intensity of the device administering SAW can range from about 0.07 W/cm2 to about 0.4 W/cm2 …”. The disclosed range of acoustic intensity corresponds to acoustic pressure of 0.08-0.19 psi).
Regarding Claim 16, Loike discloses the method of claim 15, wherein said improvement of brain inflammation include reduction in brain ADAM17, and increase in serum levels of brain-derived TNF-α and IL-6 (Loike discloses performing the repetitive low-energy acoustic wave method to reduce brain inflammation in patient with PD or AD. Specification of current application (Para 151) states that performing the method leads to the effect of reduction in brain ADAM17 and of increase in serum levels of brain-derived TNF-α and IL-6).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tyler et al (US 20110178441 A1; hereafter Tyler).
Regarding Claim 17, Tyler discloses a device or system to reduce abnormal accumulation of brain proteins (Tyler, Para 0206; “Modulated cellular activity includes but is not limited to changes in … (vi) the protein transcription of the cells, (vii) the protein translation of cells, (viii) the protein phosphorylation of the cells”) in a subject at risk and in early stage of Alzheimer's disease or other neurodegenerative diseases (Tyler, Para 0010; “… treatment of physiological or pathological conditions including, but not limited to, Parkinson's disease, Alzheimer's disease …”), comprising a shock wave applicator configured to safely delivering pulsed pressure wave to a subject of less than 10 psi (Tyler, Para 0073; “a pulsed ultrasound stimulus waveform may be transmitted for about 10 microseconds”) (Tyler, Para 0225; “low intensity pulsed ultrasound waveforms appear to be highly effective in modulating neural activity, safe for prolonged use”) (Tyler, Para 0078; “Another definition of intensity widely used in the art is spatial-peak pulse-average intensity (Ipa); for the multiple cycle pulses used in the illustrated embodiment the Ipa is typically less than 10 W/cm2.”; the disclosed range of ultrasound intensity corresponds to acoustic pressure of 0.93 psi).
Regarding Claim 18, Tyler discloses the device of claim 17, wherein said pulsed pressure wave is delivered to said subject at subclinical blast level (Tyler, Para 0225; “low intensity pulsed ultrasound waveforms appear to be highly effective in modulating neural activity, safe for prolonged use”).
Regarding Claim 19, Tyler discloses the device of claim 18, wherein said pulsed pressure wave is delivered to said subject at equal or less than 6 psi (Tyler, Para 0078; “Another definition of intensity widely used in the art is spatial-peak pulse-average intensity (Ipa); for the multiple cycle pulses used in the illustrated embodiment the Ipa is typically less than 10 W/cm2.”; the disclosed range of ultrasound intensity corresponds to acoustic pressure of 0.93 psi).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetz et al (US 20180214716 A1; hereafter Goetz), in view of Loike.
Regarding Claim 1, Goetz discloses a method to reduce abnormal accumulation of brain proteins (Goetz, Para 0085; “… SUSing reduces Aβ plaques in an Alzheimer's mouse model…”) in a subject at risk and in early stage of Alzheimer's disease or other neurodegenerative diseases, comprising
a) identifying the subject at risk of and in early stage of Alzheimer's disease or other neurodegenerative diseases (Goetz, Para 0032; “In a subject identified as having Alzheimer's disease the region may be selected from the group consisting of …”), respectively, caused by abnormal accumulation of proteins in the brain; and
b) exposing said subject to repetitive low intensity blast overpressure (Goetz, Para 0079; “The acoustic energy may be applied in a method of the invention at a pressure greater than 0.4 MPa.”) (Goetz, Para 0135; “Preferably the ultrasound is applied in burst mode, or pulsed ultrasound.”) (Goetz, Para 0080; “the step of applying the acoustic energy may be repeated”).
Goetz does not clearly and explicitly disclose the exposed acoustic pressure being less than 10 psi.
Loike in the same field of endeavor discloses the exposed acoustic pressure being less than 10 psi (Loike, Para 0045; “the acoustic intensity of the device administering SAW can range from about 0.07 W/cm2 to about 0.4 W/cm2 …”. The disclosed range of acoustic intensity corresponds to acoustic pressure of 0.08-0.19 psi). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goetz, as suggested by Loike, in order to keep ultrasound pressure low. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of reducing risk of damaging healthy tissue in the treatment process.
Regarding Claim 2, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of claim 1. Goetz further discloses wherein said method further
a) improvs behavioral deficits; c) reduces brain inflammation; or d) a combination thereof (Goetz, Para 0098; “…restoring cognitive and/or memory function. It is believed that this is achieved by removing pathogenic protein, such as amyloid-β (Aβ)”).
Regarding Claim 3, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of claim 1. Goetz further discloses wherein said low intensity blast overpressure is at subclinical blast level (Goetz, Para 0036; “a clinically safe level of acoustic energy does not result in detectable heating, brain swelling, red blood cell extravasation, haemorrhage or edema.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of Claim 1, including wherein said subclinical blast overpressure is equal or less than 6 psi (Loike, Para 0045; “the acoustic intensity of the device administering SAW can range from about 0.07 W/cm2 to about 0.4 W/cm2 …”. The disclosed range of acoustic intensity corresponds to acoustic pressure of 0.08-0.19 psi).
Regarding Claim 5, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of claim 1. Goetz further discloses wherein said subject is exposed to repetitive low intensity blast overpressure intermittently for a prolonged period (Goetz, Para 0092; “APP23 mice, 5 treatments over a period of six weeks”).
Regarding Claim 6, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of claim 2. Goetz further discloses wherein said behavioral deficits include anxiety, impaired cognition, social interactions difficulties, loss of spatial orientation, impairment in short term memory, speech impediment, visuospatial skills impairment, orientation impairment, and difficulty in reasoning or problem-solving, difficulty in handling complex tasks, difficulty in concentrating, planning and organizing or a combination thereof (Goetz, Para 0105; “A subject in need of treatment may be one that exhibits impaired memory function, cognitive function or subclinical or clinical symptoms of a neurodegenerative disease.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Goetz and Loike disclose all the limitations of Claim 1. Goetz further discloses comprising at least once administering to said subject an effective amount of one or more therapeutic agent or therapy (Goetz, Para 0056; “a method of the invention also includes the step of administering an agent to promote the increase in permeability of the blood-brain barrier”).
Regarding Claim 9, Goetz and Loike disclose all the limitations of Claim 8. Goetz further discloses wherein said therapeutic agent i) prevents β-amyloid deposition; ii) reduces β-amyloid production; iii) improves β-amyloid clearance; iv) improves brain inflammation; v) inhibits of BACE1; or vi) a combination thereof (Goetz, Para 0102; “… increasing the permeability of the blood-brain barrier leads to at least one of the following processes: i) clearance of the pathological protein aggregates out of the brain, into the blood, following opening of the blood-brain barrier”)
Regarding Claim 11, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of Claim 1. Goetz further discloses wherein said proteins include α-synuclein, tau, amyloid precursor protein (APP), amyloid β protein (Aβ) or a combination thereof (Goetz, Para 0146; “a non-invasive and nonpharmacological therapeutic approach of removing Aβ”).
Regarding Claim 12, Goetz and Loike disclose a method of Claim 11. Goetz further discloses wherein said amyloid β protein (Aβ) is Aβ 42 (Goetz, Para 0151; “a 17% reduction was revealed for Aβ42 in SUSed compared to sham-treated mice”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goetz and Loike, further in view of Eguchi et al (Brain Stimul. 2018 Sep-Oct;11(5):959-973; hereafter Eguchi).
Regarding Claim 7, Goetz and Loike disclose all the limitations of Claim 2 as discussed above, but do not clearly and explicitly disclose wherein said reduction of abnormal brain accumulation or deposition of beta-amyloid is achieved by a) Decreasing APP-cleaving secretases; b) Increasing trans-endothelial clearance via LRP1; c) Improving paravascular glymphatic AQP4-mediated clearance; or d) A combination thereof.
Eguchi in the same field of endeavor discloses the method of claim 2, wherein said reduction of abnormal brain accumulation or deposition of beta-amyloid is achieved by a) Decreasing APP-cleaving secretases (BACE-1); b) Increasing trans-endothelial clearance via LRP1; c) Improving paravascular glymphatic AQP4-mediated clearance; or d) A combination thereof (Eguchi, Abstract; “we examined whether the whole-brain LIPUS (low intensity pulsed ultrasound) therapy is effective and safe in 2 mouse models of dementia (vascular dementia, VaD and Alzheimer's disease, AD). … it reduced Iba-1-positive microglias and amyloid-β (Aβ) plaque in the AD model.”) (Eguchi, Page 968, Para 4; “… BACE-1 (β-site amyloid precursor protein cleaving enzyme-1) … were significantly decreased by the LIPUS therapy”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Goetz and Loike, as suggested by Eguchi, in order to decrease APP-cleaving secretases to reduce abnormal brain accumulation of beta amyloid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification because BACE-1 as one type of APP-cleaving enzyme (Eguchi, Table of Abbreviations) directly contributes to Aβ accumulation (Eguchi, Fig. 9 shows a direct relationship between decrease in BACE-1 and decrease in Aβ accumulation).
Conclusion
/L.Z./ Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798