DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
wherein the rotary union comprises a spring configured to prevent closure of the rotary joint when the rotary joint is pressurized by the supercritical machining fluid (claim 25)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 24, the limitation “wherein the rotary union is configured for use with the supercritical fluid at a temperature exceeding 31.10 C and a pressure exceeding 72.8 atm” has not been mentioned at all in the specification and appears arbitrary. Where do these number come from? Is this range described in the specification? What structure is being claimed?
Regarding claim 25, the limitation “wherein the rotary union comprises a spring configured to prevent closure of the rotary joint when the rotary joint is pressurized by the supercritical machining fluid” has not been mentioned at all in the specification. Note that these structural features have also not been shown in the drawing (see drawing objections). Where is this feature described in the specification? What structure is being claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant, US PGPub 2009/0320655 in view of Dionne et al., US PGPub 2012/0237311.
Regarding claim 1, Grant discloses a machining system (5) configured to be lubricated by a supercritical machining fluid (see [0016]), the machining system (5) comprising: a first inlet (24) configured to be fluidly coupled to a supply of the supercritical machining fluid (14); and a coupling (20) fluidly coupled to the first inlet (24), and wherein the coupling (20) is configured to receive and be lubricated by the supercritical machining fluid (from 14), and wherein the coupling (20) is configured to be coupled to a machining tool (12). Grant does not specify that the coupling (20) is a rotary union.
Dionne et al., teaches a similar cutting tool lubrication system (see fig 5) wherein the coupling to the machine tool (34) comprises a rotary union (20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the rotary union coupling described by Dionne et al. in the system disclosed by Grant in order to more evenly guide the lubricant to the cutting interface and enhance lubrication efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, further comprising the supply (from 14) of the supercritical machining fluid, wherein the supply of the supercritical machining fluid (14) is configured to deliver the supercritical machining fluid to the first inlet (24).
Regarding claim 3, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, further comprising a second machining fluid supply (18) configured to deliver a second machining fluid (lubricant) to the rotary union (20 - Dionne et al.).
Regarding claim 4, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 3, further comprising: a valve (26), wherein the valve (26) is configured to deliver the supercritical machining fluid to the rotary union in a first configuration (i.e. flow restricting position – see [0021]), and wherein the valve (26) is configured to deliver the second machining fluid (from 18) to the rotary union (20- Dionne et al.) in a second configuration (i.e. flow passing position – see [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, further comprising the machining tool (12), wherein the machining tool is coupled to the rotary union (20- Dionne et al.).
Regarding claim 6, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 5, wherein the machining tool (12) comprises a cutting tool (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 5, wherein the machining tool (12) comprises a drill (see [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 7, wherein the drill is a robotic drill (see [0019] Dionne et al.).
Regarding claim 9, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 5, wherein the machining tool comprises a spindle (30 - Dionne et al.) coupled to the rotary union (20- Dionne et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 9, further comprising a sensor (40) configured to sense a pressure behind the spindle (see [0024]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, but does not specify the operating pressure range. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to operate within the specified pressure ranges since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated operate in the specified pressure ranges in order to optimize the cooling for a specific cutting operation.
Regarding claim 12, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, wherein the supercritical machining fluid (from 14) comprises supercritical carbon dioxide (see [0019]).
Regarding claim 13, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 4, wherein the valve (26) is a first valve. Grant does not specify a second valve located in the specified location. Dionne et al. teaches a second valve (132), wherein the second valve (132) is movable to a purging position configured to release pressure between the machining tool and the second valve (132). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the second valve described by Dionne et al. to the system disclosed by Grant in order to allow for rapid pressure discharge during shutdown operations and enhance the lubrication efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, further comprising a orifice (i.e. 68) configured to deliver the supercritical fluid to a cutting interface (see fig 2)
Regarding claim 24, Grant in view of Dionne et al. discloses the machining system of claim 1, wherein the rotary union (20 - Dionne et al.) is configured for use with the supercritical fluid (see [0016]). Grant in view of Dionne et al. does not specify the fluid having a temperature exceeding 31.10 C and a pressure exceeding 72.8 atm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to employ the specified temperature and pressure range since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to employ the specified temperature and pressure range in order to optimize the machine lubrication properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 and 24-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654