DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “flexing mechanism” in claim 52.
A review of the specification shows that the corresponding structure of the “flexing mechanism” appears to be a reduction in diameter of the stem, as described on Page 15 of applicant’s specification and as depicted in Figure 9 of applicant’s disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-48, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gueret ‘926 (US2004/0240926) in view of Gueret ‘299 (US2010/0294299).
Regarding claim 43, Gueret ‘926 discloses a package (1, best shown in Figure 1) comprising:
a mascara brush (5) including bristles (11 and/or 12), wherein the bristles have a solid round (refer to Figures 10, 38, 40, 43, and 47-48; additionally refer to Paragraph [0023]) or solid oval (refer to Figure 43) cross section with a diameter of 6 mil (“the bristles may have a diameter from about 5/100 millimeters to about 40/100 millimeters”, refer to Paragraph [0025], which equates to ~1.97mil~15.75 mil, which overlaps and fully encompasses the claimed value of 6 mil); a twisted wire core (10) holding the bristles (“The…bristles…are held…by being clamped between twisted strands of the core”, refer to Paragraph [0117]; additionally refer to Figure 2), the twisted wire core includes from 11 to 13 bristles per turn (“the brush may include from about five bristles per turn of the twisted core to about 80 bristles per turn of the twisted core”, refer to Paragraph [0020], wherein the range of 5 to 80 overlaps and fully encompasses the claimed range); and the brush has an average brush diameter between 7.4mm to 8.2mm (“the length of the bristles from the core to their free ends may, for example, range from about 1 millimeter to about 7 millimeters”, refer to Paragraph [0026], and “the envelope surface may define a cross-section that is…circular”, refer to Paragraph [0028], and “the core may be centered in a cross-section”, refer to Paragraph [0028] and “the envelope surface may be…substantially constant”, refer to Paragraph [0030]; thus, providing a brush having an envelope surface having a substantially circular cross-section with bristle lengths from about 1mm to about 7mm provides a brush having an average diameter of anywhere from about 2mm to about 14mm, which overlaps and fully encompasses the claimed range);
a stem (4, Figure 1) connected to one end (a top end, refer to Figure 1) of the mascara brush;
a cap (6, Figure 1) connected to a second end (top end of the stem, refer to Figure 1) of the stem;
a container (2, Figure 1) including mascara (P, Figure 1; additionally refer to Paragraph [0113]); and
a wiper (8, Figure 1) in an interior of the container (“fixed inside the neck 7”, refer to Paragraph [0114] and Figure 1). Additionally refer to Figures 1-49.
Gueret ‘926 does not disclose wherein the wiper has an orifice size of between 4.75mm and 5.1mm. Rather, Gueret ‘926 is silent to the specific size of the wiper orifice but does however disclose that diameter of the wiper orifice may be “substantially equal to that of the stem” (refer to Paragraph [0114]).
Gueret ‘299 discloses a similar package (10, Figure 1) containing a cosmetic material (P, Figure 1), comprising a brush (8) with twisted wire core (40), disposed within a container (2), wherein the container further comprises a wiper (20) with an orifice of circular section and, similar to Gueret ‘926, has “a diameter that corresponds substantially to the diameter of the stem” (refer to Paragraph [0004]) with the diameter of the orifice having a diameter in the range of 2.5mm to 5.5mm (refer to Paragraph [0019]), which overlaps and fully encompasses the claimed range of 4.75mm to 5.1mm. Gueret ‘299’s wiper is sized to be “adapted to the diameter of the stem” (refer to Paragraph [0101]) such that the cosmetic material is smoothed about the brush (refer to Paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gueret ‘926’s package such that the wiper has an orifice sized to be within the claimed range, as taught by Gueret ‘299, since such a modification provides the advantage of smoothing the cosmetic material about a length of the brush.
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses wherein the bristles include rounded ends (the bristles may optionally be “subjected to treatment seeking to impart special properties to the free ends of the bristles…for example, in order to form a ball-shaped portion 61”; refer to Gueret ‘926 Paragraph [0138] and Gueret ‘926 Figure 45).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses the package of claim 43, wherein the bristles include straight ends (refer to Gueret ‘926 Figures 47-48 which are described as “exemplary” bristles, refer to Paragraph [0137]).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses wherein the bristles include crimps along the length of the bristle (Merriam-Webster defines crimp as “to cause to become wavy, bent, or pinched”; referring to Gueret ‘926 Figures 2, 5-9, and 12 are exemplary bristles of the mascara brush and are depicted as having waves/bends/crimps).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses wherein the wire has a diameter of 0.5 mm to 0.9 mm (“the diameter of the metal strands may range from about 0.3 millimeters to about 0.9 millimeters”, refer to Paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses wherein the brush
has an envelope shape that may be selected from a number of configurations (refer to Gueret ‘926, Paragraph [0129]), including an envelope shape selected from a cylindrical portion with a frustoconical portion (refer to Figures 18, 21, and 37), two frustoconical portions (refer to Figure 34), a single frustoconical portion (refer to Figures 18, 21, 37), a single cylindrical portion (refer to Figure 37), an ovoid (refer to Figure 26), and a cylindrical portion with helical cuts. Additionally refer to Paragraph [0028].
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses wherein the brush has a cross-sectional shape of a circle (“the envelope surface may define a cross-section that is…circular”, refer to Paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. Gueret ‘926 further discloses wherein the brush has an envelope that may be selected from a number of polygonal shapes including triangular, square, pentagonal, heptagonal, or octagonal (refer to Gueret ‘926, Paragraph [0129] and Figures 22-25, 29-33), wherein the envelope shape defines the cross-section of the brush and polygonal shapes by definition include straight sides. Thus, the combination discloses that the brush has a cross-sectional shape including straight sides.
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 disclose the package of claim 43, as applied above. The combination does not thus far disclose wherein the brush further comprises a flexing mechanism or a comb.
Per the 112(f) interpretation applied above, the limitation “flexing mechanism” is interpreted as a reduction in diameter of the stem, or equivalents thereof.
Gueret ‘299 discloses a stem (5) comprising an end piece (180 + 181, refer to Figures 16-17; additionally refer to Paragraph [0140]), wherein the end piece has an area of reduced diameter (181, see Figures 16-17), wherein the area of reduced diameter is depicted as permitting the stem to flex (see Figures 16-17) in order to leave an “amount of angular clearance while the brush is being removed from the container or during application” (refer to Paragraph [0140]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the package of the combination of Gueret ‘926 and Gueret ‘299 such that the brush further comprises a flexing mechanism, as taught by Gueret ‘299, since such a modification provides the advantage of providing an amount of angular clearance while the brush is being removed from the container or during application.
Affidavit
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 06/16/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 43-48, and 50-52 based upon 35 USC 103 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Applicant argues (see item 8 in the declaration) that the claimed ranges provide an unexpected result; that bristles are available in full integer increments and in that regard, referring to the heat maps provided in Figure 8A through 8J, while it appears that there are values in-between these full integer increments, only the zones near the integers are viable for commercial products. Referring to Applicant’s Figure 8A, below, where a horizontal line has been appended thereto to show the bristle diameter of 5mm, there are several wiper sides ranging from approximately 4.75mm – 5.3mm that coincide with a bristle having a diameter of 5 mil (an integer); thus, it still appears that other values than those claimed would provide the desired volume value of 89.9. Since these are values different than those claimed, it still does not appear that the claimed values provide unexpected results.
Applicant argues (see item 19 of the declaration) that the specific combination of claimed parameters are specifically chosen due to being an optimization and that combinations of parameters other than that claimed provide an “inferior” system. Thus, it appears that applicant is essentially performing routine optimization of known parameters in order to achieve a desired product result which is within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art and further, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given the cited prior art provided herein.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument #1:
The examiner’s conclusion that “different combinations of bristle diameters and wiper orifice diameters result in the same ratio of volume to separation as the claimed invention…the particular claimed combination (6mil diameter bristle and 4.9mm diameter wiper orifice) does not provide unexpected results” fails to account for practical benefits provided by the claimed embodiment that are not present in the alternate embodiments. Because the claimed embodiment results in the absence of a property which the claimed invention would have expected to possess, Applicant respectfully asserts that the result is unexpected. The combination cited by the examiner “a bristle diameter of 5mil and a wiper diameter of 5.1mm” is not a preferable combination due to its susceptibility of “the Christmas tree effect”.
Response #1:
Applicant’s specification focuses on a value described as a ratio of volume to separation; the specification and test results/heat map provided do not mention the Christmas tree effect; therefore it appears that applicant is arguing features which are not claimed.
Argument #2:
Bristle diameter may limit the range of usable wiper sizes. There is an aesthetic range of factors that consumers prefer, meaning that, while a volume to separation ratio may e identical according to their respective heat chart(s), different bristle diameters have a finite range of usable wiper sizes that produce additional subjective benefits that are only discernable during product testing with consumers.
Response #2:
It appears that applicant is arguing a matter of design choice/a feature that is merely preferable to consumers which does not constitute an unexpected result. Further, there is no evidence of record that the particular claimed parameters are directly responsible for a focus group participant’s satisfaction with a finished product.
Argument #3:
Applicant may present a wider range of wiper sizes that result in the same volume to separation ratio for consumer feedback at the product testing stage, which is a notable benefit given the number of variables that must be considered for a wide and diverse client base. Because the claimed embodiment results in a superior range of wiper sizes resulting in an ideal volume to separation ratio, applicant respectfully asserts that the result is unexpected.
Response #3:
Applicant appears to be describing a design optimization rather than an unexpected result. Merely providing a design that offers more options to a client base does not provide an unexpected result but rather is a matter of design choice, based upon a user’s preference.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH WOODHOUSE/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772