DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 3-19, 21-22 remain pending in the application. Applicant amendments filed 06/17/2026 overcomes the previous 112(b) rejections and claim objections set forth in the Office Action mailed 02/17/2026, the previous 112(b) rejections and claim objections are withdrawn.
Status of Claims
Claims 3-19, 21-22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites “the test stirp holder has at least two channels” on line 2, where it is suggested to amend it to recite “the test strip holder has at least two of the channels” or similar so as to further add clarity that the channels are the same as those described prior.
Claim 16 recites “one or more second second analyte test strips” on lines 10-11, where the second “second” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catteruccia (US-2015/0212081-A1) in view of Wan (WO-2010/101564-A1).
Regarding claim 3, Catteruccia teaches a test swab apparatus for testing a fluid specimen, comprising:
a swab stem (outer housing 21) having an absorbent tip (absorbent pad 27 and sample loading pill 30) affixed on a bottom end of the swab stem (21) to absorb the fluid specimen, the swab stem (21) having an interior cavity open from a top end of the swab stem (21) to the bottom end of the swab stem (21) ([0041] and see absorbent pad 27 cut or sintered from absorbent material, [0048] see sample loading pill formed of an absorbent material, [0053] see reagent pushes through and over the sample loading pill 30 and moves the sample towards the absorbent pad 27, Figure 3, Figure 5b. See Figure 4 where absorbent material 27 is inserted inside the outer housing 21, and [0050] describes that the pill 30 is submerged in the sample and inserted into the tubular portion 31, therefore the absorbent material 27 and the pill 30 (both making up the absorbent tip) are affixed to the outer housing 21);
one or more analyte test strips (plurality of test strips 26) ([0041], Figure 3);
a test strip holder (inner support member 23) having one or more channels (grooves 24) each adapted to hold one of the one or more analyte test strips (26), each such test strip (26) testing for one or more analytes, wherein the test strip holder (23) is adapted to slide into the top end of the swab stem (21), wherein the test strip holder (23) has an extending member (bottom most part of the inner support member 23) that upon full insertion of the test strip holder (23) into the swab stem (21) engages the absorbent tip (27 and 30) on the bottom end of the swab stem (21) ([0041], [0046], [0054], Figure 3);
wherein upon full insertion of the test strip holder (23) into the swab stem (21) each of the one or more analyte test strips (26) are in fluid communication with the absorbent tip (27 and 30) ([0046], Figure 3);
wherein the one or more analyte test strips (26) contact the fluid absorbed by the absorbent tip (27 and 30) and provide one or more test results via a transparent portion of the swab stem (21) ([0041] see outer tubular housing 21 is preferably molded in transparent rigid plastic material, [0046], [0050], Figure 3).
While Catteruccia teaches that the inner support member 23 has a radially projecting head 25, where it is seen in Figure 4 that the radially projecting head 25 will fit within the outer tubular housing 21, it is unclear if the radially projecting head is a sealing member.
In the analogous art of analytical devices for collecting samples and determining the presence or absence and/or quantifying the amount of various analytes in the samples, Wan teaches a device with a sample collecting section, a sample accommodating section, and a sample analyzing section (Wan; [0002], [0007]).
Specifically, Wan teaches where the sample collection section 100 contains a lid 105 that includes a knob 101, an externally threaded portion 102, and an elongated shaft 103 where the externally threaded portion 102 is engagable with an internally threaded portion 502 of the sample accommodating section (Wan; [0023], Figure 2). [0025] of Wan describes that the sample accommodating section 500 may take on the shape of a cylinder and has an internally threaded portion 502 that engages with the externally threaded portion 102 of the sample collection section such that they may be coupled together. There may also be a rubber O-ring 200 provided between the lower rim of knob 101 and upper rim of internally threaded portion 502 that prevents leakage of collected sample (Wan; [0025], Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test chamber of Catteruccia such that it includes the externally threaded portion and O-ring as taught by Wan because Wan teaches that this coupling prevents the leakage of sample (Wan; [0025]).
The outer tubular housing 21 will have an internally threaded portion, which will correspond to the externally threaded portion of the inner support member, where one skilled in the art would find it obvious to place the O-ring on the inner support member. The threaded portion and O-ring are sealing members.
Regarding claim 4, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia further teaches wherein the one or more analyte test strips (26) comprise at least two analyte test strips (26) and the test strip holder (23) has at least two channels (24), wherein the at least two analyte test strips (26) are positioned in the at least two channels (24) of the test strip holder (23) wherein each of the at least two analyte test strips (26) are adapted to detect the presence or absence of the one or more analytes (Catteruccia; Figure 3 showing four analyte test strips and that will correspond to four grooves 24 on the inner support member 23, [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
The limitations of claim 5 are directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified Catteruccia and the apparatus of modified Catteruccia is capable of having each of the one or more test strips held in the one or more grooves of the inner support member detect the presence or absence of the one or more analytes. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Catteruccia (see MPEP §2114).
Please see [0054] of Catteruccia which describes that the test strips 26 have a detection signal line 35 that becomes visible. Further, please see [0071] of Catteruccia describing an example of influenza A and B detection where if influenza A or B antigens are present, a specific red line together with a positive control line will appear, and if no antigens are present then just the positive control line will appear. And see [0075] that describes another example where drugs of abuse are detected.
Regarding claim 6, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
The limitations of claim 6 are directed to the intended use of the apparatus, as described in claim 5 supra. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the one or more analytes comprise one or more drugs or alcohol.” is considered to be met.
However, please see [0075] of Catteruccia which describes an example where the target analytes consist of small molecules such as in the case of drugs of abuse.
Regarding claim 7, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 5.
The limitations of claim 7 are directed to the intended use of the apparatus, as described in claim 5 supra. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the one or more analytes comprise an antigen or antibody corresponding to a virus.” is considered to be met.
However, please see [0065] of Catteruccia which describes an example where influenza A and B are detected and [0071] where if influenza A or B antigens are present a specific red line and a positive control line will appear.
Regarding claim 8, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 7.
The limitations of claim 8 are directed to the intended use of the apparatus, as described in claim 5 and 7 supra. Therefore, the limitation “wherein a first analyte test strip of the one or more analyte test strips tests for the antigen corresponding to the virus, wherein a second analyte test strip of the one or more analyte test strips tests for the antibody corresponding to the virus.” is considered to be met.
Regarding claim 17, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia further teaches wherein one or more channels (24) of the test strip holder (23) has n channels, wherein n equals 4 (Catteruccia; Figure 3 shows four test strips 26, and therefore there will be four grooves 24).
Claim(s) 9-10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catteruccia (US-2015/0212081-A1) and Wan (WO-2010/101564-A1) and in further view of Loudermilk (US-2020/0376483-A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach further comprising:
a housing with a fluid collector tube; and
a sample holding container in fluid communication with the fluid collector tube;
wherein the swab stem is adapted for insertion into the fluid collector tube and upon insertion and penetration of the swab stem into the fluid collector tube pressure is generated to release the fluid specimen from the absorbent tip of the swab stem into the sample holding container;
wherein the fluid specimen contained in the sample holding container has sufficient volume for a confirmation test or a disease testing panel in a laboratory.
In the same problem solving area of substance collection and testing, Loudermilk teaches a housing provided with a vial (Loudermilk; [0002], [0041]).
Specifically, Loudermilk teaches that a housing 2 includes a vial 15 that is secured to the housing 2, where a swab assembly 5A is compressed in tube 2A of the housing 2 to release fluid into the vial 15 (Loudermilk; [0041], Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test chamber of Catteruccia such that it further comprises the housing of Loudermilk, where the test chamber is inserted into the tube of the housing of Loudermilk that is connected to the vial because Loudermilk teaches that the sample collected in the vial allows for confirmation testing to be performed (Loudermilk; [0040]).
The limitation “wherein the swab stem is adapted for insertion into the fluid collector tube and upon insertion and penetration of the swab stem into the fluid collector tube pressure is generated to release fluid from the absorbent tip of the swab stem into the sample holding container” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified Catteruccia and the test chamber of Catteruccia is capable of being inserted into the tube of Loudermilk. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Catteruccia (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 10, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach further comprising:
a housing with a fluid collector tube; and
a sample holding container in fluid communication with the fluid collector tube;
wherein the swab stem is adapted for insertion into the fluid collector tube and upon insertion and penetration into the fluid collector tube pressure is generated to release the fluid specimen from the absorbent tip of the swab stem into the sample holding container;
a gasket positioned in the fluid collector tube having an upper portion for engaging a wall of the fluid collector tube and a lower portion of smaller diameter than the upper portion for insertion into an opening of the sample holding container, wherein the gasket is positioned at an upper location in the fluid collector tube upon insertion of the swab stem into the fluid collector tube, wherein the gasket is positioned at a lower location in the fluid collector tube after insertion of the swab stem into the fluid collector tube and at the lower location the gasket forms a seal with the sample holding container, wherein air passes outside of the apparatus from the fluid collector tube before the gasket is positioned at the lower location.
In the same problem solving area of substance collection and testing, Loudermilk teaches a housing provided with a vial (Loudermilk; [0002], [0041]).
Specifically, Loudermilk teaches a gasket 30 that is shaped like a funnel that extends into vial 32 and channels the flow of fluid into the vial 32 as swab 12A is compressed upon insertion into housing 2 (Loudermilk; [0054], Figures 9-10). [0056] of Loudermilk describes that the gasket 30 facilitates a linearly movable, two position valve/sealing implement where in a first unsealed, venting position in swab tube 2A air vents to the outside of the device, and then under pressure of swab compression the gasket moves down swab tube 2H to a second, sealed/non-venting position where fluid does not escape to the outside of the device.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test chamber of Catteruccia such that includes the housing of Loudermilk, where the test chamber is inserted into the tube of the housing of Loudermilk that is connected to the vial, including the gasket, because Loudermilk teaches that the sample collected in the vial allows for confirmation testing to be performed (Loudermilk; [0040]).
The limitation “wherein the swab stem is adapted for insertion into the fluid collector tube and upon insertion and penetration into the fluid collector tube pressure is generated to release fluid from the absorbent tip of the swab stem into the sample holding container” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified Catteruccia and the test chamber of Catteruccia is capable of being inserted into the tube of Loudermilk. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Catteruccia (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 15, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach wherein a fluid indicator strip is positioned in at least a first channel of the one or more channels of the test strip holder.
In the same problem solving area of substance collection and testing, Loudermilk teaches a swab assembly (Loudermilk; [0002], [0045]).
Specifically, Loudermilk teaches where a swab assembly 5A has an indicator strip 27 that changes color when wet or saturated and is calibrated to serve as an indicator that a substantial and sufficient amount of saliva has been captured (Loudermilk; [0045], Figures 6A-C).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test chamber of Catteruccia such that it included an indicator strip in one of the grooves of the inner support member because it is taught by Loudermilk that an indicator strip indicates if a substantial and sufficient amount of sample has been captured (Loudermilk; [0045]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach further comprising:
a housing with a fluid collector tube and one or more second analyte test strips in fluid communication with the fluid collector tube, each such second analyte test strip testing for one or more second analytes;
wherein the swab stem is adapted for insertion into the fluid collector tube and upon insertion and penetration into the fluid collector tube pressure is generated to release the fluid specimen from the absorbent tip of the swab stem, wherein the fluid specimen is presented to the one or more second analyte test strips, wherein the presence or absence of the one or more analytes or second in the fluid specimen is detected based on one or more analyte test strips held by the test strip holder and based on the one or more second second analyte test strips.
In the same problem solving area of substance collection and testing, Loudermilk teaches a housing that is provided with a strip cassette provided with a plurality of assay strips (Loudermilk; [0002], [0041]).
Specifically, Loudermilk teaches where a swab assembly 5B is inserted into swab tube 2B where saliva is released due to this insertion and the saliva is moved into chamber 2C of the housing (Loudermilk; [0042], Figure 3). Once the saliva is in chamber 2C the presence or absence of one or more target analytes is detected by the plurality of assay stirps 7 held in cassette 3 (Loudermilk; [0041]).
Examiner finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., inserted the test chamber of Catteruccia into the housing, specifically tube 2B connected to the cassette holding multiple assay strips, of Loudermilk), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., detection of analytes), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to combine the test chamber of reference Catteruccia with the housing of reference Loudermilk, since the result would have been predictable.
The limitation “wherein the swab stem is adapted for insertion into the fluid collector tube and upon insertion and penetration into the fluid collector tube pressure is generated to release fluid from the absorbent tip of the swab stem” is directed to the function of the apparatus and/or the manner of operating the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by modified Catteruccia and the test chamber of Catteruccia is capable of being inserted into the tube of Loudermilk. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of modified Catteruccia (see MPEP §2114).
The test chamber of Catteruccia will now be inserted into the housing of Loudermilk, specifically the tube that is connected to chamber 2C that includes the plurality of assay strips 7.
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catteruccia (US-2015/0212081-A1), Wan (WO-2010/101564-A1) and Loudermilk (US-2020/0376483-A1), and in further view of Engel (US-2019/0083069-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 10. While Loudermilk does teach a gasket, Loudermilk does not teach wherein the gasket includes one or more cross members in an interior portion of the gasket that engages with the absorbent tip of the swab stem.
In the same problem solving area of compressing a sampling element with a sampler to express sample, Engel teaches an elevation 30 that has ridge-shaped elements 32 that promote the flow of sample down from the elevation 30 (Engel; [0107], Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the gasket of Loudermilk such that it further includes an elevation with ridge-shaped elements as taught by Engel because Engel teaches that the ridge-shaped elements promote the flow of sample (Engel; [0107]).
The ridge-shaped elements are each a cross member.
Regarding claim 12, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 10. While Loudermilk does teach a gasket, Loudermilk does not teach wherein the gasket includes a plurality of cross members that connect at a center point in an interior of the gasket, wherein the plurality of cross members engage with the absorbent tip of the swab stem.
In the same problem solving area of compressing a sampling element with a sampler to express sample, Engel teaches an elevation 30 that has ridge-shaped elements 32 that promote the flow of sample down from the elevation 30 (Engel; [0107], Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the gasket of Loudermilk such that it further includes an elevation with ridge-shaped elements as taught by Engel because Engel teaches that the ridge-shaped elements promote the flow of sample (Engel; [0107]).
The ridge-shaped elements are each a cross member that connect at a center point.
Regarding claim 13, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Engel further teaches wherein the plurality of cross members have a plurality of projections that engage with the absorbent tip of the swab stem.
The gasket of Loudermilk has been modified such that it further includes the ridge-shaped elements of Engel, where the ridge-shaped elements seen in Figures 3 and 4 are a plurality of projections.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catteruccia (US-2015/0212081-A1) and Wan (WO-2010/101564-A1) and in further view of Chen (US-2009/0068061-A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach wherein at least one of the channels of the test strip holder has protrusions from a side wall of the at least one channel, wherein the protrusions engage the analyte test strip positioned in the at least one channel.
In the same problem solving area of carriers with a series of grooves for holding a test strip, Chen teaches lugs (Chen; abstract).
Specifically, Chen teaches where a rectangular carrier has a series of grooves 24-28 that each hold a test strip, where each groove includes opposed lugs 32 that extend into the groove near the top and bottom ends of the grooves that squeeze the sides of test strips when installed to maintain the location of the test strips in its associated groove (Chen; [0028], Figures 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the grooves of Catteruccia such that they include the lugs as taught by Chen because Chen teaches that the lugs maintain the location of the test strips in their associated groove (Chen; [0028]).
Claim(s) 18-19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catteruccia (US-2015/0212081-A1) and Wan (WO-2010/101564-A1) and in further view of Messmer (WO-2016/123105-A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia further teaches wherein one or more analyte test strips (26) detect the presence or absence of a virus antigen (Catteruccia; [0071] describing an example where if influenza A or B antigens are present, a specific red line will appear together with a positive control line).
However, Catteruccia does not teach wherein one or more analyte test strips have a sample pad in fluid communication with the absorbent tip, wherein the sample pad includes an agent that facilitates the antigen detection via the one or more analyte test strips.
In the analogous art of test devices for determining the quantity of a biologic in a sample, Messmer teaches where the device includes a sample pad (Messmer; abstract).
Specifically, Messmer teaches where a sample pad is a membrane that receives the biologic that is impregnated with agents that influence the flow rate of the sample that include protein detergents, where an example of a chemical agent that can be added includes Tween 20 (Messmer; [0021], [0022]). The sample pad is in fluid communication with a membrane that includes test lines (Messmer; [0020], Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test strips of Catteruccia such that they include the sample pad with impregnated agents, the agent being Tween 20, as taught by Messmer because Messmer teaches that the agents influences the flow rate of the sample and that the agents prevent the biologic from binding nonspecifically to any downstream materials or to modify the chemical nature of the biologic (Messmer; [0022]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 18. Messmer further teaches wherein the agent comprises a detergent (Messmer; [0021], [0022]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach wherein at least one of the one or more analyte test strips comprise a two-test analyte test strip that tests for the presence or absence of two analytes.
In the analogous art of test devices for determining the quantity of a biologic in a sample, Messmer teaches where a test membrane comprises at least one test line (Messmer; abstract).
Specifically, Messmer teaches where a test line is a band or zone on the test membrane that contains at least one mimetope peptide, where after reaction with an antibody-detectable marker complex the band/zone produces an observable or measurable signal reflecting the presence or amount of biologic present in the sample (Messmer; [0028]). The test membrane may contain one, two, three, four, or more test lines, where the test lines contain the same or different immobilized mimetopes (Messmer; [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test strips of Catteruccia such that they comprise multiple test lines as taught by Messmer because Messmer teaches that test strips with multiple test lines allows for multianalyte testing (Messmer; [0028]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Catteruccia teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Catteruccia does not teach wherein the one or more analyte test strips comprise at least two analyte test strips each of which tests for the presence or absence of two analytes.
In the analogous art of test devices for determining the quantity of a biologic in a sample, Messmer teaches where a test membrane comprises at least one test line (Messmer; abstract).
Specifically, Messmer teaches where a test line is a band or zone on the test membrane that contains at least one mimetope peptide, where after reaction with an antibody-detectable marker complex the band/zone produces an observable or measurable signal reflecting the presence or amount of biologic present in the sample (Messmer; [0028]). The test membrane may contain one, two, three, four, or more test lines, where the test lines contain the same or different immobilized mimetopes (Messmer; [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the test strips of Catteruccia such that they comprise multiple test lines as taught by Messmer because Messmer teaches that test strips with multiple test lines allows for multianalyte testing (Messmer; [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Due to amendments to the claims, adding the limitation that the absorbent tip is affixed on a bottom end of the swab stem, the rejections in view of Catteruccia (US-2015/0212081-A1) and Wan (WO-2010/101564-A1) under 35 USC 103 have been modified to address this amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to applicants first arguments that Catteruccia does not disclose or suggest a swab stem with an absorbent tip affixed on a bottom end because Catteruccia discloses a pill 30 that is not affixed to anything, examiner respectfully disagrees.
Firstly, it is respectfully noted that currently it is both the absorbent pad 27 and the pill 30 that are being mapped to the absorbent tip.
In the instant specification, there is no current definition as to what it means for a component to be “affixed” to another component.
As seen in the provided printout of the definition of “affix” from the Merriam-Webster dictionary, affix can mean “to attach physically” or “to attach in any way”.
Therefore, the absorbent pad 27 within the outer housing 21 and the pill 30 inserted into the tubular portion 31 of the outer housing 21 are both affixed to the outer housing 21. The insertion of the absorbent pad and the pill into the housing affixes them to the housing.
Applicant further argues that the housing of Catteruccia is just a housing and not a swab. Examiner respectfully notes that because there is no definition of a swab provided, therefore the housing with attached absorbent pad and pill may be considered a swab. Further, it is noted that the claim is to a “swab stem having an absorbent tip affixed”, not a “swab”
In response to applicant's argument that the cited O-ring of Wan is associated with the threaded coupling between the swab/collection section and the sample accommodating housing, and not between a test strip holder and an interior portion of a swab, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Both Catteruccia and Wan teach where a compartment (outer housing 21 of Catteruccia and the sample accommodating section 500 of Wan) have test strips inserted into it. While Wan does teach that there is a sample collecting section 100 and sample analyzing section 400 inserted into the sample accommodating section, Wan still teaches that it is desirable to seal the sample accommodating section 500 with threads and O-ring. Therefore, one skilled in the art would find it obvious to want to seal the outer housing. As seen in Figure 4 of Catteruccia, the inner support member 23 is inside the outer housing 21 where the top of the inner support member is seen in Figure 4 to contact the inner walls of outer housing 21. One skilled in the art would therefore conclude that sealing members would be applied to this area, the sealing members being those taught by Wan.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759