DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 8/21/2025 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansouri et al., Characterization of an Embedded Heat Pipe Heat Sink for Multiple Heat Sources for Power Electronics Applications, IEEE, 2019 [hereinafter “Mansouri”] and Wang et al. (US 20110122915 A1)[hereinafter “Wang”].
Regarding Claim 1, Mansouri discloses a performance testing device for testing performance of each of heat pipes of a heat pipe heatsink [Abstract – “The experimental study was performed to compare the effect of heat spreading for multiple heat dissipating sources on the embedded heat pipe heat sink with copper-water heat pipes vs. a blank heat sink.”], comprising:
a heating simulation assembly configured to simulate heat generation of a heating element [Page 3, 1st column – “The second heat sink, embedded heat pipe heat sink (EHP-HS), had seven 8 mm diameter copper-water heat pipes with 180 mm length. The heat pipes were embedded on the mounting surface of the base plate parallel to the 200 mm heat sink length, Figure 2-B. The heat pipes were pressed and machined flat with the mounting surface into machined grooves with a thin thermal epoxy interface, Figure 2-A. In this experiment, the power load provided by the two cartridge heaters, were placed on the center of the aluminum heater block with a size of 132 mm x 62 mm (Figure 3). This heater block was designed to represent a typical IGBT module.”], wherein the heating simulation assembly has a heat conduction end face [Fig. 3, heater block] configured to be fitted to and transfer heat with evaporation pipe sections of heat pipes of the heat pipe heatsink [Fig. 4, heater block fitted to heat sink. Fig. 2, heat sink with seven heat pipes. Fig. 1, “Heat In” applied to evaporator section of heat pipe.]; and
first temperature sensors configured to detect a temperature of the heat conduction end face [Page 3, 1st column – “To measure the temperature of the heater blocks on surface of the heat sink, five thermocouples were installed on mounting surface of the heater block as shown in Figure 3.”],
wherein the heating simulation assembly comprises a heating block and heating rods [Page 3, 1st column – “The second heat sink, embedded heat pipe heat sink (EHP-HS), had seven 8 mm diameter copper-water heat pipes with 180 mm length. The heat pipes were embedded on the mounting surface of the base plate parallel to the 200 mm heat sink length, Figure 2-B. The heat pipes were pressed and machined flat with the mounting surface into machined grooves with a thin thermal epoxy interface, Figure 2-A. In this experiment, the power load provided by the two cartridge heaters, were placed on the center of the aluminum heater block with a size of 132 mm x 62 mm (Figure 3). This heater block was designed to represent a typical IGBT module.”].
Mansouri fails to disclose that the first temperature sensors are arranged in one-to-one correspondence with the evaporation pipe sections of the heat pipes; and second temperature sensors, wherein the second temperature sensors are arranged at condensing pipe sections of the heat pipes.
However, Wang discloses the use of temperature sensors at each of the condenser and evaporator sections of a heat pipe [See Fig. 4, sections 502 and 504 of heat pipe 500.Paragraph [0030] – “the temperature change of the end portion 502 and the end portion 504 of the heat pipe 500 is measured.”] for evaluating the thermal operating characteristics of the heat pipe [Paragraph [0030] – “A heat resistance R (.degree. C./W) of the heat pipe 500 changed with the heat Q is then calculated, in which
”]. It would have been obvious to place temperature sensors at each end of each heat pipe in order to evaluate the thermal operating characteristics of each of the heat pipes.
Mansouri fails to disclose that the heating rods are embedded in the heating block because the cartridge heaters are merely mounted to the side of the heater block. However, Wang discloses embedding a heating rod within a heater block on the top of the heating block [See heater 616 of Fig. 5 and Paragraph [0028]] and, also, the use of a heating rod for heat pipe temperature regulation [Paragraph [0022]]. It would have been obvious to embed rod heaters within the heater block in such a manner in order to more accurately control the amount of applied heat and also to avoid wasting applied heat to the environment external to the heater block.
Mansouri fails to disclose that the heating rods and the evaporation pipe sections of the heat pipes are in one-to-one correspondence and arranged in parallel. However, Wang discloses such an arrangement where a parallel heating rod and heat pipe evaporator section are paired for controlled heating and evaluation of the heat pipe [See Figs. 4 and 5, heater 616 coupled with heat pipe end 502]. It would have been obvious to use such an arrangement in order to allow for controlled heating and evaluation of the thermal operating characteristics of a particular heat pipe.
Regarding Claim 2, Mansouri discloses that the heating simulation assembly comprises a heating block, a side of the heating block configured to be fitted to and transfer heat with the evaporation pipe sections forms the heat conduction end face [See Figs. 2 and 3.See layout (a) of Fig. 5, with the heater block corresponding to the evaporator end of the heat pipes, as explained per Page 5, 2nd column – “Increasing the number of the heater blocks and increasing the length of the evaporate section while decreasing the adiabatic and condense length of the heat pipe shows a decrease in thermal performance of the heat pipes.”], and the heating rods are configured to heat the heating block, to allow the heating block to simulate the heat generation of the heating element [Page 3, 1st column – “The second heat sink, embedded heat pipe heat sink (EHP-HS), had seven 8 mm diameter copper-water heat pipes with 180 mm length. The heat pipes were embedded on the mounting surface of the base plate parallel to the 200 mm heat sink length, Figure 2-B. The heat pipes were pressed and machined flat with the mounting surface into machined grooves with a thin thermal epoxy interface, Figure 2-A. In this experiment, the power load provided by the two cartridge heaters, were placed on the center of the aluminum heater block with a size of 132 mm x 62 mm (Figure 3). This heater block was designed to represent a typical IGBT module.”].
Regarding Claim 3, Mansouri discloses that a thermal interface material coating is formed in an embedding gap between each of the heating rods and the heating block [Page 3, 1st column – “The heat pipes were pressed and machined flat with the mounting surface into machined grooves with a thin thermal epoxy interface, Figure 2-A.”].
Regarding Claim 5, the combination would disclose that each of the first temperature sensors is embedded in the heating block [Page 3, 1st column of Mansouri – “To measure the temperature of the heater blocks on surface of the heat sink, five thermocouples were installed on mounting surface of the heater block as shown in Figure 3.”] and located between a corresponding heating rod of the heating rods and the heat conduction end face [Heating rods attached to the top of the heater block of Mansouri per the scheme of Wang – heater 616 of Fig. 5 and Paragraph [0028]].
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses that the heating block is of an integrated structure and is configured to match the size of the heating element [Fig. 5], and a heat insulation structure is provided [Fig. 5, heat insulating block 612 and heat conducting block 614].
Mansouri fails to disclose that the heat insulation structure is provided between each two adjacent heating rods. However, Wang discloses an arrangement where a parallel heating rod and heat pipe evaporator section are paired for controlled heating and evaluation of the heat pipe [See Figs. 4 and 5, heater 616 coupled with heat pipe end 502]. It would have been obvious to use such an arrangement in order to allow for controlled heating and evaluation of the thermal operating characteristics of particular heat pipes (i.e., to duplicate the arrangement for the evaluation of multiple heat pipes). Doing so would read on the limitation that the heat insulation structure is provided between each two adjacent heating rods because each heating block 616 would have a corresponding heat insulating block 612 and heat conducting block 614 for applying heat specifically to the intended heat pipe.
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses that the heat insulation structure is a heat insulation groove [Fig. 5, groove at the top of heat conducting block 614] or a heat insulation material layer [Fig. 5, heat insulating block 612].
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses that the heating block is of a split-type structure [Fig. 5], the heating block comprises sub-heating blocks arranged in one-to-one correspondence with the evaporation pipe sections [Fig. 5, heat insulating block 612 and heat conducting block 614], the heating rods are arranged in the corresponding sub-heating blocks [Fig. 5, heating block 616], and a preset heat insulation gap is kept between each adjacent two of the sub-heating blocks [See Fig. 4, a heat insulation gap between adjacent heaters created by the larger footprint of heat insulating block 612 relative to heating block 616 and heat conducting block 614].
Regarding Claim 9, Mansouri discloses that the heat conduction end face and/or a heat pipe mounting end face of the heat pipe heatsink is provided with a thermal interface material coating [Page 3, 1st column – “The heat pipes were pressed and machined flat with the mounting surface into machined grooves with a thin thermal epoxy interface, Figure 2-A.”].
Regarding Claim 10, Mansouri discloses an air-cooling simulation system configured for simulating an air-cooling environment of the heat pipe heatsink [“Figure 4: Heat sink inside the in the wind tunnel”].
Regarding Claim 11, Mansouri discloses that the air-cooling simulation system comprises a fan and an air duct cavity for blowing cold airflow from the fan to the heat pipe heatsink; or, the air-cooling simulation system is an air tunnel for providing cold airflow to the heat pipe heatsink [“Figure 4: Heat sink inside the in the wind tunnel”].
Regarding Claim 12, Mansouri discloses that each of the evaporation pipe sections is located at a middle of the corresponding heat pipe, each of the condensing pipe sections is located at each of two ends of the heat pipe [See Fig. 16 and Page 6, 1st column – “As a result of covering the top surface of the heat sink by the heat source, it is expected that the heat pipes are working in radial direction and not axial direction. In this case, the mounting surface of the heat pipe is evaporator and the opposite surface at the bottom of the machined groove that is closer to the fins is the condenser, Figure 16 .”], but fails to disclose tha each of the second temperature sensors is arranged at a preset distance from the corresponding end of the heat pipe.
However, Wang discloses the use of temperature sensors at each of the condenser and evaporator sections of a heat pipe [See Fig. 4, sections 502 and 504 of heat pipe 500.Paragraph [0030] – “the temperature change of the end portion 502 and the end portion 504 of the heat pipe 500 is measured.”] for evaluating the thermal operating characteristics of the heat pipe [Paragraph [0030] – “A heat resistance R (.degree. C./W) of the heat pipe 500 changed with the heat Q is then calculated, in which
”]. It would have been obvious to place temperature sensors at each end of each of the heat pipes depicted in Fig. 16 of Mansouri (where the center of the heat pipe is being heated) in order to evaluate the thermal operating characteristics of each of the heat pipes at their ends; doing so would have allowed for evaluating the evaporator sections of the ends.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 5 of Wang discloses a heating block 610 with an embedded heating rod 616 and that the heating rod 616 produces heat [Paragraph [0028] – “the heating block 616 generates heat, and the heat is transferred to the heat pipe 500 through the heat conducting block 614”Paragraph [0030] – “the heat Q (watts) generated by the heating block 616”]. It is unclear why Applicant would consider this functionality to be “completely different” to the corresponding limitation of Claim 1.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 5 of Wang discloses a heating block 610 with an embedded heating rod 616 and that the heating rod 616 produces heat [Paragraph [0028] – “the heating block 616 generates heat, and the heat is transferred to the heat pipe 500 through the heat conducting block 614”Paragraph [0030] – “the heat Q (watts) generated by the heating block 616”]. The heating rod is arranged in one-to-one and parallel relationship to the heat pipe [See Fig. 4]. It would have been obvious to use such an arrangement in order to allow for controlled heating and evaluation of the thermal operating characteristics of a particular heat pipe (Fig. 2 of Mansouri discloses a heat sink including seven heat pipes).
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mansouri is not relied on as disclosing the evaluation of the performance of individual heat pipes; Wang is cited for this purpose. The Examiner further notes that Mansouri teaches the use of multiple heaters mounted to a heat sink [See Fig. 5] and does not “teach away” from applying multiple heaters to evaluate multiple heat pipes.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The evaluation of a device including multiple heat pipes (as in Mansouri) to test the performance of individual ones of the heat pipes (as in Wang) would read on the limitations of Claim 1. The application of the teachings of Wang to measure and test a heat pipe, as applied to a device comprised of multiple heat pipes per Mansouri, would facilitate the testing of multiple heat pipes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Mansouri et al., Characterization of a Heat Sink with Embedded Heat Pipe with Variable Heat Dissipating Source Placement for Power Electronics Applications, IEEE, 2018
Mooney et al., Effect of Multiple Heat Sources and Bend Angle on the Performance of Sintered Wicked Heat Pipes, IEEE, 2020
Singh et al., Thermal Potential of Flat Evaporator Miniature Loop Heat Pipes for Notebook Cooling, IEEE, 2010
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857