DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments (see Remarks dated 09/22/2025) regarding claims 1-15 (as rejected over Vienonen) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, applicant argues that Vienonen does not disclose a front chassis, or an IR absorbent between the front chassis and the display panel. However, Vienonen discloses a front chassis (Fig. 1, unlabeled outermost columns of the device) which covers the display panel (Figs. 1 & 3, the columns cover 12&18), and also discloses an IR absorbent ([0034], on 30) between the front chassis and display panel (Fig. 1, 30 is between 12&18 and the columns).
Applicant argues that Vienonen does not disclose “additional welding structures or functions.” However, only one welding portion is claimed in claim 1, so it is unclear what additional welding structures/functions are being referred to.
Applicant further states that “[t]he present invention applies infrared absorbents to both the front and rear surfaces of a display panel…This structure is believed to be structurally different from the cited inventions.” However, in claim 1, the applicant only claims that an IR absorbent is situated “between” certain layers (e.g. “between the display panel and…the middle mold or the optical member”; “between the display panel and the front chassis”). In other words, applicant has claimed an order/arrangement of the layers, but has not claimed wherein an IR absorbent is applied directly to the surface(s) of a display panel.
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 (as previously rejected over Lee in view of Endo) have been considered, but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection.
On page 8, applicant argues that “Endo is limited to methods for applying infrared absorbents between optical sheets and laser bonding them.” However, the examiner has not relied on the whole of Endo’s disclosure, instead only asserting that methods similar to those used in Endo would be applicable to the device of Lee and Park.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 9-10 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 USC 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the applicant claims “the middle mold transmits infrared rays and the display panel absorbs infrared rays, so that the display panel and the middle mold are laser-welded.” It is unclear how laser-welding would be caused by the transmittance and absorption of the middle mold and display panel. For examination purposes, the Office will interpret such that “so that” was to read “and.” The applicant has already addressed this issue in claim 7.
Claim 10 inherits the issues of clarity posed by claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vienonen et al. (US 20140113116 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Vienonen discloses a display device comprising:
a rear chassis (Figs. 1 & 3, bottom portion of 32);
a display panel (Fig. 1, comprising 12&18) in front of the rear chassis (Figs. 1 & 3, 12&18 are above 32);
a front chassis (Fig. 1, outermost unlabeled columns; Fig. 3, rightmost unlabeled column) provided to cover the display panel (Figs. 1 & 3, the columns cover 12&18);
a middle mold (Fig. 3, 30) coupleable to the rear chassis so that the middle mold is between the display panel and the rear chassis while the middle mold is coupled to the rear chassis (Figs. 1 & 3, 30 is between 12&18 and 32);
an optical member (Fig. 1, 26) between the rear chassis and the display panel (Figs. 1 & 3, 26 is between 32 and 12&18);
a welding portion (Fig. 3, 11) formed by laser-welding the display panel (Figs. 1 & 3, 20) and at least one of the middle mold (Fig. 3, 30) or the optical member (Fig. 3, 26); and
an infrared absorbent ([0034], “IR absorbing layer”) applied between the display panel and at least one of the middle mold (Fig. 3, on 30) or the optical member and between the display panel and front chassis (Figs. 1 & 3, 30 is between 12&18 and the columns).
Regarding claim 2, Vienonen discloses wherein the display panel comprises a glass substrate ([0028], 18) and a polarizing film ([0025], film of 12), and
wherein the middle mold is coupleable to at least one of the glass substrate or the polarizing film (Fig. 3, 30 is couplable to 18 and 12) by laser welding (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 3, Vienonen discloses wherein the polarizing film is disposed to cover the glass substrate ([0025] & Fig. 1, the film of 12 covers 18), and
wherein the middle mold is laser-welded to the polarizing film (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 5, Vienonen discloses wherein the polarizing film is disposed to cover the glass substrate ([0025] & Fig. 1, the film of 12 covers 18), and
wherein while the polarizing film covers the glass substrate, at least a portion of the glass substrate is exposed to the middle mold from the polarizing film (Figs. 1 & 3, 18 is exposed to 30 from 12) and laser-welded (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 6, Vienonen discloses wherein the glass substrate is among a plurality of glass substrates ([0034], at least 18 and 32),
wherein the plurality of glass substrates comprise a first glass substrate facing a back of the display device (Figs. 1 & 3, 18) and a second glass substrate facing a front of the display device (Figs. 1 & 3, 32), and wherein the middle mold is laser-welded to the first glass substrate (Fig. 3, 30 is laser-welded to 18).
Regarding claim 7, Vienonen discloses wherein the display panel transmits infrared rays (Fig. 3, 12&18) and the middle mold absorbs infrared rays (Fig. 3, 30; [0029], from IR beam 20), and the display panel and the middle mold are laser-welded (Fig. 3, 20).
Regarding claim 8, Vienonen discloses wherein the display panel comprises a dead space (DS) which is a non-display area (Fig. 3, 22) and on which infrared transmitting ink is applied ([0028], 22).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Vienonen discloses wherein the middle mold transmits infrared rays (Fig. 3, 30) and the display panel absorbs infrared rays (Fig. 3, 12&18; [0029], from IR beam 20), so that the display panel and the middle mold are laser-welded (Fig. 3, 20).
Regarding claim 10, Vienonen discloses wherein the display panel comprises at least one of a glass substrate on which an infrared absorbent is applied or a polarizing film absorbing infrared rays ([0025]).
Regarding claim 11, Vienonen discloses wherein the display panel comprises a glass substrate ([0028], 18) and a polarizing film ([0025], film of 12), and
the display device further comprises a front chassis (Figs. 1 & 3, top portion of 32) provided to cover the display panel (Fig. 3, 32 covers 12&18) and coupleable to at least one of the glass substrate or the polarizing film (Figs. 1 & 3, 32 is couplable to 18 and 12) by laser welding (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 12, Vienonen discloses wherein the polarizing film is formed to cover the glass substrate (Figs. 1 & 3, the film of 12 covers 18), and
wherein the front chassis (Figs. 1 & 3, top of 32) is laser-welded to the polarizing film (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 13, Vienonen discloses wherein the polarizing film is formed to cover the glass substrate (Figs. 1 & 3, the film of 12 covers 18), and
wherein while the polarizing film covers the glass substrate, at least a portion of the glass substrate is exposed to the front chassis from the polarizing film (Figs. 1 & 3, 18 is exposed to 32 from 12) and laser-welded (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 14, Vienonen discloses wherein the display panel comprises a glass substrate ([0028], 18) and a polarizing film ([0025], film of 12), and
wherein the optical member is coupleable to at least one of the glass substrate or the polarizing film (Fig. 1, 26 is couplable to 18 and 12) by laser welding (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Regarding claim 15, Vienonen discloses wherein the welding portion is among a plurality of welding portions (Figs. 1 & 3), and
wherein the plurality of welding portions comprise:
a first welding portion (Fig. 3) formed by laser-welding the polarizing film and the optical member (Fig. 3); and
a second welding portion (Fig. 3) formed by laser-welding the optical member and the middle mold (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 10539818 B2, of record) in view of Park et al. (US 20170205548 A1), and further in view of Endo et al. (US 20090078366 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device comprising:
a rear chassis (Fig. 1, 270);
a display panel (Fig. 1, 100) in front of the rear chassis (Fig. 1, 100 is in front of 270);
a middle mold (Fig. 1, 260) coupleable to the rear chassis so that the middle mold is between the display panel and the rear chassis while the middle mold is coupled to the rear chassis (Figs. 1-5, 260 is between 100 and 270); and
an optical member (Fig. 1, 250) between the rear chassis and the display panel (Figs. 1-5).
Lee fails to disclose a front chassis provided to cover the display panel.
However, Park teaches a similar display device (Abstract) comprising multiple optical sheets (column 6 lines 29-47), wherein a front chassis covers a display panel (Fig. 2, 101a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Lee and Park such that a front chassis was provided to cover the display panel, motivated by protecting the device.
Modified Lee fails to disclose a welding portion formed by laser-welding the display panel and at least one of the middle mold or the optical member; and an infrared absorbent applied between the display panel and at least one of the middle mold or the optical member and between the display panel and front chassis.
However, Endo teaches fabrication methods for bonding optical sheets to form LCDs and the like, wherein “[a]n infrared absorber [is] applied to the entire perimeter of the sheets to be bonded and the entire perimeter [is] bonded by being irradiated with a laser beam” ([0107]; Fig, 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine modified Lee and Endo such that an infrared absorbent was applied between the display panel and at least one of the middle mold or the optical member and between the display panel and front chassis, motivated by “ensur[ing] reliable bonding” ([0099]).
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Vienonen in view of Paulussen et al. (US 20100039582 A1, of record).
Regarding claim 4, Vienonen discloses a first polarizing film facing a back of the display device ([0025], film of 12), and wherein the middle mold is laser-welded to the first polarizing film (Fig. 3, 11 and 20).
Vienonen fails to disclose wherein the polarizing film is among a plurality of polarizing films, and a second polarizing film facing a front of the display device.
However, Paulussen teaches a method for manufacturing a similar display device, including a second polarizing film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Vienonen and Paulussen such that a second polarizing film was facing a front of the display device, motivated by controlling the polarization of light emitted into the display panel ([0069]).
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D. J. J./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872