DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by FRIEDRICH et al. [WO 2013/182227 A1].
Regarding claim 1, FRIEDRICH et al. discloses a power transformer having a noise reduction function, comprising:
- a transformer housing [figure 1] including a sidewall [figure 3], an accommodating space surrounded by the sidewall, and at least one hollow reinforcing structure [16], wherein the sidewall includes an inner wall [5] and an outer wall [2, figure 3], a vacuum layer [7] is formed between the inner wall and the outer wall by sealing and evacuation, and the at least one hollow reinforcing structure is disposed on the outer wall of the sidewall [figures 1 and 3]; and
- an electromagnetic assembly [active part 10] disposed in the accommodating space and including an iron core and a coil structure disposed on the iron core.
Regarding claims 3 and 5-6, FRIEDRICH et al. discloses the at least one hollow reinforcing structure is filled with an anti-vibration material such as air. FRIEDRICH et al. further discloses the at least one hollow reinforcing structure includes a first hollow reinforcing structure [16] and a second hollow reinforcing structure [16] that are disposed one above the other and spaced apart from each other, and the first hollow reinforcing structure and the second hollow reinforcing structure are each filled with the anti-vibration material such as air, wherein the at least one hollow reinforcing structure surrounds the sidewall of the transformer housing [figure 1].
Regarding claim 9, FRIEDRICH et al. discloses an electrical insulating liquid [24] is present in the accommodating space of the transformer housing, and the electromagnetic assembly is immersed in the electrical insulating liquid. Oil is a known fluid/liquid material use in a liquid/fluid filled transformer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEDRICH et al. in view of Matthews [US 1,846,887].
Regarding claim 7, FRIEDRICH et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the transformer [active part 10].
Matthews discloses a transformer [figures 1-2] comprising:
- a housing [figures 1-2];
- a transformer disposed in the housing, the transformer including a coil/core structure, wherein the coil/core structure including a core with a plurality of limb portions and coil structure with a plurality of coils wound around the limb portions [figures 1-2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the coil/core structure for the transformer [active part 10] of FRIEDRICH et al., as suggested by Matthews for the purpose of providing and/or using multiphase transformer.
Claim(s) 8 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEDRICH et al. in view of Specht et al. [US 3,260,974].
Regarding claim 8, FRIEDRICH et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for fastening members.
Specht et al. discloses a transformer [figure 2] comprising:
- a tank [28, 86];
- a coil/core assembly [32, 34] disposed inside the tank;
- oil [162] filled the tank and the coil/core assembly; and
- a plurality of fastening members [35, 95] configured to join together the core and coil assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include fastening members into FRIEDRICH et al., as suggested by Specht et al., for the purpose of providing fastening for the coil/core assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Specht et al. further discloses the tank including a plurality of hollow reinforcing structures [30, 31, 100, 104, 106] for the tank, wherein one of the hollow reinforcing structures filled with sand [108].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to fill the hollow reinforcing structure of FRIEDRICH et al. with sand particles, as suggested by Specht et al., for the purpose of improving vibration.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIEDRICH et al. in view of Zheng [CN 207409348 U].
Regarding claim 10, FRIEDRICH et al. discloses the instant claimed invention except for an oil [liquid/fluid] storage tank.
Zheng discloses the use of an oil storage tank or reservoir [17] in communication with a transformer structure arranged inside a housing [15] filled with oil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an oil/fluid/liquid storage tank in FRIEDRICH et al., as suggested by Zheng for the purpose of providing oil/fluid/liquid for the transformer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837