DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to request for continued examination have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-12, 15 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao (US 2021/0243782 A1) in view of Li et al (US 2023/0180269 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miao teaches a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) type indication method, comprising: indicating, by a network side device, a type of an SPS PDSCH to a terminal, wherein the type comprises a multicast SPS PDSCH for multicast transmission or a unicast SPS PDSCH for unicast transmission (Miao: [0017]-[0024] CS-RNTI configuration indication multicast/unicast SPS PDSCH);
wherein the indicating, by a network side device, a type of an SPS PDSCH to a terminal comprises: configuring, by the network side device, a multicast SPS PDSCH by using first signaling, and configuring a unicast SPS PDSCH by using second signaling (Miao: [0017]-[0024], two type of CS-RNTI/signaling to indicate SPS multicast PDSCH and SPS unicast PDSCH); wherein the first signaling is higher layer signaling different from the second signaling (Miao: [0017]-[0024], RRC signaling CS-RNTI for multicast SPS; different CS-RNTI for multicast SPS from unicast SPS).
Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated and wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by the network side device using downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH.
Li teaches wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated (Li: Fig. 11; [0183], [0185], unicast SPS configured in BWP-DownlinkDedicated) and wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by the network side device using downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH (Li: [0073], G-RNTI signaled through DCI; [0018], DCI for activating MBS SPS PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miao wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated and wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by the network side device using downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH as disclosed by Li to provide a system for scheduling broadcast and groupcast on new radio UU interface (Li: Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Miao teaches a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) type determining method, comprising: determining, by a terminal, a type of an SPS PDSCH of the terminal according to an indication of a network side device, wherein the type comprises a multicast SPS PDSCH for multicast transmission or a unicast SPS PDSCH for unicast transmission (Miao: [0017]-[0024] CS-RNTI configuration indication multicast/unicast SPS PDSCH);
wherein the indicating, by a network side device, a type of an SPS PDSCH to a terminal comprises: configuring, by the network side device, a multicast SPS PDSCH by using first signaling, and configuring a unicast SPS PDSCH by using second signaling (Miao: [0017]-[0024], two type of CS-RNTI/signaling to indicate SPS multicast PDSCH and SPS unicast PDSCH).
Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration signaling comprises BWP-DownlinkDedicated and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH; wherein the DCI for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH is used to indicate a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH.
Li teaches wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated (Li: Fig. 11; [0183], [0185], unicast SPS configured in BWP-DownlinkDedicated) and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH; wherein the DCI for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH is used to indicate a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH (Li: [0073], G-RNTI signaled through DCI; [0018], DCI for activating MBS SPS PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miao wherein the configuration signaling comprises BWP-DownlinkDedicated and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH; wherein the DCI for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH is used to indicate a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH as disclosed by Li to provide a system for scheduling broadcast and groupcast on new radio UU interface (Li: Abstract).
Regarding claim 19, Miao teaches a network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, causes the network side device to perform:
indicating a type of a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) to a terminal, wherein the type comprises a multicast SPS PDSCH for multicast transmission or a unicast SPS PDSCH for unicast transmission (Miao: [0017]-[0024] CS-RNTI configuration indication multicast/unicast SPS PDSCH);
wherein the indicating a type of an SPS PDSCH to a terminal comprises configuring a multicast SPS PDSCH by using first signaling, and configuring a unicast SPS PDSCH by using second signaling (Miao: [0017]-[0024], two type of CS-RNTI/signaling to indicate SPS multicast PDSCH and SPS unicast PDSCH) wherein the first signaling is higher layer signaling different from the second signaling (Miao: [0017]-[0024], RRC signaling CS-RNTI for multicast SPS; different CS-RNTI for multicast SPS from unicast SPS).
Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated and wherein the network side device to further perform: indicating, by using downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH.
Li teaches wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated (Li: Fig. 11; [0183], [0185], unicast SPS configured in BWP-DownlinkDedicated) and wherein the network side device to further perform: indicating, by using downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH. (Li: [0073], G-RNTI signaled through DCI; [0018], DCI for activating MBS SPS PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miao wherein the second signaling is BWP-DownlinkDedicated and wherein the network side device to further perform: indicating, by using downlink control information (DCI) for activating the multicast SPS PDSCH, a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with the multicast SPS PDSCH as disclosed by Li to provide a system for scheduling broadcast and groupcast on new radio UU interface (Li: Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Miao teaches a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction that is stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or the instruction is executed by the processor, the steps of the semi-persistent scheduling physical downlink shared channel type determining method according to claim 8 are implemented (Miao: [0017]-[0024], two type of CS-RNTI/signaling to indicate SPS multicast PDSCH and SPS unicast PDSCH).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Miao teaches wherein the indicating, by a network side device, a type of an SPS PDSCH to a terminal comprises: configuring, by the network side device, first information for the SPS PDSCH by using a higher-layer parameter, wherein the first information comprises an RNTI associated with the SPS PDSCH (Miao: [0017]-[0024] CS-RNTI configuration indication multicast/unicast SPS PDSCH via RRC signaling/higher layer).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Miao teaches wherein an RNTI corresponding to the multicast SPS PDSCH is a group RNTI; and/or an RNTI corresponding to the unicast SPS PDSCH is a configured scheduling RNTI (Miao: [0017]-[0024]).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 23, Miao teaches wherein the method further comprises: if a plurality of associated RNTIs are configured in the first information of the SPS PDSCH, indicating, by using downlink signaling, an RNTI used by the SPS PDSCH (Miao: [0024], index of the CS-RNTI to indicate the RNTI).
Regarding claim 10, Miao teaches wherein the determining the type of the SPS PDSCH according to first information that is of the SPS PDSCH and that is configured by a higher layer comprises if the RNTI associated with the SPS PDSCH is not configured in the first information of the SPS PDSCH, determining that the RNTI associated with the SPS PDSCH is a preset value, or determining that the RNTI associated with the SPS PDSCH corresponds to the type of the SPS PDSCH (Miao: [0025], [0125]).
Regarding claim 15, Miao teaches wherein the determining a type of an SPS PDSCH of the terminal according to an indication of a network side device comprises: determining the type of the SPS PDSCH by using target DCI for activating the SPS PDSCH (Miao: [0017]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 18, Miao teaches wherein the target DCI carries indication information, and the indication information indicates the type of the SPS PDSCH and/or an RNTI associated with the SPS PDSCH (Miao: [0017]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 21, Miao teaches wherein the program or the instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network side device to further perform: configuring first information for the SPS PDSCH by using a higher-layer parameter, wherein the first information comprises an RNTI associated with the SPS PDSCH (Miao: [0017]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 22, Miao teaches wherein an RNTI corresponding to the multicast SPS PDSCH is a group RNTI; and/or an RNTI corresponding to the unicast SPS PDSCH is a configured scheduling RNTI (Miao: [0017]-[0024]).
Claims 6, 14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miao (US 2021/0243782 A1) in view of Li et al (US 2023/0180269 A1) in further view of Liu et al (US 2021/0282114 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuring a multicast SPS PDSCH by using first signaling comprises: configuring the multicast SPS PDSCH on a first target resource by using the first signaling, wherein the first target resource is a resource block set corresponding to multicast downlink transmission.
Liu teaches wherein the configuring a multicast SPS PDSCH by using first signaling comprises: configuring the multicast SPS PDSCH on a first target resource by using the first signaling, wherein the first target resource is a resource block set corresponding to multicast downlink transmission (Liu: [0095], [0103]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Miao wherein the configuring a multicast SPS PDSCH by using first signaling comprises: configuring the multicast SPS PDSCH on a first target resource by using the first signaling, wherein the first target resource is a resource block set corresponding to multicast downlink transmission as disclosed by Liu to provide a system for semi-persistent scheduling for broadcast or multicast communication (Liu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Miao in view of Liu teaches wherein the determining the type of the SPS PDSCH according to configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH comprises: if the configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH is used to configure the SPS PDSCH on a first target resource, determining that the SPS PDSCH is a multicast SPS PDSCH, wherein the first target resource is a resource corresponding to multicast downlink transmission (Liu: [0095], [0103]); or if the configuration signaling of the SPS PDSCH is used to configure the SPS PDSCH on a second target resource, determining that the SPS PDSCH is a unicast SPS PDSCH, wherein the second target resource is a resource corresponding to unicast downlink transmission.
Regarding claim 16, Miao in view of Liu teaches wherein the determining a type of an SPS PDSCH of the terminal according to an indication of a network side device comprises: if the target DCI is multicast DCI, determining that the SPS PDSCH is a multicast SPS PDSCH (Liu: [0093], [0172]).
Regarding claim 17, Miao in view of Liu teaches wherein the method further comprises: if a plurality of groups RNTIs are configured for the terminal, for the SPS PDSCH, separately descrambling the SPS PDSCH by using the plurality of groups RNTIs (Liu: [0045]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478