DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Currently claims 1-3, 5-7 and 9-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stormfront et al., (US20190277926A1) in view of Nevo (WO2000013586A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stormont teaches a method for determining a location of an apparatus inside an imaging volume of a magnetic resonance tomography (MRT) system (Abstract MRI system), wherein the imaging volume is surrounded by a field magnet for creating a static basic magnetic field along a longitudinal axis and by a gradient coil of the MRT system (fig. 1 the subject 16 is surrounded by magnetic unit 12 that creates a static magnetic field along the subject 16 [0023]), and wherein the apparatus comprises at least one first conductor loop that runs within a first loop plane (fig. 8 each conductor loop 802 that are similar to the previously described RF coils of figs. 2-4[0079]) and at least one second conductor loop that runs within a second loop plane, the second loop plane being at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first loop plane (fig. 8 loop elements 802 of coil array 800, wherein each lop element 802 is a separate conductor loop; the flexible[0049]; [0081]-[0082] the coil loops are stitched to a supporting fabric so that it is flexible, so that it can conform to the wearer and would be on a second loop plane as it conforms to the wearer), the method comprising:
creating a magnetic alternating field in the imaging volume using the gradient coil ([0003] MRI systems comprise gradient coils that produce spatially-varying magnetic fields);
detecting a magnetic resonance (MR) signal from an object to be examined in the imaging volume by the at least one first conductor loop (fig. 4 loop portion of RF coil 401 allows the RF coil to transmit and/or receive RF signals [0059]; [0060] the loop may be conductor wires); and
creating an MR image as a function of the MR signal ([0036] the display unit displays an image based on the signals received).
However, Stormfront fails to explicitly disclose determining at least one first measured value that depends on a first induction voltage using the at least one first conductor loop, the first induction voltage being induced by a first component of the magnetic alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one first conductor loop, determining a location of the apparatus inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of at least one first measured value and a predetermined magnetic field model for the gradient coil.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Nevo teaches determining at least one first measured value that depends on a first induction voltage using the at least one first conductor loop (pg. 10 line 14-16“The induced voltages in the three orthogonal coils (Figure 4) enable the calculation of the magnetic fields of the gradient coils at the location of the sensor without knowing the orientation of the sensor.”),
the first induction voltage being induced by a first component of the magnetic alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one first conductor loop(pg. 10 line 6-12 “The measured magnitudes of the induced voltages at the three coils and the known magnetic field G(t,x,y,z) as function of time at each point in the operating field (as calculated by summing the individual magnetic fields of all gradient coils which are active at a specific time) enable the estimation of the object location and direction by the following sequence of steps.”; the magnetic field in the y and z directions would be orthogonal to the longitudinal x axis),
determining, using the at least one second conductor loop, at least one second measured value that depends on a second induction voltage that is induced by a second component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one second conductor loop (fig. 4A schematic configuration of three coils (22, 24, 26) in the sensor and the induced voltages in each coil pg. 7 line 19-23); and
determining the location of the apparatus at least partly as a function of the at least one first measured value, the at least one second measured value, and a predetermined magnetic field model for the gradient coil (pg. 13 line 26-pg. 14 line 3 “By knowing the 3 -dimensional distributions of the magnetic fields of the XN and Z gradients (or a combination of 2 or 3 gradient fields), the instantaneous location of the device can be estimated. A search algorithm finds a specific location which, during the activation of the gradients, has magnetic fields with similar magnitudes as those calculated from the measured coil voltages. A typical search algorithm minimizes a cost function which is based on the level of similarity between the estimated fields and the reference known fields at the assumed location, for example a least squares cost function is the sum of the squares of the differences between each of the estimated magnetic fields and the corresponding reference fields at the current estimated location.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Stormfront with the measurements of Nevo, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 2, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent regarding the MR signal is suppressed.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Nevo teaches the MR signal is suppressed (pg. 19 lines 23-25 high pass filtering can be applied).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Stormfront to add signal suppression, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 3, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Stormfront further teaches wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the first loop plane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis (fig. 1 coil unit 14 runs parallel to the longitudinal axis of the patient, and fig. 6 describes the loop plane).
Regarding claim 6, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 1, wherein modified Stormfront further teaches wherein the apparatus has at least one third conductor loop that runs within a third loop plane (fig. 8 loop elements 802 of coil array 800, wherein each lop element 802 is a separate conductor loop; the flexible[0049]; [0081]-[0082] the coil loops are stitched to a supporting fabric so that it is flexible, so that it can conform to the wearer and would be on a second loop plane as it conforms to the wearer) but is fails to explicitly disclose determining, using the at least one third conductor loop, at least one third measured value that depends on a third induction voltage that is induced by a third component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one third conductor loop; determining a first location of the at least one first conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one first measured value and the magnetic field model; determining a third location of the at least one third conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one third measured value and the magnetic field model; and determining a relative location of the at least one third conductor loop with regard to the at least one first conductor loop as a function of the first location and the third location.
However in the same MRI field of endeavor, Nevo teaches determining, using the at least one third conductor loop, at least one third measured value that depends on a third induction voltage that is induced by a third component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one third conductor loop (fig. 4A shows the schematic configuration of three coils (22, 24, 26) in the sensor and the induced voltages in each coil pg. 7 line 19-23); determining a first location of the at least one first conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one first measured value and the magnetic field model(pg. 13 line 26-pg. 14 line 3 “By knowing the 3 -dimensional distributions of the magnetic fields of the XN and Z gradients (or a combination of 2 or 3 gradient fields), the instantaneous location of the device can be estimated. A search algorithm finds a specific location which, during the activation of the gradients, has magnetic fields with similar magnitudes as those calculated from the measured coil voltages. A typical search algorithm minimizes a cost function which is based on the level of similarity between the estimated fields and the reference known fields at the assumed location, for example a least squares cost function is the sum of the squares of the differences between each of the estimated magnetic fields and the corresponding reference fields at the current estimated location.”); determining a third location of the at least one third conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one third measured value and the magnetic field model (pg. 12 line 1-12 the known magnetic field and activation sequence of specific gradient can be used to calculate the location of each of the coils)and determining a relative location of the at least one third conductor loop with regard to the at least one first conductor loop as a function of the first location and the third location (pg. 19 “Since the exact distance between the two coils of each pair is accurately known, the estimation process still aims to find 6 unknowns, for example the location and orientation of a set of three orthogonal coils, while the location and orientation of the second set of the three orthogonal coils can be defined with respect to the location and orientation of the first set”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method with the alternating magnetic field of Stormfront with the measurements of Nevo, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 7, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 2, wherein Stormfront further teaches wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the first loop plane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis (fig. 1 coil unit 14 runs parallel to the longitudinal axis of the patient, and fig. 6 describes the loop plane).
Regarding claim 10, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 7, wherein Stormfront further teaches wherein the apparatus has at least one third conductor loop that runs withing a third loop plane ((fig. 8 loop elements 802 of coil array 800, wherein each lop element 802 is a separate conductor loop; the flexible[0049]; [0081]-[0082] the coil loops are stitched to a supporting fabric so that it is flexible, so that it can conform to the wearer and would be on a second loop plane as it conforms to the wearer) but is fails to explicitly disclose determining, using the at least one third conductor loop, at least one third measured value that depends on a third induction voltage that is induced by a third component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one third conductor loop; determining a first location of the at least one first conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one first measured value and the magnetic field model; determining a third location of the at least one third conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one third measured value and the magnetic field model; and determining a relative location of the at least one third conductor loop with regard to the at least one first conductor loop as a function of the first location and the third location.
However in the same MRI field of endeavor, Nevo teaches determining, using the at least one third conductor loop, at least one third measured value that depends on a third induction voltage that is induced by a third component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one third conductor loop (fig. 4A shows the schematic configuration of three orthogonal coils (22, 24, 26) in the sensor and the induced voltages in each coil pg. 7 line 19-23); determining a first location of the at least one first conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one first measured value and the magnetic field model(pg. 13 line 26-pg. 14 line 3 “By knowing the 3 -dimensional distributions of the magnetic fields of the XN and Z gradients (or a combination of 2 or 3 gradient fields), the instantaneous location of the device can be estimated. A search algorithm finds a specific location which, during the activation of the gradients, has magnetic fields with similar magnitudes as those calculated from the measured coil voltages. A typical search algorithm minimizes a cost function which is based on the level of similarity between the estimated fields and the reference known fields at the assumed location, for example a least squares cost function is the sum of the squares of the differences between each of the estimated magnetic fields and the corresponding reference fields at the current estimated location.”); determining a third location of the at least one third conductor loop inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one third measured value and the magnetic field model (pg. 12 line 1-12 the known magnetic field and activation sequence of specific gradient can be used to calculate the location of each of the coils)and determining a relative location of the at least one third conductor loop with regard to the at least one first conductor loop as a function of the first location and the third location (pg. 19 “Since the exact distance between the two coils of each pair is accurately known, the estimation process still aims to find 6 unknowns, for example the location and orientation of a set of three orthogonal coils, while the location and orientation of the second set of the three orthogonal coils can be defined with respect to the location and orientation of the first set”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method with the alternating magnetic field of Stormfront with the measurements of Nevo, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 20, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent regarding detecting, by the at least one first conductor loop, the magnetic alternating field, wherein determining the at least one first measured value comprises determining the at least one first measured value based on the detected magnetic alternating field; and frequency filtering the detected magnetic alternating field and the detected MR signal, such that the detected magnetic alternating field and the detected MR signal are separated from one another.
In the same MR field of endeavor, Nevo teaches detecting, by the at least one first conductor loop, the magnetic alternating field (pg. 10 lines 14-16 each coil has induced voltages that enable the calculation of magnetic fields of the gradient coils), wherein determining the at least one first measured value comprises determining the at least one first measured value based on the detected magnetic alternating field (pg. 10 lines 14-22 the time varying magnetic field induces three voltages in the three coils, and the induced voltages in two parallel coils of each pair are averaged and the results are analyzed)and frequency filtering the detected magnetic alternating field and the detected MR signal, such that the detected magnetic alternating field and the detected MR signal are separated from one another (pg. 9 lines 7-10 “Additional magnetic fields, which are generated by the RF (radio frequency) coils of the MRI, are not being used by the current invention. These fields, which alternate in the range of mega-hertz, induce high-frequency electrical potentials in the sensing coils which can be removed by low-pass filtration.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Stormfront with the measurements of Nevo, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
Regarding claim 21, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 10, wherein Stormfront further teaches wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the third loop lane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis (fig. 8 the RF coil array would conform to a patient and would be substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis [0079]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 1, wherein Stormfront further teaches wherein the apparatus is part of a local MR receive coil arrangement, wherein the local MR receive coil arrangement is configured as a flexible surface coil array (fig. 8 the RF coil array 800 is flexible [0082]), and wherein the flexible surface coil array includes a two-dimensional flexible array that includes a number of receive elements, the number of receive elements including the at least one first conductor loop and the at least one second conductor loop (fig. 8 the RF coil array 800 includes a 2D flexible array of loops 802 [0079]-[0082]).
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stormfront in view of Nevo as applied to claims 4 and 8, respectively, above, and further in view of Driesel et al., (US20140197832A1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 1, but is silent regarding wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the second loop plane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Driesel teaches wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the second loop plane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis (fig. 12 the second antenna 101 is on a separate plane than antenna 100 and is oriented to be parallel to the longitudinal axis (see fig. 15) [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of modified Stormfront with the second antenna of Driesel, as this would improve the MR device by enabling a more robust operation of the device (see Driesel [0022]). This results in improving the SNR of the device (see Driesel [0052]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Stormfront teaches the method of claim 7, but is silent regarding wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the second loop plane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Driesel teaches wherein the apparatus is positioned in the imaging volume such that the second loop plane is at least approximately parallel to the longitudinal axis (fig. 12 the second antenna 101 is on a separate plane than antenna 100 and is oriented to be parallel to the longitudinal axis (see fig. 15) [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of modified Stormfront with the second antenna of Driesel, as this would improve the MR device by enabling a more robust operation of the device (see Driesel [0022]). This results in improving the SNR of the device (see Driesel [0052]).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stormfront in view of Nevo and Watkins et al., (US5715822A).
Regarding claim 11, Stormfront teaches: A magnetic resonance tomography (MRT) system comprising ([0019] MRI system):
a field magnet operable to create a static basic magnetic field along a longitudinal axis (fig. 1 magnet unit 12 [0023]), and a gradient coil (fig. 1 gradient coil unit 13 [0023]), wherein the field magnet and the gradient coil surround an imaging volume of the MRT system (fig. 1 the subject 16 is surrounded by magnetic unit 12 and gradient coil 13 that creates a static magnetic field along the subject 16 [0023]);
an apparatus with at least one first conductor loop that runs within a first loop plane (fig. 8 each conductor loop 802 that are similar to the previously described RF coils of figs. 2-4[0079]) and at least one second conductor loop that runs within a second loop plane, the second loop plane being at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first loop plane (fig. 8 loop elements 802 of coil array 800, wherein each lop element 802 is a separate conductor loop; the flexible[0049]; [0081]-[0082] the coil loops are stitched to a supporting fabric so that it is flexible, so that it can conform to the wearer and would be on a second loop plane as it conforms to the wearer);
a control unit that is configured to activate the gradient coil, such that a magnetic alternating field is created in the imaging volume(fig. 1 driver unit 23 drives the gradient coil unit 13 [0023]; [0003] MRI systems comprise gradient coils that produce spatially-varying magnetic fields););
wherein the at least one evaluation unit is configured, depending on a magnetic resonance (MR) signal from an object to be examined in the imaging volume, to create an MR image ([0036] the display unit displays an image based on the signals received).
However, Stormfront fails to teach a measurement unit that is connected to the at least one first conductor loop and the at least one second conductor loop and is configured to, as a function of a first induction voltage that is induced by a component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one first conductor loop, to determine at least one first measured value; determine, using the at least one second conductor loop, at least one second measured value that depends on a second induction voltage that is induced by a second component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one second conductor loop; and at least one evaluation unit that is configured to determine a location of the apparatus inside an imaging volume at least partly as a function of the at least one first measured value, the at least one second measure value and a predetermined magnetic field model for the gradient coil
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Nevo teaches a measurement unit that is connected to the at least one first conductor loop and the at least one second conductor loop and is configured to, as a function of a first induction voltage(pg. 10 line 14-16“The induced voltages in the three coils (Figure 4) enable the calculation of the magnetic fields of the gradient coils at the location of the sensor without knowing the orientation of the sensor.) that is induced by a component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one first conductor loop, to determine at least one first measured value pg. 10 line 6-12 “The measured magnitudes of the induced voltages at the three coils and the known magnetic field G(t,x,y,z) as function of time at each point in the operating field (as calculated by summing the individual magnetic fields of all gradient coils which are active at a specific time) enable the estimation of the object location and direction by the following sequence of steps.”; the magnetic field in the y and z directions would be orthogonal to the longitudinal x axis); determine, using the at least one second conductor loop, at least one second measured value that depends on a second induction voltage that is induced by a second component of the alternating field at right angles to the longitudinal axis in the at least one second conductor loop (fig. 4A schematic configuration of three coils (22, 24, 26) in the sensor and the induced voltages in each coil pg. 7 line 19-23); and at least one evaluation unit that is configured to determine a location of the apparatus inside an imaging volume(pg. 10 line 14-16 the induced voltages enable the calculation of the gradient coils at the location of the sensor) at least partly as a function of at least one first measured value and a predetermined magnetic field model for the gradient coil(pg. 13 line 26-pg. 14 line 3 “By knowing the 3 -dimensional distributions of the magnetic fields of the XN and Z gradients (or a combination of 2 or 3 gradient fields), the instantaneous location of the device can be estimated. A search algorithm finds a specific location which, during the activation of the gradients, has magnetic fields with similar magnitudes as those calculated from the measured coil voltages. A typical search algorithm minimizes a cost function which is based on the level of similarity between the estimated fields and the reference known fields at the assumed location, for example a least squares cost function is the sum of the squares of the differences between each of the estimated magnetic fields and the corresponding reference fields at the current estimated location.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Stormfront with the measurements of Nevo, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
However the combination of references are silent regarding wherein the measurement unit is further configured, detect, as a function of a second induction voltage that is induced in the at least one first conductor loop, a magnetic resonance (MR) signal from an object to be examined in the imaging volume.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Watkins teaches wherein the measurement unit is further configured to detect, as a function of a second induction voltage that is induced in the at least one first conductor loop (col. 1 line 60 - col. 2 line 4 a resonance MR response signal induces current(such induced current necessarily results from an induced voltage) in the RF coil attached to the invasive device for tracking), a magnetic resonance (MR) signal from an object to be examined in the imaging volume (col. 1 line 60 - col. 2 line 4 a resonance MR response signal induces current in the RF coil attached to the invasive device for tracking; col. 5 lines 28-40 the MR signals are sent to calculation means 950 where it is processed for tracking to arrive at the position of the coil).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to apply the known technique of using an induction voltage that’s induced in a loop to detect a magnetic resonance signal from an invasive device as taught by Watkins to the base system of modified Stormfront, as both inventions relate to MR tracking systems would yield the predictable result of a MR tracking system that detects an MR signal from an object to be examined in the imaging volume to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to apply such a technique, and the results of modified Stormfront implementing another induction voltage to detect a MR signal from the invasive device are reasonably predictable. This would improve the ability of the system to obtain MR image information and further assist users in creating an MR image.
Regarding claim 12, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 11, wherein Stormfront further teaches a local MR receive coil arrangement that contains the apparatus (fig. 1 surface receive coil 14 [0023]; fig. 2 RF coil 202 is an example of RF coil unit 14 [0040]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 12, where Stormfront further teaches wherein the local MR receive coil arrangement is configured as a flexible surface coil array (RF coil unit 14 is a flexible array [0039]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 11, but is silent regarding a device for medical treatment of a patient, wherein the at least one first conductor loop and the device have a predetermined spatial location in relation to one another.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Nevo teaches a device for medical treatment of a patient (pg. 24 The sensor can be used with tools for minimally invasive surgeries), wherein the at least one first conductor loop and the device (pg. 4 line 24-26 sensor coils having axes of known orientation) have a predetermined spatial location in relation to one another (pg. 5 line 1-2 “known relative orientation of the sensor coils in the coil assembly, to compute the instantaneous location and orientation of the object within the space.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Stormfront with the measurements of Nevo, as this would improve tracking the location and orientation of the device/object (see Nevo pg. lines 28-29).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stormfront in view of Nevo and Watkins as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Darnell et al., (US 20160116556 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises: a tuning capacitance that is arranged between a first terminal of the at least one first conductor loop and a second terminal of the at least one first conductor loop; and an inductive component that is arranged electrically in parallel to the tuning capacitance.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Darnell teaches wherein the apparatus comprises: a tuning capacitance that is arranged between a first terminal of the at least one first conductor loop and a second terminal of the at least one first conductor loop (fig. 1 RF coil 10 includes capacitor 22 that is between the pair of terminals 31 and 32 [0118]; [0154] the capacitor in coil 10 may be a tuning capacitor ); and an inductive component that is arranged electrically in parallel to the tuning capacitance (fig 1 capacitor 22 is in parallel with inductor 20 [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system of modified Stormfront, as this would lead to a reduction of power consumption (see Darnell [0131]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 13, but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises: a tuning capacitance that is arranged between a first terminal of the at least one first conductor loop and a second terminal of the at least one first conductor loop; and an inductive component that is arranged electrically in parallel to the tuning capacitance.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Darnell teaches wherein the apparatus comprises: a tuning capacitance that is arranged between a first terminal of the at least one first conductor loop and a second terminal of the at least one first conductor loop (fig. 1 RF coil 10 includes capacitor 22 that is between the pair of terminals 31 and 32 [0118]; [0154] the capacitor in coil 10 may be a tuning capacitor ); and an inductive component that is arranged electrically in parallel to the tuning capacitance (fig 1 capacitor 22 is in parallel with inductor 20 [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system of modified Stormfront, as this would lead to a reduction of power consumption (see Darnell [0131]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 14, but fails to teach wherein the apparatus comprises: a tuning capacitance that is arranged between a first terminal of the at least one first conductor loop and a second terminal of the at least one first conductor loop; and an inductive component that is arranged electrically in parallel to the tuning capacitance.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Darnell teaches wherein the apparatus comprises: a tuning capacitance that is arranged between a first terminal of the at least one first conductor loop and a second terminal of the at least one first conductor loop (fig. 1 RF coil 10 includes capacitor 22 that is between the pair of terminals 31 and 32 [0118]; [0154] the capacitor in coil 10 may be a tuning capacitor ); and an inductive component that is arranged electrically in parallel to the tuning capacitance (fig 1 capacitor 22 is in parallel with inductor 20 [0106]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system of modified Stormfront, as this would lead to a reduction of power consumption (see Darnell [0131]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 15, but wherein Stormfront further teaches wherein the measurement unit comprises an amplifier that is connected to the first terminal and the second terminal (fig. 2 pre-amplifier 208 amplifiers the MR signals from the corresponding RF coil 202 [0042]; the pre amplifier would be directly or indirectly connected to the terminal of the loop 201 since the amplifier 208 receives signals from the loop), and wherein the measurement unit is configured to provide the at least one measured value at an output of the amplifier, which is connected to the at least one evaluation unit (fig. 2 coil-interfacing cable connects the RF coil array to the processing system).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stormfront in view of Nevo, Watkins, and Darnell as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Ohishi et al., (US20220301705A1).
Regarding claim 19, modified Stormfront teaches the system of claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the measurement unit comprises a filter circuit that is arranged between the first terminal and a first input of the amplifier, and between the second terminal and a second input of the amplifier, and wherein the filter circuit is configured to suppress an MR signal acquired by the at least one first conductor loop.
In the same MRI field of endeavor, Ohishi teaches wherein the measurement unit comprises a filter circuit that is arranged between the first terminal and a first input of the amplifier, and between the second terminal and a second input of the amplifier (fig. 6 the reception antenna 11 sends the signal to the bandpass-filter, which is then sent to the noise amplifier 52 [0047]; therefore the bandpass filter would be arranged between the terminals and the inputs of the amplifier), and wherein the filter circuit is configured to suppress an MR signal acquired by the at least one first conductor loop (fig. 6 the bandpass filter would suppress any MR signals outside its passband [0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the system of modified Stormfront with the orientation of the circuitry of Ohishi, as this would all for biological information to be stably and reliably detected without a burden to the subject (see Ohishi [0171]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant has argued that Nevo fails to teach a coil receiving an RF coil in addition to not disclosing non-orthogonal loops.
However, Examiner disagrees, as the rejection does not rely on Nevo for these limitation. Stormfront has been used to teach the coil loop that receives the signal induced by the gradient coils ([0003] and [0036]) and teaches non orthogonal loops (fig. 8).
Further, the Applicant has argued that Nevo fails to disclose teach or disclose determining a location of the apparatus inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of at least one first measured value that depends on a first induction voltage induced in at least one first conductor loop, at least one second measured value that depends on a second induction voltage induced in at least one second conductor loop, and a predetermined magnetic field model for the gradient coil, "the second loop plane being at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first loop plane," as recited by independent claim 1.
Examiner disagrees, as Nevo alone has not been used to teach such limitations. It is the combination of Stormfront and Nevo that teaches those limitation, with Nevo teaching “determining a location of the apparatus inside the imaging volume at least partly as a function of at least one first measured value that depends on a first induction voltage induced in at least one first conductor loop, at least one second measured value that depends on a second induction voltage induced in at least one second conductor loop, and a predetermined magnetic field model for the gradient coil” (pg. 13 line 26 – pg. 14 line 3). Stormfront has been used to teach the “second loop plane being at a non-orthogonal angle relative to the first loop plane” (fig. 8). For these reasons, claim 1 is rejected.
The remaining claims are rejected for substantially the same reasons as above.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL YIMING FANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798