DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/03/2023, 05/30/2023, and 11/20/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification filed on 02/03/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 3680454 B2, filed in IDS dated 02/03/2023).
Regarding Claim 1, Ito discloses the limitations regarding a non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]) comprising
an organic solvent (Ito, as the non-aqueous solvent, one or more solvents selected from the group consisting of cyclic esters, such as ethylene carbonate, can be used, [0052]),
a lithium salt (Ito, LiPF6, [0052]), and
a coumarin-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 1: (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte contains, as an additive, coumarin and its derivatives, [0005]),
in Chemical Formula 1, R is an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms unsubstituted or substituted with at least one halogen, and n is an integer of 1 to 6 (Ito, In Chemical Formula 4, R6, R7, and R8 are any of Hydrogen (-H) and a Trifluoromethyl group (CF3), [0015]; CF3 has 1 carbon and 3 fluorine atoms, which falls within the claimed range of 1 to 10 carbon atoms and at least one halogen, and R6, R7, and R8 represent three positions on the coumarin-based compound, so n can be 3, which falls within the claimed range of 1 to 6). Ito further teaches that coumarin and its derivatives can further improve the charge/discharge efficiency of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Ito, [0015]).
Since Ito allows for R6, R7, and R8 to be any of Hydrogen (-H) and a Trifluoromethyl group (-CF3), and the disclosed coumarin derivatives may further improve the charge/discharge efficiency of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that it would be obvious to try to routinely design the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery using the different coumarin derivatives to determine the effects of each coumarin derivative on the charge/discharge efficiency of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery.
Regarding Claim 2, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), wherein coumarin-based compound is a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 or Chemical Formula 1-2: (Ito, In Chemical Formula 4, R6, R7, R8 are any of Hydrogen (-H) and a Trifluoromethyl group (CF3), [0015]; the Examiner notes that when Ito’s Chemical Formula 4 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1-1 when R6 is CF3, and R7 and R8 are Hydrogen, and Ito’s Chemical Formula 4 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1-2 when R8 is CF3, and R6 -and R7 are Hydrogen).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that it would be obvious to try to routinely design the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery using the different coumarin derivatives to determine the effects of each coumarin derivative on the charge/discharge efficiency of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, as noted above.
Regarding Claim 3, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), wherein the coumarin-based compound is selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by the following Chemical Formula 1C (Ito, In Chemical Formula 4, R6, R7, R8 are any of Hydrogen (-H) and a Trifluoromethyl group (CF3), [0015]; the Examiner notes that when Ito’s Chemical Formula 4 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1C when R6 is CF3, and R7 and R8 are Hydrogen).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that it would be obvious to try to routinely design the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery using the different coumarin derivatives to determine the effects of each coumarin derivative on the charge/discharge efficiency of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, as noted above.
Regarding Claim 4, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), wherein the coumarin-based compound (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte contains one or more heterocyclic compounds selected from the group consisting of coumarin and its derivative, [0005]) is included in an amount of 0.5 wt% to 3 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, the non-aqueous electrolyte preferably contains the heterocyclic compound in a proportion of 0.01 mol·dm-3 or more and less than 0.2 mol·dm-3, [0008]; the disclosed molar amount of 0.01 mol·dm-3 or more and less than 0.2 mol·dm-3 overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 wt% to 3 wt%. While Ito does not disclose total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte, the heterocyclic compound is added in small amounts, similar to the claimed range, so it can be reasonable to determine the ranges would at least overlap).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 5, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), further comprising a halogen-substituted cyclic carbonate (Ito, as the non-aqueous solvent, one or more solvents selected from the group consisting of cyclic esters, such as ethylene carbonate, can be used, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), wherein the halogen-substituted cyclic carbonate is fluorinated ethylene carbonate (Ito, as the non-aqueous solvent, one or more solvents selected from the group consisting of cyclic esters, such as ethylene carbonate, can be used, [0052]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), wherein the halogen-substituted cyclic carbonate is included in an amount of 0.5 to 10 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, The non-aqueous electrolyte was prepared by dissolving LiPF6 as an electrolyte in an equal volume mixed solvent of ethylene carbonate and dimethoxyethane to a concentration of 1 mol·dm-3, [0031]; the disclosed molar amount of 1 mol·dm-3 overlaps with the claimed range of 0.5 to 10 wt%. While Ito does not disclose total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte, the ethylene carbonate is added in small amounts, similar to the claimed range, so it can be reasonable to determine the ranges would at least overlap).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the current invention to select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Regarding Claim 8, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]) comprising:
a positive electrode including a positive electrode active material (Ito, positive electrode is made by pressing a positive electrode active material, [0018]);
a negative electrode including a negative electrode active material (Ito, negative electrode made of lithium metal, [0005]); and
the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte impregnated in the separator, [0005]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations regarding the non-aqueous electrolyte (Ito, non-aqueous electrolyte, [0005]), wherein the coumarin-based compound is selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1C (Ito, In Chemical Formula 4, R6, R7, R8 are any of Hydrogen (-H) and a Trifluoromethyl group (CF3), [0015]; the Examiner notes that when Ito’s Chemical Formula 4 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1C when R6 is CF3, and R7 and R8 are Hydrogen).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that it would be obvious to try to routinely design the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery using the different coumarin derivatives to determine the effects of each coumarin derivative on the charge/discharge efficiency of the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, as noted above.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 3680454 B2, filed in IDS dated 02/03/2023), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Wu et al. (US 20150104706 A1, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding Claim 9, Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]). Ito is silent regarding the positive electrode active material includes a lithium-manganese-rich oxide including Mn in an amount of 50 mol% or more among all metals excluding lithium and having a molar ratio of lithium to a transition metal of more than 1, but Ito discloses that the positive electrode is capable of absorbing and desorbing lithium (Ito, [0005]).
Wu discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (Wu, Title), comprising a positive electrode material represented by a general formula LiaNibMncCodMeOf, wherein 0.5 ≤ a ≤ 2, b+c+d+e = 1. 0 < b < 1, 0 < c < 1, 0 ≤ d < 1, 0 ≤ e < 0.15, 2 ≤ f ≤ 3 (Wu, [0031]; the Examiner notes that Mn is included at 60 mol% among all metals excluding lithium, and a molar ratio of lithium to the transition metals is 1.2:1, which is greater than 1). Specifically, Wu discloses that Li1.2Ni0.4Mn0.6O2.2 is used (Wu, [0051], Table 2). Wu teaches that Li1.2Ni0.4Mn0.6O2.2 has a highest first charge cycle, first discharge cycle, and lowest first charge/discharge cycle irreversible capacity (Wu, [0062], Table 5).
Ito and Wu are analogous to the current invention as they are all directed towards a positive electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Li1.2Ni0.4Mn0.6O2.2 as the positive electrode active material, as taught Wu, in the non-aqueous electrolyte battery of Ito, in order to improve the performance of the positive electrode.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ito discloses the limitations a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]), wherein the lithium-manganese-rich oxide is represented by Chemical Formula 2:
in Chemical Formula 2, 0.05 ≤ a ≤ 1, 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.5, 0 ≤ c ≤ 0.3, 0.5 ≤ d ≤ 1.0, and 0 ≤ e ≤ 0.2 are satisfied, and M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Al, B, Co, W, Mg, V, Ti, Zn, Ga, In, Ru, Nb, Sn, Sr, and Zr (Wu, Li1.2Ni0.4Mn0.6O2.2 is used, [0051], Table 2;
Li = Li, and a = 0.2, meeting the claimed range of 0.05 ≤ a ≤ 1;
Ni = Ni, and b = 0.4, meeting the claimed range of 0 ≤ b ≤ 0.5;
c = 0, meeting the claimed range of 0 ≤ c ≤ 0.3;
Mn = Mn, and d = 0.6 meeting the claimed range of 0.5 ≤ d ≤ 1.0;
e = 0, meeting the claimed range of and 0 ≤ e ≤ 0.2;
O = O, and a = 0.2, meeting the claimed range of 0.05 ≤ a ≤ 1).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP 3680454 B2, filed in IDS dated 02/03/2023), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Wu et al. (US 20150104706 A1, hereinafter Wu), and further in view of Park et al. (US 20140065483 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Ito discloses the limitations a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]). Ito is silent regarding the lithium-manganese-rich oxide is represented by Chemical Formula 2-1:
in Chemical Formula 2-1, 0.1 ≤ X ≤ 0.5, 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 1, 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.3, and 0 ≤ w ≤ 0.2 are satisfied, and M1 is at least one selected from the group consisting of Al, B, Co, W, Mg, V, Ti, Zn, Ga, In, Ru, Nb, Sn, Sr, and Zr, but Ito discloses that the positive electrode is capable of absorbing and desorbing lithium (Ito, [0005]).
Park discloses a rechargeable lithium battery (Park, Title) comprising a positive active material that comprises an over lithiated oxide represented by the Chemical Formula xLi2MnO3 · (1-x)LiNieCofMngO2, wherein, 0.1 < X < 0.5, 0 < e < 1, 0 < f < 1, and e + f + g = 1, (Park, [0013-0016]);
X = x, and 0 < x < 1, overlapping the claimed range of 0.1 ≤ X ≤ 0.5;
Ni = Ni, and 0 < e < 1 and e + f + g = 1, meeting the claimed 1 – y – z – w;
Co = Co, and 0 < f < 1, overlapping the claimed 0 ≤ z ≤ 0.3;
Mn = Mn, and e + f + g = 1, overlapping the claimed range of 0.5 ≤ y ≤ 1;
w = 0, meeting the claimed range of and 0 ≤ w ≤ 0.2;
O2 = O2.
Park teaches that a positive electrode active material that includes the over lithiated oxide may realize a rechargeable lithium battery having high-capacity at a high voltage of about 4.55 V (Park, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include comprises an over lithiated oxide represented by the Chemical Formula xLi2MnO3 · (1-x)LiNieCofMngO2, wherein, 0.1 < X < 0.5, 0 < e < 1, 0 < f < 1, and e + f + g = 1, as taught by Park, in the lithium battery of modified Ito, in order to increase the capacity of the battery.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ito discloses the limitations a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]), wherein the negative electrode active material (Park, the negative active material may include a material that is capable of doping/dedoping lithium, [0065]) includes a silicon-based negative electrode active material (Park, the material being capable of doping/dedoping lithium include a Si-based compound such as Si, SiO.sub.x (0 < x < 2), a Si--C composite, a Si-Q alloy (wherein Q is a Group 13 to 16 element or a transition element), or a combination thereof, [0068]).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ito discloses the limitations a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]), wherein the silicon-based negative electrode active material (Park, the negative active material may include a material that is capable of doping/dedoping lithium, [0065]) is selected from the group consisting of Si, SiOm (wherein 0<m<2), a Si-C composite, a Si-Ma alloy (Ma is one or more selected from the group consisting of Al, Sn, Mg, Cu, Fe, Pb, Zn, Mn, Cr, Ti, and Ni), and a combination thereof (Park, the material being capable of doping/dedoping lithium include a Si-based compound such as Si, SiO.sub.x (0 < x < 2), a Si--C composite, a Si-Q alloy (wherein Q is a Group 13 to 16 element or a transition element), or a combination thereof, [0068]).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Ito discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Ito discloses the limitations a lithium secondary battery (Ito, non-aqueous secondary battery, [0005]), wherein the negative electrode active material (Park, the negative active material may include a material that reversibly intercalates/deintercalates lithium ions, [0065]) includes a carbon-based negative electrode active material (Park, the material that reversibly intercalates/deintercalates lithium ions may be a carbon material, [0066]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 12243985 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed towards a non-aqueous electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery, the non-aqueous electrolyte solution comprising: a lithium salt; an organic solvent; and a compound represented by Formula 1
wherein, in Formula 1, R1 is a —CN group, or a nitrile group, as instantly claimed. R2 is hydrogen or an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, and R3 to R6 are each independently hydrogen, an alkyl group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms, or a —CN group. Further, Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. US 12243985 B2 specifically claims Formula 1a, which falls within the scope of Instant Claim 1 and is the same chemical compound as Chemical Formula 1A from Instant Claims 3 and 15.
Conclusion
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752