DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the arguments filed on 03/01/2026. Claims 1-17 are pending examination.
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Tan determines the location of the UE itself and does not relate to locating a lost external device via short-range communication. Examiner disagrees. Tan is not relied upon for short range communication architecture and rather discloses the use of country associated data (e.g., MCC or SID) to determine a country or geographic context. Lee explicitly provides the architecture involving an external device communicating with a cellular device over short- range communication. Lee teaches that a peripheral device transmits advertising packets to a host device, and that the host device may be a mobile phone. Thus, when combined, Lee provides the lost device to phone interaction while Tan provides the country information and Chen provides the server selection based on location. This combination provides locating a device through an intermediary phone using geographically relevant information.
Applicant argues that Tan does not obtain country information via a short-range communication but instead from a cellular base station. Examiner disagrees. Lee teaches that information is transmitted from a peripheral device to a host device via BLE advertising packets, and these packets may include identifying and server-related information. Tan includes country associated information within such advertising packets and establishes the usefulness of such data for determining geographic context. This combination suggests transmitting country-related information via short-range communication.
Applicant argues that prior art combination does not teach obtaining country information associated with a user account of the external device. Examiner disagrees. Tan discloses country-associated data used to determine geographic location while Lee teaches transmitting device specific information such as device identifiers and server related data in advertising packets. Incorporating country information into such transmitted data is a part of the design in view of Chen which discloses selecting servers based on geographic consideration. Associating such information with a user account represents a use of known data relationships like device to user and user to region.
Applicant argues that Tan does not disclose receiving an advertising packet from a lost device. This argument is addressed by Lee. Lee discloses that a device transmits advertising packets that are received by a host device such as a smartphone. Lee further teaches that these advertising packets include information that allows the host device to determine and connect to a server. Therefore, Lee teaches the short-range advertising packet communication from an external device to a cellular device.
Applicant argues that Chen merely teaches a geographically closest web server and cannot be combined with Tan. Examiner disagrees. Chen is relied upon for server selection based on geographic and location information. Tan provides the geographic data (country information), and Lee provides the mechanism by which such information is transmitted to the phone. Chen then teaches using that geographic information to select an appropriate server. This combination discloses obtaining geographic information, transmits it via short-range communication and uses it to select a server.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach enabling a cellular device to use an advertising packet to determine a target server for providing location of the electronic device. Lee discloses that the advertising packet includes a server address (e.g., URL) and that the host device uses that information to connect to the server. Chen discloses that servers are selected based on geographic considerations and Tan teaches determining country information. When combined, these references teach that information including geographic data, transmitted in an advertising packet enables a cellular device to determine an appropriate server such as a location server for further processing. Hence, the rejection is appropriate and is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
Claims 1,4-7, 9-10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20170280295 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tan,
in view of Chen et al. (US 20110093522 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
As per claim 1, Tan discloses an electronic device comprising:
a first wireless communication circuit configured to support short-range
communication; (Communication environment employing a wireless communication,
Tan, para [0016])
a second wireless communication circuit; (Communication environment
employing multiple wireless communication devices and multiple base stations, Tan,
para [0019])
at least one processor comprising processor circuitry, memory storing
instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, individually and/or
collectively, cause the electronic device to: (One or more processors, Tan, para [0024])
receive, via the first wireless communication circuit, an advertising packet
comprising identification information of an external device and country information
associated with a user account of the external device from the external device; (Scans a
base station cell and obtains the cell information which may include country associated
data such as Mobile Country Code (MCC), Tan, para [0006]. The "scan" is similar to
"receiving an advertising packet" in that the device is passively or actively obtaining
signaling from an external radio source)
determine a first server corresponding to the country information comprised in
that the received advertising packet comprises among a plurality of accessible servers
as a target server for providing location information; and (The electronic mobile device
employs a country code map that maps a plurality of ranges of country associated data
to a particular country, Tan, para [0007]. The country-code map is a way of using
country information to choose something (such as country) in the device).
However, Tan does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
transmit, via the second communication circuit, the identification information of
the external device and location information of the electronic device to the first server
Chen discloses:
transmit, via the second communication circuit, the identification information of
the external device and location information of the electronic device to the first server
(Sending a response comprising information on the selected web server to the local
DNS server and the geographic location for the local DNS server, Chen, para [0010])
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting
location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation
would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010]).
As per claim 4, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the memory includes a database comprising a plurality of country codes and a server
address corresponding to each of the plurality of country codes, wherein the
instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device
to:
determine the first server mapped to the first country code in the database, and
the plurality of country codes includes an international calling country code, a domain
code, or a mobile country code (MCC) (The cell information may include country
associated data such as Mobile Country Code (MCC) or a System Identification (SID)
data, Tan, para [0006]).
Furthermore, Chen discloses:
identify a first country code matched with the country information that the
advertising packet comprises among the plurality of country codes; and (A server
location database 173 comprises a plurality of entries, each entry comprising an IP
address and a corresponding geographic location wherein the server location database
identifies one or more entries comprising an IP address matching the IP address for the
local DNS server and the global load balancer receives from the server location
database a corresponding geographic location from the identified entry as the
geographic location of the local DNS server, Chen, claim 6. The webserver location
identifies domain name matching the domain name from the request, Chen, claim 8)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting
location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation
would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
As per claim 5, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 1, further
comprising a location measurement circuit, wherein the instructions, when executed by
the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to
Furthermore, Tan discloses:
obtain the location information of the electronic device using the location
measurement circuit in response to receiving the advertising packet (Determining the
current geographic location and determines current country of operation based on the
obtained cell information and determines the particular country based on the MCC data, Tan, Claim 1, 17, 19. Location determination module receives wireless system
information ad computes the device's country which functions as a location-
determination mechanism analogous to location measurement circuit)
As per claim 6, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic
device to
Furthermore, Chen discloses:
determine the first server operating in a country different from a country of a
second server in which the electronic device is registered (Determines that the
geographic location for the local DNS server matches the geographic location for the
determined web server, Chen, claim 1. It compares the geographic locations of two
servers, DNS server vs Web server and checks for "matching" which indicates the
possibility of not matching is equivalent to the servers being in different countries).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting
location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation
would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
As per claim 7, Tan and Chen disclose a method in an electronic device
comprising:
receiving an advertising packet comprising identification information of an external device and country information associated with a user account of the external device from the external device using a first wireless communication circuit of the electronic device; (Scans a base station cell and obtains the cell information which may
include country associated data such as Mobile Country Code (MCC), Tan, para [0006].
The "scan" is similar to "receiving an advertising packet" in that the device is passively
or actively obtaining signaling from an external radio source)
determining, using at least one processor of the electronic device, a first server corresponding to the country information comprised in the received advertising packet among a plurality of accessible servers as a target server for providing location information; and (The electronic mobile device employs a country code map that maps a plurality of ranges of country associated data to a particular country, Tan, para [0007]. The country- code map is a way of using country information to choose something (such as country) in the device).
However, Tan does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
transmitting the identification information of the external device and location information of the electronic device to the determined first server using a second wireless communication circuit of the electronic device.
Chen discloses:
transmitting the identification information of the external device and location information of the electronic device to the determined first server using a second wireless communication circuit of the electronic device. (Sending a response comprising
information on the selected web server to the local DNS server and the geographic
location for the local DNS server, Chen, para [0010]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting
location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation
would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
As per claim 9, Tan and Chen disclose the method of claim 7, further
comprising:
determining the first server mapped to the first country code in the database, wherein the plurality of country codes has a format including an international calling country code, a domain code, or a mobile country code (MCC). (The cell information may include country associated data such as Mobile Country Code (MCC) or a System
Identification (SID) data, Tan, para [0006]).
Furthermore, Chen discloses:
identifying a first country code matched with the country information that the advertising packet comprises among a plurality of country codes comprised in a database stored in the electronic device; (A server location database 173
comprises a plurality of entries, each entry comprising an IP address and a
corresponding geographic location wherein the server location database identifies one
or more entries comprising an IP address matching the IP address for the local DNS
server and the global load balancer receives from the server location database a
corresponding geographic location from the identified entry as the geographic location
of the local DNS server, Chen, claim 6. The webserver location identifies domain name
matching the domain name from the request, Chen, claim 8)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting
location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation
would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
As per claim 10, Tan and Chen disclose the method of claim 7, further comprising
Furthermore, Tan discloses:
obtaining the location information about the electronic device in response to
receiving the advertising packet (Determining the current geographic location and
determines current country of operation based on the obtained cell information and
determines the particular country based on the MCC data, Tan, Claim 1, 17, 19.
Location determination module receives wireless system information ad computes the
device's country which functions as a location-determination mechanism analogous to
location measurement circuit)
As per claim 16, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to
Furthermore, Chen discloses:
receive, from the server, location information for the external device using the second wireless communication circuit. (The server location database identifies one or more entries and the global load balancer receives from the server location database a corresponding geographic location, Chen, para [0011]. This shows that the server transmits information to the requester device. The server has already determined geographic location and the response includes data tied to that location determination)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo- location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
As per claim 17, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 7, further comprising
Furthermore, Chen discloses:
receiving, from the server, location information for the external device using the second wireless communication circuit (The server location database identifies one or more entries and the global load balancer receives from the server location database a corresponding geographic location, Chen, para [0011]. This shows that the server transmits information to the requester device. The server has already determined geographic location and the response includes data tied to that location determination)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo- location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
Claims 2,3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20170280295 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tan,
in view of Chen et al. (US 20110093522 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen in
further view of Luo et al. (US 20190281449 A1), hereinafter referred to as Luo.
As per claim 2, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic
device to:
However, Tan in view of Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitations:
transmit a message for requesting a public key associated with the external
device to the first server by using the second wireless communication circuit;
receive the public key associated with the external device from the first server by
using the second wireless communication circuit;
encrypt the location information of the electronic device by using the public key;
and
transmit the identification information of the external device and the encrypted
location information together to the first server using the second wireless
communication circuit
Luo discloses:
transmit a message for requesting a public key associated with the external
device to the first server by using the second wireless communication circuit; (At
block 415, the authentication server generates a security certificate for the peripheral
device 101, signing the peripheral device's public key in the certificate, Luo, para [0049])
receive the public key associated with the external device from the first server by
using the second wireless communication circuit; (At block 417, the authentication
server 103 transmits the certificate to the peripheral device 101 via the TLS tunnel, Luo,
para [0049]).
encrypt the location information of the electronic device by using the public key;
and (Encryption and decryption operations for the certificate request and pairing
processes are performed by the cryptographic engine 214, Luo, para [0027])
transmit the identification information of the external device and the encrypted
location information together to the first server using the second wireless
communication circuit (The host device transmits a randomly generated temporary ECC
public key and the peripheral device responds by transmitting the public key signed in
the authenticated security certificate, Luo, para [0021]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the
motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
As per claim 3, Tan and Chen disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein
However, Tan in view of Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
the short-range communication comprises Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), and the
second wireless communication circuit supports at least one of a cellular network or a
Wi-Fi network
Luo discloses:
the short-range communication comprises Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), and the
second wireless communication circuit supports at least one of a cellular network or a
Wi-Fi network (A commonly used pairing method by Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE)
devices is SSP (Secure Pairing Protocol), Luo, para [0017]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the
motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
As per claim 8, Tan and Chen disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the
transmitting of the identification information of the external device and the location
information of the electronic device comprises:
However, Tan in view of Chen does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
transmitting a message requesting a public key associated with the external
device to the first server;
receiving the public key associated with the external device from the first server
using the second wireless communication circuit;
encrypting the location information about the electronic device using the public
key; and
transmitting the identification information of the external device and the encrypted
location information together to the first server by using the second wireless
communication circuit
Luo discloses:
transmitting a message requesting a public key associated with the external
device to the first server; (At block 415, the authentication server generates a security
certificate for the peripheral device 101, signing the peripheral device's public key in the
certificate, Luo, para [0049])
receiving the public key associated with the external device from the first server
using the second wireless communication circuit; (At block 417, the authentication
server 103 transmits the certificate to the peripheral device 101 via the TLS tunnel, Luo,
para [0049]).
encrypting the location information about the electronic device using the public
key; and (Encryption and decryption operations for the certificate request and pairing
processes are performed by the cryptographic engine 214, Luo, para [0027])
transmitting the identification information of the external device and the encrypted
location information together to the first server by using the second wireless communication circuit (The host device transmits a randomly generated temporary ECC
public key and the peripheral device responds by transmitting the public key signed in
the authenticated security certificate, Luo, para [0021]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the
motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20170280295 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tan,
in view of Chen et al. (US 20110093522 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen in
further view of Lee et al. (US 20160278006 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
As per claim 11, Tan discloses an electronic device comprising:
a wireless communication circuit configured to support short-range communication with a cellular communication device; (Communication environment employing a wireless communication, Tan, para [0016])
a processor comprising processor circuitry; and (One or more processors, Tan, para [0024])
instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to- broadcast an advertising packet comprising (Scans a base station cell and obtains the cell information which may include country associated data such as Mobile Country Code (MCC), Tan, para [0006]. The "scan" is similar to "receiving an advertising packet" in that the device is passively or actively obtaining signaling from an external radio source).
Furthermore, Chen discloses:
identification information of the electronic device and country information associated with a user account of the electronic device using the wireless communication circuit (Sending a response comprising information on the selected web
server to the local DNS server and the geographic location for the local DNS server, Chen, para [0010]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-location information (Chen) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
Tan in view of Chen does not explicitly disclose:
to the cellular communication device and thereby enable the cellular communication device to use the advertising packet to determine a target server for providing location of the electronic device.
Lee discloses:
to the cellular communication device and thereby enable the cellular communication device to use the advertising packet to determine a target server for providing location of the electronic device. (BLE technology or Bluetooth BR/EDR technology may be utilized in Bluetooth communication, and hereinafter, the BLE technology will be described as an example. The first device transmits a BLE advertising message and the advertising message may be expressed as an advertising packet, Lee, para [0251]. The advertiser transmits an advertising packet including security information regarding the advertiser or an access server of the advertising URI to the scanner, Lee, para [0454]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-location information (Chen) with receiving data in wireless communication system (Lee) in order to implement selection of server and transmitting location. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen as the motivation would be to effectively determine the location of a device (See Chen, para [0010])
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Tan et al. (US 20170280295 A1) hereinafter referred to as Tan,
in view of Chen et al. (US 20110093522 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chen in
further view of Lee et al. (US 20160278006 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee in view of Luo et al. (US 20190281449 A1)
As per claim 12, Tan, Chen and Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein
However, Tan, Chen and Lee does not explicitly disclose:
the wireless communication circuit is configured to broadcast the advertising
packet using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication
Luo discloses:
the wireless communication circuit is configured to broadcast the advertising
packet using Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication (A commonly used pairing
method by Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE) devices is SSP (Secure Pairing Protocol), Luo,
para [0017]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
As per claim 13, Tan, Chen and Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein
However, Tan, Chen and Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
the identification information of the electronic device includes a random ID
randomly generated according to a designated algorithm
Luo discloses:
the identification information of the electronic device includes a random ID
randomly generated according to a designated algorithm (The server 103 receives the
firmware ID and generates a set of random firmware block addresses for the identified
firmware. The random block addresses are transmitted to the peripheral device 101,
which calculates hash values based on the identified blocks of its firmware, Luo, para
[0047]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the
motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
As per claim 14, Tan, Chen and Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein
However, Tan, Chen and Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
the advertising packet further comprises information indicating whether the
electronic device is a device operating alone or a device operating by paring with a
different device
Luo discloses:
the advertising packet further comprises information indicating whether the
electronic device is a device operating alone or a device operating by paring with a
different device (Devices adhering to the Bluetooth standard pair with each other in
order to establish a communication channel over which data and commands can be
transmitted, Luo, para [0004])
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the
motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
As per claim 15, Tan, Chen and Lee disclose the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein
However, Tan, Chen and Lee does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
the electronic device includes one of earbuds, a Bluetooth headphone, a tablet PC, and a smartwatch
Luo discloses:
the electronic device includes one of earbuds, a Bluetooth headphone, a tablet
PC, and a smartwatch (Peripheral device such as headphones and speakers utilize
Bluetooth, Luo, para [0019]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention would have combined the detection of country on cellular devices using cell
tower information (Tan) and determine an application delivery server based on geo-
location information (Chen) with secure BLE pairing methods (Luo) in order to
implement Bluetooth pairing of devices and usage of public key exchange between
devices. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tan and Chen with Luo as the
motivation would be to ensure secure communications between wireless devices (See
Luo, para [0021]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Respectfully Submitted,
/RAGHAVENDER NMN CHOLLETI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492
/RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492