DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to application 18/105,396 with applicant’s amendments as submitted 11 June 2026.
Claim status is currently pending for claims 1-20 of which independent claims are 1, 13 and 19; amended claims are 1, 3-5, 9-10, 13-15, 17 and 19-20; no claims are in condition for allowance.
Response to Remarks
Examiner thanks applicant for responsive remarks filed 06/11/26 which are considered together with the amendments in light of the remaining issues which are as follows:
Objections to the specification and claims are withdrawn as necessitated by amendments.
Rejection of claims 4-6 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more is maintained. The rejection is notably applied to dependent claims. The traversal is not found sufficiently persuasive as it is seen to largely address the independent claims without specifying how the rejected dependent claims are not abstract or cure the eligibility rejection.
Particularly, remarks [P.9-10] assert that claims do not recite an abstract idea of mental process. However, no indication is given as to why the determining limitations cannot be mental determinations performed by a human. For example, a human developer whom verifies completion of some criteria or other goal that is evaluated periodically. This could be a daily or weekly update to be scheduled. Thus, the claims are seen to recite at least mental processes as the focus of the claim.
Secondly, remarks [P.10-13] assert integration into practical application based on meaningful limitation and improvement. However, there is no clear output for application, much less practical nature thereof, nor do the claims set forth a concrete, real-world use-case or other scenario for applying the functionality. It could all be simulation carried out on general purpose computers when considered as a whole. The cursory traversal of meaningful limitation amounts to mere allegation as it does not include discussion of any claim language or other substantive functionality. The remarks concerning improvement point to specification where overhead is reduced, optimized time, and accuracy increase. However, the term overhead is not defined, accuracy is ancillary without clear nexus to the claims, and time is of such breadth that claims regard only a “first time point” which is at least requisite. From this, it would be improper to come to narrow conclusions about hardware clock cycles, DMA interrupts, or the lock/flush mechanisms as described. While these elements might help the condition of claim if included by further amendment, they are not presently representative of the claimed invention. Reading them in at this point of prosecution would amount to such a leap of logic as to be highly speculative and further leave unresolved the improvement through a defined technical solution. If the claim provides only a result-oriented solution, with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it, then the claims do contain an inventive concept. As such, the claims remains drawn to the judicial exception and the additional elements are not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The rejection is maintained.
Regarding the prior art rejections, it is noted that the amendments do not equally recite language incorporated by amendment. Particularly, claim 19 is broader in that the “prior to” language of claims 1 and 13 is not similarly amended. This appears to be inadvertent omission in that remarks address claims 1, 13 and 19 together without distinguishing separate scope of claim, but rather reviews Mohan in light of claim 1 as amended. Since the amendment is not representative of claim 19, the result is that the broader claim 19 is maintained as being anticipated by Mohan, while the claims 1 and 13 as amended are given updated search and consideration with obviousness applied in light of new prior art Peebles applied in combination. For brevity, Peebles teaches pre-training to capture ‘prior to’ language as amended. Turning back to Mohan, the completed checkpoint is expressly recited in multiple passages e.g. [P.207 Sect. 4.3.1 ¶1] and/or [P.210 Sect. 4.4 ¶3]. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Mohan anticipates claim 19 and the combination of Mohan with Peebles pre-training provides the skilled artisan with teachings sufficient to render claims 1 and 13 obvious. A detailed rejection is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention. Particularly, claims 1 and 13 final limitation recites both “prior to” and “simultaneously” together in combination. The limitation describes iteration operations of weight update for checkpoints. An issue of conflict arises in that the next subsequent iteration may also comprise weight update per specification [0076,91], and thus a scenario where initial operation iteration’s weight update is performed both prior to and simultaneously with next subsequent operation iteration.
As is stands, the claim is unclear as to the exact sequence of operations or degree of parallelism that is required of the claim scope to resolve the metes and bounds thereof. No indexing is provided to guide the reader with certainty in resolving clear distinction between the operations stepping through time or in relation to each other. The specification provides a number of different functions that could serve as the basis of different interpretations, such as pipelining [0069,83], a lock/flush mechanism [0068,79], parallel training [0085], pre-training [0097], asynchronous checkpointing [0090-91], lazy checkpointing [0075], and Figure 2 of the drawings shows operations in a sequence. No single unifying motivation for is found in the specification or remarks as filed. For the purposes of examination, the amended language of prior to is interpreted as pre-training, and simultaneously is interpreted to regard asynchronous checkpointing and/or parallel training. In view of the foregoing, claims 1 and 13 are found indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Claims 2-12 & 14-17 depend from claims 1 and 13 and include the same issue. Thus, claims 1-18 are rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 4-6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. In determining whether the claims are subject matter eligible, the examiner applies guidance set forth under MPEP 2106. The response to remarks above are incorporated herein.
Claims 4-6 depend from Claim 1 which does not recite an abstract idea. However, Claims 4-6 further introduce “determining” limitations which can be a mental determination as the abstract idea. This applies to Claim 15 which depends from Claim 13 in a similar manner, reciting limitation of Claim 4.
Under Step 1, each of the claims is to one of the four statutory categories: claims 4-6 recite a process/method and claim 15 recites an electronic device/machine, thus the analysis should proceed per MPEP 2106.03
Under Step 2A, prong one: abstract idea is recited under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Particularly, claims recite following limitations which can be mental processes under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)
Claim 4: “determining whether a performing of a checkpointing of the result of the performing of the operation iteration is completed at a first time point at which a weight update operation of the next subsequent operation iteration starts”
Claim 5: “determination that the performing of the checkpointing of the result of performing the operation iteration is not completed at the first time point”
Claim 6: “determining a storage path through the current storage location and the checkpointing based on a target location for storing the information about the state”
Claim 15: “determine whether a performing of a checkpointing of the result of the performing of the operation iteration is completed at a first time point at which a weight update operation of the next subsequent operation iteration starts”
The above identified limitations further describe checkpointing wherein determinations are relied upon to become the focus of the claim. Such determinations do not preclude mental performance and may be carried out by a human such as judgment or evaluation by ad-hoc rule for observations. Accordingly, these claims are found to recite mental processes as the abstract idea.
Under Step 2A, prone two: additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Particularly, additional elements point back to earlier dependency of ANN model learned and performing operations for information to be stored, as well as processor-implementation. The learned ANN model falls under MPEP 2106.05(h) generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Further, storing information is an insignificant extra-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g). Finally, processor device implementation amounts to mere use of a computer to perform the abstract idea under MPEP 2106.05(f). These independent claim additional elements are recited at a high level of generality such that the claim as a whole is no more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, with significant risk of pre-emption. Dependent claims 5 and 6 include further additional elements where claim 6 embellishes storage and claim 5 includes stopping the weight update operation. These fall under MPEP 2106.05(g) insignificant extra-solution activity similar to that which is already discussed. As is noted under MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) “a claim that requires a computer may still recite a mental process.” Accordingly, the claim remains directed to the abstract idea and the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Under Step 2B: additional elements do not amount to significantly more. As already discussed, the additional elements are identified under MPEP 2106.05 and do not further reveal inventive concept. Particularly, the learned ANN model generally links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use under MPEP 2106.05(h). The specification gives non-limiting examples of the ANN model such as CNN [0046,45] or other which can be an off-the-shelf model not newly developed, it merely serves as an object to be checkpointed. Further, limitation of storing information is particularly a well-understood, routine and conventional (WURC) activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv) as identified by the courts. Finally, processor device implementation does not qualify as a particular machine under MPEP 2106.05(b). If the claim language provides only a result-oriented solution, with insufficient detail for how a computer accomplishes it, then the claims do contain an inventive concept. Taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As a whole, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination does not elevate the claim as a whole to render eligible. There is no indication that the combination of elements satisfies the test of particular transformation to impart meaningful limitation by technical solution for improvement to the functioning of a computer. Their collective functions merely provide for conventional computer implementation. For at least the foregoing reasons, claims 4-6 and 15 are found to be patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Mohan et al., “CheckFreq: Frequent, Fine-Grained DNN Checkpointing” hereinafter Mohan (USENIX) with Supplemental Slides from video presentation.
With respect to claim 19, Mohan teaches:
A processor-implemented method with checkpointing {Mohan Fig 3 introduced [P.203 Last¶] “We present CheckFreq, a fine-grained checkpointing framework for DNN training” and uses GPU-CPU processors of Server configuration [P.210 Sect5.1]. See also Alg.1 [P.209]}, the method comprising:
performing a first artificial neural network (ANN) learning operation iteration {Examiner interprets ANN per Instant specification [0046,45] “ANN (e.g., a CNN 20)” encompasses deep networks. Mohan Fig 3 DNN training and iterator, introduced e.g., [P.204 ¶3] “training iteration” is iteration of training/learning operation, described e.g. [P.206 Last3¶] “performs n iterations per epoch” and/or [P.208 ¶1] “weight update of iteration”} comprising a forward propagation operation, a backward propagation operation, and a weight update operation {Mohan [Slide 3] shown below illustrates forward pass, backward pass and weight update of iterations where epochs are a complete pass for DNN training, introduced [P.205 ¶2] “DNN Training… Forward Pass… Backward Pass… Weight update” in bold, again shown in Fig 4(c) as legend/key identifies forward, backward and weight update blocks by color. Additional detail at [P.207-08 Sect. 4.3.1]}; and
performing and completing a checkpointing {Mohan [P.210 ¶4] “completed checkpoint” upon [P.209 ¶3] “perform automatic, iteration-level checkpointing” again at [P.206 ¶6] “CheckFreq aims to provide frequent, iteration-level checkpointing”} to store information generated by the weight update operation of the first ANN learning operation iteration {Mohan Fig 3 Storage, [P.207 Sect. 4.3.1 ¶1,3] “model state is written to disk after the weight update phase… weight update step of the iteration. Here, a copy of the model state is captured in memory” using e.g. [P.210 ¶4] “torch.save”} while performing either one or both of a forward propagation operation and a backward propagation operation of a next subsequent ANN learning operation iteration {Mohan [P.208 ¶1] “iteration i+1” operation is a next subsequent iteration for learning model, describes pipelined operation Fig 4c “subsequent iteration’s forward and backward pass” forward and backward pass make up iterations shown [Slide 3], the term ‘while’ comprises [P.207 Last3¶ - P.208 ¶3] “asynchronous checkpointing” with [P.211 Sect. 5.4 ¶1] “parallel training”}.
With respect to claim 20, Mohan teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the performing of the checkpointing operation comprises
ending the checkpointing operation prior to a start of a weight update operation of the second ANN learning operation iteration {Mohan [P.209] Alg.1 “end if” of checkpointing freq algorithm, the frequency defined as iterations [P.209 ¶3], such that [P.210 ¶3] “waits on the ongoing snapshot() to ensure that a copy of the model state is completed before it is updated by the next iteration” similar at [P.208 ¶1] “weight update of iteration i+1 …iteration i+1 waits until the ongoing snapshot successfully completes as shown in Figure 4c”}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohan in view of
Peebles et al., “Learning to Learn with Generative Models of Neural Network Checkpoints” hereinafter Peebles (arXiv: 2209.12892v1 UC Berkeley, see PTO-892 02/25/26 reference X).
With respect to claim 1, Mohan teaches:
A processor-implemented method with checkpointing {Mohan Fig 3 introduced [P.203 Last¶] “We present CheckFreq, a fine-grained checkpointing framework for DNN training” and uses GPU-CPU processors of Server configuration [P.210 Sect5.1]. See also Alg.1 [P.209]}, the method comprising:
performing an operation iteration for learning of an artificial neural network (ANN) model
{Instant specification [0046,45] “ANN (e.g., a CNN 20)” encompasses deep/multilayer networks. Mohan Fig 3 DNN training job with Iterator operation, arrows connect using batches, described [P.207 Sect. 4.3] “iterator that returns a minibatch of data to the training… DNN learning” known models are e.g. ResNet, VGG16, BERT [P.210 Sect5.1]. See [Slide3] training iterations, and [P.206 Sect. 4.1] “CheckFreq aims to provide frequent, iteration-level checkpointing”}; and
performing and completing checkpointing {Mohan [P.210 Sect. 4.4 ¶3] “completed checkpoint” upon [P.209 Sect. 4.3.2 ¶1] “perform automatic, iteration-level checkpointing”} to store information about a state of the ANN model {Mohan [P.210 Sect. 4.4 ¶3] “torch.save” Fig 3 Storage as described [P.207 Sect. 4.3.1 ¶3] “model state is captured in memory”} for a result of performing the operation iteration {Mohn [P.207 Sect. 4.3 ¶3] “iterator that returns a minibatch of data to the training job” again [P.208 ¶5 – P.209 ¶1] “function of the data iterator in DNN training is to return a pre-processed batch… When training resumes, the iterator reconstructs the shuffle order, and deterministically restarts from where it left off at the las checkpoint as shown in Fig 5c”}[…], simultaneously with performing the next subsequent operation iteration for the learning of the ANN model {Mohan [P.208 ¶1] “iteration i+1” is subsequent operation iteration, describes pipelined snapshot Fig 4c such that simultaneously comprises [P.207 Last3¶ - P.208 ¶3] “asynchronous checkpointing” with [P.211 Sect. 5.4 ¶1] “parallel training”}.
However, Mohan does not expressly teach “prior to a start of a weight update operation of a next subsequent operation iteration” which is disclosed by Peebles:
prior to a start of a weight update operation of a next subsequent operation iteration {Peebles [P.3 Alg.2] “Pre-training from Checkpoints” updated parameters, i.e. weights, at Lines 10-14, ‘Prior to’ is (pre)-training, the training updates weight/parameters, iterations are Niter Line3 as for-loop “for i=1, 2, …, Niter” subscript denoting (iter)ations 1, 2, …, Niter. and an initial checkpoint is stored as “Save the checkpoint” [Alg.1 Lines14-15], using neural net parameters [Alg.1 L.1-2]. Figs 1-2 show model G.pt being generative pre-trained network as a diffusion transformer. Further see [P.6 Sect. 4.1 ¶2] iterative optimizer, as well as [P.1 Last¶] “Our dataset consists of 23 million checkpoints from over a hundred thousand training runs”}
Peebles is directed to checkpointing neural networks thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to employ the pre-training techniques of Peebles in combination with Mohan to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation of pre-training from checkpoints Alg.2 where [P.6 Sect. 4.1 ¶2] “Our model can be used as an iterative optimizer” and with advantages [P.2 ¶2] “our approach has a number of favorable properties. First, it is able to rapidly train neural networks from unseen initializations… able to generalize to out-of-distribution weight initialization algorithms (Figure 6). Fourth, as a generative model, it is able to sample diverse solutions.”
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
the operation for the learning of the ANN model comprises a plurality of operation iterations {Mohan Fig 3 shows Iterator for DNN training, [P.206 Sect4.2] “perform n iterations per epoch” and/or [P.209 Sect4.3.2] “every k iterations (called the checkpointing frequency)”}, and
each of the plurality of operation iterations comprises a forward propagation operation, a backward propagation operation, and a weight update operation. {Mohan [Slide 3] illustrating a forward pass, backward pass and weight update of iterations where epochs are a complete pass for DNN training, this is introduced [P.205 ¶2] and reflected in Fig 4(c) where legend/key identifies forward, backward and weight update blocks by color}
With respect to claim 3, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing the checkpointing comprises
storing information about the state of the ANN model for the result of the performing the operation iteration simultaneously with performing either one or both of a forward propagation operation and a backward propagation operation of the next subsequent operation iteration {Mohan Fig 3 Storage, described [P.207 Sect4.3.1 Rt.Col] “checkpointing… model state is captured in memory” and Fig 3 Iterator e.g. [P.208 ¶1] “iteration i+1” +1 being subsequent, iterations perform forward/back passes [Slide 3] Fig 4(c). The simultaneous operation is performed asynchronously [P.207 Rt.Col – P.208 Left.Col]}.
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the checkpointing comprises
determining whether a performing of a checkpointing of the result of the performing of the operation iteration is completed at a first time point at which a weight update operation of the next subsequent operation iteration starts {Mohan [P.209 Sect4.3.2] “determine the checkpointing frequency” frequency defined as iterations [P.209 Sect.4.3.2] and may use Algorithm 1. Further, [P.210 ¶2-3] CheckFreq maintains a “completed checkpoint” and “determines the initial checkpoint” as well as [P.208 ¶3] “subsequent checkpoint” where operation of weight update is shown Fig 4(c) and iterator is Fig 5}.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the performing of the checkpointing comprises
stopping the weight update operation of the next subsequent operation iteration based on a determination that the performing of the checkpointing of the result of performing the operation iteration is not completed at the first time point {Mohan [P.208 ¶1,3] “If snapshot() does not complete by then, then iteration i+1 waits… If the persist() has not completed, then the compute process waits” waiting/pausing is stopping, the compute is weight update of training and upon if/then determination that the operation is not complete, see Fig 4(c) checkpoint ‘stall’}.
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the performing of the checkpointing comprises:
obtaining a current storage location of the information about the state of the ANN model {Mohan [P.207 Sect4.3.1] “model state resides in GPU memory”}; and
determining a storage path through the current storage location and the checkpointing based on a target location for storing the information about the state of the ANN model {Mohan [P.207 Sect4.3.1] “snapshot() involves copying the model parameters from GPU to CPU memory… critical path” similar at [P.208 ¶2] “model state from GPU to CPU… GPU to CPU copy in the critical path” thus the current storage location is GPU memory and the target location for storing is CPU memory}.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the information about the state of the ANN model comprises
any one or any combination of a parameter and an optimizer of the ANN model {Mohan [P.213 ¶1] “parameters and optimizer state” parameters include weights Fig 4, [P.205 ¶2-3], [P.207 Sect4.3.1]}.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, configure the processor to perform the method of claim 1 {Mohan [P.210 Sect4.4 ¶1] “We implement CheckFreq as a pluggable module for PyTorch” and [P.210 Sect5.1 ¶2, Tbl.1] “We use two ML server SKUs; each with 24 CPU cores, 500GB DRAM, and 8 GPUs…” hardware and software implementation and setup described, GitHub source code link is provided [Slides 9,44]}.
With respect to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. The difference in scope being an electronic device comprising processor to perform limitations of method claim 1. Mohan discloses [P.210 Sect5.1] server configurations with GPU and CPU processors. The remainder of this claim is rejected for the same rationale as claim 1.
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the electronic device of claim 13 and further teaches the limitation of claim 3. Therefore, rejection of claim 3 is applied to claim 14.
With respect to claim 15, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the electronic device of claim 13 and further teaches the limitation of claim 4. Therefore, rejection of claim 4 is applied to claim 15.
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the electronic device of claim 13 and further teaches the limitation of claim 12. Therefore, rejection of claim 12 is applied to claim 18.
Claims 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohan and Peebles in view of
Liao et al., “Mimose: An Input-Aware Checkpointing Planner for Efficient Training on GPU” hereinafter Liao (arXiv: 2209.02478v1).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1. Liao teaches wherein the performing of the checkpointing comprises
checkpointing in a unit of layer of the ANN model {Liao Fig 12 “checkpointed layer” Fig 6-right checkpoint plan for layers being [P.4 Sect4.1 ¶2] “layer in a given DL model” e.g. convolution, pooling and linear operators [P.5 Last2¶]. An exemplary model is BERT-based XLNet [P.8 Sect6.1 ¶2] Table 1 and/or ResNet Fig 10-b}.
Liao is directed to checkpointing for training models thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to perform checkpointing layers per Liao in combination to support Mohan’s multilayer models ResNet or VGG16 in combination for a motivation of “checkpointing plan based on per-layer memory prediction and applies it to training progress on the fly” [Abst] see key contributions [P.2 Sect.1 Last2¶].
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Mohan, Peebles and Liao teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the performing of the checkpointing comprises
performing the checkpointing of a layer, in which a weight update of the operation iteration is completed, in the unit of layer {Liao Fig 12 “checkpointed layer” or Fig 6-right checkpoint plan for layers [P.4 Sect4.1 ¶2] “layer in a given DL model” e.g. convolution, pooling and linear operators [P.5 Last2¶] to “update the model parameters” [P.3 ¶1] Fig 1 training}. Motivation for combination is applied similarly as in claim 8.
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the electronic device of claim 13 and further combination with Liao teaches the limitation of claim 8. Therefore, rejection of claim 8 with equal motivation is applied to claim 16.
Claims 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohan and Peebles in view of Narayanan et al “Efficient Large-Scale Language Model Training on GPU Clusters Using Megatron-LM” hereinafter Narayanan.
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the method of claim 1. Narayanan teaches wherein the performing of the operation for the learning of the ANN model comprises
while performing a backward propagation operation of a layer of the operation iteration, performing a weight update operation of another layer of the operation simultaneously {Narayanan [Sect2.2 ¶2] “weight updates in the backward pass” with [Sect3.2 ¶2] “backward pass for each layer” illustratively Figs 2-4 transformer layers compute weight parameters with pipeline model parallelism for backward pass in shown in green}.
Narayanan is directed to trained machine learning models with checkpointing thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to employ the teaching of Narayanan to arrive at the invention as claimed as applying known techniques to known methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or for a motivation it “improves efficiency” [P.2 ¶1] and/or “to achieve high aggregate throughput (502 petaFLOP/s) while training large models with a trillion parameters. This facilitates end-to-end training in reasonable times” [Sect.7 ¶1].
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Mohan, Peebles and Narayanan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the performing of the checkpointing comprises,
while performing the backward propagation operation of the layer of the operation iteration, performing a checkpointing of a another layer of the operation iteration simultaneously {Narayanan [Sect3.5 ¶2] “checkpointing every 1 or 2 transformer layers” shown Fig 2 layers, Fig 3-4 backward pass the checkpoints are loaded and saved per [Sect5.10]}. Motivation for combination is applied similarly as in claim 10.
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Mohan and Peebles teaches the electronic device of claim 13 and further combination with Narayanan teaches the limitation of claim 10. Therefore, the rejection of claim 10 with equal motivation is applied to claim 17.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al., “Boost Neural Network by Checkpoint” arXiv: 2110.00959v2 NeurIPS, see [P.3] Alg.1 “training iterations per checkpoint” e.g. [P.4 ¶1] “After every t iterations of training, we update the weights of training samples and save a checkpoint, where the weight of the m-th checkpoint is calculated”
Zhuang et Zuccon, “Asyncval: A Toolkit for Asynchronously Validating Dense Retriever Checkpoints during Training” see Fig 1
Yang et al., US PG Pub No 2023/0315407A1 discloses tensor checkpoint compiler
Gossman et al., “Towards Aggregated Asynchronous Checkpointing” see [P.2 Sect. 2.1 ¶1] “asynchronous flushing. To this end, we leverage the multi-level checkpointing” and [Abst] VELOC: very low overhead checkpointing strategy
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHASE P. HINCKLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2124