DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In Applicant’s response dated May 12, 2026, Claims 1 and 7 are amended. Claims 21-25 are added. Claims 1-15 and 21-25 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
The rejections provided below are modified from those provided in the Office Action dated February 12, 2026 as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments and new claims 21-25. Further, the prior art of record is reconsidered for all that is taught in view of Applicant’s amendments and new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 11-14, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. [US20210320368A1], hereinafter Huang.
Regarding Claim 1, Huang discloses a traction battery pack [Huang throughout], comprising:
a first cell stack [Huang 0068-0073 and throughout, battery cores 23 in Fig. 1 as shown below on left side of cross-member assembly 22] ;
a second cell stack [Huang 0068-0073 and throughout, battery cores 23 in Fig. 1 as shown below on left side of cross-member assembly 22];
a cross-member assembly arranged between the first cell stack and the second cell stack [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly arranged as described as indicated below];
and the cross-member assembly including a first cross-member beam associated with the first cell stack and having a first cross-sectional configuration [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly where the first cross-beam members 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and second crossbeam members 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) are shown below. The Examiner has labeled Huang’s two different cross-beam members 22a and 22b that together form a cross-member assembly 22 as 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) to clarify what is taught by the prior art. As shown in Fig. 6. Huang’s middle stack (claimed second cell stack) has a second crossbeam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. As shown in Figs. 1 and 3, the first cell stack has a third cross-beam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. The first crossbeam member 22a on the left side of the second cell stack and the second cross-beam member 22b of the left side of the second cell stack (can also be described as the right side of the first cell stack) nest together to form a cross beam member assembly 22. For clarity, the Examiner has provided a detailed drawing of Huang Fig. 3 below highlighting the nesting features of first and second cross-beam members (indicated as 22a and 22b, respectively, below for clarity) as also shown in Huang Fig. 6 and as taught by Huang.], and
a second cross-member beam associated with the second cell stack and having a second cross-sectional configuration different from the first cross-sectional configuration [Huang 0069-0074, Figs. 1-6, second cross-member beam 22b, For clarity on the prior art regarding the limitation, the Examiner has provided a detailed drawing of Huang Fig. 3 below under the annotated Huang Fig. 3. As shown, the first cross-sectional configuration of first cross-beam member 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) (as indicated by the Examiner to highlight the teachings of Huang’s nesting cross-beams) is different from the second cross-sectional configuration of second cross-beam member 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) (as indicated by the Examiner to highlight the teachings of Huang’s nesting cross-beams)], and
wherein the first cross-member beam nests together with the second cross-member beam to establish the cross-member assembly and are nested to form a cross-beam assembly [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22a and 22b (221a-223a; 221b-221b) together as the cross-member assembly 22, specifically 0074-0075, with a first cross-beam member and second cross-beam member nesting at connecting plates 223a/223b with different cross-sectional shapes on either side of the battery (see Figs. 3, 5, 6, and the Examiner’s figure detailing the nesting first and second cross-member beams 22a and 22b as shown in Fig. 3 and as described by Huang.) .
Figure 1, annotated
Figure 6, annotated
Figure 5, annotated
Examiner’s drawing showing the nesting features of the crossbeam 22 as taught by Huang Figs. 1-6 and throughout
Regarding Claim 5, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cell stack includes a plurality of battery cells stacked between the first cross-member beam and a third cross-member beam (Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22a and 22b (221a/b-223a/b) together as the cross-member assembly, specifically 0074-0075, Huang see Figs. in claim 1 above for position of first and third cross-member beams 22a and 22b, respectively, as well as the positioning of the first cell stack in-between).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 5, wherein the third cross-member beam includes an identical design as the second cross-member beam [Huang Figs. 1-6, compare Figs. 1, 5, and 6 and the Examiner drawing provided in claim 1, The third cross-member beam 22b on the left side of the first stack has lower height 223b, which is the same design as the second cross-member beam 22b.] .
Regarding Claim 7, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 5, wherein the third cross-member beam is configured to interface with an enclosure assembly of the traction battery pack [Huang 0079-0080 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, The third cross-member interfaces with the enclosure 11 through reinforcing beam 12 connected to the third cross member through connecting plate 3. Also, see annotated Figs. in claim 1 above.].
Regarding Claim 11, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cross-member beam includes a side surface having a first stepped profile, and the second cross- member beam includes a side surface having a second stepped profile, wherein the first stepped profile nests with the second stepped profile to establish a nesting interface between the first cross-member beam and the second cross-member beam [Huang Figs. 1-6, 0073-0076 and throughout, See annotated Fig. 5 below and Fig. 6, which shows the stepped profiles, in addition to the Figs. in claim 1.].
Regarding Claim 12, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cross-member beam includes a first flange section and the second cross-member beam includes a second flange section, wherein the first flange section overlaps the second flange section to establish a nesting interface between the first cross-member beam and the second cross-member beam [Huang Figs. 1-6, 0073-0076 and throughout, See annotated Fig. 5 below and the Figs. in claim 1 above showing overlapping flanges.].
Regarding Claim 13, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cross-member beam includes a first flange section and the second cross-member beam includes a second flange section, wherein the first flange section abuts the second flange section to establish a nesting interface between the first cross-member beam and the second cross-member beam [Huang Figs. 1-6, 0073-0076 and throughout, See annotated Fig. 5 below and the Figs. 1 claim 1 above showing abutting flanges.].
Regarding Claim 14, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cross-member beam includes a surface configured to interface with a component of the first cell stack [Huang Figs. 1-6, 0073-0076 and throughout, surface of side plate 221a interfaces with the side covers of the batteries of the first cell stack as shown in the Figs. in claim 1.].
Regarding Claim 21, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cross-member beam and the second cross-member beam are configured to nest together and the first cell stack is adjacent to the second cell stack as shown in the Figs. in claim 1 above. Thus, the claimed structure is the same as the structure taught by Huang. The claim language “as the first cell stack is moved into place adjacent to the second cell stack during assembly of the traction battery pack” makes claim 21 a product-by-process claim per MPEP 2113 . In such case, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In this case, the first cross-member beam and the second cross-member beam are configured to be nested together in the cavities formed by the cross-beam member side plates 22 as taught by Huang [Huang 0068-0074, Figs. 1-6, explicitly taught 0069], regardless of whether the second stack is placed in the traction battery pack before the first stack is placed or vice versa. Further, it would be expected that the second cell stack in Huang’s battery can be placed before the first cell stack as claimed since Huang does not teach the stacks must be assembled in a specific order. As described, the claimed final structure is the same as the structure taught by Huang; thus, Huang meets the limitations.
Regarding Claim 22, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein a structural adhesive that bonds the first cross-member beam and the second cross member beam together [Huang 0076, Fig. 3 and throughout, Huang teaches that glue may be applied to arrange the battery unit stably within the housing between the side plate bodies 221. The broadest reasonable interpretation of between the side plate bodies 221 is between 221a/b, where the side plate bodies 221a/b are parts of the first and second cross-beam members 22a/b as described in more detail in claim 1 above. Thus, the glue between the side plate bodies 221 (a and b) where each side plate 22 is comprised of a first cross-beam member 22a (which includes 221a) and a second cross beam member 22b (which includes 221b) is a structural adhesive since it is placed to secure the battery unit 2 in the housing 1 [Huang 0076, Fig. 3]; thus, Huang’s glue between side plate bodies 221 meets the limitation.
Regarding Claim 23, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 1, wherein the first cross-member beam is a unitary, single-piece structure and the second cross-member beam is a separate unitary, single- piece structure [Huang 0074 and throughout, Fig. 6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Huang Fig.6 is that each of the side plates 22 including first cross-member beam 22a and the second cross-member beam 22b are separate unitary, single-piece structures. Further, Huang explicitly teaches that each side plate 22 comprises bottom support plate 222, first connecting plate 223, and side plate body 221, are preferable integrally formed, which reads on the claimed unitary, single-piece. To guarantee the overall strength of the side plates 22, preferably, the first connecting plate 223 and the bottom supporting plate 222 are integrally formed with the side plate body 221. [Huang 0074]].
Regarding Claim 24, Huang discloses A traction battery pack, comprising:
a first cell stack [Huang 0068-0073 and throughout, battery cores 23 in Fig. 1 as shown below on left side of cross-member assembly 22] ;
a second cell stack [Huang 0068-0073 and throughout, battery cores 23 in Fig. 1 as shown below on left side of cross-member assembly 22];
a cross-member assembly arranged between the first cell stack and the second cell stack [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly arranged as described as indicated below], the cross-member assembly including;
a first cross-member beam associated with the first cell stack [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly where the first cross-beam members 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and second crossbeam members 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) are shown below. The Examiner has labeled Huang’s two different cross-beam members 22a and 22b that together form a cross-member assembly 22 as 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) to clarify what is taught by the prior art. As shown in Fig. 6. Huang’s middle stack (claimed second cell stack) has a second crossbeam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. As shown in Figs. 1 and 3, the first cell stack has a third cross-beam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. The first crossbeam member 22a on the left side of the second cell stack and the second cross-beam member 22b of the left side of the second cell stack nest together to form a cross beam member assembly 22. For clarity, the Examiner has provided a detailed drawing 3a of Huang Fig. 3 below highlighting the first and second cross-beam members (indicated as 22a and 22b, respectively, below for clarity) as also shown in Huang Fig. 6 and as taught by Huang.],
the first cross- member beam being a unitary structure [Huang 0074 and throughout, Fig. 6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Huang Fig.6 is that each of the side plates 22 including first cross-member beam 22a and the second cross-member beam 22b are separate unitary, single-piece structures. Further, Huang teaches that each side plate 22 comprises bottom support plate 222, first connecting plate 223, and side plate body 221, are preferable integrally formed, which reads on the claimed unitary, single-piece. To guarantee the overall strength of the side plates 22, preferably, the first connecting plate 223 and the bottom supporting plate 222 are integrally formed with the side plate body 221. [Huang 0074].]
including a first upper flange section, a first lower flange section, and a first mid-section extending between the first upper flange section and the first lower flange section [See Examiner drawing 3b below, which is a replication of Fig. 3 showing the claimed flange section features.]; and
a second cross-member beam associated with the second cell stack [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly where the first cross-beam members 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and second crossbeam members 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) are shown below. The Examiner has labeled Huang’s two different cross-beam members 22a and 22b that together form a cross-member assembly 22 as 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) to clarify what is taught by the prior art. As shown in Fig. 6. Huang’s middle stack (claimed second cell stack) has a second crossbeam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. As shown in Figs. 1 and 3, the first cell stack has a third cross-beam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. The first crossbeam member 22a on the left side of the second cell stack and the second cross-beam member 22b of the left side of the second cell stack (can also be described as the right side of the first cell stack) nest together to form a cross beam member 22. For clarity, the Examiner has provided a detailed drawing 3a of Huang Fig. 3 below highlighting the nesting features of first and second cross-beam members (indicated as 22a and 22b, respectively, below for clarity) as also shown in Huang Fig. 6 and as taught by Huang.],
the second cross-member beam being a unitary structure [Huang 0074 and throughout, Fig. 6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Huang Fig.6 is that each of the side plates 22 including first cross-member beam 22a and the second cross-member beam 22b are separate unitary, single-piece structures. Further, Huang teaches that each side plate 22 comprises bottom support plate 222, first connecting plate 223, and side plate body 221, are preferable integrally formed, which reads on the claimed unitary, single-piece. To guarantee the overall strength of the side plates 22, preferably, the first connecting plate 223 and the bottom supporting plate 222 are integrally formed with the side plate body 221. [Huang 0074].],
including a second upper flange section, a second lower flange section, and a second mid-section extending between the second upper flange section and the second lower flange section [See Examiner drawing 3b below, which is a replication of Fig. 3 showing the claimed flange section features.];
wherein the first upper flange section overlaps the second upper flange section to establish a first nesting interface of the cross-member assembly section [See Examiner drawing 3c below, which is a replication of Fig. 3 showing the claimed nesting interface.]; and
wherein the first lower flange section abuts the second lower flange section to establish a second nesting interface of the cross-member assembly section [See Examiner drawing 3c below, which is a replication of Fig. 3 showing the claimed nesting interface.].
Figure 2, annotated
Figure 6, annotated
Examiner’s drawing 3a showing the nesting features of the crossbeam 22 as taught by Huang Figs. 1-6 and throughout
Examiner’s drawing 3b showing the flanges of Huang’s cross-member beams 22a/b
Examiner’s drawing 3c showing the nesting interfaces of Huang’s cross-member beam
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as provided above for claims 1 and 14 and in further view of Kumagai US20210362579A1.
Regarding Claim 15, Huang discloses the traction battery pack as recited in claim 14 [Huang Figs. 1-6, 0073-0076 and throughout, surface of side plate 221 interfaces with the side covers of the battery cells of the cell stack] but is silent wherein the component is a standoff located between a battery cell of the first cell stack and the first cross-member beam. Kumagai discloses a standoff 80 between a rail 11 and a battery stack 70 [Kumagai 0022-0033 and throughout, Fig. 2]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kumagai’s teaching about using a standoff between the battery stack and the rail in Huang’s battery pack by modifying Huang to include a standoff between the first battery cell stack and the first cross-member beam between side plate 221 and the battery cells for the predictable result of a reduction of the transfer of stress during operation of the vehicle creating torsion and deflection between the first cross-beam member and the first cell stack [Kumagai 0031 and throughout]. Such modification would be considered an improvement to the Huang’s traction battery pack. See MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 25, Huang discloses a traction battery pack, comprising:
a first cell stack [Huang 0068-0073 and throughout, battery cores 23 in Fig. 1 as shown below on left side of cross-member assembly 22] ;
a second cell stack [Huang 0068-0073 and throughout, battery cores 23 in Fig. 1 as shown below on left side of cross-member assembly 22];
a cross-member assembly arranged between the first cell stack and the second cell stack [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly arranged as described as indicated below], the cross-member assembly including:
a first cross-member beam associated with the first cell stack [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1- 6 side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly where the first cross-beam members 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and second cross-beam members 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) are shown below. The Examiner has labeled Huang’s two different cross-beam members 22a and 22b that together form a cross-member assembly 22 as 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) to clarify what is taught by the prior art. As shown in Fig. 6. Huang’s middle stack (claimed second cell stack) has a second crossbeam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. As shown in Figs. 1 and 3, the first cell stack has a third cross-beam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. The first crossbeam member 22a on the left side of the second cell stack and the second cross-beam member 22b of the left side of the second cell stack (can also be described as the right side of the first cell stack) nest together to form a cross beam member assembly 22. For clarity, the Examiner has provided a detailed drawing of Huang Fig. 3 below highlighting the nesting features of first and second cross-beam members (indicated as 22a and 22b, respectively, below for clarity) as also shown in Huang Fig. 6 and taught by Huang.],
the first cross- member beam being a unitary structure having a first side surface configured to interface with the first cell stack [Huang 0074 and throughout, Fig. 6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Huang Fig.6 is that each of the side plates 22 including first cross-member beam 22a and the second cross-member beam 22b are separate unitary, single-piece structures. Further, Huang teaches that each side plate 22 comprises bottom support plate 222, first connecting plate 223, and side plate body 221, are preferable integrally formed, which reads on the claimed unitary, single-piece. To guarantee the overall strength of the side plates 22, preferably, the first connecting plate 223 and the bottom supporting plate 222 are integrally formed with the side plate body 221. [Huang 0074]. As shown below 221a reads on a first side surface configured to interface with the first cell stack. ] and
a first nesting surface having a first stepped profile [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, where the first nesting surface having a first step profile is the surface of 223a, which nests with surface 223b at the step.] ; and
a second cross-member beam associated with the second cell stack [Huang 0068-0074, Figs. 1-6, side plates 22 as the cross-member assembly where the first cross-beam members 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and second crossbeam members 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) are shown below. The Examiner has labeled Huang’s two different cross-beam members 22a and 22b that together form a cross-member assembly 22 as 22a (221a, 222a, 223a) and 22b (221b, 222b, 223b) to clarify what is taught by the prior art. As shown in Fig. 6. Huang’s middle stack (claimed second cell stack) has a second crossbeam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. As shown in Figs. 1 and 3, the first cell stack has a third cross-beam member 22b on the left side and a first cross-beam member 22a on the right side. The first crossbeam member 22a on the left side of the second cell stack and the second cross-beam member 22b of the left side of the second cell stack (can also be described as the right side of the first cell stack) nest together to form a cross beam member 22. For clarity, the Examiner has provided a detailed drawing of Huang Fig. 3 below highlighting the nesting features of first and second cross-beam members (indicated as 22a and 22b, respectively, below for clarity) as also shown in Huang Fig. 6 and taught by Huang.],
the second cross-member beam being a unitary structure having a second side surface configured to interface with the second cell stack [Huang 0074 and throughout, Fig. 6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Huang Fig.6 is that each of the side plates 22 including first cross-member beam 22a and the second cross-member beam 22b are separate unitary, single-piece structures. Further, Huang teaches that each side plate 22 comprises bottom support plate 222, first connecting plate 223, and side plate body 221, are preferable integrally formed, which reads on the claimed unitary, single-piece. To guarantee the overall strength of the side plates 22, preferably, the first connecting plate 223 and the bottom supporting plate 222 are integrally formed with the side plate body 221. [Huang 0074]. As shown below 221a reads on a first side surface configured to interface with the first cell stack. ]and
and a second nesting surface having a second stepped profile having an inverse relationship relative to the first stepped profile [Huang 0068-0074 and throughout, Figs. 1-6, where the second nesting surface having a second step profile is the surface of 223b, which nests with first surface 223a at the step. As shown, 22b is inverted relative to 22a such that the upper region of 223b nests with the lower region of 223a.] ;
wherein the first nesting surface nests with the second nesting surface to establish a nesting interface between the first cross-member beam and the second cross-member beam [Huang 0068-0074, see Figs. below where the nesting interface is between lower 223a and upper 223b].
Figure 3, annotated
Figure 6, annotated
Figure 5, annotated
Examiner’s drawing showing the nesting features of the crossbeam 22 as taught by Huang Figs. 1-6 and throughout
Huang is silent to the first nesting surface and the second nesting surface cooperate to establish a dividing wall between a first venting passageway and a second venting passageway of the cross-member assembly, the first venting passageway and the second venting passageway being fluidly isolated from one another at the nesting interface as required by claim 25. Further, Huang is silent to a battery pack configured to handle vented gas.
Wang was considered for teaching a cross-member assembly 30 [Wang 0085-end, throughout, Figs. 1 and throughout] wherein the cross-member assembly includes a first venting passageway disposed in the first cross-member beam and a second venting passageway disposed in second cross-member beam [Wang 0083 and throughout, gas passages within first (left side of 30, for example) and second (right side of 30, for example) cross-member assemblies shown in Fig. 3 and throughout]. However, Wang’s first venting passageway and second venting passageway are configured as part of a single cross-member beams 30 fixed to the tray enclosure between battery cell stacks. Huang’s cross-beam members are joined to the battery cell stacks. Given, the different structures between Huang’s and Wang’s battery pack cross-members and Huang’s silence to teaching about venting gas, it would not be obvious to combine Wang’s first and second venting passageways with Huang’s battery pack since doing so would require significant modifications to Huang’s battery pack.
After additional searching, the following prior art was most closely considered:
US20220123423A1 Wang teaches a crossbeam member 13 which has a venting passage. Wang does not teach a first cross-member beam and a second cross-member beam. It would not be obvious to modify Wang with Huang’s nested cross-member beam since there would be no known motivation for such modification.
US20200156486A1 Howard teaches cross-members in support structure 200 nested within cross-members 310; however, Howard does not teach venting gas and Howard’s cross-member beams are a structural arrangement of the battery pack tray and it would not be obvious to apply it to cross-members associated with battery cell stacks.
For the reasons provided above, Claim 25 is considered novel and nonobvious over the prior art.
Claims 2-4 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, Huang discloses the battery pack of claim 1 but is silent to a venting passageway as required by claim 2. Further, Huang does not teach a battery pack configured to handle vented gas. Wang was considered for teaching a cross-member assembly 30 [Wang 0085-end, throughout, Figs. 1 and throughout] wherein the cross-member assembly includes a first venting passageway disposed in the first cross-member beam and a second venting passageway disposed in second cross-member beam [Wang 0083 and throughout, gas passages within first (left side of 30, for example) and second (right side of 30, for example) cross-member assemblies shown in Fig. 3 and throughout]. However, Wang’s first venting passageway and second venting passageway are configured as part of a single cross-member beams 30 fixed to the tray enclosure between battery cell stacks. Further, Wang’s venting passageway is not disposed between the first cross-member beam and second cross member beam as required by claim 2. Since Huang is silent to a battery pack configured to accommodate venting gas, it would not be obvious to modify Huang’s cross-beam members to include a venting passageway as taught by Wang.
After an additional search the prior art of US20220123423A1 Wang and US20200156486A1 Howard was most closely considered but was not considered to read on the limitations of claim 2 for the same reasons provided above.
Claims 3-4 depend on claim 2. For the reasons provided above, claims 2-4 contain subject matter that is consider novel and nonobvious over the prior art.
Regarding Claim 8, Huang discloses the battery pack of claim 1 but is silent to a first venting passageway and a second venting passageway as required by claim 8. Claims 9-10 depend on claim 8. Claims 8-10 are considered to contain subject matter that is novel and nonobvious over the prior art for the same reasons as claim 2.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments in the response dated May 12, 2026 has been fully considered. Respectfully, the Examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments regarding the anticipation rejections persuasive as detailed below. Further, the Examiner has reconsidered the prior art for all that it teaches as necessitated by amendments and new claims in the response dated May 12, 2026.
Regarding Applicant arguments on pg. 6-9 that Huang fails to disclose “wherein the first cross-member beam nests together with the second cross-member beam to establish the cross-member assembly”, the Applicant provides three reasons. The Examiner has provided evidence of anticipation over Huang for each of these arguments below.
Argument 1: Applicant argues Huang’s side plates 22 cannot be mapped to the claimed first and second cross-member beams. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Huang explicitly teaches side plates 22 corresponding to two adjacent battery cells [Huang 0072]. Further, Huang teaches each side plate 22 includes side plate body 221, bottom support plate 222, and connecting plates 223. Further, as shown in Figs. 3-6, there are two of each of side plate body 221, bottom support plate 222, and connecting plates 223 with each battery cell stack. When combined together in a battery pack with adjacently stacked battery stacks forming cross-beam member assembly 22 as shown in Figs. 3-5, a cross-beam member 22b on the left side of the stack overlaps and abuts a cross-beam member 22a. For clarity, the Examiner has provided additional drawings in the rejections above to demonstrate Huang’s teachings of a first cross-beam member 22a (right side 221,222, and 223 in Fig. 6) and a second cross-beam member 22b (left side 221, 222, and 223 of Fig. 6) as assembled in a battery pack such that 22a and 22b nest together to form the cross-beam member assembly 22. Applicant further argues that Huang’s specification teaches the side plates 22 of two adjacent battery cells are arranged at the same height and thus establishes that two interfacing side plates from adjacent battery units are identical, co-planar components. First, the Applicant has taken Huang’s teaching [0073] out of context. [0073]: When the battery units 2 are connected in series, the side plates 22 are only stacked with the reinforcing member of the battery box 1, and the side plates 22 of two adjacent battery units 2 are arranged at the same height. In [0073], Huang is teaching a specific embodiment where the stacks are connected in series and the side plates 22 are stacked with a reinforcing member of battery box 1. Second, the side plates can be the same height without being “identical, co-planar components” as the Applicant argues, and Huang Fig. 6 in addition to Figs. 3-5 provide direct evidence of the Office’s position. Specifically, the height of the side plates 22a (right side of the stack) and 22b (left side of the stack) includes all of 221, 222, and 223 (left and right sides of stack). Side plates 22a and 22b would be considered the same since the height of component 221 is the same for 22a (right side of the stack) and 22b (left side of the stack). Further, the side plates on the left and right side of the battery stack (22b, 22a respectively) are different in cross-sectional configuration, and interface together with a nested structure to form cross-beam member assembly 22 as shown in Figs. 3-5. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive. Third, apparently, the Applicant’s misinterpretation of Huang’s teachings attempts to establish that Huang does not meet the requirements of the new limitations regarding the cross-sectional configurations of the first cross-beam member and second cross-beam member being different. In addition to the Office position as stated, the Examiner has provided additional details regarding Huang’s anticipation of the new limitations in claim 1 above.
Argument 2: Applicant argues that Huang fails to disclose differently-configured cross-member beams. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant provides the same argument as described above for Argument 1, reciting portions of paragraph 0073 out of context. As provided above [0073]: When the battery units 2 are connected in series, the side plates 22 are only stacked with the reinforcing member of the battery box 1, and the side plates 22 of two adjacent battery units 2 are arranged at the same height. In [0073], Huang is teaching a specific embodiment where the stacks are connected in series and the side plates 22 are stacked with a reinforcing member of battery box 1. Second, the side plates can be the same height without being identical, and Huang Fig. 6 and Figs. 3-5 provide direct evidence of the Office’s position as described above. In addition to the Office’s position as stated in more detail in Argument 1 above, the Examiner has provided additional details regarding Huang’s anticipation of the new limitations in claim 1 above.
Argument 3: Applicant argues that Huang fails to establish that the first cross-member beam is associated with the first cell stack and the second cross-member beam is associated with the second cell stack. As shown in the Figs. provided in claim 1 above, the battery cell stacks are arranged where the first cross-member beam 22a of a first cell stack nests with a second cross-member beam 22b of the second stack. Essentially, Huang’s battery cell stack units, as shown in Huang Fig. 6, are arranged laterally within the battery pack such that the cross-member beams of adjacent stacks overlap one another in a nested arrangement as shown in Figs. 1-5. To provide clarity on the teachings of Huang, the Examiner has provided additional drawings to clarify Huang’s anticipation of claim 1 as well as additional description of Huang’s teachings. Thus, Huang teaches two differently-configured beams that nest together as claimed.
For the reasons provided above, evidence of anticipation of claims 1, 5-7, and 11-14 outweighs evidence of novelty over the prior art and the rejections are maintained as described above. Further, Huang was found to anticipate new claims 21-24 for the reasons provided above. Regarding Applicant arguments on pg. 11 regarding claim 15, no additional arguments are provided regarding the obviousness rejection, thus the rejection of claim 15 is maintained.
Regarding Applicant arguments on pgs. 9-10 regarding the combination of Wang’s venting passageway in Huang’s battery pack, the Examiner has fully considered the Applicant’s arguments and finds the first and second arguments persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections of claims 2-4 and 8-10 are withdrawn and allowable subject matter has been indicated for claims 2-4 and 8-10 as described above. The Examiner consulted with Brian Ohara regarding the allowable subject matter of claims 2-4 and 8-10 as well as allowable claim 25.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724