DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed 04/21/2026 have been entered, accordingly claims 1-3, 5, 7-20, 22 and 23 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 are regarding the newly amended features and have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See newly cited art Conroy 064’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-11, 13, 15-18, 20, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills (US 2023/0068775 A1), Zollinger (US 2022/0111137) and Conroy (US 2019/0291064).
Regarding claim 1, Mills discloses a liquid dispenser apparatus (510), comprising a base structure (base/frame 101) having:
a liquid inlet (source of water filling 110, water in 110 as shown in figure 5) connected to a liquid source (main water source 110) and configured to receive a liquid from the liquid source (nature of liquid main water source to liquid dispenser apparatus),
a gas inlet (187/188) connected to a gas source (co2 vessel 140) and configured to receive gas from the gas source (gas/co2 received to carbonation vessel 130, see figure 5),
a dispensing outlet (outlet/mixer 160) connected to a liquid dispensing unit (via line 186 as shown in figure 5),
a storage connecting portion (where liquid lines as illustrated thick black, connect to 512/514/130, see figure 5) connected to a first liquid storage (512/514/121) and a second liquid storage (130, carbonated water, see figure 5), and
a passage arrangement (lines entering carbonation liquid vessel: 183 (water), 188 (co2) or to outlet/mixer 160) configured to put at least two of the liquid inlet (485/183), the gas inlet, the dispensing outlet or the storage connecting portion into fluid communication with each other (at outlet 160, see figure 5),
a valve arrangement (pressure valves 208/210/204, pump valving 522/524) seated in the base structure (frame 101, see figure 1) and configured to control a fluid passage of at least one of the liquid inlet, the gas inlet, the dispensing outlet, or the storage connecting portion (see figure 5 providing above valves along fluid lines to storage features), and
a control unit (102, 302, 402, 502) having at least one signal input connected to a user interface (902), and at least one signal output connected to the valve arrangement (drink and therefore valve/valve pump control via user interface “In various embodiments, determining the mixed drink may be based on receiving a selected drink from a user interface (e.g., user interface 902 from control system 900).” [0050]) and configured to control the valve arrangement by the at least one signal output (controller operates beverage valves/pump systems “in response to a controller determining a drink to be mixed is a carbonated drink, the controller 102 from FIG. 1 may energize the first valve 208 and the second valve 210, command the pump 122 to pump water through fluid conduits 181, 182, 183 into the carbonation vessel 130 to form a carbonated water, pump the carbonated water from the carbonation vessel 130 through fluid conduits 189, 185, 186 and out the nozzle 160, and combine the carbonated water with a premixed composition of a respective drink capsule at the nozzle 160 as defined further herein.” [0034]), and
the first liquid storage stores a first liquid (liquid of 512/514 “a first bulk pre-mixed composition 512 and a second pre-mixed composition 514, the present disclosure is not limited in this regard. For example, any number of bulk premixed compositions for the device 100 is within the scope of this disclosure. In various embodiments, each pre-mixed composition may be associated with a respective pump in fluid communication with the nozzle 160.” [0041], liquid of 212 “the device 100 further comprises a drink capsule receiver 121. The drink capsule receiver 121 may be configured to receive a drink capsule containing a pre-mixed composition, in accordance with various embodiments. In various embodiments, the pre-mixed composition may include a flavoring (e.g., in powder form, a syrup, or the like) and an alcohol (e.g., whiskey, vodka, gin, rum, tequila, etc.)” [0028]) ;
the second liquid storage stores a second liquid (carbonated water “the pump 122 to pump water through fluid conduits 181, 182, 183 into the carbonation vessel 130 to form a carbonated water,” [0034]); and
Mills is silent regarding the first liquid storage and the second liquid storage are arranged in an interleaved manner such that the first liquid storage and at least partially houses the second liquid storage or the second liquid storage at least partially hoses the first liquid storage.
However it would be obvious to routine optimization (see MPEP 2144.05 II. B.), to place the finite number of beverages associated vessels within one another to optimize the finite space of the beverage system, Conroy teaches the first liquid storage and the second liquid storage are arranged in an interleaved manner such that the first liquid storage and at least partially houses the second liquid storage or the second liquid storage at least partially hoses the first liquid storage (vessels of beverage system may be nested within each other “the carbonation system can realize a thermal benefit and/or a space benefit. For example, separating the carbonation chamber from the liquid chamber by a wall can facilitate cooling of the carbonation chamber via the liquid chamber, and/or can reduce the footprint of the beverage machine by reducing the overall size of the carbonation system.” [0006]).
The advantage of the first liquid storage and the second liquid storage are arranged in an interleaved manner such that the first liquid storage and at least partially houses the second liquid storage or the second liquid storage at least partially hoses the first liquid storage, is to reduce the footprint of the beverage system and or enhance thermal transfer regulation “As illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6, the carbonation tank 132 can be positioned (e.g., nested) in the liquid tank 130. By positioning the carbonation tank 132 in the liquid tank 130, the outer envelope or volume of the carbonation system 110 is reduced, enabling the carbonated beverage machine 100 to have a smaller footprint than previous carbonated beverage machines. Additionally, the carbonation tank 132 can be cooled externally by chilled precursor liquid (e.g., water) in the liquid tank 130 and internally by chilled precursor liquid transferred from the liquid tank 130 to the carbonation tank 132, resulting in a communal environment having substantially the same temperature, thereby creating thermal benefits in maintaining a proper carbonation temperature in the carbonation tank 132” [0053] .
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills as modified and in view of Routine Optimization as supported by Conroy, to modify the beverage fluid manifold system of Mills to include the nested storage vessel layout of Conroy, because nesting vessels of a beverage systems optimizes within the space available the use of beverage associated vessels, reducing the footprint of the overall beverage system structure.
Mills is silent regarding the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus is formed by a molded structure or by a machined structure.
However Zollinger teaches Mills is silent regarding the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus is formed by a molded structure or by a machined structure. “As previously mentioned, the housing 128 may be of unitary or monolithic construction such that there is no discrete head and trunk. Suitable manufacturing processes for forming the housing 128 may include injection molding, three-dimensional printing, computer numerical control (CNC) machining, polymer casting, vacuum forming, blow molding, among others. Suitable materials for forming the housing 128 may include polymers, composites, metals, ceramics, and combinations thereof.” [0130]
The advantage of the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus is formed by a molded structure or by a machined structure, is to provide a monolithic fluid manifold system that is resistant to corrosion/degradation, structurally resilient to variations of pressure and low in cost “the housing 128 may be of unitary or monolithic construction such that there is no discrete head and trunk. Suitable manufacturing processes for forming the housing 128 may include injection molding, three-dimensional printing, computer numerical control (CNC) machining, polymer casting, vacuum forming, blow molding, among others. Suitable materials for forming the housing 128 may include polymers, composites, metals, ceramics, and combinations thereof. The materials include sufficient anticorrosive properties to avoid degradation when exposed to the waste material and sufficient mechanical properties to maintain integrity under the vacuum levels to be provided by the medical waste collection system 100. The polymers of polyethylene, polypropylene, polyvinyl chloride, polyethylene terephthalate (PET, PETE), polystyrene, polycarbonate, and poly(methyl methacrylate) may be particularly well suited for the manifold 124 in low-cost and disposable implementations.” [0130] and ease of manufacture/assembly “The aforementioned advantages may be realized in a single-piece seal of unitary or monolithic construction without additional components such as retention rings, clips, and the like.” [0167].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills and Zollinger before him or her, to modify the beverage fluid manifold system of Mills to include the monolithic fluid manifold construction techniques of Zollinger because the production of fluid manifold by molding / machining may produce a monolithic structure / components that are resistant to corrosion/degradation, structurally resilient to variations of pressure and at a low cost with ease of manufacture / assembly.
Regarding claim 2, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches wherein the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus is formed by an injection molded structure or by a 3D-printed structure (Zollinger as already modifying anticipates injection molding and 3d printing “the housing 128 may include injection molding, three-dimensional printing, computer numerical control (CNC) machining, polymer casting, vacuum forming, blow molding, among others.” Zollinger [0130]).
Regarding claim 3, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches wherein the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus is a unitary molded structure (Zollinger anticipates monolithic structure “The aforementioned advantages may be realized in a single-piece seal of unitary or monolithic construction without additional components such as retention rings, clips, and the like.” [0167]).
Regarding claim 5, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches wherein the storage connecting portion is configured to be inserted at least in part into one of:
an opening of the first liquid storage; or
an opening of the second liquid storage (see figure 5 where connecting portions of fluid lines to liquid storage vessels penetrate into the vessels).
Regarding claim 8, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 4, Mills as already modified teaches further comprising a third liquid storage (flavorings/alcohol etc. 510/512/514 “the device 500 comprises a plurality of bulk pre-mixed compositions 510, each bulk pre-mixed composition stored in a respective container. In various embodiments, the bulk pre-mixed compositions 510 include alcohol and a flavoring concentrate, such as a powder composition, a syrup composition, or the like. In various embodiments, the bulk pre-mixed compositions may include alcohol disposed separately from the flavoring concentrate and configured to be mixed/dispensed together in response to dispensing the bulk pre-mixed composition (e.g., bulk premixed composition 512 or bulk pre-mixed composition 514).” [0040]) connected to the base structure (monolithic construction as already modified by Zollinger [0167]) and configured to store a third liquid, (various multiples of liquids stored as disclosed above [0040]),
wherein the third liquid storage is further connected to a pump (pump 524/522, see figure 5) which is configured to supply the third liquid out of the third liquid storage into the passage arrangement or to the liquid dispensing unit (as shown in figure 5, lines from 512-514 end at outlet and as disclosed above liquids mix to form beverage or consist of beverage [0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according claim 8, Mills as already modified teaches further comprising a mixing device (where fluid of the varies storage system combine/mix, emphasis added “in various embodiments, the controller is configured to perform various operations to mix alcohol and generate a mixed alcoholic drink, as described further herein.” [0023], see fluid circuits of figure 5, mixing at least in 160) connected to the passage arrangement (fluid connection between components as shown in figure 5) and to the third liquid storage (see figure 5 showing fluid connection 186 of first 110 and second 130 liquid storage to mixer 160 and see pump connection 524/522 of third liquid 512/514 storage to mixer 160),
wherein the mixing device is configured to mix the third liquid stored in the third liquid storage (drink capsule liquid storage of 160 may be third liquid storage and functionally interchangeable to additional liquid storages 510/512/514 “Although illustrated with devices 100, 300, 400 being configured to receive a drink capsule, the present disclosure is not limited in this regard. For example, with reference now to FIG. 5, a schematic view of a device 500 with a plumbing system 580 configured for a plurality of bulk pre-mixed compositions 510 is illustrated, where like numerals denote like elements of device 100.” [0040]) with at least one of the first liquid from the first liquid storage (first liquid storage (non-carbonated) “the outlet of the second valve 210 is in fluid communication with a flow meter 206 via a fifth fluid conduit 185. The flow meter 206 is in fluid communication with the nozzle 160 via a sixth fluid conduit 186 of the device 100. In this regard, as described further herein, in response to a controller determining a drink to be mixed is not a carbonated drink, the controller may command the pump 122 to pump water through fluid conduits 181, 182, 184, 185, 186 and out the nozzle 160 combined with a premixed composition of a respective drink capsule as defined further herein.” [0031])
the second liquid from the second liquid storage (second liquid storage (carbonated) “the controller 102 from FIG. 1 may energize the first valve 208 and the second valve 210, command the pump 122 to pump water through fluid conduits 181, 182, 183 into the carbonation vessel 130 to form a carbonated water, pump the carbonated water from the carbonation vessel 130 through fluid conduits 189, 185, 186 and out the nozzle 160, and combine the carbonated water with a premixed composition of a respective drink capsule at the nozzle 160 as defined further herein.” [0034]),
the liquid from the liquid source, or the gas from the gas source (flow as disclosed above [0040],[0031],[0034], see figure 5 providing liquid source flow connections and gas source connections).
Regarding claim 10, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches
wherein the valve arrangement comprises a solenoid valve (solenoid anticipated “In various embodiments, the first valve 208 is a solenoid valve. In this regard, in response to being energized (i.e., an electrical coil receiving current therethrough), a plunger may be actuated to close the second outlet of the first valve 208 and open the first outlet of the first valve 208, in accordance with various embodiments.” [0029], see valve 210 also as solenoid [0030]), a check valve, or a pressure relief valve.
Regarding claim 11, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 8, Mills as already modified teaches further comprising:
a detecting device (level sensor 202) having a signal output (nature of electronic sensor) which is connected to the at least one signal input of the control unit (connection disclosed below [0033]), wherein the detecting device is configured to detect a liquid condition or gas condition, in at least one of the passage arrangement or a storage connected to the base structure (level of fluid controlled in relation to sensor reading “a sensor 202 may be operably coupled to the carbonation vessel 130 configured to measure a level of fluid disposed in the carbonation vessel 130. In this regard, the level sensor may be configured to provide an input as to a height of fluid disposed in the carbonation vessel 130 to provide an indication when the carbon dioxide vessel 140 is low on water, in accordance with various embodiments. In this regard, the carbonation vessel 130 may be a continuous carbonation vessel. Thus, once water recedes below a predetermined level, as determined by the controller 102 from FIG. 1 based on a measurement of the sensor 202, water from the water supply tank 110 may be supplied to the carbonation vessel 130 (i.e., via energizing first valve 208), and pumping water from the water supply tank 110 via pump 122.” [0030]]).
Regarding claim 13, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches
wherein the gas supplied to the gas inlet (188 of 140) from the gas source is CO2 gas (cO2 delivered to 130 “the carbonation vessel 130, and the carbon dioxide vessel 140.” [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches
wherein the control unit (102, 302, 402, 502) is arranged in the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus (control unit as shown in 101, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches wherein the base structure of the liquid dispenser apparatus is formed by multiple parts (multiple parts as shown by individual components (Fig-1) or as already modified by Zollinger components may by individual or monolithic “As previously mentioned, the housing 128 may be of unitary or monolithic construction such that there is no discrete head and trunk. Suitable manufacturing processes for forming the housing 128 may include injection molding, three-dimensional printing, computer numerical control (CNC) machining, polymer casting, vacuum forming, blow molding, among others. Suitable materials for forming the housing 128 may include polymers, composites, metals, ceramics, and combinations thereof.” Zollinger [0130]).
Regarding claim 17, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches further comprising a capsule loading device (160 having 121 therein (see figure 4), “a capsule receiver configured to receive a capsule including a pre-mixed composition” [0003]) which is configured to be loaded with capsules containing an additive (nature of beverage capsule),
wherein the capsule loading device is further connected to a pump configured to supply the first liquid originating from the first liquid storage or the second liquid originating from the second liquid storage through the capsule loading device into the passage arrangement or to the liquid dispensing unit (as shown by figure 4 and 5, pumps 122/524/522 or pressure cO2 pump 140).
Regarding claim 18, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 4, Mills as already modified teaches further comprising a detecting device having a signal output which is connected to the at least one signal input of the control unit, wherein the detecting device is configured to detect whether a third liquid storage is connected to the base structure or not (Capsule sensor 202 “the capsule sensor 212 may be disposed in the drink capsule receiver 121. In this regard, the capsule sensor 212 is configured to provide drink data to the controller 102 for the controller to act on.” [0045] capsule as liquid storage device “The drink capsule receiver 121 may be configured to receive a drink capsule containing a pre-mixed composition, in accordance with various embodiments. In various embodiments, the pre-mixed composition may include a flavoring (e.g., in powder form, a syrup, or the like) and an alcohol (e.g., whiskey, vodka, gin, rum, tequila, etc.).” [0028]).
Regarding claim 20, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 11, Mills as already modified teaches wherein the gas condition or the liquid condition includes one or more of a pressure, a temperature, a flow level, a liquid level, and a gas level (flow level “via the processor and through a flow meter, a flow rate of the non-carbonated water being dispensed” [0005]).
Regarding claim 21, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches further comprising a first liquid storage (water 110) connected to the storage connecting portion (see plumbing system 580) and configured to store a first liquid (“water storage tank 110” as shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 22, the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first liquid storage entirely houses the second liquid storage (as already modified/cited to Conroy, see figure 8, paragraph [0006] under Routine Optimizaton (MPEP 2144.05 II. B.)).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills, Zollinger and Conroy and in further view of Psarologos (US 2025/0017414).
Regarding claim 7, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mills as already modified teaches
wherein the storage connecting portion further comprises:
a liquid injecting pipe (where connecting portions of fluid lines enter liquid storage components, see figure 5): a gas injecting nozzle (where gas line 188 turns into nozzle within 130, see figure 5).
Mills as modified is silent regarding and at least one of a heating device or a cooling device.
However Psarologos teaches at least one of a heating device or a cooling device (heater 110, see figure 1, “The appliance 100 may heat the liquid to make a beverage, such as coffee.” [0078], “the disclosure is not limited to the espresso coffee machine and may be applicable to other appliances for making a beverage, for example, a drip filter coffee machine, a tea maker or a carbonated water maker.” [0077]).
The advantage of at least one of a heating device or a cooling device, is to produce coffee that is hot “The appliance 100 may heat the liquid to make a beverage, such as coffee.” [0078].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills and Psarologos before him or her, to modify the beverage system of Mills to include the heating components of Psarologos, because a heating system enables the production of hot coffee beverage.
Regarding claim 14, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, Mill is silent regarding further comprising a filter arrangement
However Paralogons teaches regarding further comprising a filter arrangement (106) connected to the liquid inlet and configured to filter the liquid delivered by the liquid source (filter anticipated to be position before any beverage making component “a filter assembly positioned between the inlet and the at least one beverage making component and configured to filter the untreated liquid” [0007]).
The advantage of comprising a filter arrangement
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills and Psarologos before him or her, to modify the beverage fluid system of Mills to include the filter before beverage component of Psarologos, because a filter before a beverage component provides filtered water thereto and to beverage downstream.
Claim 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills, Zollinger and Conroy and in further view of Beal (US 8,925,382).
Regarding claim 12, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 11, Mills as already modified is silent regarding
wherein the detecting device is configured to be inserted at least in part into the first liquid storage through the opening of the first liquid storage.
However Beal teaches wherein the detecting device (48 with 19) is configured to be inserted at least in part into the first liquid storage through the opening (opening at 14 facilitating insertion of body structure 32) of the first liquid storage (vessel 12, see figure 1 providing multiple functions to single opening – level sensing (48/17), fluid output (38) and gas input (34) all through singular body structure (32)).
The advantage of wherein the detecting device is configured to be inserted at least in part into the first liquid storage through the opening of the first liquid storage, is to provide a simplistic beverage storage device necessitating only having 1 opening for multiple functions to include level sensing, as shown in figure 3 “The transducer port 42 is cooperative with the liquid in the liquid flow path 70 so as to sense the pressure of the liquid in this area above the nozzle of the keg. Similarly, the transducer port 44 is cooperative with the gas flow path so as to sense the pressure of gas within the keg. The transducer 48 connected to the transducer ports 42 and 44 is connected by line 46 to the controller 56. The transducer 48 sends one differential pressure reading, sent as a number.” (column 8, lines 29-36), “the handle 54 is pivotally mounted to the body 32 of the coupler 18. Handle 54 includes a spring to keep the release bar in place. Alternatively, the handle as shown in FIG. 5 may be used. This spring 84 extends around the release bar 86 within the interior of the handle 54. The handle 54 will operate in the manner of standard couplers that are used for kegs. The gas inlet port 88 has the male connector 58 bolted to a threaded portion at the end of the inlet port 26. There is a gas flow line 88 extending through the male connector 58, through the gas inlet port 26 and into the gas flow path 72 within the interior of the body 32. Similarly, the male connector 60 at the liquid outlet port 30 is threadedly secured to the body 32 of the coupler 18. As such, liquid can flow through the liquid flow path 70 and outwardly through the passageway 90 extending through the male connector 30.” (column 8, lines 45-59).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills and Beal before him or her, to modify the beverage fluid manifold system of Mills to include the single opening multi use beverage port system of Beal, because reducing a beverage systems inlet/outlet/sensor coupling components reduced complexity of manufacture/assembly.
Regarding claim 19, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 11, Mills as already modified is silent regarding wherein the detecting device is configured to be inserted at least in part into the second liquid storage through an opening of the second liquid storage.
However Beal teaches wherein the detecting device (48/17) is configured to be inserted at least in part into the second liquid storage through an opening (14) of the second liquid storage (vessel 12, see figure 1 providing multiple functions to single opening – level sensing (48/17), fluid output (38) at single component (32)).
The advantage of wherein the detecting device is configured to be inserted at least in part into the second liquid storage through an opening of the second liquid storage, is to provide a simplistic beverage storage device necessitating only having 1 opening while offering functions to include level sensing in addition to inlet/output flow, as shown in figure 3 “the handle 54 is pivotally mounted to the body 32 of the coupler 18. Handle 54 includes a spring to keep the release bar in place. Alternatively, the handle as shown in FIG. 5 may be used. This spring 84 extends around the release bar 86 within the interior of the handle 54. The handle 54 will operate in the manner of standard couplers that are used for kegs. The gas inlet port 88 has the male connector 58 bolted to a threaded portion at the end of the inlet port 26. There is a gas flow line 88 extending through the male connector 58, through the gas inlet port 26 and into the gas flow path 72 within the interior of the body 32. Similarly, the male connector 60 at the liquid outlet port 30 is threadedly secured to the body 32 of the coupler 18. As such, liquid can flow through the liquid flow path 70 and outwardly through the passageway 90 extending through the male connector 30.” (column 8, lines 45-59).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills and Beal before him or her, to modify the beverage fluid manifold system of Mills to include the single opening multi use with fluid level sensing Beal, because providing a beverage system with a level sensor provides fluid level monitoring while maintaining a singular inlet/outlet opening reduces complexity of manufacture/assembly.
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mills, Zollinger and Conroy and in further view of Reidy (US 2022/0412485).
Regarding claim 23, Mills as modified teaches the liquid dispenser apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first storage connecting sub portion (structural feature of first storage where fluid is inlet or outlet from first storage, or as already modifying Conroy provides ports 214-1/214-2, 122-1/122-2 and 206 that connect to feature of base structure see figure 10) that is formed in the base structure (see base structure 120 of Conroy as already modifying, Fig-9 ) and connected to the first liquid storage (as shown in figure 8);
a first
a second storage connecting sub portion that is formed in the base structure and connected to the second liquid storage (as already modified by the multiple fittings in base structure 120 of Conroy, see figure 2),
Mills is silent regarding wherein the first metal flange is screwed together with a corresponding flange of the first liquid storage,
wherein the second storage connecting sub portion is formed in a flange shape connectable with a corresponding storage connecting portion receiving part formed in the second liquid storage.
However Reidy teaches wherein the first eliminates the welding of steel bulkhead fittings to containment systems or tanks to allow the retrieval or shutting off of fluid inside such containment systems. The present invention also facilitates the use of stainless bulkhead fittings with HDPE or plastic fluid containers or tanks, which can then allow for additional food grade stainless steel hardware to be attached to said container (inside and outside said container) allowing fluids to be retrieved and/or filtered with attachments” [0013]).
wherein the second storage connecting sub portion is formed in a flange shape connectable with a corresponding storage connecting portion receiving part formed in the second liquid storage (flange and connections thereto as disclosed above [0013]).
The advantage of wherein the first metal flange is screwed together with a corresponding flange of the first liquid storage,
wherein the second storage connecting sub portion is formed in a flange shape connectable with a corresponding storage connecting portion receiving part formed in the second liquid storage is to enable a food grade connection from a plastic beverage system component “The invention of the Weldless Bulkhead Seal also allows for Food Grade Stainless Steel to be installed on tanks made of HDPE Plastic (or like materials) which would not be able to be welded into with metal accessories, like a metal ball valve.” [0029].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mills as modified and Reidy before him or her, to modify the beverage fluid manifold system of Mills to include the metal connecting features of Reidy, because the metal connecting features provide secure food grade connection means to plastic containers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761