DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 02/19/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20210258934 A1.
Where the previously cited prior art is maintained for the claim amendments, see the Claims Rejections section below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: “is enable” should be “is enabled” therefor. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2018/0278386 A1 to Shim et al. (“Shim”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0258934 A1 to SAKHNINI et al. (“Sakhnini”).
As to claim 1, Shim discloses a wireless device (para. 0103, terminal) comprising: one or more processors (para. 0104, processor); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to (para. 0103, memory; para. 0026, “a processor configured to (set to) perform A, B, and C” may mean a dedicated processor (e.g., an embedded processor) for performing a corresponding operation, or a generic-purpose processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)) capable of performing a corresponding operation by executing one or more software programs stored in a memory device): receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of a bandwidth part (BWP) (para. 0061, sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth; para. 0119, fig. 7, 720, 724, 732, 734, receiving terminal capability request for SCS, the information on each of the sub-bands of the groups that are available, resource allocation message, data transmission), the configuration parameters indicating: a subcarrier spacing of the BWP (para. 0116, The base station may transmit a terminal capability request message for a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) to the terminal in step 720, i.e. this indicates SCS…additionally, later transmissions from BS to terminal operate at the SCS); a hopping pattern indicating: a first sequence of time slots (para. 0121-0122, The base station may allocate a resource based on the channel quality information and provide allocated resource information to the terminal in step 732. The resource allocated to the terminal may use indexing information described above; The base station may transmit data to the terminal using the allocated resource in step 734. Sub-carrier hopping may be performed based on the indexing information (i.e. the indexing of 734 pertains to hopping, and 734 uses the hopping pattern), and the sub-carrier hopping may be performed only in a sub-barrier in a corresponding group as described above; fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots); and
a second sequence of frequency regions of the BWP, across the first sequence of the time slots (para. 0070, fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots and first group sub-bands 210 with highest band and lowest band (i.e. frequency regions)), wherein each frequency region of the second sequence corresponds to a respective time slot of the first sequence of time slots (fig. 3, para. 0070, a point in time of t00 to a point in time of t10…may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210….from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20, the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210), wherein the frequency regions are resource block (RB) sets based on the subcarrier spacing of the BWP (para. 0080, The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above);
determine, during a time slot of the first sequence of time slots, frequency resource of the BWP based on the hopping pattern indicating a first frequency region corresponding to the time slot (fig. 3, para. 0070, a point in time (i.e. a time slot) of t00 to a point in time of t10…may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band (i.e. first frequency region) among the first group sub-bands 210 ….from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20, the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210), wherein the frequency regions comprise RBs of the first frequency region of the frequency regions (para. 0080, The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above, i.e. implicit then that the highest band has PRBs as well); and communicate with a base station, during the time slot, using the RBs of the frequency resources (para. 0080, the first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above; para. 0122, the base station may transmit data to the terminal using the allocated resource in step 734. Sub-carrier hopping may be performed based on the indexing information, and the sub-carrier hopping may be performed only in a sub-barrier in a corresponding group as described above).
Shim does not expressly disclose radio resource control (RRC) messages, a bandwidth part (BWP) of a cell, a hopping pattern within the BWP, and whether the hopping pattern within the BWP is enable or disabled; in response to the configuration parameters indicating that the hopping pattern is enable, resources.
Sakhnini discloses the BS 110 may transmit the indication to activate PDCCH hopping…using RRC signaling (para. 0066), the BS 110 may transmit an indication to deactivate PDCCH hopping. For example, the indication may be provided using RRC signaling (para. 0075). Further, the hopping pattern may be within a BWP or sub-band (para. 0070) and BWP of a…cell (para. 0068). Additionally, resources…used for PDCCH reception and processing (para. 0008) and a wireless communication network with a scheduled access to time-frequency resources (para. 0046).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the hopping of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the hopping of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 2, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein each frequency region is a respective subband of the BWP (Shim, para. 0070, fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots and first group sub-bands 210 with highest band and lowest band (i.e. frequency regions being sub-bands); para. 0061, sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 3, Shim does not expressly disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the BWP is an active BWP of the cell.
Sakhnini discloses an active DL BWP of a serving cell (para. 0068).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 4, Shim does not expressly disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the hopping pattern within the BWP indicates a hopping interval comprising one or more time slots.
Sakhnini at fig. 4 illustrates hopping within a BWP over time (3 slots illustrated).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 5, Shim further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the one or more messages comprise second configuration parameters, for the cell, indicating a carrier bandwidth comprising a plurality of frequency regions that are based on the subcarrier spacing (Shim, para. 0115, cell; fig. 7, information on sub-bands of groups that are available 742, resource allocation message 732, i.e. messages with parameters; para. 0061, When sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth, i.e. carrier bandwidth as illustrated in FIG. 2, positions of the first group sub-bands 210, the second group sub-bands 220, and the third group sub-bands 230 may be different from those illustrated in FIG. 2; para. 0062, The first group sub-bands 210 may be disposed in the highest frequency band, and may be disposed in a position of the second group sub-bands 220 which is the intermediate frequency band. Similarly, the second group sub-bands 220 and the third group sub-bands 230 may also be disposed in other frequency bands; para. 0063, Further, when the first group sub-bands 210, the second group sub-bands 220, and the third group sub-bands 230 are configured as a multi-numerology band, the number of sub-bands of each group may be variable. For example, when users located in an area of the base station use more data that may be allocated to the resource 110 having a tone spacing of 15 kHz, a frequency resource of the first group sub-bands 210 may be increased; para. 0064, When the users located in the area of the base station use more data that may be allocated to the resource 120 having a tone spacing of 30 kHz, a frequency resource of the second group sub-bands 220 may be increased. Similarly, when the users located in the area of the base station use more data that may be allocated to the resource 130 having a tone spacing of 60 kHz, a frequency resource of the third group sub-bands 230 may be increased).
Shim does not expressly disclose RRC.
Sakhnini discloses the BS 110 may transmit the indication to activate PDCCH hopping…using RRC signaling (para. 0066), the BS 110 may transmit an indication to deactivate PDCCH hopping. For example, the indication may be provided using RRC signaling (para. 0075).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the RRC of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the RRC of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 6, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the wireless device of claim 5, wherein the second configuration parameters indicate the plurality of frequency regions (Shim, para. 0115, cell; fig. 7, information on sub-bands (i.e. frequency regions) of groups that are available 742, resource allocation message 732, i.e. messages with parameters), wherein each frequency region of the plurality of frequency regions is indicated by at least one of: a starting RB; and an RB set bandwidth comprising one or more RBs, wherein the one or more RBs are based on the subcarrier spacing (Shim, para. 0080, PRB mapping for resource allocation will be described with reference to FIG. 4. The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above. When it is assumed that the number of PRBs which are resource blocks included in the first group sub-bands 210 is n, the indexing may be performed from a PRB 0 411 of 15 kHZ, a PRB 1 412 of 15 kHZ, a PRB 2 413 of 15 kHZ, . . . , a PRB (n-3) 414 of 15 kHZ, a PRB (n-2) 415 of 15 kHZ, and a PRB (n-1) 416 of 15 kHZ, i.e. each index being a “set”). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 5 applies.
As to claim 7, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the hopping pattern indicates at least one hopping offset, comprising one or more RBs based on the subcarrier spacing, between any two frequency regions of the cell (Shim, para. 0080-0081, The second group sub-bands 220 have PRBs of 30 kHz as described above, i.e. hopping offset as it is between the first group and third group). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 8, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the wireless device of claim 7, wherein the at least one hopping offset comprises one or more RBs based on the subcarrier spacing, between any two frequency regions of the cell (Shim, para. 0080-0081, The second group sub-bands 220 have PRBs of 30 kHz as described above, i.e. hopping offset as it is between the first group and third group). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 7 applies.
As to claim 9, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the configuration parameters further indicate a starting time for the hopping pattern (Shim, para. 0070, The base station may transmit data to the first user 301 and data to the second user 302 using the resource of the first group sub-bands 210 from a point in time of t00 to a point in time of t10 (i.e. starting time). The base station may transmit the data to the second user 302 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210, and may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210. The frequency hopping method may be applied from a point in time of t10, which is the next point in time to a point in time of t20. That is, from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20 (i.e. starting time), the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210, and may transmit the data to the second user 302 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 11, Shim discloses a base station (fig. 7, base station) comprising: one or more processors (para. 0091, processor); and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to (para. 0091, memory, para. 0026, “a processor configured to (set to) perform A, B, and C” may mean a dedicated processor (e.g., an embedded processor) for performing a corresponding operation, or a generic-purpose processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)) capable of performing a corresponding operation by executing one or more software programs stored in a memory device): transmit, to a wireless device, one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of a bandwidth part (BWP), (para. 0061, sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth; para. 0119, fig. 7, 720, 724, 732, 734, receiving terminal capability request for SCS, the information on each of the sub-bands of the groups that are available, resource allocation message, data transmission; para. 0115, cell), the configuration parameters indicating: a subcarrier spacing of the BWP (para. 0116, The base station may transmit a terminal capability request message for a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) to the terminal in step 720, i.e. this indicates SCS…additionally, later transmissions from BS to terminal operate at the SCS); a hopping pattern indicating: a first sequence of time slots (para. 0121-0122, The base station may allocate a resource based on the channel quality information and provide allocated resource information to the terminal in step 732. The resource allocated to the terminal may use indexing information described above; The base station may transmit data to the terminal using the allocated resource in step 734. Sub-carrier hopping may be performed based on the indexing information (i.e. the indexing of 734 pertains to hopping, and 734 uses the hopping pattern), and the sub-carrier hopping may be performed only in a sub-barrier in a corresponding group as described above; fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots); and
a second sequence of frequency regions of the BWP, across the first sequence of the time slots (para. 0070, fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots and first group sub-bands 210 with highest band and lowest band (i.e. frequency regions)), wherein each frequency region of the second sequence corresponds to a respective time slot of the first sequence of time slots (fig. 3, para. 0070, a point in time of t00 to a point in time of t10…may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210….from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20, the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210), wherein the frequency regions are resource block (RB) sets based on the subcarrier spacing of the BWP (para. 0080, The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above);
determine, during a time slot of the first sequence of time slots, frequency resource of the BWP based on the hopping pattern indicating a first frequency region corresponding to the time slot (fig. 3, para. 0070, a point in time (i.e. a time slot) of t00 to a point in time of t10…may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band (i.e. first frequency region) among the first group sub-bands 210 ….from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20, the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210), wherein the frequency regions comprise RBs of the first frequency region of the frequency regions (para. 0080, The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above, i.e. implicit then that the highest band has PRBs as well); and communicate with the wireless device, during the time slot, using the RBs of the frequency resources (para. 0080, the first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above; para. 0122, the base station may transmit data to the terminal using the allocated resource in step 734. Sub-carrier hopping may be performed based on the indexing information, and the sub-carrier hopping may be performed only in a sub-barrier in a corresponding group as described above).
Shim does not expressly disclose radio resource control (RRC) messages, a bandwidth part (BWP) of a cell, a hopping pattern within the BWP, and whether the hopping pattern within the BWP is enable or disabled; in response to the configuration parameters indicating that the hopping pattern is enable, resources.
Sakhnini discloses the BS 110 may transmit the indication to activate PDCCH hopping…using RRC signaling (para. 0066), the BS 110 may transmit an indication to deactivate PDCCH hopping. For example, the indication may be provided using RRC signaling (para. 0075). Further, the hopping pattern may be within a BWP or sub-band (para. 0070) and BWP of a…cell (para. 0068). Additionally, resources…used for PDCCH reception and processing (para. 0008) and a wireless communication network with a scheduled access to time-frequency resources (para. 0046).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the hopping of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the hopping of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 12, Shim further discloses the base station of claim 11, wherein: each frequency region is a respective subband of the BWP (Shim, para. 0070, fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots and first group sub-bands 210 with highest band and lowest band (i.e. frequency regions being sub-bands); para. 0061, sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth).
Shim does not expressly disclose the BWP is an active BWP of the cell.
Sakhnini discloses an active DL BWP of a serving cell (para. 0068).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 13, Shim does not expressly disclose the base station of claim 11, wherein the hopping pattern within the BWP indicates a hopping interval comprising one or more time slots.
Sakhnini at fig. 4 illustrates hopping within a BWP over time (3 slots illustrated).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 14, Shim further discloses the base station of claim 11, wherein the one or more messages comprise second configuration parameters, for the cell, indicating a carrier bandwidth comprising a plurality of frequency regions that are based on the subcarrier spacing (Shim, para. 0115, cell; fig. 7, information on sub-bands of groups that are available 742, resource allocation message 732, i.e. messages with parameters; para. 0061, When sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth, i.e. carrier bandwidth as illustrated in FIG. 2, positions of the first group sub-bands 210, the second group sub-bands 220, and the third group sub-bands 230 may be different from those illustrated in FIG. 2; para. 0062, The first group sub-bands 210 may be disposed in the highest frequency band, and may be disposed in a position of the second group sub-bands 220 which is the intermediate frequency band. Similarly, the second group sub-bands 220 and the third group sub-bands 230 may also be disposed in other frequency bands; para. 0063, Further, when the first group sub-bands 210, the second group sub-bands 220, and the third group sub-bands 230 are configured as a multi-numerology band, the number of sub-bands of each group may be variable. For example, when users located in an area of the base station use more data that may be allocated to the resource 110 having a tone spacing of 15 kHz, a frequency resource of the first group sub-bands 210 may be increased; para. 0064, When the users located in the area of the base station use more data that may be allocated to the resource 120 having a tone spacing of 30 kHz, a frequency resource of the second group sub-bands 220 may be increased. Similarly, when the users located in the area of the base station use more data that may be allocated to the resource 130 having a tone spacing of 60 kHz, a frequency resource of the third group sub-bands 230 may be increased).
Shim does not expressly disclose RRC.
Sakhnini discloses the BS 110 may transmit the indication to activate PDCCH hopping…using RRC signaling (para. 0066), the BS 110 may transmit an indication to deactivate PDCCH hopping. For example, the indication may be provided using RRC signaling (para. 0075).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the RRC of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the RRC of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 15, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the base station of claim 14, wherein the second configuration parameters indicate the plurality of frequency regions (Shim, para. 0115, cell; fig. 7, information on sub-bands (i.e. frequency regions) of groups that are available 742, resource allocation message 732, i.e. messages with parameters), wherein each frequency region of the plurality of frequency regions is indicated by at least one of: a starting RB; and an RB set bandwidth comprising one or more RBs, wherein the one or more RBs are based on the subcarrier spacing (Shim, para. 0080, PRB mapping for resource allocation will be described with reference to FIG. 4. The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above. When it is assumed that the number of PRBs which are resource blocks included in the first group sub-bands 210 is n, the indexing may be performed from a PRB 0 411 of 15 kHZ, a PRB 1 412 of 15 kHZ, a PRB 2 413 of 15 kHZ, . . . , a PRB (n-3) 414 of 15 kHZ, a PRB (n-2) 415 of 15 kHZ, and a PRB (n-1) 416 of 15 kHZ, i.e. each index being a “set”). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 14 applies.
As to claim 16, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the base station of claim 11, wherein the hopping pattern indicates at least one hopping offset (Shim, para. 0080-0081, The second group sub-bands 220 have PRBs of 30 kHz as described above, i.e. hopping offset as it is between the first group and third group). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 11 applies.
As to claim 17, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the base station of claim 16, wherein the at least one hopping offset comprises one or more RBs based on the subcarrier spacing, between any two frequency regions of the cell (Shim, para. 0080-0081, The second group sub-bands 220 have PRBs of 30 kHz as described above, i.e. hopping offset as it is between the first group and third group). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 16 applies.
As to claim 18, Shim and Sakhnini further discloses the base station of claim 11, wherein the configuration parameters further indicate a starting time for the hopping pattern (Shim, para. 0070, The base station may transmit data to the first user 301 and data to the second user 302 using the resource of the first group sub-bands 210 from a point in time of t00 to a point in time of t10 (i.e. starting time). The base station may transmit the data to the second user 302 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210, and may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210. The frequency hopping method may be applied from a point in time of t10, which is the next point in time to a point in time of t20. That is, from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20 (i.e. starting time), the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210, and may transmit the data to the second user 302 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210). In addition, as the primary reference teaches the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 11 applies.
As to claim 19, Shim discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to (para. 0103, terminal; para. 0091, memory, para. 0026, “a processor configured to (set to) perform A, B, and C” may mean a dedicated processor (e.g., an embedded processor) for performing a corresponding operation, or a generic-purpose processor (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU) or an application processor (AP)) capable of performing a corresponding operation by executing one or more software programs stored in a memory device): receive one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of a bandwidth part (BWP) (para. 0061, sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth; para. 0119, fig. 7, 720, 724, 732, 734, receiving terminal capability request for SCS, the information on each of the sub-bands of the groups that are available, resource allocation message, data transmission; para. 0115, cell), the configuration parameters indicating:
a subcarrier spacing of the BWP (para. 0116, The base station may transmit a terminal capability request message for a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) to the terminal in step 720, i.e. this indicates SCS…additionally, later transmissions from BS to terminal operate at the SCS); and a hopping pattern indicating: a first sequence of time slots (para. 0121-0122, The base station may allocate a resource based on the channel quality information and provide allocated resource information to the terminal in step 732. The resource allocated to the terminal may use indexing information described above; The base station may transmit data to the terminal using the allocated resource in step 734. Sub-carrier hopping may be performed based on the indexing information (i.e. the indexing of 734 pertains to hopping, and 734 uses the hopping pattern), and the sub-carrier hopping may be performed only in a sub-barrier in a corresponding group as described above; fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots);
a hopping pattern indicating: a second sequence of frequency regions of the BWP, across the first sequence of the time slots (para. 0070, fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots and first group sub-bands 210 with highest band and lowest band (i.e. frequency regions)), wherein each frequency region of the second sequence corresponds to a respective time slot of the first sequence of time slots (fig. 3, para. 0070, a point in time of t00 to a point in time of t10…may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band among the first group sub-bands 210….from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20, the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210), wherein the frequency regions are resource block (RB) sets based on the subcarrier spacing of the BWP (para. 0080, The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above);
determine, during a time slot of the first sequence of time slots, frequency resource of the BWP based on the hopping pattern indicating a first frequency region corresponding to the time slot (fig. 3, para. 0070, a point in time (i.e. a time slot) of t00 to a point in time of t10…may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the highest band (i.e. first frequency region) among the first group sub-bands 210 ….from the point in time of t10 to the point in time of t20, the base station may transmit the data to the first user 301 using a resource of the lowest band among the first group sub-bands 210), wherein the frequency regions comprise RBs of the first frequency region of the frequency regions (para. 0080, The first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above, i.e. implicit then that the highest band has PRBs as well); and communicate with a base station, during the time slot, using the RBs of the frequency resources (para. 0080, the first group sub-bands 210 have PRBs of 15 kHz as described above; para. 0122, the base station may transmit data to the terminal using the allocated resource in step 734. Sub-carrier hopping may be performed based on the indexing information, and the sub-carrier hopping may be performed only in a sub-barrier in a corresponding group as described above).
Shim does not expressly disclose radio resource control (RRC) messages, a bandwidth part (BWP) of a cell, a hopping pattern within the BWP, and whether the hopping pattern within the BWP is enable or disabled; in response to the configuration parameters indicating that the hopping pattern is enable, resources.
Sakhnini discloses the BS 110 may transmit the indication to activate PDCCH hopping…using RRC signaling (para. 0066), the BS 110 may transmit an indication to deactivate PDCCH hopping. For example, the indication may be provided using RRC signaling (para. 0075). Further, the hopping pattern may be within a BWP or sub-band (para. 0070) and BWP of a…cell (para. 0068). Additionally, resources…used for PDCCH reception and processing (para. 0008) and a wireless communication network with a scheduled access to time-frequency resources (para. 0046).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the hopping of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the hopping of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
As to claim 20, Shim further discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein: each frequency region is a respective subband of the BWP (Shim, para. 0070, fig. 3, frequency hopping for a user over various time slots and first group sub-bands 210 with highest band and lowest band (i.e. frequency regions being sub-bands); para. 0061, sub-bands of the respective groups are configured as a multi-numerology band by using the whole of the entire bandwidth or part of the entire bandwidth).
Shim does not expressly disclose the BWP is an active BWP of the cell.
Sakhnini discloses an active DL BWP of a serving cell (para. 0068).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim. The suggestion/motivation would have been for PDCCH candidate hopping (Sakhnini, para. 0002). Including the BWP of Sakhnini into the invention of Shim was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Sakhnini.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2018/0278386 A1 to Shim et al. (“Shim”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0258934 A1 to SAKHNINI et al. (“Sakhnini”) and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0281539 A1 to Takeda et al. (“Takeda”).
As to claim 10, Shim and Sakhnini does not expressly disclose the wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to monitor a common search space (CSS) in the first frequency region associated with the time slot, in response to the configuration parameters indicating that the CSS is in the first frequency region indicated by the hopping pattern.
Takeda discloses for a 5G network (para. 0083), FIG. 4 is a diagram showing one example of configuration of limitation of CSS targeted for monitoring according to Embodiment 2. As in FIG. 3B, FIG. 4 shows the example where a plurality of (two) discontiguous frequency resources are configured for the UE as the resource of the CSS during a period of from time t.sub.1 to t.sub.2, i.e. monitor a common search space (CSS) in the frequency region associated with the time slot (para. 0071) and the monitoring targeted region may be associated with information (time resource, frequency resource, code resource (e.g., orthogonal code, sequence, etc.), format, coverage extension level, the number of repeated transmissions, the presence or absence of hopping, i.e. as in primary/secondary references, etc.) on resources of the RACH. For example, based on the resource of the RACH (RA preamble), the UE may judge (identify) the resource (PDCCH set, CCE index, etc.), i.e. frequency region, of the CSS. The UE may judge the monitoring targeted region of the CSS, based on the resource of the PRACH, cell identifier (e.g., physical cell ID (identifier), virtual cell ID), UE identifier, other information or combination thereof, (para. 0063), para. 0067, the UE monitors the CSS configured by the broadcast information, i.e. configuration information.
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the monitoring of Takeda into
the invention of Shim and Sakhnini. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a user terminal and radio communication method capable of performing communication using proper CSS, also in future radio communication systems (Takeda, para. 0010). Including the monitoring of Takeda into the invention of Shim and Sakhnini was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Takeda.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463