Claim Objections
Claim 1 and Claim 74 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: line 12 states “from a second UE, wherein the assistance resource selection information comprises a set of candidate resources”, the antecedent basis for the second UE has already been declared, so the word “the” is more appropriate. Claim 74 is objected to for similar reasons. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/06/2026 has been entered. Independent claims 1, 67, and 74 have been amended. No dependent claims have been amended. Claims 4, 5, 68-69, and 75-76 have been cancelled. No claims are new and have been entered. Claims 1, 10-14, 44-45, 67, 70-74, and 77-78 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/06/2026 on page 8 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Xue fails to teach the configuration comprising a resource reservation interval or a Service Priority as sensing parameters for the receiving UE, and that they do not teach a time interval. However, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of ARGUMENT from the teachings of NAME. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/06/2026 on page 8 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Sun fails to teach that the assistance resource selection configuration of a number of sub-channels is from a first UE to a second UE for configuration. However, ¶0094 clearly states “the first UE transmitting a signal indicating the first set of sidelink resources to a second UE”, which is additionally what a sidelink communication is, and one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications would understand that sidelink communications is from a first UE to a second UE. Additionally the number of sub-channels is being provided as a sidelink resource for as clearly states ¶0073 “the sidelink resources in frequency domain might be sub-channels”, and that Sun further clarifies on the number of resources can be as small as one sub-channel and as large as the variable m in ¶0073. Meaning the transfer of information from one UE to another for the sidelink resources is well described by Sun. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of the assistance resource selection configuration of a number of sub-channels is from a first UE to a second UE for configuration from the teachings of Sun. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 07/06/2026 on page 8-9 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Khoryaev fails to teach that the timing window values are being used for sidelink communication. However, Khoryaev suggests that the communication protocol can be used for V2V ¶0202 communication, which one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications would understand that as a specific form of the more broad sidelink definition, and Khoryaev even helpfully defines V2V as a type of sidelink in ¶0087. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention that the timing window is used for sidelink communication from the teachings of Khoryaev. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-14, 45, 67, 70-71, 74-75, and 78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (Pub. No.: US 20230131862 A1, hereafter “Xue”) in view of Sun (Pub. No.: US 20230171792 A1, hereafter “Sun”), further in view of Khoryaev (Pub. No.: US 20200275458 A1, hereafter “Khoryaev”).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 67, and Claim 74
Xue teaches a method, device, and UE comprising
receiving (Xue Fig. 5: 520), at the first UE (Xue Fig. 5: 206, S/A UE), assistance resource selection information (Xue Fig 5: 528, Exceptional-transmit resource pool configuration, see ¶0107-¶0108; Xue Fig. 5: 520-528, Sidelink RMSI contains RRM configuration which contains the Exceptional-transmit resource pool configuration, see Fig. 5 and ¶0107-¶0108) from a second UE (Xue Fig. 5: 204, PLC UE), wherein the assistance resource selection information comprises a set of candidate resources (Xue ¶0108: resource pool is based on a carrier sensing medium access/collision avoidance, e.g. CSMA/CA) that can be used by the first UE (Xue ¶0108: random selection rule may specify that an S/A UE 206 may randomly select within the transmit resource pool; Xue teaches a UE receiving a transmission for a resource pool configuration from another UE to be used for CSMA for the UE to use, see Fig. 5 and ¶0108); and selecting (Xue ¶0108: random selection), at the first UE, intersection transmission resources (Xue Fig 5: 528 , see ¶0107-¶0108) from transmission resources provided by the assistance resource selection information (Xue Fig 5: 528, Exceptional-transmit resource pool configuration) and transmission resources provided by the first UE’s own sensing results (Xue ¶0108: the S/A UE 206 may transmit using the resource, examiner’s note the UE is selecting a resource from a resource pool, based on all potential resources including exceptional resource pool; Xue teaches the UE selecting at least one element of the resource pool to be used for transmitting, see Fig. 5 and ¶0107-¶0108).
Lim does not explicitly teach
An information transmission method comprising: transmitting, from a first user equipment (UE), information relating to an assistance resource selection configuration to a second UE;
wherein the assistance resource selection configuration comprises a number of sub-channels or a resource reservation interval or a Service Priority,
However, Sun teaches
An information transmission method (Sun ¶0094: communication) comprising: transmitting (Sun ¶0094: transmitting), from a first user equipment (UE) (Sun ¶0094: UE 201-A), information relating to an assistance resource selection configuration (Sun Fig. 6: 602) to a second UE (Sun ¶0094: UE 201-B; Sun teaches a sidelink communication system where one UE transmits resources from one UE to another showing sidelink resources, see Fig. 6 and ¶0094);
wherein the assistance resource selection configuration (Sun ¶0073: sidelink resources) comprises a number of sub-channels (Sun ¶0073: sub-channels) or a resource reservation interval (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) or a Service Priority (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Sun teaches that sidelink resources can contain sub-channels, see ¶0073),
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue by way of Sun, to include an element that teaches a sidelink communication system where one UE transmits resources from one UE to another showing sidelink resources and that sidelink resources can contain sub-channels, as taught by Sun in Fig. 6, ¶0073, and ¶0094, to better improve communication techniques by combining a known process with another known process for a known result, to further improve the CSMA carrier collision avoidance in a half-duplex D2D communication system.
Lim in view of Sun does not explicitly teach
and wherein the assistance resource selection configuration comprises a candidate resource selection window defined by a time interval, the time interval is determined based on a value T1 and a value T2, wherein T1 and T2 are selected from a range of [minT1, maxT1] and [minT2, maxT2], and wherein a timing window is defined by the time interval [T1, T2];
However, Khoryaev teaches
and wherein the assistance resource selection configuration (Khoryaev ¶0204: values configured by higher layers) comprises a candidate resource selection window (Khoryaev ¶0201: resource selection) defined by a time interval (Khoryaev ¶0201: time interval), the time interval is determined based on a value T1 (Khoryaev ¶0201: T1) and a value T2 (Khoryaev ¶0201: T2), wherein T1 and T2 are selected from a range of [minT1, maxT1] (Khoryaev ¶0201: T1 values under T1≤4, e.g. [0, 4] ms) and [minT2, maxT2] (Khoryaev ¶0203: values selected for transmission, with Min and Max values of T2), and wherein a timing window is defined by the time interval [T1, T2] (Khoryaev ¶0201: [n+T1, n+T2] ; Khoryaev teaches a resource selection for two different time ranges for different values, see ¶0201-¶0204);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lim in view of Sun by way of Khoryaev, to include an element that teaches a resource selection for two different time ranges for different values, as taught by Khoryaev in ¶0201-¶0204, to better improve communication techniques by combining a known process with another known process for a known result, to better enable sidelink communication autonomously with limited or no assistance from a base station, to enable low latency and other scenarios.
Claim 67 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art,
A user equipment for information transmission, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions (Xue Fig. 8: 804); and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to (Xue Fig. 8: 802; Xue teaches a processor and memory coupled together, see Fig. 8):
Claim 74 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art,
A non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions (Xu Fig. 8: 806) stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to (Xue Fig. 8: 804; Xu teaches memory with instructions that can cause the coupled machine to process instructions, see Fig. 8):
Regarding Claim 10
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 1. Sun shows
wherein the assistance resource selection configuration (Sun ¶0062: sidelink resources) comprises one of: (a) whether the assistance resource selection information can be directly used by the first UE (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim) or whether the candidate resource needs to be further selected by the first UE (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or (b) whether the assistance resource selection information can be used by the first UE via one of random selection or sensing or partial sensing (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or (c) whether the assistance resource selection information can be used for a specific priority (Sun ¶0062: priority level), or logical channel (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or Data Radio Bearer (DRB) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or destination (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or resource pool (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Sun teaches the sidelink resources containing a certain priority level, see ¶0062).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue by way of Sun, to include an element that teaches the sidelink resources containing a certain priority level, as taught by Sun in ¶0062, to further improve the CSMA carrier collision avoidance in half-duplex D2D communication systems.
Regarding Claim 11 and Claim 70
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 1. Sun further shows
where the assistance resource selection information (Sun ¶0059: sidelink resources) is measurement results (Sun ¶0059: SL-RSRP; Sun teaches sidelink resources can contain RSRP, see ¶0059).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue by way of Sun, to include an element that teaches sidelink resources can contain RSRP, as taught by Sun in ¶0059, to further improve the CSMA carrier collision avoidance in half-duplex D2D communication systems.
Regarding Claim 12 and Claim 71
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev aev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 1. Sun further shows
wherein the assistance resource selection configuration (Sun ¶0065: sidelink resources) includes an event trigger (Sun ¶0065: when PSCCH is used; Sun teaches the sidelink resources being related to a PSCCH transmission triggering, see ¶0065).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue by way of Sun, to include an element that teaches the sidelink resources being related to a PSCCH transmission triggering, as taught by Sun in ¶0065, to further improve the CSMA carrier collision avoidance in half-duplex D2D communication systems.
Regarding Claim 13
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 12.
wherein the event trigger comprises at least one: (1) a resource reservation period received in a SCI changed in a single slot occupied by another resource reservation period that was previously received, or (2) a priority received in the SCI changed in a single slot occupied by another resource reservation period that was previously received, or (3) the number of single-slot resources in a set of candidate resources changed, or (4) the slot number of single-slot resources in a set of candidate resources changed, or (5) a RSRP measurement result of one single-slot resource in a resource selection window changed, (6) the RSRP measurement result of one single-slot resource in the resource selection window is higher than configured threshold, or (7) a resource reservation period received in the SCI of a single-slot is higher than a configured threshold, or (8) a priority received in the SCI of a single-slot is higher than a configured threshold, or (9) the number of single-slot resources in a set of candidate resources is higher than a configured threshold, or (10) the number of new available single- slot resources in a set of candidate resources is higher than a configured threshold, or (11) the number of available single-slot resource that becomes unavailable in a set of candidate resources is higher than a configured threshold, or (12) the RSRP measurement result of one single-slot resource in the resource selection window is lower than configured threshold, or (13) the resource reservation period received in the SCI of same single-slot is lower than a configured threshold, or (14) a priority received in SCI of same single-slot is lower than a configured threshold, or (15) the number of single-slot resource in a set of candidate resources is higher than a configured threshold, or (16) the number of new available single- slot resource in a set of candidate resources is lower than a configured threshold, or (17) the number of available single-slot resource that becomes unavailable in a set of candidate resources is lower than a configured threshold (As per 04/20/2023 set of claims, Claim 13 has been canceled).
Regarding Claim 14
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 12.
wherein the event trigger further comprises at least one of: (a) a threshold, or (b) an indication regarding whether or not the UE shall initiate the measurement reporting procedure when a leaving condition is met, or (c) a hysteresis value, or (d) a timeToTrigger, wherein the timeToTrigger indicates the time during which specific criteria for the event needs to be met in order to trigger a measurement report, or (e) a reportInterval, wherein the reportInterval indicates the interval between periodical reports, or (f) a reportAmount, wherein the reportAmount indicates the number of measurement reports, or (g) a reportQuantity, wherein the reportQuantity indicates which factors in measurement results should be reported (As per 04/20/2023 set of claims, Claim 14 has been canceled).
Regarding Claim 45, Claim 73, and Claim 78
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 1. Sun further shows
performing, at the first UE, prioritization on a logical channel (Sun ¶0062: priority level; Sun teaches the sidelink resources containing a certain priority level, see ¶0062).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue by way of Sun, to include an element that teaches the sidelink resources containing a certain priority level, as taught by Sun in ¶0062, to further improve the CSMA carrier collision avoidance in half-duplex D2D communication systems.
Claim(s) 44, 72, and 77 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue (Pub. No.: US 20230131862 A1, hereafter “Xue”) in view of Sun (Pub. No.: US 20230171792 A1, hereafter “Sun”), further in view of Khoryaev (Pub. No.: US 20200275458 A1, hereafter “Khoryaev”), further in view of Lim (Pub. No.: US 20150215842 A1, hereafter “Lim”).
Regarding Claim 44, Claim 72, and Claim 77
Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev teach a method, device, and UE as explained above in Claim 1. Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev does not explicitly teach
further comprising creating, at the first UE, a grant of resources based at least in part on the assistance resource selection information.
However, Lim teaches
further comprising creating, at the first UE, a grant of resources (Lim Fig. 9: 920) based at least in part on the assistance resource selection information (Lim Fig. 9: 910; Lim teaches a resource grant based off of the preamble resources, see Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Xue in view of Sun, further in view of Khoryaev, by way of Lim, to include an element that teaches a resource grant based off of the preamble resources, as taught by Lim in Fig. 9, to improve the communication system by allowing the receiving UE to generate the grant of resources of the possible resource grant based off of the given information, to improve timing and reduce the associated downtime with the UE requiring more information and burden placed on another UE that’s within D2D communication.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415