DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-12, and 15-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part:
“in response to a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback being enabled, starting a sidelink DRX HARQ Round Trip Time (RTT) timer of a HARQ process after an end of the transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback; and
in response to failing to decode a data packet of the HARQ process, starting a sidelink DRX retransmission timer of the HARQ process at the expiration of the sidelink DRX HARQ RTT timer,
and in response to the first user equipment being configured with a physical uplink control channel for a sidelink, starting a downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer of the HARQ process after the end of transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback, …….. starting a downlink sidelink retransmission timer of the HARQ process at the expiration of the downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer”.
The claims have been amended to recite that a first UE transmits HARQ ACK/NACK feedback to a second when the first UE is unable to decode the PSCCH/PSSCH received from the second UE. Further, the first UE, which is the reception UE is also configured to transmit a NACK on the uplink to the base station using a downlink sidelink timer, which, when sent would cause the network (e.g. the applicants WWAN) to transmit retransmission resources, see PG PUB (US 2023/0189391 A1), par.[0039], which recites, in part:
“Optionally, the UE 102 may be configured with a physical uplink control channel to request for sidelink retransmission resources.” The claims appear to be directed to based on being unable to decode a TB then transmitting a request for resources on the uplink over an uplink control channel, however, the specification as filed appears to distinguish between the two methods, and does not provide any correlation with the method for sending HARQ feedback with the method for transmitting a request for additional resources. Thus, the claims are rejected.
Additionally, as stated above, the claim recites:
“in response to the first user equipment being configured with a physical uplink control channel for sidelink, starting a downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer of the HARQ process after the end of transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback”
Par.[0039] of the applicants disclosure recites, in part:
“In an implementation, the UE 102 may start the downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer of the sidelink HARQ process after the transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback indicating the retransmission is permitted.”
As can be seen the RTT timer is started after the feedback is sent, and not for the claimed “in response to the first user equipment being configured with a physical uplink control channel for sidelink”. The claims are rejected.
The dependent claims are rejected for their dependency on the independent claim 1 and for failing to cure the deficiencies therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2023/0064488 A1) in view of Akkarakaran (US 2021/0251037 A1) Kwon et al. (US 2023/0019726 A1), and further in view of Di Girolamo et al. (US 2023/0014303 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses:
a method performed by a first user equipment (par.[0054] describes a first UE) in a wireless communication network (par.[0001] describes a wireless communications network), comprising:
receiving a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (par.[0054] describes reception of a preconfigured sidelink DRX configuration in the SIB) information from a wireless network access node (par.[0054] describes receiving an initial DRX configuration in system information from the network);
receiving a second DRX configuration information from a second user equipment (par.[0050] which recites, in part, “In step 101, UE2 sends a request to UE1, requesting the sidelink DRX configuration. The request could be transmitted to UE1 during or after the establishment of the unicast connection between UE1 and UE2”, and par.[0052] which recites, in part, “In another embodiment, the request from UE2 includes some information regarding the Uu DRX configuration, which relates to the DRX configuration between UE2 and the serving Base Station (BS) of UE2 (hereinafter referred to as BS2.”) ,par.[0050] which recites, in part, “In step 101, UE2 sends a request to UE1, requesting the sidelink DRX configuration. The request could be transmitted to UE1 during or after the establishment of the unicast connection between UE1 and UE2”, and par.[0052] which recites, in part, “In another embodiment, the request from UE2 includes some information regarding the Uu DRX configuration, which relates to the DRX configuration between UE2 and the serving Base Station (BS) of UE2 (hereinafter referred to as BS2.”); and
obtaining a DRX configuration scheme for a sidelink communication between the first user equipment and a second user equipment (par.[0049] describes sidelink communications between the first and second UEs) based on the first DRX configuration information and the second DRX configuration information (par.[0054] which recites, in part, “Taking the assisting information from UE2, such as the traffic pattern, the Uu DRX configuration, UE2's capability, UE1 determines that the existing sidelink DRX configuration can satisfy the requirement from UE2, then UE1 sends the sidelink DRX configuration to UE2 in step 103.”).
While the disclosure of Han teaches DRX_INACTIVITY_TIMER, ON_DURATION, Retransmission_Timer, etc., however, it does not disclose:
in response to a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback being enabled, starting a sidelink DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer of a HARQ process at an end of transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback; and
in response to failing to decode a data packet of the HARQ process,
starting a sidelink DRX retransmission timer of the HARQ process at expiration of the sidelink DRX HARQ RTT timer.
However, in an analogous art, the disclosure of Akkarakaran teaches:
in response to a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback being enabled (par.[0076] describes the Sidelink communication being enable to transmit HARQ, wherein HARQ enabled may mean ACK/NACK or NACK-only, as discussed), starting a sidelink DRX HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer of a HARQ process at an end of transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback (par.[0077 – 0078] which describes the UE when in a TX or RX mode for starting a RTT timer for sidelink after the transmission of HARQ feedback); and
in response to failing to decode a data packet of the HARQ process (par.[0076] which describes the transmission of ACK or NACK, wherein NACK is sent if the HARQ process transmission is incorrectly decoded)
starting a sidelink DRX retransmission timer of the HARQ process at expiration of the sidelink DRX HARQ RTT timer (par.[0078] describes both TX-UE and RX-UE starting the RTT timer for HARQ feedback, and then starting the retransmission timer after the RTT timer expires);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Han with the disclosure of Akkarakaran, for providing feedback between different communications nodes along with timers that provide a time-table for response. The motivation/suggestion would have been that HARQ like TCP is a protocol that provides assurances that data is delivered, by providing a retransmission time, the UE is able to retransmit a previously failed transmission, while also providing failsafe’s (i.e. timers) that prevent long wait times or infinite attempts congesting or preventing other resources from being utilized.
While the combination of the Han and Akkarakaran substantially disclose the claimed subject matter, and the disclosure Akkarakaran teaches that a UU DRX configuration is separate from Sidelink DRX, they may not disclose:
in response to the first user equipment being configured with a physical uplink control channel for sidelink, starting a downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer of the HARQ process after the end of transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback, wherein the downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer is different from the sidelink DRX HARQ RTT timer; and
starting a downlink sidelink retransmission timer of the HARQ process at the expiration of the downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer, wherein the downlink sidelink retransmission timer is different from the sidelink DRX retransmission timer.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Kwon teaches:
in response to the first user equipment being configured with a physical uplink control channel for sidelink, starting a downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer of the HARQ process after the end of transmission of the sidelink HARQ feedback (fig.15 and element S1545 wherein the UE sends NACK on the uplink to the base station, and starts the HARQ RTT timer, par.[0303]), wherein the downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer is different from the sidelink DRX HARQ RTT timer (par.[0005] wherein the Uu DRX configuration and timers, are separate from the SL DRX configuration and timers, par.[0188 – 0207]); and
starting a downlink sidelink retransmission timer of the HARQ process at the expiration of the downlink sidelink HARQ RTT timer (fig.15 which depicts the SL DL Retransmission timer being started after the RTT timer, par.[0306]), wherein the downlink sidelink retransmission timer is different from the sidelink DRX retransmission timer (par.[0005] wherein the Uu DRX configuration and timers, are separate from the SL DRX configuration and timers, par.[0188 – 0207]. Additionally because the DRX configurations are per HARQ process or per Sidelink the Uu interface DRX configuration timers would be separate from the SL DRX configuration timers because the HARQ processes are different as well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Han for providing a union or synchronization between Uu DRX and SL DRX, with the disclosure of Akkarakaran for providing different timers in the DRX configuration in order to await or prevent unnecessarily long delays in reception and/or transmission of data, with the disclosure of Kwon for requesting in the uplink retransmission resources for the sidelink. The motivation/suggestion would have been that as discussed above it is important for peer UEs to be able to transmit data reliably among one another and in some cases the UE may need additional resources for transmission/reception such that requesting the network for an allocation is necessary to improve the reliability of data transmission and reception in the system.
While the combination of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon substantially disclose the claimed subject matter, they may not disclose:
in response to receiving a sidelink DRX command media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the sidelink communication link, stopping the sidelink DRX inactivity timer.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Di Girolamo teaches:
in response to receiving a sidelink DRX command media access control (MAC) control element (CE) for the sidelink communication link, stopping the sidelink DRX inactivity timer (par.[0331] and Table-3 which describes a DRX Inactivity timer which is stopped based on receiving the MAC-CE).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo, the motivation/suggestion would have been to effect power savings at the UE, wherein the inactivity timer may allow for the UE further receive additional information but also transit the UE to a DRX low power state when the timer runs out similar to Uu DRX operation.
Regarding claim 2, Han discloses:
wherein the DRX configuration scheme comprises a plurality of DRX configuration parameters (par.[0002] which recites, in part, “In Release 17, in order to save power for the UEs with battery constraint, the DRX configuration including parameters such as on-duration, off-duration, and wake-up time are introduced to sidelink communication.” Par.[0027 - 0035]), the obtaining the DRX configuration scheme comprises:
combining DRX configuration parameters in the first DRX configuration information and DRX configuration parameters in the second DRX configuration information into the DRX configuration scheme (par.[0054] which recites, in part, “Taking the assisting information from UE2, such as the traffic pattern, the Uu DRX configuration, UE2's capability, UE1 determines that the existing sidelink DRX configuration can satisfy the requirement from UE2, then UE1 sends the sidelink DRX configuration to UE2 in step 103”. Par.[0052] which recites, in part, “UE1 can use the Uu DRX configuration from UE2 to determine the sidelink DRX configuration.”).
Regarding claim 3, Han discloses:
assigning values of DRX configuration parameters in the second DRX configuration information to corresponding DRX configuration parameters in the DRX configuration scheme (par.[0023] describes alignment of DRX configurations such that the value of a wake-up or sleep or other parameter is aligned across the set of UE’s communicating via sidelink, par.[0024]); and
in response to the second DRX configuration information not including a DRX configuration parameter corresponding to a first DRX configuration parameter in the DRX configuration scheme, assigning a value of the first DRX configuration parameter in the first DRX configuration information to the first DRX configuration parameter in the DRX configuration scheme (par.[0026] describes alignment of DRX schemes across the board, wherein Uu and sidelink for all UE’s are accounted for in the updated DRX configuration. Par.[0060] describes the combination of values/parameters of multiple DRX configuration being combined into a single DRX configuration for use between a first UE and another number of UEs on the sidelink and access link, see e.g. par.[0062] which recites, in part, “For another example, the BS1 sends a delta signalling based on the Uu DRX configuration, to modify part of Uu DRX parameters for the purpose of sidelink DRX configuration. When UE1 receives the delta signalling, UE1 will modify the Uu DRX configuration of UE2 based on the delta signalling, and use the modified Uu DRX configuration as the sidelink DRX configuration, then sends the modified Uu DRX configuration to UE2 in step 205. For yet another example, the BS1 may configure a new set of sidelink DRX parameters, and transmit the sidelink DRX configuration including the new set of sidelink DRX parameters to UE 1.”).
Regarding claim 4, the disclosure of Di Girolamo teaches:
in response to failing to receive the second DRX configuration information from the second user equipment, using the first DRX configuration information as the DRX configuration scheme (par.[0263] recites, in part, “In an example, the peer UE may provide an indication that it has no preference for the SL DRX configuration of UE 201, and that it will follow any SL DRX configuration of UE 201.”).
Regarding claim 10, the disclosure of Di Girolamo teaches:
prior to receiving the first DRX configuration information, transmitting a sidelink information of the first user equipment to the wireless network access node, the sidelink information comprises at least one of quality of service information, destination identity information, or sidelink assistant information (Fig.17 describes the UEa transmitting UE assistance information to the serving cell of the UE, the UE assistance information comprising quality of service information, and destination information).
Regarding claim 11, Han discloses:
wherein the first user equipment is configured with a sidelink DRX inactivity timer for a sidelink communication link between the first user equipment and a second user equipment, the sidelink DRX inactivity timer being running indicates that DRX is not used for the sidelink communication link (par.[0027] describes the parameters associated with sidelink DRX, par.[0030] describes the DRX inactivity timer).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo, as applied to the independent claims, in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0051587 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo discloses a method for aligning sidelink DRX for a first and second station, however, Han does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a third DRX configuration information from a third user equipment; and
the method further comprises:
generating the DRX configuration scheme based on the first DRX configuration information, the second DRX configuration information, and the third DRX configuration information.
However, the above teaching was known in the prior art before the effective filing date of the instant application.
receiving a third DRX configuration information from a third user equipment (par.[0068] describes a UE jointly configuring a sidelink DRX with one or more of UE2 to UEn, and receiving one or more another candidate sidelink DRX configuration generated by the second one or more UEs); and
the method further comprises:
generating the DRX configuration scheme based on the first DRX configuration information, the second DRX configuration information, and the third DRX configuration information (par.[0068] describes receiving the candidate configuration from the other sidelink devices, and then the UE 1 may jointly configure the sidelink DRX configuration, par.[0065]. That is, the UE1 performs a configuration/generation of sidelink DRX based on the DRX parameters from the other stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo for aligning DRX configuration for a first and second sidelink UE, with the disclosure of Wu for aligning the sidelink DRX configuration using a plurality of configurations transmitted from a plurality of UE’s. The motivation/suggestion would have been to synchronize the sidelink DRX configurations such that each of the UE’s in the group of UE’s that are communicating over a sidelink can transmit and receive in a time period where the UE’s are in an active state ensuring that communications on the sidelink are robust and accurate while also saving power at the UE end.
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses:
assigning values of DRX configuration parameters in the second DRX configuration information to corresponding DRX configuration parameters in the DRX configuration scheme (par.[0054] describes the sidelink DRX parameters that can be configured, par.[0067] describes providing a union of parameters from the different DRX configuration, such that coordination/synchronization of the scheme is obtained); and
in response to the second DRX configuration information not including a DRX configuration parameter corresponding to a first DRX configuration parameter in the DRX configuration scheme, searching the first DRX configuration information and the third DRX configuration information for a second DRX configuration parameter corresponding to the first DRX configuration parameter, and assigning a value of the second DRX configuration parameter to the first DRX configuration parameter (par.[0068 – 0070] describe performing a union or synchronization of the DRX configurations such that if a parameter is missing from a first configuration, it would be matched and/or aligned with the other configurations such that a single joint aligned sidelink DRX configuration is produced for all of the UE’s to use who perform sidelink communications).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo as applied to the independent claims, in view of Song et al. (US 2016/0366645 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo discloses claim 1, but does not disclose:
prior to receiving the second DRX configuration information, transmitting the first DRX configuration information to the second user equipment.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Song teaches:
prior to receiving the second DRX configuration information, transmitting the first DRX configuration information to the second user equipment (fig.3 element 340 depicts a UE receiving a DRX parameter from the base station, the DRX parameter comprising Uu DRX configuration between the UE and base station. fig.12 depicts a UE-1 transmitting a DRX configuration to another UE, prior to the other UE transmitting its own DRX parameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo for DRX negotiation with the DRX negotiation as discussed in Song. The motivation/suggestion would have been to allow the UE’s to determine an optimal DRX configuration for each UE on the sidelink.
Claim(s) 12, and 15-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Henttonen et al. (US 2014/0038579 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo discloses:
sidelink DRX and sidelink DRX preference (see fig.17); and
transmitting a sidelink DRX preference for the sidelink communication link to the wireless network access node (see fig.17 wherein the UE forwards Assistance information pertaining to the preferred sidelink DRX configuration).
While the disclosure of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo substantially disclose the forwarding of the preference information, it does not disclose:
Transmitting DRX preference information based on in response to receiving, from the wireless network access node, indication allowing the first user equipment to report a DRX preference to the wireless network access node.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Henttonen discloses:
Transmitting DRX preference information based on in response to receiving, from the wireless network access node, indication allowing the first user equipment to report a DRX preference to the wireless network access node (fig.1 element S10 the base station forwards to the UE system information indicating that the UE is able to transmit preference information to the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo for allowing a UE to submit to the network a power preference indication, with the indication from the network allowing the UE to send said indication discussed in Henttonen. The motivation/suggestion would have been that the network established the features able to be utilized in the cell, initially reducing signaling overhead by requesting additional features that have already been noted.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo, and Henttonen, describe:
receiving a DRX preference prohibit timer from the wireless network access node or the second user equipment (Henttonen: fig.1 element S10 the network sends the prohibit timer in the system information); and
in response to the DRX preference prohibit timer being running, suspending transmitting the sidelink DRX preference to the wireless network access node or the second user equipment until stop of the DRX preference prohibit timer (Henttonen: par.[0012] which recites, in part, “causing transmission of the communication mode preference indication on the basis of a default prohibit timer defining a time period where a transmission of the communication mode preference indication is allowed or prohibited”. Di Girolamo, fig.17 describes the transmission of the sidelink DRX preference).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Han, Akkarakaran, and Kwon, with the disclosure of Di Girolamo, and Henttonen, describe:
in response to a transmission of a sidelink DRX preference for the sidelink communication link to the wireless network access node or the second user equipment, starting or restarting the DRX preference prohibit timer (Henttonen: par.[0037] which recites, in part, “Once the UE 10 has sent the communication mode preference indication in step S30, the (default) prohibit timer is started during which the communication mode preference indication cannot be sent again. In the example shown in FIG. 1, the default prohibit timer is set to be N seconds.”, Di Girolamo: fig.17 describes sidelink DRX preference).
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and each of the dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant has provided no other substantive arguments concerning other independent or dependent claims, thus by way of this response those claims are rejected for the reasons set forth supra, and the rejections are sustained.
Conclusion
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411