DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosson et al. (WO 2021/148749) (hereinafter Cosson) in view of Maguire et al. (US 2021/0096006 A1) (hereinafter Maguire).
Regarding claim 1, Cosson teaches a system [sensor device 1] compatible with an aperture of an asset [container 2], the system for monitoring the contents of the asset [level of material M] (see Abstract, Figs. 1-6), the system removable from the aperture (Para [0092-0093]), comprising:
a housing [shell 11] including at least one first connection interface on an exterior surface of the housing [fixing means 16] (see Figs. 4-6);
a sensor contained within the housing [level sensor 12 housed inside shell 11] (Para [0067], see Figs. 1 and 1bis);
a lens contained within the housing [at least one lens E19, R19] (Para [0140], see Fig. 1bis);
a power supply directly coupled to the sensor [energy storage means such as a battery] (Para [0086]);
an adaptor [connection means 3] including at least one second connection interface [threads 31] configured to removably, lockably mate with the at least one first connection interface [fixing means 16 comprises internal thread T16 configured to cooperate by screwing/unscrewing with thread 31 of connection means 3] (Para [0091], see Figs. 5-6), the adapter including a bottom end removably connectable with the aperture of the asset [connecting means removably attached to container 2] (Para [0170]), wherein the aperture of the asset is substantially sealed upon insertion of the bottom end therein [sealed fixing between said sensor device 1 and connection means 3, and therefore the container 2] (Para [0092-0093], see Figs. 5-7).
Cosson fails to teach wherein the at least one first connection interface extends outwardly from the housing. Maguire teaches a fluid level sensor assembly wherein a sensor housing [1004] comprises a first connection interface extending outwardly from the housing which mates with a second connection interface on an adaptor [1006] for interfacing the sensor to the container being (Para [0084-0090], see Figs. 10-11). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson with Maguire such that the first connection interface extends outwardly from the housing [male interface] and the adaptor comprises a second connection interface that removably, lockably mates with the first connection interface [female interface], for the predictable result of providing a detachable way to mount the sensor housing to a container for determining a level.
Regarding claim 2, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the first connection interface includes at least one protrusion, wherein the second connection interface includes at least one slot, each of the at least one slot including a vertical channel connected to a horizontal channel, the vertical channel passing through an upwardly facing surface of the adaptor, the horizontal channel arranged substantially perpendicular to the horizontal channel, the vertical channel and the horizontal channel sized to allow the at least one protrusion to pass therethrough; and wherein the at least one protrusion quantity equals the at least one slot quantity. The Examiner notes that the claimed limitations of claim 2 describe a typical bayonet connector system. Cosson additionally teaches an alternate embodiment wherein the threaded connection can be replaced with a bayonet system (Para [0093]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson in view of Maguire with the alternate teaching of Cosson such that wherein the first connection interface includes at least one protrusion, wherein the second connection interface includes at least one slot, each of the at least one slot including a vertical channel connected to a horizontal channel, the vertical channel passing through an upwardly facing surface of the adaptor, the horizontal channel arranged substantially perpendicular to the horizontal channel, the vertical channel and the horizontal channel sized to allow the at least one protrusion to pass therethrough; and wherein the at least one protrusion quantity equals the at least one slot quantity, in order to provide another robust, waterproof, and easily and quickly assembled/dismantled fixing system (in this case, a bayonet fixing system).
Regarding claim 3, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing is fluid-sealed [shell 11 for isolation and protection from the surrounding environment] (Cosson Para [0101]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the sensor is a non-contact sensor, a level sensor, a fluid-level sensor, or a combination thereof, wherein the non-contact sensor is at least one of an electromagnetic sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, a pressure sensor, and a radar sensor [level sensor 12 can be radar, lidar, infrared, laser] (Cosson Para [0094-0095]).
Regarding claim 6, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing includes a cable channel [wired transmission by cable, fiber, wires] (Cosson Para [0229]).
Regarding claim 7, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing is formed by an upper body section and a lower body section coupled together by at least one fastener (Cosson Para [0104], see Figs. 4-7).
Regarding claim 8, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing and the adapter include closed bottom ends [shell 11 and connection means 3 together having closed bottom end along lower part 11I with measurement window 15 made of a transparent material preventing penetration of external elements at the level of said measuring window] (Cosson Para [0085], see Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claim 9, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the housing includes a closed bottom end [lower part 11I of shell 11]; and wherein the adapter [connection means 3] includes an open bottom end (see Cosson Figs. 4-6).
Regarding claims 10-11, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to further comprising a cable assembly comprising a flexible cable and a connector [wired transmission by coaxial cable, optical fiber, telephone wires, DSL cable, or Ethernet cable] (Cosson Para [0229]).
Regarding claim 12, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the bottom end of the adaptor includes threads [connection means 3 comprises a thread 31 surrounding said through bore 32] (see Cosson Claim 18, Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 13, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 12 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the threads are two-inch National Pipe Tapered threads. The instant specification appears to indicate that the choice of this specific size of thread is not critical to the invention, as other various threaded connections could be chosen (Para [0054]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson in view of Maguire to choose a standardized thread size, such as two-inch NPT threads, based on considerations such as cost and availability of materials. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilkie et al. (US 2008/0079628 A1) (hereinafter Wilkie).
Regarding claim 4, Cosson in view of Maguire as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for further comprising a vent penetrating a wall of the housing; and a vent membrane covering the vent. Wilkie teaches a level measurement system comprising a housing having a vent penetrating a wall of the housing and a vent membrane covering the vent [breathing passageway 30 and membrane 37] (Para [0024-0026], see Figs. 3-5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Cosson in view of Maguire with Wilkie such to further comprise a vent penetrating a wall of the housing; and a vent membrane covering the vent, in order to allow equalization of pressure, temperature, and humidity between the interior and exterior of the housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the newly amended limitation drawn towards the at least one first connection interface “extending outwardly from the housing”, newly cited Maguire teaches such a limitation – see updated rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 above.
Regarding the newly amended limitation of a power supply “directly” coupled to the sensor, it is noted that the previously cited art still teaches such a limitation. Applicant argues that Cosson fails to teach such a limitation because “possibly the other electronic elements of the sensor device 1 can be supplied with electricity by an energy storage means”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, the cited passage from Cosson teaches the possibility of the power source being solely connected to the level sensor and not the other electronic elements of the sensor device. Secondly, the claimed limitation of a direct coupling between the power supply and the sensor does not preclude the possibility of other electronic components being connected to the same power supply. As such, Cosson still teaches the amended claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID Z HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855